Page 18 of 39 FirstFirst ... 8161718192028 ... LastLast

Thread: Lansdowne Road Redevelopment Thread

It's not only football that they sing those songs. I was watching a program on German TV about a man from England getting some money back from a holiday from Greece because there was to many Germans staying in the complex where he was staying.

So the German TV station sent a reporter to Magaluf in Majorca and tried the same thing in a hotel and he tried to talk to a few English tourists but as soon as they heard he was German they started singing all their War songs. It was really embarrassing to watch. There is part of that society in England who are just Knackers who have no idea about how the rest of the world has moved on from something that happened 60 years ago.

What's that other thing that happened 40 odd years ago that they still go on about??
    Pull my finger!!!

Quote Originally Posted by joe_barry80 View Post
    What's that other thing that happened 40 odd years ago that they still go on about??
    You're right. No Irish song ever talks about the past....

You are correct that we sing a lot about our history, but we don't do in a way to insult people.
    Pull my finger!!!

You are correct that we sing a lot about our history, but we don't do in a way to insult people.
    Ah I see...

Quote Originally Posted by boovidge View Post
    I don't think you'd get the same trouble as in 1995 because the political situation is much better now.

The only reason you wouldn't get the same trouble is because Gardai and Police would be very much wise to the threat, nothing would get by anyone this time around. Personally I wouldn't have them over. Or restrict them to about 1000 tickets. They'll always have that element that just can't be trusted.
    Thursdays are Oriel.

812 Posts
    It's not only football that they sing those songs. I was watching a program on German TV about a man from England getting some money back from a holiday from Greece because there was to many Germans staying in the complex where he was staying...
    I don't know if this is the same case, but there was something like that recently. His complaint was that a number of the services they'd booked in advance (or been promised in the brochure) were only available in German (including a creché, I think). The complaint was reasonable. The coverage in the English tabloids wasn't.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Good to see irony isn't lost on our northern brethren.....

Quote Originally Posted by paulie_walnuts View Post
    The only reason you wouldn't get the same trouble is because Gardai and Police would be very much wise to the threat, nothing would get by anyone this time around. Personally I wouldn't have them over. Or restrict them to about 1000 tickets. They'll always have that element that just can't be trusted.
    There's no point in restricting the tickets. The element looking for trouble would come anyway, they've more on their minds than football. You'd just end up with less sensible fans over.

Quote Originally Posted by paulie_walnuts View Post
    The only reason you wouldn't get the same trouble is because Gardai and Police would be very much wise to the threat, nothing would get by anyone this time around.
    The Gardai are crap at policing football. They're clueless. Every incident around grounds I can think of in the league here have an element of police incompetence - not keeping one set of fans in, not policing specific well known flash points etc. It's more of an issue than the behaviour of opposition fans imo - they'll only do what they'll get let.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    The Gardai are crap at policing football. They're clueless. Every incident around grounds I can think of in the league here have an element of police incompetence - not keeping one set of fans in, not policing specific well known flash points etc. It's more of an issue than the behaviour of opposition fans imo - they'll only do what they'll get let.
    well to be honest, for the case of ireland v england there would be far more money and resources provided to combat this. EL games wouldn't have this presence due to money being provided by the clubs for garda resources.....

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    well to be honest, for the case of ireland v england there would be far more money and resources provided to combat this. EL games wouldn't have this presence due to money being provided by the clubs for garda resources.....
    Not sure the point you're making POS but I'd guess that in a garda v fan ratio there's more cops in and around Richmond/Dalymount/Tolka for any big Dublin derby thtan there is on an international night (all of which the club pay for...) and they still haven't a clue what to do

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    It's not a question of resources. There's more than enough cops to deal with any trouble at league games, they simply haven't the competence to police it properly. Not just football, you could use other examples of their crowd control - the GAA game in Cork last weekend, reclaim the streets a few years ago, the Love Ulster debacle, at various points in the shell to sea protests... They haven't a clue.

Oh please.
    http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=zH8CQxL5lRs

Though I acknowledge -if it's the worst they get up to...
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

typical blame the cops, if the fans knew how to behave they wouldnt be needed, so if you get let start a riot, it's ok to riot

not saying the cops are great at policing but if fans went to support their team and nothing else they wouldnt be needed.
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    typical blame the cops, if the fans knew how to behave they wouldnt be needed, so if you get let start a riot, it's ok to riot

not saying the cops are great at policing but if fans went to support their team and nothing else they wouldnt be needed.
    Yeah but in the real world, idiots exist. If nobody wanted to steal, rape or murder we wouldn't need cops either. They are needed, and can't do the job at football.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    If no one broke the law we wouldn't need cops at all - stupid logic. The Gardai are not capable of policing crowds - I gave other examples rather than just football. Or am I missing something and the Cork Gah crowd are notorious hoolies?

It's not a question of resources. There's more than enough cops to deal with any trouble at league games, they simply haven't the competence to police it properly. Not just football, you could use other examples of their crowd control - the GAA game in Cork last weekend, reclaim the streets a few years ago, the Love Ulster debacle, at various points in the shell to sea protests... They haven't a clue.
    ya fair point, a catalogue of shambles. I think it stems from the "what might your name be now" syndrome.....

So, the Bertie Bowl or the redeveloped Lansdowne?

Anyone think they need to build a smaller(30,000) capacity stadium in like Cork for some friendlies?

Quote Originally Posted by irishultra View Post
    Anyone think they need to build a smaller(30,000) capacity stadium in like Cork for some friendlies?
    And do what with it the rest of the year? I'd prefer 3 or 4 10,000 seaters if we're talking pie in the sky projects

Quote Originally Posted by irishultra View Post
    I'd say they'll tie down block bookers to cover friendlies, so it won't be an issue. Advance sales will be king for both football and rugby.

Page 18 of 39 FirstFirst ... 8161718192028 ... LastLast