Page 42 of 68 FirstFirst ... 32404142434452 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Desmond League 2009/10

Quote Originally Posted by The1 View Post
    Was yere B Team match last Sunday week not called off at half two. I didn't here of any other matches being called off that day. Is selective memory and gross exaggerating (good pitch) just a personal characteristic or is it a characteristic of Carrig lads in general
    Hit the nail on th head.

That game was called off for safety of people. Not a whole pile you can do about snow and frost and dangerous roads. We dont all have the luxury of getting games called off whenever we like because unlike some clubs we dont have people where it matters at the top. We all know there is a lot of bad pitches around but to say Carrig is one of them is a bit daft really.

Quote Originally Posted by Have It View Post
    That game was called off for safety of people. Not a whole pile you can do about snow and frost and dangerous roads. We dont all have the luxury of getting games called off whenever we like because unlike some clubs we dont have people where it matters at the top. We all know there is a lot of bad pitches around but to say Carrig is one of them is a bit daft really.
    Could you name a worse Premier Division pitch and dont say Rovers because I would pick that pitch over Carrigs any day

You would pick Rovers over Carrig ?? Ha Ha , next you'l be telling me Glin and Shannonside are brilliant pitches as well.

Dead right I would, at least on those pitches you know you are not going to sink into the ground. Carrig was built on a bog, and as the saying goes, once a bog, always a bog

Ah lads Carrig isn't a great field but i think it is along way off being a bad field.
    Personally i think shannoside pitch in foynes is horrible , deffinatley worse than carrig. Although i don't think glinis a bad pitch i just hate the surface grass is always too high , the whole field back there actually depreses me

Quote Originally Posted by desmondoldie View Post
    Ah lads Carrig isn't a great field but i think it is along way off being a bad field.
    Personally i think shannoside pitch in foynes is horrible , deffinatley worse than carrig. Although i don't think glinis a bad pitch i just hate the surface grass is always too high , the whole field back there actually depreses me
    Its an even longer way off being a good field. How ''have it'' can have ''Carrig'' and the word ''good'' in the same sentence is just beyond comprehension

Ah your getting personal now "The1". Your very bad today. A little bitter about something maybe? Or jealous even. Theres worse things in life than Carrigs pitch :-)

Ya I suppose you are right, Knockaderrys pitch is worse so Carrigs pitch is not the worst in the Desmond League, Its the second worsed, Ha Ha.

On the day that the Carrig Celtic B v Broadford Utd B game was called off the same situation applied to the Division 1 game between Athea Utd and Abbeyfeale Utd B in Athea where the pitch was covered in snow and frost and this was the first time a game was ever called off there outside of a blank cancellation. It should also be noted that the Premier game between Glin Rovers and Askeaton and the Division 1 League Cup game between Killeaney and St Itas were also called off due to snow.

Quote Originally Posted by western gale View Post
    On the day that the Carrig Celtic B v Broadford Utd B game was called off the same situation applied to the Division 1 game between Athea Utd and Abbeyfeale Utd B in Athea where the pitch was covered in snow and frost and this was the first time a game was ever called off there outside of a blank cancellation. It should also be noted that the Premier game between Glin Rovers and Askeaton and the Division 1 League Cup game between Killeaney and St Itas were also called off due to snow.
    All around the same area. Safety of players and supporters has to come first. Well said Western Gale !

I take it all back, Carrig have unquestionably the best pitch in the league. Join with me in a campaign to get the Desmond cup and all League cup finals relocated to the home off football Carrig in 2010

Now your talking. You know it makes sense

I take it all back, Carrig have unquestionably the best pitch in the league. Join with me in a campaign to get the Desmond cup and all League cup finals relocated to the home off football Carrig in 2010
    Thats very tongue in cheek, I wouldnt say Carrig have the best pitch in the league, Broadford, Killeaney, Athea, Askeaton, Bally Rovers, Glantine, Ballingarry all have very good pitches but there are far worse pitches in all the divisions than Carrig (- correct me if I'm wrong but there is at least ten clubs in the league that dont have proper dressing rooms -) As was stated in an earlier post there has seldom being a game being called off in Carrig (outside of blanket cancelations). It should also be noted that they have hosted a good few underage cup finals

46 Posts
    Could you name a worse Premier Division pitch and dont say Rovers because I would pick that pitch over Carrigs any day

we (carew park) have played carrig in a friendly every summer for the last 4yrs in carrig and we found the club set up as excellant there field is very good dressing rooms are excellant plenty of space and now they have an all weather which is from what i hear to notch.
    in fairness pal its not like its a mud bath or not level etc etc a bit of respect to carrig there a sound bunch of lads.

Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    we (carew park) have played carrig in a friendly every summer for the last 4yrs in carrig and we found the club set up as excellant there field is very good dressing rooms are excellant plenty of space and now they have an all weather which is from what i hear to notch.
    in fairness pal its not like its a mud bath or not level etc etc a bit of respect to carrig there a sound bunch of lads.
    Jesus ye are pulling fellows in from all corners now, Should I be expecting a solicitors letter in relation to my slanderous comments

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by the1 View Post
    jesus ye are pulling fellows in from all corners now, should i be expecting a solicitors letter in relation to my slanderous comments

what??

Lads are ye on about Carrig in Waterford or Carrigkerry because the last time i was back there the pitch was a disaster..

Two good Premier Division matches on next weekend, Rathkeale should end the Broadford challenge and Glin should be able to kick start a late challenge for the league themselves
    Broadford are the in form team at the minute in the league so saying that Rathkeale are going to end there chance's is jumping the gun a bit. It should be a very close game and its great to see Broadford back in contention again for the league after so many season's just going through the motions.

Right lads we have hit the half way point lets get tips on who you see winning leagues and who you think will drop a division.

Premier
    Its quite tight at the top at the moment but Rathkeale are still fairly clear from the rest of the pack
    Winners- Ratkeale (will be there first leauge title in since 04/05 season)
    Runners up-Newcastle (I can see them having a strong run in)

Relegation-Carrig
    Ballingary(they'll bounce back next year)

Division 1
    A big change from Shannonsides runaway last year this leauge is being strongly contested between Adare Kileaney Kildimo Old mill if Athea and Glantine win there games in hand there in with a shout also.At the Bottom Newcastle and abbeyfeale along with Feenagh are battling the drop together.

Winners-Kileaney (Good side have a nice few Glin boys playing well.
    Runners up-Kildimo(should kick on from Munster junior Loss)

Relegation-Feenagh
    Abbeyfeale

Division 2
    This division is a tough one to call but ill stick my neck out.The Gaa coming back soon may upset this division.

Winners-Ratkeale B(They play some lovely football)
    Kilcornan

Relegation-Ballysteen (I thought they would do better this year)
    Ballingarry B(double relegation for them i feel.)

Division 3 a Divison 3 b

Winners-Creeves(would be nice to see them push back up the league, they nearly fell off the radar) Winners-Granagh(same as i sated for Creeves)
    Asketon B Adare b

Lads could someone clarify is the winner and runner up in division 3 put into Play-Offs with each other or do 1 winner from each group just go up.
    Last edited by desmondoldie; 04/03/2010 at 7:47 AM.

Page 42 of 68 FirstFirst ... 32404142434452 ... LastLast