Thread: Steven O'Flynn et al.

Steven O'Flynn et al.

Apparently Steven O'Flynn is very unlikely to sign up with Limerick again next season. If his Aberdeen trial doesn't work out he's likely to sit on the bench and collect a big fat check at Cork City. He'll be on a full-time deal and it's difficult to blame him really. Also Mike Kerley hasn't signed a contract yet and as things stand none of our players have been approached yet to sign for next year (if three of them are to be believed anyway).

Basically whats happening here is 'DEJA VU'.This time last year we were all horrified and appalled at what had been happening with the club, only for a gargantuan effort on the field to take our minds off it and ease the pain and anger. This time last year we had Noel O'Connor as manager, Mike as his assistant and a very promising squad of players. We were as disorganised as any club could possibly be off the pitch, and the blatant lies of certain committee members caused O'Connor to walk, leaving Mike Kerley to keep the ship afloat, which he did more than admirably.
    Instead of building on this success, which any club with a modicum of street-smarts and intelligence would do, our pathetic excuse for a committee have only made one big signing; that of "Money...oh, I'm yer man to raise that" to Commercial Manager. A position not even advertised to the general public so someone with either fund-raising, commercial or marketing experience could apply for.This smacks of "our own little boys club" syndrome and is indicative of how the season will progress.
    It was pretty much common knowledge throughout the club management and committee last season that Eoin Keating was unhappy, and wanted to move to a different club, or go back to the GAA. Instead of accepting O'Connors offer, which with a bit of bargaining from a proper Commercial Manager would have been around €10,000, it was decided to give him the finger, probably because he turned his back on the club earlier in the season. Great commercial sense in that, seeing as Keating was banished to the bench for most of the season after that because of the fact that he let people know he wanted to move.
    Promises of public meetings, sponsorships, pitches etc have all freely flowed from the mouths of these egomaniacs since. No progress though. Not one shred....is it any wonder that Stevo would be happy to sit on a bench at Cork, or that Mike Kerley is biding his time before committing himself to work for this shower of incompotent wasters?? I don't think so.

re;

Any news about stevos trial with aberdeen this week?,I for one hope everything goes very well for him.

Oh my God!! Never thought I'd see the day!

I agree with everything in one of Joe's posts!!!

Seriously though, great post. Gets across the desperation we as fans are feeling and I believe the players are also feeling.

There has been no news from us (Aberdeen) about O'Flynn since he arrived.

Is he out of contract? The transfer deadline has passed but Pele says he wanted to bring in a few young players with potential still.

The compensation may be a problem as we have nae cash though

Apparently he impressed at Aberdeen, as did Alan Murphy, but not enough, and while they say they'll be keeping an eye on him, they're not going to make him an offer.Not one for Murphy either.