i thought that he had been released??? rumour was that he was going to ashling
looks like p.danagher could be heading out on loan,with mervue the likely destination.
i thought that he had been released??? rumour was that he was going to ashling
sick of narcissists.....
A good move for him if he isn't going to get regular football this season. He's good enough to start for Limerick so with Wunsch gone, Barrett gone and Purcell injured i don't see why Limerick aren't hanging onto him.
lads what ye on about about "paying up" or limerick dont have the money??? limerick players are on very very small basic and if limerick wanted to let go a player on day one of the season and he was on a pro contract id say the total pay out might be less then the average dunnes stores part time weekly wage. most limerick players are amateurs with some being on pro contracts. anyway where ever paul ends up and id say he will have several offers he should do well as hes a quality first division center half.
Danagher asked to be paid up and he was told that LFC would not do that but they would honor his contract until the end of the season, knowing that he would not sit around without a game that he would look for another LOI Club himself or go back playing junior so essentially he was pushed, I think it would have been best for LFC to pay him up especially as the money was so minimal as you say, although i myself can see their logic, the money could pay for another player and still stay within budget. Still it could leave a sour taste in a young players mouth that under different management might return someday
fair enough but he still should of been allowed train with the senior team and fight for his place until his contract expires. he had to train with u20's which was a bit harsh. surely even at 4th choice centre back he would of been worth holding on to for the season incase we pick up a few injuries at centre half. wasn he player of the year last year?
Being player of the year last year does not make him an automatic choice to play this year.If the manager doesn`t want him its his call.
Ya exactly. The way I see it, is Scully wanted to start putting a squad together for next season. As far as I know, Danagher is finished college in Limerick this year so he couldn't commit himself 100% to Scully's squad next season so he was given the option to leave.
For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie
When did i say that he should be guaranteed his place. If you saw the question mark in my original post you would know i was asking a genuine question. some fall from grace for him. ya exactly and the manager will be judged by these decisions at the end of the season by how we finish up. well see at the end of the season where we finish. i haven been impressed with scully to be totally honest... tactics/man management/style of play/results. We played some great football last year.
given the option to leave. he was told he was released by scully. he then went to the board for full payment for the year and they said no that was not an option and told him they were not releasing him but he could leave to join another club e.g mervue. he has to train with the u20's not even allowed train with the senior team which is a bit harsh. i take your point about finishing college and not been able to committ next year. scully can pick and choose whoever he wishes. no problem with that. just could of been handled a lot better given the amount of effort danagher hs put in since he joined.
Firstly I dont know you so your not my Friend.. Dano got that move himself when he contacted Nigel Keady about going up there. Maybe LFC circulated his CV but he was already a done deal with Mervue by then. Dano asked to be paid u,,Fact No assumption there, LFC refused which is within there right.
Dont think id be judging scully by end of this season to be fair.Id be waiting to see how it goes next year but thats just me other people may want to judge earlier.
The treatment of Danagher is absolutely pathetic. It defies logic that he was pushed towards the exit with Barrett and Wunsch gone, Purcell injured and O'Callaghan and Donnelly mediocre at best for the most part and absolutely crap last night in particular. Danagher has pretty much been victimised and it's unpleasant to see a player who gave so much being treated so badly.
If Pat Scully really doesn't even see a squad place for Paul Danagher then he basically knows nothing about football. As he clearly does know his stuff it's obvious enough that this whole thing is not all about football.
Well said SLK.
I've nothing against bringing in players who aren't local as long as they are clearly better than what's there already.
Donnelly was woeful on Friday night, and I know that they have to be defenders first and foremost but does anyone think this guy will give us what Dano did on attacking setpieces?
Given the disciplinary stuff earlier in the season it seems clear to me that Scully was using Danagher to either throw some shapes in the dressing room or to justify bringing in Donnelly or both. Either way it's pretty shabby treatment of a player of the year. And this stuff about not being able to give a give 100% commitment for next year? I for one wouldn't have minded his kind of commitment last Friday night.
Fact is anything could have went on we dont know all that matters is he is gone.I wish him luck with mervue and i think yes he has been released.