Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: 0-3 v Cork City

Smile

i'm really worried after the performance tonight. midfield was atrocious & i have to say that ritchie ryan is;nt doing the business. he seems to slow the momentum when he gets the ball. i was watching boco and evertime he got the ball he played it at pace trying to inject monemtum but the response around him was;nt there. i hate to be critical & if as somebody says here peers is going to be out for a while then we are in deep ****. i can understand that the team would be very flat after the europa trip but we never looked like scoring. by the way somebody else mentions a fundraiser soon well i have being given 50 books of tickets to sell . tickets e10 each and the draw is at the end of august. anybody want to buy a ticket just give me a call at 087 2388215 or help would be appreciated to sell a few books. most of yee know me anyway (michael clancy). we are now in crisis mode and all help would be appreciated. lets hope we get a home draw in the cup. is it on tomorrow night?

Brutal beyond pathetic, we have nothing at all, It's not possible to slate Ryan without Slating O'Grady first though imo. Thought Richie was the best of them two tonight but that aint saying much. We have no defence, no midfield and no forwards at the moment, we have no team. I am angry i think some of our players think we are top of the league stroking the ball around from one side to another. We have the worst home record in the league. We leak goals at a serious rate we create very little. The bottom line is we have no hunger but we were hammered by a side tonight that had very little as well. This bodes badly for the future.

Never expected to get much from tonight but;

Cork weren't great

We were brutal(and have been looking disjointed in the last few games)

and the refereeing/asst decisions were, at times, blindingly bad, ie. before goals 1 & 2 (still no excuse to concede though)

It all makes it dishearting especially on a Sunday night!! Crowds will be waning big time unless we get a bit of a run going.

Wots the story with Peers ?

[QUOTE=Rovers Maniac;1190412]Ah lads jeez grow up with this sensationalism s**t, no wonder our country is turning into a police state. Over 48 hours before a game, couple of drinks, jesus thats no harm. Cook said to us the players behaved impeccably the whole week and a member of the MC said the same thing. You have to remember they're young lads they're not earning 50k a week, give them a break.

QUOTE]

Differing stories lads - what happened then just a few drinks to chill out or a bit of craic onboard others took as inapropriate ?

Quote Originally Posted by rovers100% View Post
    our priority needs to be players who can defend. we need someone who can organise a defense peers is outstanding but he needs someone beside him who can organise and keep his concentration. word is burns maybe an option but he is 30 now and only getting slower. a great reader of the game but we need to look to the future. we need a good strong cental midfielder too
    Feck the future, we need points NOW! If we can get Burns or any other decent CB then it's a must.

Quote Originally Posted by Redkenrover View Post
    That was also the last time we kept a clean sheet and we have only kept 6 in 22 games this year. We are soft and too easily got at. Looking at tonights dismal performance I drew a number of conclusions,
    1. Can we afford the luxury of creative players in midfield like Ryan, Morrison, where we obviously lack a physical edge, back four get little protection from our current midfield quartet.
    2. While I think O Grady gives his all, of late he seems to be chasing shadows and at times and looks a yard of the pace.
    3. Looking at the next fixtures I cant see where we are going to put a run together to move up the table.
    4. We need to get a centre back asap. At the moment we have Feeney and Ventre who dont look comfortable there.

On current form can anyone name the three teams going to finish below us to ensure we definately survive?

While I dont like to criticise players, the time for sentiment is gone and tough decisions need to be made. I hope for all oursake that Cook can make these. Otherwise I see a difficult time ahead.
    Ya good post, Gary Curran would have been an option we should never have got rid of, last night was a piviotal game in a lot of ways as this Cork side looked disinterested in winning but ended up beating us 3-0. I can't see us doing anything, the ball up to the front players was shocking, we did not hit the target until Ventre's free kick, we have no centre of defence next week so can't see us getting anything up there, not sure where are next points will come from.

Quote Originally Posted by brianw82 View Post
    Feck the future, we need points NOW! If we can get Burns or any other decent CB then it's a must.
    yes 100% agree with this.

Wasn't at the game and I accept it was a bad performance and result going by everybody's comments. Surely fatigue must have been a factor in this game though?
    It's the same players (almost to a man) who had to go out and try to do it again only a couple of days after an energy sapping game and flights etc.
    As was mentioned, new blood has to come in now or we will go down.

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok View Post
    I don't expect City to get anything from this game.
    When I wrote this, I of course had forgotten that you'd be in eastern europe two days before the game.
    I assume tiredness etc., was a factor, because we're not that good in fairness.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

No way were Cork 3-0 better than us. Cork were terrible, we were shocking though. It's not good enough, too many passengers in the team.
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Maniac View Post
    Over 48 hours before a game, couple of drinks, jesus thats no harm. Cook said to us the players behaved impeccably the whole week and a member of the MC said the same thing. You have to remember they're young lads they're not earning 50k a week, give them a break.
    We're a full time, supposedly professional team who haven't won a league game since May 29th(and even that game Dundalk deserved something). We're 2nd from bottom with some part-time teams ahead of us. We weren't good enough to beat a terrible Albanian side in 2 attempts & who are in their pre-season yet our fitness looked equal if not worse than theirs. There are too many players who are here just for the money and not willing to work for it. Our fitness is shocking. No player should be allowed drink until we start winning imo. A lot of the lads like a drink so if this is what motivates them to work harder then so be it because something has to be done now before it's too late and we're back playing Monaghan & Kildare.

