Results 1,041 to 1,060 of 1591

Thread: Tipp South & District League 2009/10

Quote Originally Posted by Quietman View Post
    Didn't get to see this one unfortunately.....from speaking to some of the Town players and staff, the assistant was right as Burns had dived and conned the Ref....Big big call!! Are you implying Town Fan that the official is deliberately "doing" Town??

This subject really gets on my goat, a team gets beaten and no matter if it was Lyons, Teehan, Hadnett or even McKell officiating, the Officials were a disgrace and should be "reported". Just take your beatings and get on with it ffs.........................................
    But when has McKell ever "done" Town???????

Quote Originally Posted by Damo View Post
    But when has McKell ever "done" Town???????

Damo, That's exactly my point!! It doesn't matter who the ref is, Clubs will always find fault!!

You'd have to ask Town Fan if McKell has ever "done" them and how much McKell "hates" Town, I'm sure in Towns opinion he has "done" them several times..............................
    "There is no pressure at the top. The pressure's being second or third."

Tipp Top and Q-Man both make valid points in relation to refs. Yes, clubmen - be they coaches, managers, officials or supporters get frustrated by the standard (or lack thereof) and deserve better and, yes, referees do give up their own time at the weekend to do games; evidently for the love the love of the game, considering the paltry remuneration they receive. But, you really have to wonder about the type of people attracted to refereeing junior football. This is not a problem unique to Tipperary. Junior refs, the country over, appear to be a breed apart. The majority just do not possess a modicum of people skills. That might sound a little like corporate/management speak and far removed from the qualities required to be a decent ref. But, if you really think about - how often have you approached a ref (without ROARING AND SHOUTING as someone already alluded to) and been given short shrift in an overly aggressive manner? I've never done a referee's course but when doing same aspiring refs must be inculcated with some kind of authoritarian/dictator type philosophy. It's akin to a normal everyday likeable guy entering the Garda College in Templemore and emerging 2 years later with some kind of personality transplant, or what could more accurately be described as their personality lobotomised (if such a thing exists!) Why can't referees (along with other authority figures in this country????) just learn to communicate with people? And why can't the FAI/leagues attract the type of person who does not aspire to becoming Pol Pot, every time he puts the referee's uniform on?

PS....Before the PC brigade jump on me for blasphemy in terms of our wonderful boys in blue these comments should be read in the tongue in cheek context in which they were intended. And, in that context, I'd just like to say that the majority of Guards and Refs have no people skills at all!
    Last edited by Damo; 07/04/2010 at 1:26 PM. Reason: Spellings

[QUOTE=Quietman;1343846]Damo, That's exactly my point!! It doesn't matter who the ref is, Clubs will always find fault!!

You'd have to ask Town Fan if McKell has ever "done" them and how much McKell "hates" Town, I'm sure in Towns opinion he has "done" them several times..............................[/QUOTE]

Ha ha - I needed a decent laugh!

Damo, That's exactly my point!! It doesn't matter who the ref is, Clubs will always find fault!!

You'd have to ask Town Fan if McKell has ever "done" them and how much McKell "hates" Town, I'm sure in Towns opinion he has "done" them several times..............................
    I have never even mentioned Jimmy McKell. You’re the one who brought him up. Jimmy is a poor referee but I don't think he goes out to "do" anyone. I believe Jimmy has an ego problem but I must admit he has improved this season
    You seem to have a problem with me and in particular Town. You ain't a neutral.I have looked back over your posts and you like having a go at me, Clonmel Town and Muiris Walsh
    I think the ref's in South Tipp are on the whole quite good. I do however have a problem with John Lyons as I do believe he has something against Clonmel Town. Also a person who attends matches, Town are no worse or no better than anyone else when it comes to abusing officials. The abuse that is handed out to ref's is not right irrespective of how much they are paid.

Quote Originally Posted by Town Fan View Post
    I have never even mentioned Jimmy McKell. You’re the one who brought him up. Jimmy is a poor referee but I don't think he goes out to "do" anyone. I believe Jimmy has an ego problem but I must admit he has improved this season
    You seem to have a problem with me and in particular Town. You ain't a neutral.I have looked back over your posts and you like having a go at me, Clonmel Town and Muiris Walsh
    I think the ref's in South Tipp are on the whole quite good. I do however have a problem with John Lyons as I do believe he has something against Clonmel Town. Also a person who attends matches, Town are no worse or no better than anyone else when it comes to abusing officials. The abuse that is handed out to ref's is not right irrespective of how much they are paid.
    Jez now it's me who has a problem with Town!!

All I have a problem with is moaning and passing blame.........

