Results 1,501 to 1,520 of 1591

Thread: Tipp South & District League 2009/10

Quote Originally Posted by redcardrory View Post
    don't pick me up wrong now i just read you comment but you forget ray mcmahon is from limerick and play for saints,same with hefferan who started the season with ye,and both of them don't live in tipp but in limerick
    You are right there, Ray is back after an absence of a season and is finding it hard getting his place, usually a sub and comes on before the end of a game, We havent seen Heffernan since last March. I get what you are saying, but they are not League of Ireland players at the same time. The bulk of players are local and live in or around Tipp Town. Clonmel Town seem to get fringe players also from the locality but with Clonmel Celtic gaining some momentum, they might have their pick of players too!

all junior clubs can't just keep it to local players if they want to win fai or mjc they have to bring in the best players they can get local or outside of their league ,don't forget the two brothers that played for carrick the other nite played for clonmel last season or the year before
    Yeah, that's true, totally agree with you, but Junior Clubs who live in Cities, we'll just say, where there is also a League of Ireland based, seem to have a better pick of players around them, that is why FAI should try and change the rules with regard to putting a cap on the amount of Senior Players that can return to a Junior Club, it seems to be more lucrative to play with a Junior Club nowadays than stay with your local League of Ireland Team,

all junior clubs can't just keep it to local players if they want to win fai or mjc they have to bring in the best players they can get local or outside of their league ,don't forget the two brothers that played for carrick the other nite played for clonmel last season or the year before
    They did play for Clonmel but they are from Carrick and Carrick Utd is their hometown club. As stated previously all players in the squad are from the town and its hinterland.
    Last edited by Mission Bell; 31/05/2010 at 10:00 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Mission Bell View Post
    They did play for Clonmel but they are from Carrick and Carrick Utd is their hometown club. As stated previously all players in the squad are from the towm and its hinterland.
    Did them lads not play for Rock Rovers are one time or another, (I am open to correction there!)

fair play to them but where will they go next year carrick won't be able to hold on to their left back if better offers come in
    The point made is that the current squad is local and the side which won the Munster Cup in 2005 was local.

Quote Originally Posted by magnet View Post
    Connery is from Limerick as well,St michaels gets their fair share of players from Limerick as well.last year chalky told a certain player from limerick he wouldn't get his cap if he didn't sign for St micks and that's a fact.Bennis ,Ryan all from limerick and weren't there for the scenery either
    My point is about Carrick Utd

rock rovers are there home town club, not carrick united

give me a break saints fan................

chalky is from cashel
    higgins is from round bansha
    breens are from knockavilla
    kennedy is from ardfinnan
    cosgrove is from limerick

im sure there is more, dont open your mouth bout other clubs before lookin at your own

[QUOTE=ComeOnTownNow;1364018
    The point being made is that all their players are from the town in contrast with clubs from towns likeDublin, Limerick, Waterford ,Clonmel etc which are much larger and have bigger selections and more to offer.
    A town such as Carrick which has two clubs makes any achievement ,not only at local, but at national level all the more laudable.
    Last edited by Mission Bell; 31/05/2010 at 1:22 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by ComeOnTownNow View Post
    give me a break saints fan................

chalky is from cashel
    higgins is from round bansha
    breens are from knockavilla
    kennedy is from ardfinnan
    cosgrove is from limerick

im sure there is more, dont open your mouth bout other clubs before lookin at your own
    that's a bit harsh, they are all locally based, Clonmel is a lot bigger as a Town than Tipp and dont ye swap and chose just like anyone else. Didnt Barry Ryan play for Peake Villa and then Town, Codys play for ye/RockRovers and then Carrick Utd, give me a break yourself - ye dont quite stay in the Clonmel area totally. Chalky and Higgins and Breens are with Saints for years and come from just outside Tipp - dont be trying to stir it - sure didnt Aaron Moroney swap Town for Saints a few years ago too and won a Munster Junior Medal to boot! - I'm not getting into this - I made a general point and not a personal one.

fair enough, i thought you were makin a personal point against Town, that sort of stuff happens, the top junior clubs wud not survive was it not for these players comin in, not every schoolboy setup produce players good enough to play at the Town/Michaels level, there has only been a small few who have made it thru the ranks at Town, the likes of rory kiely, david mcgrath, evan mcguire, the rest either play GAA, give up soccer or join other sides

you are correct there - what I was getting at, was that TSDL Clubs manage within their own "County" so instead of Town!- I know we have a Limerick City based player and Trevor Cossie is from Pallasgreen, which is just around 10 miles from Tipp. I wasnt getting at Town at all, most of us on here are good enough at giving out fair points and not getting too nasty about comments! but you do have the odd few!

best of luck next sun, will be tough for ye but if i was to have a bet it wud be on ye, first goal will be important, ye are very good at defendin leads. who is your player of the season? p breen?

Good luck to ye on Saturday night, tough one for ye also, but I'd say ye learned lessons from FAI Junior Semi Final with regard to substitutions etc, - Paul Breen is always good in fairness to him, he played a blinder the day we bet Carrick Utd in FAI Comp, Jimmy Carr is having the best season of his soccer career I would say, he demolished Smurf the day of the semi final.

hopin for a big backlash from everyone on sat nite after the FAI loss.. yeh he roasted him alright, not seen anyone get the better of smurf like he did, even lacey and keogh for killester

Didn't defend the 2 goal lead against pike very well.

Quote Originally Posted by the bandit View Post
    Didn't defend the 2 goal lead against pike very well.
    Yeah thats true but this is how you learn by making mistakes and being fortunate enough to get a second crack at it.
    I have not been on this all week been busy and all that, was at the Pike V Carrick game last Saturday and even Pike the "Come Back Kings"(NOT TAKING **** BEFORE YOU GET OFFENDED) couldnt keep a 2 goal lead so it just shows it can happen to anyone.
    Its the most obvious of statements but its so true its all about the performance during the 90+ minutes and learning from your mistakes. You can be King Pin's and still get brought down to earth with a WALLOP. During 90+ minutes no stone should be un-turned and every ounce of energy and will to win should be left on the pitch nothing brought back to the dressing room only a broken body and a triumphant spirit!
    (I like a cliché or 2)

Best of luck to both T.S.D.L teams this wkend, it would be great for the league in general to bring both trophies home. Both Town and Saints have tough assignments but both games should be crackers and you can never bet against either team in any game.... Best of luck lads
    "I can't believe it. I can't believe it. Football. Bloody hell."

Quote Originally Posted by Redman028 View Post
    Best of luck to both T.S.D.L teams this wkend, it would be great for the league in general to bring both trophies home. Both Town and Saints have tough assignments but both games should be crackers and you can never bet against either team in any game.... Best of luck lads
    Can u fix that now delaney.bad season for tsdl hahaha.cmon the view

Quote Originally Posted by the bandit View Post
    Can u fix that now delaney.bad season for tsdl hahaha.cmon the view
    Disappointing for both sides but hardly a disappointing season for the Tsdl!
    "I can't believe it. I can't believe it. Football. Bloody hell."

Page 76 of 80 FirstFirst ... 26667475767778 ... LastLast