Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Stand up to Politically Correct ticketing

Originally posted by republic
    The majority of block-bookers I know do not support the eL and only have a passing interest in it. Similarly with many of those who travel abroad to support the national team.
    That's probably because man utd and liverpool fans seem to have no clothes other than the shirts of their beloved club so they are more noticeable abroad.
    I have some great pictures of people away at Ireland games in eL shirts. No shortage of them abroad I can assure you...

Originally posted by Peadar
    That's probably because man utd and liverpool fans seem to have no clothes other than the shirts of their beloved club so they are more noticeable abroad.
    I have some great pictures of people away at Ireland games in eL shirts. No shortage of them abroad I can assure you...
    Go to the low or middle ranking games or even the U21 games and EL fans are in the ascendancy of supporters from Ireland. It's the big 'quality' games where the tan team fans emerge. Last year I flew to Geneva and got the train up to Neuchatel when I saw a group of lads, some in Liverpool shirts behind me on the train. We got off and they stayed on for Basel. I mean they were passing the place where the future stars of Ireland were playing, but because the football (or more to the point the stadium or the occasion) wasn't of high enough quality they had to get up to the fake Irish bars and talk about last week's miss by Owen or whatever?

BTW: First question always from these people for us plastics is 'What team do you support over in England?' I always say Bohemians. The silence is wonderful! The second?... Who will you support if we meet yous in the play-offs?
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Originally posted by lopez
    First question always from these people for us plastics is 'What team do you support over in England?' I always say Bohemians. The silence is wonderful! The second?... Who will you support if we meet yous in the play-offs?
    On the first point, didn't I see you mention recently hereabouts that you might try Kenilworth Road for size? Stick with the Bohs; marginally better for one's health, I hear...

On the second, yep, know that one well. Alternatively, some of the more caring eejits try the "thanks for supporting us" line. Especially funny when I'm wearing an Ireland shirt and wrapped in a tricolour, non? Last time someone did it, I offered them my glasses and told them to go to an optician. Went down like pork chops at a bar mitzvah dinner.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Originally posted by IrelandUnited
    My point is very simple Neil. I expressed a view that man U supporters clubs ( I am in one) should be treated as equals to EL supporters for tickets.
    Outted as either WUM, or at the very least an extremely part time United fan (or perhaps most likely a 13 year old)....

NO Manchester United fan, in even the extreme sense of the word would refer to them as Man U - Manchester United, United, Man United even, but ManU!?!?! Fúck off....

Originally posted by Plastic Paddy
    On the first point, didn't I see you mention recently hereabouts that you might try Kenilworth Road for size? Stick with the Bohs; marginally better for one's health, I hear...
    PP. Sorry we haven't had a chat recently but I've been busy cyber-rucking. Hope you had a good Xmas. If you saw your dad I hope you said hello and secondly that he remembers me.

Kenilworth Road is an attempt (laboured no doubt) at humour on my part. On the OWC forum someone said that as I'm from 'ertfordshure I must be a Luton fan as all the 'beggars' there support them. Hence my sudden but albeit brief affection for the 'atters.

Bohs not my team either, but mention them (any EL club will do) to Irish soccer snobs and it's like telling them their mother has just dropped dead. I'm like you in that having not lived in Ireland I'm having to look at my parents' (or in my case, father's) roots and finding more than one locality to take a team. Dublin born father, brought up in Kildare, grandparents from Galway. Added that most LOI football I watched was in Cork whenever Conchita would drag me over (yeah I know! I even got a CC shirt for the Italia 90 such was my love for the quare one). Since mi suegra has moved out to the wild west past Macroom, I'm waiting for a team from Tralee to enter the EL. In the meantime, I'm planning to go and watch Kildare County with foot.ie poster Sylvo and a couple of others from the Stallion county at some point as he's over a lot doing up his retirement house.
    Originally posted by Plastic Paddy
    On the second, yep, know that one well. Alternatively, some of the more caring eejits try the "thanks for supporting us" line. Especially funny when I'm wearing an Ireland shirt and wrapped in a tricolour, non? Last time someone did it, I offered them my glasses and told them to go to an optician. Went down like pork chops at a bar mitzvah dinner.
    Yes that 'thanks for supporting us' is as standing joke amongst many of us plastics. One mate of Monaghan parentage, whenever he says goodbye calls out as your walking off and says 'oh, and thanks for coming lads' with that patronising look.
    Originally posted by Macy
    Outted as either WUM, or at the very least an extremely part time United fan...
    Well he did say he would not support Man Ure ahead of Ireland
    ...(or perhaps most likely a 13 year old)....
    13 year old. Oh f*ck, I hope the lads from Operation Ore aren't reading this or I'm in deep mierda.
    NO Manchester United fan, in even the extreme sense of the word would refer to them as Man U - Manchester United, United, Man United even, but ManU!?!?!
    What about Man Ure?
    Fúck off....
    Ah now, that's not very nice.

3,488 Posts
    Originally posted by IrelandUnited
    My point is very simple Neil. I expressed a view that man U supporters' clubs (I am in one) should be treated as equals to EL supporters for tickets.
    Read my earlier post IrelandUnited - eL fans get their allocation at the request of the national team's manager. He wanted more eL fans in the ground for atmosphere and noise. Maybe if youz made some noise in Lansdowne, the arrangement wouldn't be there.

Since mi suegra has moved out to the wild west past Macroom, I'm waiting for a team from Tralee to enter the EL.

Not impressed with that comment!
    Macroom is not without it's Cork City FC supporters (know a few in Tralee as well actually). Was in Macroom around Christmas and you could buy the new Cork City shirt there.
    Cork City FC will be the most talked about team in the eircom League next season and for all the right reasons.
    Need a new Cork City FC home shirt? I'm sure we can arrange one for you.
    Give our National League a chance, you might find it's much more entertaining than you thought!

Ah Peader, I thought you were trying to encourage him, that shirt will surely put him off.

Not impressed with that comment!
    Macroom is not without it's Cork City FC supporters (know a few in Tralee as well actually). Was in Macroom around Christmas and you could buy the new Cork City shirt there.
    Cork City FC will be the most talked about team in the eircom League next season and for all the right reasons.
    OK. OK. Will promise to stick with CC. It just means a dry night as I'll have to get a car from somewhere (I'm out in Ballyvaughney). . Thanks for the shirt link. I know what to get Conchita for her birthday now.
    Give our National League a chance, you might find it's much more entertaining than you thought!
    Peader, you're preaching to the converted here in case you haven't noticed. A load of us from London were out in that depressing place Cwmbran you played in a few years ago.

Ah Peader, I thought you were trying to encourage him, that shirt will surely put him off.
    Aye currumba. Have you see the two beauties modelling the shirts. It's chick Central.

Peader, you're preaching to the converted here in case you haven't noticed.
    It was more of a general statement to anyone on the thread was unfamiliar with the game in Ireland. I wasn't having a dig at you or anything.

Just reading this story on soccercentral.ie and if you look at the picture contained in the text it appears as though the east stand of Lansdowne is full of Man United and Liverpool shirts.
    Maybe IrelandUnited was right all along

Just reading this story on soccercentral.ie and if you look at the picture contained in the text it appears as though the east stand of Lansdowne is full of Man United and Liverpool shirts.
    Maybe IrelandUnited was right all along
    It's a picture of the opening game. Man Ure v Neverpool.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123