Page 43 of 68 FirstFirst ... 33414243444553 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Desmond League 2009/10

Quote Originally Posted by desmondoldie View Post
    Right lads we have hit the half way point lets get tips on who you see winning leagues and who you think will drop a division.

Premier
    Its quite tight at the top at the moment but Rathkeale are still fairly clear from the rest of the pack
    Winners- Ratkeale (will be there first leauge title in since 04/05 season)
    Runners up-Newcastle (I can see them having a strong run in)

Relegation-Carrig
    Ballingary(they'll bounce back next year)

Division 1
    A big change from Shannonsides runaway last year this leauge is being strongly contested between Adare Kileaney Kildimo Old mill if Athea and Glantine win there games in hand there in with a shout also.At the Bottom Newcastle and abbeyfeale along with Feenagh are battling the drop together.

Winners-Kileaney (Good side have a nice few Glin boys playing well.
    Runners up-Kildimo(should kick on from Munster junior Loss)

Relegation-Feenagh
    Abbeyfeale

Division 2
    This division is a tough one to call but ill stick my neck out.The Gaa coming back soon may upset this division.

Winners-Ratkeale B(They play some lovely football)
    Kilcornan

Relegation-Ballysteen (I thought they would do better this year)
    Ballingarry B(double relegation for them i feel.)

Division 3 a Divison 3 b

Winners-Creeves(would be nice to see them push back up the league, they nearly fell off the radar) Winners-Granagh(same as i sated for Creeves)
    Asketon B Adare b

Lads could someone clarify is the winner and runner up in division 3 put into Play-Offs with each other or do 1 winner from each group just go up.
    Its a playoff system in Division 3

Quote Originally Posted by sky blue View Post
    Broadford are the in form team at the minute in the league so saying that Rathkeale are going to end there chance's is jumping the gun a bit. It should be a very close game and its great to see Broadford back in contention again for the league after so many season's just going through the motions.
    Ya its good to see them back alright. They look like they have brought a good few young lads through this year. I think Rathkeale will be too strong for them this year and they also have the annual problem of there GAA players back in full training. I heard as well that they are going to Newcastle on there rght backs stag this weekend so that will rule a good few of their players out this weekend

As far as I know only the winners of Division 3 A and Division 3 B get promoted and these two group winners meet each other to determine who wins Division 3 outright

Quote Originally Posted by sky blue View Post
    Lads are ye on about Carrig in Waterford or Carrigkerry because the last time i was back there the pitch was a disaster..
    Well said

Quote Originally Posted by western gale View Post
    As far as I know only the winners of Division 3 A and Division 3 B get promoted and these two group winners meet each other to determine who wins Division 3 outright
    There is definately a playoff between the top two teams in each group

Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    we (carew park) have played carrig in a friendly every summer for the last 4yrs in carrig and we found the club set up as excellant there field is very good dressing rooms are excellant plenty of space and now they have an all weather which is from what i hear to notch.
    in fairness pal its not like its a mud bath or not level etc etc a bit of respect to carrig there a sound bunch of lads.
    Legend !

Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    we (carew park) have played carrig in a friendly every summer for the last 4yrs in carrig and we found the club set up as excellant there field is very good dressing rooms are excellant plenty of space and now they have an all weather which is from what i hear to notch.
    in fairness pal its not like its a mud bath or not level etc etc a bit of respect to carrig there a sound bunch of lads.
    Sorry thoma72, ive never had the joy of playing in carrig in the middle of summer when the bog is all dried up. As for the slant it gets alot worse during the winter and after christmas as the bog starts to sink. A bit like there junior side. They always sink towards the bottom after Christmas.

Quote Originally Posted by Gearysfan View Post
    Sorry thoma72, ive never had the joy of playing in carrig in the middle of summer when the bog is all dried up. As for the slant it gets alot worse during the winter and after christmas as the bog starts to sink. A bit like there junior side. They always sink towards the bottom after Christmas.
    Now there is a Legend

Quote Originally Posted by The1 View Post
    Now there is a Legend
    i strongly agree.........

Quote Originally Posted by Have It View Post
    You would pick Rovers over Carrig ?? Ha Ha , next you'l be telling me Glin and Shannonside are brilliant pitches as well.
    i would definately prefer to play in glin rovers pitch than play in carrig or newcastle rovers field!!carrig have to change the fields every year because the bog ha!
    Last edited by Shannon Boy; 04/03/2010 at 9:32 PM. Reason: spelling error

Foot.ie!

Quote Originally Posted by Shannon Boy View Post
    i would definately prefer to play in glin rovers pitch than play in carrig or newcastle rovers field!!carrig have to change the fields every year because the bog ha!

A lot of digs at Carrig personally I think the carrig set up is very good compared to the majority of the league it has a stand astro turf and dressing rooms which the majority of clubs don't have...they have everything now, so maybe they can work on the pitch

But for the likes of Kildimo, Glin and a few more have they got any plans for a new pitch? surely if Kildimo get to the premier they will have to have dressing rooms I dont think you should be allowed in the premier without dressing rooms the league has to start setting standards and dressing rooms are a must....

