It's not only football that they sing those songs. I was watching a program on German TV about a man from England getting some money back from a holiday from Greece because there was to many Germans staying in the complex where he was staying.
So the German TV station sent a reporter to Magaluf in Majorca and tried the same thing in a hotel and he tried to talk to a few English tourists but as soon as they heard he was German they started singing all their War songs. It was really embarrassing to watch. There is part of that society in England who are just Knackers who have no idea about how the rest of the world has moved on from something that happened 60 years ago.
What's that other thing that happened 40 odd years ago that they still go on about??![]()
Pull my finger!!!
You are correct that we sing a lot about our history, but we don't do in a way to insult people.
Pull my finger!!!
The only reason you wouldn't get the same trouble is because Gardai and Police would be very much wise to the threat, nothing would get by anyone this time around. Personally I wouldn't have them over. Or restrict them to about 1000 tickets. They'll always have that element that just can't be trusted.
Thursdays are Oriel.
I don't know if this is the same case, but there was something like that recently. His complaint was that a number of the services they'd booked in advance (or been promised in the brochure) were only available in German (including a creché, I think). The complaint was reasonable. The coverage in the English tabloids wasn't.
You can't spell failure without FAI
Good to see irony isn't lost on our northern brethren.....
The Gardai are crap at policing football. They're clueless. Every incident around grounds I can think of in the league here have an element of police incompetence - not keeping one set of fans in, not policing specific well known flash points etc. It's more of an issue than the behaviour of opposition fans imo - they'll only do what they'll get let.
Not sure the point you're making POS but I'd guess that in a garda v fan ratio there's more cops in and around Richmond/Dalymount/Tolka for any big Dublin derby thtan there is on an international night (all of which the club pay for...) and they still haven't a clue what to do
It's not a question of resources. There's more than enough cops to deal with any trouble at league games, they simply haven't the competence to police it properly. Not just football, you could use other examples of their crowd control - the GAA game in Cork last weekend, reclaim the streets a few years ago, the Love Ulster debacle, at various points in the shell to sea protests... They haven't a clue.
Oh please.
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=zH8CQxL5lRs
Though I acknowledge -if it's the worst they get up to...
" I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"
Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.
So, the Bertie Bowl or the redeveloped Lansdowne?
Anyone think they need to build a smaller(30,000) capacity stadium in like Cork for some friendlies?