Also Town Fan when is disagreeing with someone and debating something "having a go" as you put it. Your sounding like an angry man!! Lighten up bud!
    Last edited by Quietman; 07/04/2010 at 1:52 PM. Reason: Added last line!

Jez now it's me who has a problem with Town!!

All I have a problem with is moaning and passing blame.........

Also Town Fan when is disagreeing with someone and debating something "having a go" as you put it. Your sounding like an angry man!! Lighten up bud!
    I must say Quietman, you can be very aggressive. I too have looked over you posts and the tone of your language can appear angry.
    Anyway, in relation to the ref's, I have to agree that Johnny Lyons is anti Town. Him apart the refs are grand, they make mistakes but who doesn't.

[QUOTE=Town Fan;1343858]Jimmy is a poor referee but I don't think he goes out to "do" anyone. I believe Jimmy has an ego problem but I must admit he has improved this season[QUOTE]

I only used McKells name as an example earlier but You seem to know "Jimmy" fairly well Town Fan. Is he a friend?? But I must say for such a "poor" referee as you put it, he seems to be doing vwell at Loi level. Is this where you've seen his improvements as I haven't seen much of him locally in years!!

Quote Originally Posted by complexman View Post
    I must say Quietman, you can be very aggressive. I too have looked over you posts and the tone of your language can appear angry.
    Anyway, in relation to the ref's, I have to agree that Johnny Lyons is anti Town. Him apart the refs are grand, they make mistakes but who doesn't.
    Me!! angry?? Lord no!! Hope thats not the way I come across to everyone complexman.

You really think Lyons is anti Town though?? I'm surprised as I never saw him favour one side over another, yea he makes mistakes like them all but to say he deliberately does it. I dunno, its just hard to believe!!

[QUOTE=Quietman;1343871][QUOTE=Town Fan;1343858]Jimmy is a poor referee but I don't think he goes out to "do" anyone. I believe Jimmy has an ego problem but I must admit he has improved this season

I only used McKells name as an example earlier but You seem to know "Jimmy" fairly well Town Fan. Is he a friend?? But I must say for such a "poor" referee as you put it, he seems to be doing vwell at Loi level. Is this where you've seen his improvements as I haven't seen much of him locally in years!!
    Jimmy McKell has done a few matches this season in the TSDL and yes he does appear to have gotten better. John Lyons has been involved in a number of poor decisions this season alone with Town. He got Ronan Stanley sent off for nothing, there was a blatant pen not given in cooke park, he failed to send off derek breen for a trip outside the box on tony scully and again last sunday.

31 Posts
    [QUOTE=Quietman;1343871][QUOTE=Town Fan;1343858]Jimmy is a poor referee but I don't think he goes out to "do" anyone. I believe Jimmy has an ego problem but I must admit he has improved this season

I find it hard to believe that McKell is a LOI referee. This is the same guy that the League has effectively banned from reffing Premier League games since he messed up the Villa and Celtic game a few weeks back. I'm open to correction here but that game was early February and since then for the last 2 months he has been dishing out his poor decisions to teams in the second, third and fourth divisions. If ever there was a good reason not to get relegated from the first division there's one

[QUOTE=Roberto;1343921][QUOTE=Quietman;1343871]
    Quote Originally Posted by Town Fan View Post
    Jimmy is a poor referee but I don't think he goes out to "do" anyone. I believe Jimmy has an ego problem but I must admit he has improved this season

I find it hard to believe that McKell is a LOI referee. This is the same guy that the League has effectively banned from reffing Premier League games since he messed up the Villa and Celtic game a few weeks back. I'm open to correction here but that game was early February and since then for the last 2 months he has been dishing out his poor decisions to teams in the second, third and fourth divisions. If ever there was a good reason not to get relegated from the first division there's one
    I feel a case of deja vu here, Correct me if I'm wrong guys.................................Roberto is a supporter of Celtic who were beaten in said game and blames the referee!! Is this not just my point from earlier!!

I haven't been on in a while but things have not changed...Quietman some of your comments are outrageously bad and as for town and complexman, they are not much better and are so pro town it's unbelievable,no credit is given to any other team.The only decent comment over the last page and a half was written by 'articulate damo'...your piece was very well phrased and you made some good points.This bickering is mad but it's fun to see how wound up everyone gets.

[QUOTE=drought90;1343998]Quietman some of your comments are outrageously bad and as for town and complexman, they are not much better and are so pro town it's unbelievable,no credit is given to any other team.QUOTE]

Yeah theres been a "drought" of decent conversation.........boom boom!!

Seriously though Which comments were outrageous????? You guys are so easily upset!!
    Last edited by Quietman; 07/04/2010 at 7:19 PM.