No way were Cork 3-0 better than us. Cork were terrible, we were shocking though. It's not good enough, too many passengers in the team.We're a full time, supposedly professional team who haven't won a league game since May 29th(and even that game Dundalk deserved something). We're 2nd from bottom with some part-time teams ahead of us. We weren't good enough to beat a terrible Albanian side in 2 attempts & who are in their pre-season yet our fitness looked equal if not worse than theirs. There are too many players who are here just for the money and not willing to work for it. Our fitness is shocking. No player should be allowed drink until we start winning imo. A lot of the lads like a drink so if this is what motivates them to work harder then so be it because something has to be done now before it's too late and we're back playing Monaghan & Kildare.
    Too right lets get them up to Loughlin house pronto, one of the starting 11 last night had a drink on the flight? One came on as a sub, so trying to paint them all as being drunk does not wash or using that as an excuse for what was a shocking performance. We have been playing S**t all season, we have had the worst home record in the league for quite a while so the performance like last night is nothing new. Our fitness is poor and we don't create chances enough and leak goals at the back. This has happened all season and it's starting to look like we are going down.

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok View Post
    When I wrote this, I of course had forgotten that you'd be in eastern europe two days before the game.
    I assume tiredness etc., was a factor, because we're not that good in fairness.
    Yeah team got back at 2am on saturday can understand the fans travelling to Albania via dubrovnik to save a few quid but the team should of went via tirana to avoid crazy bus journeys . Going to have to battle hard from now, squad size and injuries are crippling us fitness seems to be an issue as well this year .

one of the starting 11 last night had a drink on the flight? One came on as a sub, so trying to paint them all as being drunk does not wash or using that as an excuse for what was a shocking performance.
    I'm not saying they were all drinking or that that was the reason we played poor, just that it should not be happening in a professional club who are down near bottom of the table and aren't fit enough mid-way through a season in my opinion(and obviously Cook's opinion as he went down to them when he was made aware of it).

Ah lads jeez grow up with this sensationalism s**t, no wonder our country is turning into a police state.
    I find it very amusing that you're complaining about sensationalism in the same sentence as claiming that Ireland is turning into a police state

Haven't read the thread, so sorry if i repeat what anyone said.

We were muck last night, but, the game really should not have been played till Tuesday. The team only returned from Albania early Friday morning, thats ONE full day to recover, plus one or two of our part timers may have had to work yesterday. We were seriously jaded, and looked it after ten minutes. Cork are an awful team to watch, and were last night, but they made the chances and we didnt, and its very frustrating to watch your team fail to even make decent chances when you know we've some fantastic players.

Owen Morrsion is becoming more and more frustrating to watch. Fantastic footballer, but the lad does not give a monkeys. Thought Ventre was brilliant last night before he got sent off, but we do need another centre half, badly!

I'm not saying they were all drinking or that that was the reason we played poor, just that it should not be happening in a professional club who are down near bottom of the table and aren't fit enough mid-way through a season in my opinion(and obviously Cook's opinion as he went down to them when he was made aware of it).
    Look if you feel that way why make some auld dry remark about it?! I was leaving the showgrounds yesterday and a Rovers fan (who was not in Albania) told me that the reason we were brutal is that it was that the whole team were drunk on Friday !!!! and like it or not thats what a lot of people would have read into your remark about some of them being in "high spirits" !!!

This is going to be the stick the beats this team for the coming weeks, rather than as other people have said us needing a decent centre back and a decent central midfielder, the answers to our problems will be now that we lock the team up until they start winning. Our team is not good enough we need these extra players to compete. We have two new strikers, Parkhouse to return and two other players in Cretaro and Boco who can play up front. The real issue at hand imo is we are weak in key areas of the team which right down the centre of it. I just hope we can get players for these positions asap.

Muck, the team could at least pretend to care.
    Bar Keane, Ventre, Boco and Raf it just seemed the rest didnt care tbh.
    Lacked any creativity, drive or incision in midfield and any potency in front of goal the few times it amde it to Corks danger area.
    We are putting togethor some fine relegation form here, and believe me with performances like that We are good enough to go down.

Quote Originally Posted by Da Real Rover View Post
    Muck, the team could at least pretend to care.
    Bar Keane, Ventre, Boco and Raf.
    I would add Brush to that list.

Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    I would add Brush to that list.
    True.

Quote Originally Posted by Da Real Rover View Post
    True.
    You left out Gavin Peers unless your on about who was playing last night.
    Coleman for Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by sligofan4ever View Post
    You left out Gavin Peers unless your on about who was playing last night.
    Just on about the team last night.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast