Page 182 of 188 FirstFirst ... 82132172180181182183184 ... LastLast
Results 3,621 to 3,640 of 3757

Thread: Cork City denied a licence; club to be wound up; FORAS to enter First Division

Nope, but RTÉ should know better than that.
    Agreed

Oh. That's stupid. And good too, cos it's not the FAI's decision, which means he can get on with wasting his time while we get drunk watching football.
    Is that what fans do? I'd nearly forgotten!!

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Candystripe View Post
    That has to be the best interview i've ever heard, According to Michael, Johan Cruyff was siting in the Nou Camp watching a Barcelona match and decided to text him asking when can they play Cork City
    Here on a technicality.

147 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    That has to be the best interview i've ever heard, According to Michael, Johan Cruyff was siting in the Nou Camp watching a Barcelona match and decided to text him asking when can they play Cork City
    To be fair to Michael, it was only when Barca mde the game safe with a second goal. Ahem.
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

He hee, and this guy was the best alternative to TNB

Puts the mess in perspective to me

Good luck to the fans looking after the new club now

164 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by James View Post
    Cork City Foras Co-op
    Or Cork City Fo' Co-op for short.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluemovie View Post
    Or Cork City Fo' Co-op for short.
    It has a certain ring to it.

164 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by culloty82 View Post
    Said in the Star on Saturday that Damien Richardson will be the new manager?
    That'd be a coup for the co-op. I thought they'd have to get a local in as caretaker who'd do it out of goodwill. Maybe Dave Barry or Pat Morley. Rico would be a superb appointment.

Quote Originally Posted by centre mid View Post
    Just listening to the radio interview on 96fm and Billy Barry seems unwilling to aportion any blame to Tom Coughlan which seems very strange, wants to blame everyone else.
    I've been off work, so haven't really been following the thread , but the spin in the media in general has been how this is a bad thing. The FAI's decision should be seen as a (an albeit belated) positive result. It would appear that TNB, and his connections have some pull, particularly in RTE. And it's mainly the same idiots that slag off the league for reckless spending that see this as bad!?!

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluemovie View Post
    That'd be a coup for the co-op. I thought they'd have to get a local in as caretaker who'd do it out of goodwill. Maybe Dave Barry or Pat Morley. Rico would be a superb appointment.
    I wouldn't take any notice of the Star although I'd safely rule out Judas Morley.
    God help us.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

86 Posts
    [/B][I]P.Esc.

For the love of God please don't call your club that

It will be up there with the likes of Botswanan Meat Commission, Airbus UK and Total Network Solutions in worst football names ever

65 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post

It will be up there with the likes of Botswanan Meat Commission, Airbus UK and Total Network Solutions in worst football names ever
    plus if you say it quick it sounds live Cork City Fook Up as bluemovie alluded to.
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

3,491 Posts

I prefer Two Boat Rowdies, Miscellaneous and Retards myself.

(First and last are from somewhere in the Caribbean; middle one is Botswana again)

The big question now is can this thread make it to 200 pages?:-)

31 Posts
    Just saw Roddy on TV3 News. With all the angry Ex-players. A players manager he called himself a she blamed the FAI!

622 Posts
    I prefer Two Boat Rowdies, Miscellaneous and Retards myself.

(First and last are from somewhere in the Caribbean; middle one is Botswana again)
    i guy in my class played for ''dandy town'' in the 80's he was captian and a bermudan international anyway he said they once lost to a team in the cup called ''lobster fc''

Had to laugh at what Roddy saying that in England when a club was in trouble other clubs rallied round to help them out and not kick them when there down as what he claimed happened to Cork. Well just last week Portsmouth looked for an exemption to sell players outside the transfer window to help keep the club afloat but all the other clubs around them in the table said that there was no way they'd go along with that!!! Nice one Roddy!!! If he thinks England is that great then feck off back to it!!!

33 Posts
    First thanks lads for pointing out that the ILC couldn't award a place to Bray yesterday but when will the FAI declare this and the place for Europe?

I wonder did a Cork man write one of those RTE reports as since when is Cork the 'country's second city'?

If you include all the link pages in this thread as part of the thread then we went by 200 pages a good while ago.

So is this the first time that every club that was 'relegated' on the field of play never got relegated?

If I get in before FORAS can I buy the Cork City FC name? It would be a nice scalp to have on the wall.

If Tom was blaming Sinn Féin then this is the best reason ever to vote for Sinn Féin! (But actually technically he was right as Sinn Féin means 'We Ourselves' which is what FORAS is.)
    Aon, dó, trí, bhí mé i mo luí, thit mé den leaba, he! he! he!

57 Posts

I've been looking into this area for a few days - and have found some good and not so good ones:

Hindustan Aeronautics (India)
    BATE Borisov (BATE being an acronym for Borisov Works of Automobile and Tractor Electric Equipment)
    Briton Ferry Llansawel (of the Welsh third division)
    Llandudno Junction (Named after the train station of the same name I believe)
    Skoda Xanthi (Greece)

My favourite one though is the football team from Cochabamba in Bolivia - called Club Jorge Wilsterman.

Jorge Wilsterman was Bolivia's first commercial pilot...
    Kom Igen, FCK...

522 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Scrufil View Post
    I wonder did a Cork man write one of those RTE reports as since when is Cork the 'country's second city'?
    Technically (factually in fact) it is. To a Corkman, of course it's the real capital.