31 Posts
    [QUOTE=Quietman;1343950][QUOTE=Roberto;1343921]

I feel a case of deja vu here, Correct me if I'm wrong guys.................................Roberto is a supporter of Celtic who were beaten in said game and blames the referee!! Is this not just my point from earlier!!
    And my point being that the referee was so poor on that particular day that the League has since effectively banned him from the Premier League. All the evidence would suggest this as he has not reffed a Premier League game since early February, hardly a co-incidence???

[QUOTE=Roberto;1344017][QUOTE=Quietman;1343950]
    Quote Originally Posted by Roberto View Post

And my point being that the referee was so poor on that particular day that the League has since effectively banned him from the Premier League. All the evidence would suggest this as he has not reffed a Premier League game since early February, hardly a co-incidence???
    Let me get my head around your statement here, In your opinion The Tsdl who are an affiliated body of the Fai have "banned" a referee from refereeing local premier matches. The Fai have appointed the same referee to, as far as I can see on the Loi website "Stats Centre", 4 Airtricity League Div 1 games, as the referee in the first 4 weeks of the Airtricity League season. Now imo it's probably more likely that the Tsdl are giving the guys who are only doing junior games the top junior games. Afaik this is the way it's done in most other leagues.

Just to let you know guys, The Fai have issued a directive to all Leagues that, National League Referees are not to be used on the top local Junior cup and league games. These are to be kept for the local refs who are doing junior matches week in week out......... so that might help your arguement.

132 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Referee09 View Post
    Just to let you know guys, The Fai have issued a directive to all Leagues that, National League Referees are not to be used on the top local Junior cup and league games. These are to be kept for the local refs who are doing junior matches week in week out......... so that might help your arguement.
    If that is the case Referee, and I don't doubt you, then in my opinion, it is one of the most spectacularly stupid things I have ever heard. Are you honestly telling me, that the FAI has effectively banned the best referees in the local leagues, from officiating at the most important games in the local leagues, thus allowing lower standard referees their "day in the sun" ?

That makes no sense at all. That's like the IRFU telling Munster or Leinster not to pick the international players in Heineken Cup games, but to give a run out to their squad members who plod through the Magniers League.

As for the wider debate, I have great sympathy for the referees, not only in the TSDL but in every league. It's hard having just two eyes, when a couple of hundred eyes think they can see every single thing going on on the pitch, and that's without even accounting for bias that supporters enjoy. Every single club could point to 50/50 decisions that they did or didn't get in a season, but a ref only has to make one mistake and he is branded forever.

So give the ref's a chance. But, for Jesus sake, remove that stupid directive.

Quote Originally Posted by Insidetherock View Post
    If that is the case Referee, and I don't doubt you, then in my opinion, it is one of the most spectacularly stupid things I have ever heard. Are you honestly telling me, that the FAI has effectively banned the best referees in the local leagues, from officiating at the most important games in the local leagues, thus allowing lower standard referees their "day in the sun" ?

That makes no sense at all. That's like the IRFU telling Munster or Leinster not to pick the international players in Heineken Cup games, but to give a run out to their squad members who plod through the Magniers League.

As for the wider debate, I have great sympathy for the referees, not only in the TSDL but in every league. It's hard having just two eyes, when a couple of hundred eyes think they can see every single thing going on on the pitch, and that's without even accounting for bias that supporters enjoy. Every single club could point to 50/50 decisions that they did or didn't get in a season, but a ref only has to make one mistake and he is branded forever.

So give the ref's a chance. But, for Jesus sake, remove that stupid directive.

From What I understand of the directive, and I haven't actually seen a hard copy of it, it's in the interest of fairness. Give the local referees the local games and give the national referees the national games. Im not saying that I agree with it, but thats the directive. I honestly don't think the national referees are too bothered and it keeps the local referees happy. I bet if you looked back over the last two seasons fixtures in your league, that the referee mentioned earlier won't have refereed many top local games.

Jesus, people get very upset on here. Surely, a "forum" by it's very definition should be one that permits the free flow of opinion, regardless of whether one agrees with that opinion, or not. An awful lot of posts on here reflect blatant parochialism, which the culprits don't have the honesty to admit to, but instead mask it by accusing those who with disagree with their views as being ANTI this or that. Referee09 should be held up as an example. Refs have been criticised on here (heavily so, by myself) and he just comes on gives the facts as he sees them. For that he deserves huge respect.
    Last edited by Damo; 08/04/2010 at 11:28 AM.

Page 53 of 80 FirstFirst ... 343515253545563 ... LastLast