Thread: Stephen O' Flynn

Stephen O' Flynn

Limericks Stephen O'Flynn is on the verge of signing for St Pats according to todays Sun newspaper.Do we really care?There is a big difference in the first and premier divisions here but even if he does ok i am not sure whether we need him.Tony Bird is on the move from Pats according to the Sun also.But where is he heading?here Birdy Birdy

There have been rumours of Bird going to Derry posted before. I rate Stephen O'Flynn highly to be honest, I'd like to see him get a second shot with us, and given his age and our current wealth of strikers i think O'Flynn would be a better option for city, if only looking to the future.

Bird is a good striker, but not what we need at the moment.

O 'Flynn..

I suppose i have never seen O'Flynn play to much only for that brief spell with us.Coming from Mallow you would think City(if they really are interested)would be a better choice but maybe having been here before he would like to try something new and St Pats are a very good club to join also...all the best to the guy if he does...

Guys, for the love of Jehovah, we need S. O'Flynn like a............whatever.

He would be as useful to us now, as "an ashtray on a motorbike".

WE NEED A CREATIVE MIDFIELDER.........PLEASE!

I'd go to the highest mountains in Kerry if I thought I'd be heard, only they'd probably send us up some curly, red haired, muck savage who can leap like a gazelle, catch a ball made of molten lava with one hand, shoulder charge Jonna Loumu and the Incredible Hulk at the same time ...... but end up belting the ball over the bar from 50 yards out..............sounds a bit like Kelvin Flannagan........now that I think about it.
    Irish by birth,
    Cork by the grace of God.

CC

CC.....i hope to jaysus City sign a midfielder soon before you go mad

No news.............!
    One signing over the past 4 months...........!
    One of our most reliable midfielders goes to Derry..........!
    Nothing in the papers............!
    Sick of SKY...........!
    No sleep............!
    Raining outside..........!
    GAA started up again..........!
    Dog got sick.........!
    New gas bill.........!
    Chips are cold...........1

.............worst close season in 15 years!

........Trainspotting, Trainspotting, Trainspotting!

BUY SOMEONE FOR F**K SAKE AND PUT ME OUT OF MY MISERY.
    Irish by birth,
    Cork by the grace of God.

Originally posted by xtreme rebel
    Ryan Casey has joined Galway!
    Well at least something good has happened in the pre-season for ye then.
    I have a sneaky feeling that Steven O'Flynn will sign for ye in the not so distant future.

Originally posted by joeSoap
    Well at least something good has happened in the pre-season for ye then.
    I have a sneaky feeling that Steven O'Flynn will sign for ye in the not so distant future.
    Dont need him

Dont want him

We've got 8 players who can paly there who are better than him; Fenn, Flynn, O'Callaghan, Doyle, Nolan, Behan, O'Brien and I'd say give him a while and Fraher will be too.

He had his chance and didnt take it.

Let Pats have him.

don't agree with that sóccfc,

i don't think he got a fair shot with us first time around, and i think he's closer to the finished article than all our strikers bar George, Flynn and Fenn.

we probably don't need him now, we definitely need to concentrate on other parts of the field, but having a quality strong young striker on our books would be a good thing.

soccfc

Just a couple of things for you to bear in mind. We signed him from you guys, initially on loan because himself and Gunther couldn't even look at each other, not to mention get on. Gunthers track record speaks for itself, and what an outstanding record it was...for the rest of the EL.
    Since he left Cork, he has played two full seasons with us, has been our top scorer both seasons, has improved with every game he played, and made the First Division Team of the Year this season.And he's just turned 21. He is as good as Fenn, and I'd definitely have him in ahead of Doyle, Behan, Nolan, O'Brien and Fraher. JOF and Georgie are better than him.
    And before you tell me that I don't know what I'm talking about, I've been to most Cork City games, home and away last season, and have seen a bit of ye're 21's as well.
    Sounds to me as if you don't want him back because he had the 'audacity' to leave in the first place. You obviously haven't seen him play since he left, so may I suggest you get a look at him before you shoot your mouth off again with such drivel.

Seen him play a few times although obviously not as much as you have.

Cork City FC has moved on from players like Steve O'Flynn. I know well what Gunther was like. The reason he fell out with Gunther, from what I've heard, was silliness on his behalf. I just think he's a liability. He'll come back and find there no place for him in the team, how long until he has another "outburst". I just think the boys attitude is not suited to professional football. I'd love if we did sign him and he turned out to be wonderful I just dont think it'll happen.

I've no problem with players leaving and coming back. Some people still hold it against Derek Coughlan for leaving us. I dont. I'd take Ollie and the Rat back in the morning if it was to the betterment of CCFC.

He didnt exactly set the world alight when he was with us the first time either, for the period that he would play that is.

Better than Doyler? Dont think there are many players in the premier division better than Doyle.

Ok maybe he's as good as Nolan, O'Brien and Behan.

If we sign Stephen O'Flynn, then others should be on their way. No club in the league can afford to have a huge squad and Pat D has always tended to have one...
    that or he always had the youngsters in the team photos!

interesting shtuff!

I know nothing about this O'Flynn

could be a case of two bald men fighting over a comb here!

very good player IMO. I dont think we really need him, but i'd rather we got him than pats, cos if he does go to them, I can see him doing some damage to us.

He's signed for us apparently. See here

Lots of competition for strikers - how 'bout midfield Pat??

That article said we signed Brendan Sweeney, is that true?
    when did that go through? i've seen nothing about it

Steve O' Flynn would be a great signing. Don't forget that he only left because he fell out with Gunther. Before he left I thought he was a very solid striker. He is strong, fast and very committed.

The keen competition up front can only be good for the team.

Irrespective of signing O'Flynn, we have too many strikers on the books.

CP, Behan, Nolan and Fraher barely get a look in as it is, even though our main goalscorer missed a huge chunk of last season. Maybe keep one or two of them as they're young, but they're not all going to make it as CCFC regulars.

Strikers

I'd say CP will be let go, he's hardly got a look in for a longish time under two different managers.

Send Behan out on loan and keep Nolan around playing mainly in the U-21s.

For all the strikers we have we dont have any target man, some fella like Harris for Shels who we could throw on with a few minutes to go if we were chasing a match.

Whats our squad now;

Devine, Mooney, McNulty

Hoggie, Carey, Billy, Coughlan, D. Murray, K. Murray, Benno

Nwankwo, Greg? Colin T, Doyler, Kearney, Sweeney

Georgie

J O'Flynn, S O'Flynn, Fenn, Behan, Nolan, Colin P.

Plus under 21s.

Defence is grand, we has the 2nd best last season. Upfront we defo have enough. Just midfield is the problem. I suppose if Benno and Georgie become out and out midfielders we be decent but not wonderful or anything.

sean

whats wrong with

doyler georgie sweeney kearney

fenn flynn

if sweeney is as good as the limerick lads say?
    if not colin t had a great season last year and nwankwo looked like a player.. also theres greg for the added steel if needed
    this line up gives us sweeney plus the best attaking midfielder in the country.. 2 international wingers.. fenn and john up front
    cant see the prob there