Page 173 of 188 FirstFirst ... 73123163171172173174175183 ... LastLast
Results 3,441 to 3,460 of 3757

Thread: Cork City denied a licence; club to be wound up; FORAS to enter First Division

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Hearing talk about a high court injuntion being sought by new owners?

Does anyone have any hard information.
    No injunctions. We just get on with it. At least its over now & Coughlan will never get near a club again.
    "To Fudge or Not to Fudge" by J Delaney.

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Hearing talk about a high court injuntion being sought by new owners?

Does anyone have any hard information.
    Can't see what it could possibly be based on, the decision not to award a license really isn't even debatable.

In any case, what new owners? I thought the deadline for the takeover to go through was tomorrow? Cork City FC has been refused a licence (of any descripion) so will not be in the league next year, As such, presumably the takeover now collapses. Why would the consortium take over a club that will not be in the LOI? As far as I can tell, FORAS have been granted a new licence for a new club. I guess they could do a separate deal with the same consortium? In any case, it will not be the same club as I understand things.

Quote Originally Posted by sheao View Post
    Now it is a FORAS 100% run club and CCIFL will be liquidated. Best outcome in my opinion and a FORAS run side will be a success with some very good people involved.
    And will be welcomed and not despised by all. I HOPE!!!
    Kildare County RIP

What is this Foras Cork city going to do now? Will they sign players off the other Cork? Where will they play this season? They've a lot of work and not a lot of time.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tonydaly View Post
    No injunctions. We just get on with it. At least its over now & Coughlan will never get near a club again.
    Good luck to Foras with their new club.

Dundalk had to rebuild in the first division, as had Shamrock Rovers.

It is not the end of the world and I'm sure you'll come back stronger and more secure.

1,552 Posts
    The next big question: The new Derry City had to take on the old club's 'football debts'.

Will the new Cork City have to do the same?

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    The next big question: The new Derry City had to take on the old club's 'football debts'.

Will the new Cork City have to do the same?
    New club, new licence, no debts.

Just back from the Game spent the whole match refreshing my phone in the hope of getting word and nada until I'm at the door.

Congrats to all the guys in Foras I really do think this is the best long term outcome for you.

I'm still in shock that the ILC has done the right thing.

1,104 Posts
    Fair play FAI/Independent Committee the right call I gave out loads about a potential fudge, glad to see it not happen. For now anyway. Welcome FORAS FC if ye want to play in the First. Get to feck any "investors" whose nose is out of joint. Tough luck for lending TNB money.

44 Posts
    Fair play FAI for making the right decision...best of luck to FORAS....Europe for Dundalk????
    Only another 9 titles till Drogheda become pride of county louth!!!

Delighted with this news, didn't think the FAI/Licence committee would have had the balls to do it. RIP Cork City.

Em, one thing - does this mean that finally Roddy has been relegated with a club :-)

Seriously though, I've a mixed feeling over all of this. Dundalk will be in Europe, so that's brilliant. Howevere there has been so much said and done with alot of hurt and pain, not to mention the situation Bray now find themselves in. I hope to wake up in the morning knowing that this is the end of the saga, or is there going to be a whole new twist as the sun rises over Dungarvan?

Wow, the right decision! Big job ahead for the Foras guys, any idea what the new club will be called?

448 Posts
    Stunned. I am happy that in the end I suppose a fair decision as regards the rest of the league has been made

But John Delaney et al have a lot to answer for allowing this to drag out a week longer than it needed to. I'm sure Bray are pretty angry at the FAI for not making this decision last week, as are we. The amount of work we have to do from here on is enormous, but well manage it. The amount of work put in the last week by a number of people on the FORAS BoM which has now gone to waste is just not right. People have lives, families, jobs but that was all put to the background this week and for what?

Shame on you FAI

congrats to Bray, third time lucky for you guys

Cork City Foras Co-op
    life is random

448 Posts
    Cork City Foras Co-op

I am in shock that the ILC have come to the correct decision, in saying that I applaud them for having the goolies to make that decision when we all expected a massive fudge.

Welcome to the LOI Foras.

Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    Cork City Foras Co-op
    Is that serious? Do you think you'll be allowed start a new club called Cork City FC without buying that name? I know it's not technically exactly the same name, but still, It's clear that the intention is to have the new club commonly called Cork City FC. If you have looked into it and been advised you can do it then good work, but if not this could be yet another excuse for a legal tangle with TNB.

Quote Originally Posted by James View Post
    Cork City Foras Co-op
    , couldn't have thought of anything better? Sounds like some business, not a football club.

Quote Originally Posted by Nedser View Post
    Is that serious? Do you think you'll be allowed start a new club called Cork City FC without buying that name? I know it's not technically exactly the same name, but still, It's clear that the intention is to have the new club commonly called Cork City FC. If you have looked into it and been advised you can do it then good work, but if not this could be yet another excuse for a legal tangle with TNB.
    already been looked at legally.
    we are a group called Foras, we're a supporters Co-op and from Cork City.
    I think the name encompasses everything about us very well non!
    life is random