Heard that he thinks he will play again before season is out but agree with what you are saying.
The question is, will Butler ever play again and if he does how will he be effected by what was a horrific injury?
He injured himself, doing what he should not have been doing. And all this happened outside his workplace.
I think we have been more than generious with him. We cannot afford to take any more risks with him. It's time to call it quit's and let him go.
We dont have the funds to keep him on our books. Goodbye Chris.
I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.
Heard that he thinks he will play again before season is out but agree with what you are saying.
Was the player not insured? surely the insurance would be paying his wages etc.
Lads, first off we all make mistakes so let he who hasnt sinned cast the first stone. He will play again this season by his own admission. Got the pins out of his leg last monday so he expects to be back to full training by september. He is really keen to repay rovers faith in him, the only reason he didnt take a payoff before now is that he is mad to get back playing. He was offered payoffs loads of time but knew if he took the money he would have had no motivation to work as hard as he will do now to get back asap. . . Best of luck Chrissy. One of the best left back ever to play for rovers!!! Legend!
Chris is the best full-back i've ever see play at The Showgrounds. It's a risk we're taking keeping him, but if he returns next season/end of this season, i think he'll be worth the wait. I know he probably won't be the same player, but he's still miles better than what we have.
Yes, the club is forking out much needed money on a player who's unable to play, however, we all know how good he can be and if returns to be the same player he was before the injury it will be well worth the money.
Whats that comin' over the hill
It's the Monster,
The Cookie Monster!
I can see why people would say enough is enough. But we have come this far with him and if he does come good he could repay Rovers in spades and would no doubt show gratitude and loyalty to the club. Best of luck chris.
Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!
he should have been let go if ya ask me at start of season. fair enough we all make mistakes but would people have been as simpathetic if a innocent child or passer by had been killed. he is a grown man who must learn by his mistakes. nice lad and was a good full back who gave an honest effort every game but the club need to be more ruthless in the current climate. if boco is sold this season or contract not extended because funds low will ye be sayin ah its worth it we kept butler.......... butler v boco only one answer in my book !!!!!!!!!!!!!
He should have been let go straight away. But not much point now, we have stuck with him this long there is no point offloading him now, all the time and money invested in his wages & rehabilitation would all go to waste.
your right yes he should have its pointless really even discussing it to be honest cos they not gonna release him now. i think parkhouse should be released he is too injury prone and we dont need him with new signing. i know i will be criticised for saying that but if boco wants to stay and club wont put money up for him there should be uproar.
Agree it should have happened at the time, given the circumstances of how the injury happened I would be surprised if any insurance company agreed to pay his wages under any Motor policy or Club insurances for the period involved.
It is a strange one when you compare it to the Mauro Almeida situation and how he was allowed leave, granted by mutual consent in the end, but by Cookies own admission his view was that he couldn't wait the possible 2 or 3 months more for Almeida to be fit.
Strange one to me.
Last edited by Guts&Glory; 22/07/2009 at 12:52 PM.