Thread: The Brandywell

Originally posted by dortie
    My first feelings on the closure of our terrace was of disbelief, a reason i Joined the SOS campaign......for me we had/have a much better terrace than other EL teams......Im led to believe that the closure is from our own council.....the roof has asbestos and the perimeter wall is condemned.
    Asbestos I can see the problem, but can the wall not sured up and then have an uncovered terrace?

btw are games effectively going to be all ticket - i.e. will away clubs get their tickets in advance? Long way to travel to get locked out...

Originally posted by Macy
    Asbestos I can see the problem, but can the wall not sured up and then have an uncovered terrace?

btw are games effectively going to be all ticket - i.e. will away clubs get their tickets in advance? Long way to travel to get locked out...
    The perimeter wall...which goes the whole way around the stadium is costing around £500,000 !!!

Away fans will be entitled to 5%....120 tickets. We are lucky to get 80 away fans from any club so you will be fine.
    Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach

Dortie, I think the question was more to do with will those 120 tickets be held back for away fans? There's times we've barely made it up from Dublin in time for kick-off - just before Xmas the season before last it took 4 & 3/4 hours to get up. Traffic jams in Ardee - who'da thunk it?
    Revenge for 2002

Originally posted by Dr.Nightdub
    Dortie, I think the question was more to do with will those 120 tickets be held back for away fans? There's times we've barely made it up from Dublin in time for kick-off - just before Xmas the season before last it took 4 & 3/4 hours to get up. Traffic jams in Ardee - who'da thunk it?
    As mariborkev pointed out it 5% reserved (think it's in the licencing requirements)
    EL grounds are like good episodes of The Simpsons, no matter how many times you see them they're still funny

Originally posted by TommyT
    Both games against us this season had crowds of 2500 or bigger, what'll the story be with away fans...

Of course one obvious solution for yiz would be Celtic park
    Not poking Fun at Tommy but more at Derry People..........

An on going theme here, when we got to Limerick for the First Leg we noticed a Buckin' Belter of a Ground (GAA obviously in case you are as dumb as a snail) and thought "Jeekers! If the Footie Ground is half as Nice - SHOCK HORROR!!)

Anyways....back to my point, guess the capacity of that piece of %$£$ Celtic Park up the Road.........A Pebble dashed wall surrounding NO proper seating (It has seats in the form of a Plank of Wood) and dodgy changing rooms (Not in Long Tower at least)

What is the Capacity? A Clue: Above the Average of a Nationwide First Division Club............

GAA/UEFA : Difference in amenities? We don't play in Italy/Spain/England!
    I'd rather die laughing than trying!

Originally posted by Dr.Nightdub

Yeah they will be reserved for ya !!!

Dr...stop your moaning about your 4 & 3/4 hour trip....we have to do that every bucking 2 weeks (almost).....
    Besides the new road from Dundalk cuts it down about 30 mins.

Dr...stop your moaning about your 4 & 3/4 hour trip....we have to do that every bucking 2 weeks (almost).....
    Sure your Dublin colleague once told me on a MB he can do it 2 hours when I was giving out about Thursday nights - you should ask him for his route...

As mariborkev pointed out it 5% reserved (think it's in the licencing requirements)
    The licencing only requires thet the infrastructure be in place to seperate 5% of the stadium for away fans, if need be. The licencing says nothing about how many away fans should be let in to individual games.

Has anyone tried the new road right into the North followed by going Armagh-Ballygawley-Omagh etc, my mate and I thought about it the last time but had to get off the road to pick someone up in Carrickmacross anyway ?

Just wondering if that way would be quicker ?
    EL grounds are like good episodes of The Simpsons, no matter how many times you see them they're still funny

Has anyone tried the new road right into the North followed by going Armagh-Ballygawley-Omagh etc, my mate and I thought about it the last time but had to get off the road to pick someone up in Carrickmacross anyway ?

Just wondering if that way would be quicker ?
    Nope we done that before.....you will get caught in all the traffic at towns.

We normally head to Dundalk via Auchnacloy then on to the new dual carriageway....done that on a friday evening for a $hels match in 3hours exactly...left Derry at 4pm....was in Drumcondra at 7pm.

Ironically, the first thing I thought when told of the change to a Sat. night was that it might be one less thing for Away Fans to bitch about Derry. (Sensitive Soul I am!)

As for the perimeter wall, I hate to make Dortie out to be a liar as we normally agree on things, it covers a half of the ground but still takes up a hell of a lot of money to replace. I'm kind of glad in a way that the old side is closed in that it might give us (S.O.S) more power to get the go ahead to push for the long term lease we really want - personal opinion, cannae speak for the full commitee.

As for Away Fans tickets, I'm sure the Club will have measures in place to ensure youse all get in.....not too sure about Rovers as they always bring a wile team of Supporters (even on a Thursday ). No Fans have complained about The Brandywell recently 'cept Baa Baa Bloody No Luck! so I'm sure the same will apply this time next year.

Looking forward to the new Season and we might actuallty hear what you hures sing at The Brandywell
    I'd rather die laughing than trying!

89 Posts
    Tommy T both games against you lot had crowds less than 2500
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season