Page 16 of 117 FirstFirst ... 614151617182666116 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Premier Division 2009/10

Quote Originally Posted by trueview6 View Post
    welcome to the real world faces asking players to sign is part of the game get used to it we have had managers ring our players during the season every season clubs want the best players around to play thats the way it is, when you were playing it was the same.
    real world its the likes of the so called top teams are in fantasy world.fellas are that bit more loyal out in the country.they think they can pick up the phone and everyone comes running but thank god its only the players in and around the city that jump from team to team when they are persuaded by managers to join them.and by the way it wasnt actualy the same when i was playing what we used to called these players was glory hunters.

Quote Originally Posted by faces View Post
    real world its the likes of the so called top teams are in fantasy world.fellas are that bit more loyal out in the country.they think they can pick up the phone and everyone comes running but thank god its only the players in and around the city that jump from team to team when they are persuaded by managers to join them.and by the way it wasnt actualy the same when i was playing what we used to called these players was glory hunters.
    I'd call it ambition. You can't blame a player for joining a team that's in a better place to win trophies than his current team. If your a decent player in an average team, its only natural you'll want to test yourself against the best and play with the best.

Of course some players prefer playing with friends and stay with there local teams because of that but you can't criticise a player for leaving for a better team. After all, this is junior soccer, a team doesn't "own" a player so at the end of the day its free game.

How many clubs did you play for ?, all the top clubs are in the real world boro,pike,balla,regional have phoned a few of our players and i can tell you jason has phoned a few players from other clubs thats the way it works its up to the player if he wants to go or stay, and when you talk about loyal theres a player that stayed loyal for 25yrs with a club,he was good enough to play with any prem side in limerick and didnt,he also played oscar trainer for a few years he got a serious injury a long term injury the club told him hes services were no longer needed thats the thanks he got .

Quote Originally Posted by blinkx View Post
    i'd call it ambition. You can't blame a player for joining a team that's in a better place to win trophies than his current team. If your a decent player in an average team, its only natural you'll want to test yourself against the best and play with the best.

Of course some players prefer playing with friends and stay with there local teams because of that but you can't criticise a player for leaving for a better team. After all, this is junior soccer, a team doesn't "own" a player so at the end of the day its free game.
    never said we owned any player.have a look around you most lads going to different teams end up on bench.also our local and loyal lads know that we are still building and hopefully will be challenging shortly for honours.most teams now are like most countrys full of foreign nationals.

Thats where you lack ambition. If every club in Limerick started just the players that have come through their schoolboy ranks we'd probably never see another provincial or national in Limerick again.

thats where you lack ambition. If every club in limerick started just the players that have come through their schoolboy ranks we'd probably never see another provincial or national in limerick again.
    our 17s got to fai final and minors should have with fully fledged locals playing for both teams.so in terms of having no ambition if our players are not tapped we will do well in coming years

Dont hold your breath on your player not being tapped up between U/20 and other clubs around if the player i any good they will be gone trust take it from someone who knows

well said pat byrnes

alan barry got 4 for pike last nite,the view result against ashling was a good one out in aishling,and regionals win was vital for their league season,but pike have played no one yet in terms of the top six so its still all to play for............

I'd call it ambition. You can't blame a player for joining a team that's in a better place to win trophies than his current team. If your a decent player in an average team, its only natural you'll want to test yourself against the best and play with the best.

well said,its only junior football at the end of the day.........

regional were lucky to win last nite they didnt exactly cut balla open for there goals just capitalised off a couple of ballas mistakes

Quote Originally Posted by the real deal View Post
    regional were lucky to win last nite they didnt exactly cut balla open for there goals just capitalised off a couple of ballas mistakes
    lucky or not its all about 3 points it was a big win for regional league was over for them if they lost.

Quote Originally Posted by trueview6 View Post
    lucky or not its all about 3 points it was a big win for regional league was over for them if they lost.
    i agree 100% results not performances that count they should good character after losin there first two gamea and bein 2 nil down after a half an hour in the third but then again as i said it was balla mistakes more than anything that lifted them bein honest imo

what was fairviews starting lineup and subs for their last game?

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts

Foot.ie!

Quote Originally Posted by Aanother View Post
    lads players do not get paid end of story. Any player that says he is, is lying. I can safely say that none of the top clubs pay their players , some might get petrol money for travel expences and to be honest it isnt that much. You have to remember alot of these clubs have no income so to say clubs are paying players out of their own pockets in this climate is ludicrous. So to say carew are offering 1A players money to play in the premier is a joke. If they were any good theyd be playing premier already.
    what a load bull............are you trying to tell us that there isn't ONE junior player in town getting paid (besides expenses??)

thank you kindly.and i will guarentee you most of the lads will refuse to give in to there continuos phone calls.at least they can say win lose or draw that they gave there all to there home club which a lot of fellas cant say.
    heard 1 of the mullcahys are going to pike anytruth?

Quote Originally Posted by Dines View Post
    Dont hold your breath on your player not being tapped up between U/20 and other clubs around if the player i any good they will be gone trust take it from someone who knows
    Even during the handshakes at full time players are getting tapped up by managers. FACT

Quote Originally Posted by dines08 View Post
    Even during the handshakes at full time players are getting tapped up by managers. FACT
    Are ye losing a few players

Quote Originally Posted by the dazzler View Post
    heard 1 of the mullcahys are going to pike anytruth?
    i was talking to the player and he said he is staying put ,fcuk away from our players pike and boro no means no stop ringing him loyalty means something still out here

Work, why the hell else would I be on this?
    Quote Originally Posted by Begrudger View Post
    Fair play to pike for allowing the use of their pitch. Im a summerville man and i wouldn't compare the standard of our pitch to pike ar fairviews but none the less different groups are always looking for the use of it and its a tough decision but refusing teams a place to play ball is not what we got involved in football for.

seriously? you think pike are doing this for the love of the game? don't be so naive, pike rovers only do things to suit themselves