Quote Originally Posted by soccer8 View Post
    A lot of digs at Carrig personally I think the carrig set up is very good compared to the majority of the league it has a stand astro turf and dressing rooms which the majority of clubs don't have...they have everything now, so maybe they can work on the pitch

But for the likes of Kildimo, Glin and a few more have they got any plans for a new pitch? surely if Kildimo get to the premier they will have to have dressing rooms I dont think you should be allowed in the premier without dressing rooms the league has to start setting standards and dressing rooms are a must....
    I agree with you about Kildimo and they should be not allowed in Premier Division with out at least some commitment been given to start work on dressing rooms. As for your comment on Glin, why would they want plans for a new pitch when the have already got a level pitch (when its cut), a seated stand and dressing rooms. I think you need to apologise to the Glin lads.

Glin have a nice place with a nice stand and i dont think the field isn't too bad once its cut, but im afraid lad i wouldn't call it level. Last time i remember the was a SLIGHT slant towards the dressing room :-)

Only four pitches that i could say are up to standard in the leauge ant they are, Askeaton, Rathkeale, Broadford and Clounreask. Broadford in my opinion now have the best set-up with dressing rooms and pitch. Have a fine big training area and if they would put down astro turf they would have everything done. The pitch is immaculate and an absolute joy to play on...

[/QUOTE]
    Only four pitches that i could say are up to standard in the leauge ant they are, Askeaton, Rathkeale, Broadford and Clounreask. Broadford in my opinion now have the best set-up with dressing rooms and pitch. Have a fine big training area and if they would put down astro turf they would have everything done. The pitch is immaculate and an absolute joy to play on...[/QUOTE]

I agree the four stated above have fine setups, but i dont agree with the best playing surface, I have to say i find the pitch in Asketon to be terrible to play on but at least it is flat.
    Abbeyfeale would have to be included if they let the grass grow on their pitch to many games played on main pitch if you aske me.

Foot.ie!

very rare the grass is cut to a reasonable height no disrespect to Glin I just think if the standard in the Desmond League is to improve the pitches have to improve and I am just using that hill as an example.....

Only four pitches that i could say are up to standard in the leauge ant they are, Askeaton, Rathkeale, Broadford and Clounreask. Broadford in my opinion now have the best set-up with dressing rooms and pitch. Have a fine big training area and if they would put down astro turf they would have everything done. The pitch is immaculate and an absolute joy to play on...[/QUOTE]

I agree the four stated above have fine setups, but i dont agree with the best playing surface, I have to say i find the pitch in Asketon to be terrible to play on but at least it is flat.
    Abbeyfeale would have to be included if they let the grass grow on their pitch to many games played on main pitch if you aske me.[/QUOTE]

Ya I think Broadford have the best set up aright followed closely by Askeaton, Ballingarry and Rathkeale. I always liked Killeaneys pitch as well and as far as I can remember Athea have a good set up. Personally I always found the pitch in Abbeyfeale to be very heavy during the winter months but their grounds in general are a credit to them. As for the pitch in Clounreask I always found it to be very rough and bumpy, I havent played there in a few years though so that might have been rectified since.
    Last edited by The1; 05/03/2010 at 2:43 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by soccer8 View Post

Agreed. Carrig pitch might not be like a snooker table but then again its far from being the worst in the league. So called good players can play on any pitch. Not having a dig at teams without dressing rooms but in fairness in this day and age no reason teams cant have them. Broadford's dressing rooms are a credit to them. They probably have the best playing surface too in my opinion.

I think what carrig have achieved in such a short existance is a credit to their club and the commitee behind it...remember its not that long ago that broadford, kileaney, bally rovers, askeaton and a few more had bad pitches and they have been around alot longer. I think i remember glantine having a tree in the middle of their field!! So maybe ,given time, when the rest of the facilites are paid for carrig might concentrate on improving the pitch but at the moment i think its fine as it is.

Quote Originally Posted by mad4it View Post
    I think what carrig have achieved in such a short existance is a credit to their club and the commitee behind it...remember its not that long ago that broadford, kileaney, bally rovers, askeaton and a few more had bad pitches and they have been around alot longer. I think i remember glantine having a tree in the middle of their field!! So maybe ,given time, when the rest of the facilites are paid for carrig might concentrate on improving the pitch but at the moment i think its fine as it is.
    I wont keep having ago at carrig. To be fair to them they have done an awful lot in the past few years to improve their facilities and maybe in time they might improve their pitch.
    However as a team the have lost an awful lot of players to immigration and stuff and aren't as strong as they were. The likes of pa sullivan who went to australia. Well i suppose he wouldn't be a great example since he was past it and on his last legs before he left.

Desmond youths are away to wicklow today in second round of youths inter league at 3pm, very disappointing to hear that only thirteen players travelled

Page 43 of 68 FirstFirst ... 33414243444553 ... LastLast