Page 52 of 80 FirstFirst ... 242505152535462 ... LastLast
Results 1,021 to 1,040 of 1591

Thread: Tipp South & District League 2009/10

132 Posts
    Looks like Michael's blew the league today with their draw at Old Bridge... Peake are definitely in the pole position now.

Although they still have one very tricky game against Town away... I wonder might Town rest some of their normal first eleven with FAI games possibly coming up ?

Anyone know what their last game is?

Ps... commiserations on Town losing in the Munster Senior
    Last edited by Insidetherock; 04/04/2010 at 11:43 PM.

I wouldnt write St. Michaels off just yet, but the draw against Bridge is a possible title destroyer alright!! Anyone at the game?? I cant believe they dropped points...it's a game they have to be winning to have any hope of the league,,,in saying that though the same probably applies to Peake v Cashel! Should be a very tight finish....
    6 Leagues in a row...can we have another F.A.I. now please?

Quote Originally Posted by Insidetherock View Post
    Looks like Michael's blew the league today with their draw at Old Bridge... Peake are definitely in the pole position now.

Although they still have one very tricky game against Town away... I wonder might Town rest some of their normal first eleven with FAI games possibly coming up ?

John Lyons at it again yesterday. he is a disgrace. Ref gives a pen, Tony Scully has the ball on the spot and Lyons calls over the ref and says Dwayne dived. Dwayne was sent off. This is the 3rd time this season that John Lyons has done Town. I just hope that Town report him, what an absolute joke.
    Then in last minute, Tramore guy punches ball off the line and no pen.
    That said, Town weren't great yesterday but the officials were a scandal but John Lyons beat all

31 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Insidetherock View Post

Villa's last 2 games are away to Town and at home to Michaels, it looks here at if everyone is writing of Clonmel Celtic?????? If Villa drop any points, 3 wins and Celtic win the league.

132 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roberto View Post
    Villa's last 2 games are away to Town and at home to Michaels, it looks here at if everyone is writing of Clonmel Celtic?????? If Villa drop any points, 3 wins and Celtic win the league.
    It certainly is in the mix all right Roberto

It's a little like the EPL at this stage.

If Peake win their games, they are champions, but having Town and Michaels in the last two games is no easy task. There is a strong possibility that the Peake Michaels game will effectively be a cup final to decide the league.

Question is, who do Celtic have in their final 3 games ? Are they home or away games ?

No doubt it's going to be an exciting finish to the season

Peake at 4/6, Celtic at evens and Michaels at 6/4 I'd say.

Prices based on the fact that Peake already have the points on the board and have a home game left against Michaels. If Celtic beat Rock in their next home game, and Peake drop points to Town, then they would likely move into an odds on position

Quote Originally Posted by Town Fan View Post
    John Lyons at it again yesterday. he is a disgrace. Ref gives a pen, Tony Scully has the ball on the spot and Lyons calls over the ref and says Dwayne dived. Dwayne was sent off. This is the 3rd time this season that John Lyons has done Town. I just hope that Town report him, what an absolute joke.
    Then in last minute, Tramore guy punches ball off the line and no pen.
    That said, Town weren't great yesterday but the officials were a scandal but John Lyons beat all
    Didn't get to see this one unfortunately.....from speaking to some of the Town players and staff, the assistant was right as Burns had dived and conned the Ref....Big big call!! Are you implying Town Fan that the official is deliberately "doing" Town??

This subject really gets on my goat, a team gets beaten and no matter if it was Lyons, Teehan, Hadnett or even McKell officiating, the Officials were a disgrace and should be "reported". Just take your beatings and get on with it ffs.........................................
    "There is no pressure at the top. The pressure's being second or third."

Quote Originally Posted by Quietman View Post
    Didn't get to see this one unfortunately.....from speaking to some of the Town players and staff, the assistant was right as Burns had dived and conned the Ref....Big big call!! Are you implying Town Fan that the official is deliberately "doing" Town??

This subject really gets on my goat, a team gets beaten and no matter if it was Lyons, Teehan, Hadnett or even McKell officiating, the Officials were a disgrace and should be "reported". Just take your beatings and get on with it ffs.........................................
    yes I am suggesting that this particular official is trying to do Town. Why did he wait so long to put up his flag. Once the ref gives the decision and has had a clear view of it, that is the end of the matter. the ref is in charge. Clonmel Town didn't play well Sunday and would not have deserved to be one up.
    I am giving an honest opinion here. Town weren't good last Sunday but that does not excuse the official. We take our beatings here and we don't moan but we have reason to this time!!

yes I am suggesting that this particular official is trying to do Town. Why did he wait so long to put up his flag. Once the ref gives the decision and has had a clear view of it, that is the end of the matter. the ref is in charge. Clonmel Town didn't play well Sunday and would not have deserved to be one up.
    I am giving an honest opinion here. Town weren't good last Sunday but that does not excuse the official. We take our beatings here and we don't moan but we have reason to this time!!
    Well, all I can say is I didn't see it, but as I said above I spoke t some of the lads involved in the team and they saw it very differently to you...they say Burns dived and was caught.......and as for calling the official a cheat!!! You honestly believe that he goes out before a game with the mind set that Town won't win if he can help it?? ........I know they all make mistakes but come on!! Really??..........I bet you thought Freibergs decision at the end of the Town V Celtic game was a great decision

"We take our beatings here and we don't moan but we have reason to this time!!"

Ye don't moan!! Are you serious?? Fools day is over right??

"We take our beatings here and we don't moan but we have reason to this time!!"

Ye don't moan!! Are you serious?? Fools day is over right??
    Every club moans but please don't accuse us of moaning more than any other club. Freiberg's decision was a close call last week, I heard that the referee's assessor told him he got in right but I couldn't say whether it was correct or not. I was down the other end.
    I stand over my claim that the official in question, has something personal against Town and I am not alone in that belief. People from other clubs have said much the same. He was wrong to get involved in that penalty incident last Sunday.
    We can leave it at that, I won't change my view on that

I heard that the referee's assessor told him he got in right but I couldn't say whether it was correct or not. I was down the other end.
    So was the assessor!!

I stand over my claim that the official in question, has something personal against Town and I am not alone in that belief. People from other clubs have said much the same.
    Oh, must be true so!!

He was wrong to get involved in that penalty incident last Sunday.
    Well if the referee was duped into giving a penalty and the assistant was positive that the player has deceived the ref, then he is obliged to get involved, so that the correct decision is awarded. And I heard the assessor told him he was right also!!

I think Celtic have Michaels and Rock Rovers at home and Cahir Park away! I think 36 points should get a play off at least!

31 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MunsterMunch View Post
    I think Celtic have Michaels and Rock Rovers at home and Cahir Park away! I think 36 points should get a play off at least!

Celtic have Rock, Bridge and Michaels all at home.

31 Posts

I'm guessing Quietman is a ref?? It would be a help if once, maybe just once, a referee afterwards would put up his hand and admit an occasional mistake. But this never happens. Some of them go around as if they are Gods who dare not be questioned. As for them being approachable and asked to explain certain decisions don't go there. .
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 07/04/2010 at 11:08 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Roberto View Post
    I'm guessing Quietman is a ref?? It would be a help if once, maybe just once, a referee afterwards would put up his hand and admit an occasional mistake. But this never happens. Some of them go around as if they are Gods who dare not be questioned. As for them being approachable and asked to explain certain decisions don't go there. .
    Guessing wrong my friend, I wouldn't put myself through the torture!!! But I'm a neutral and I just can't understand how people can have such a blinkered view of things.

Didn't the referee last weekend put his hand up?? after being told by his assistant that he was duped, he changed his decision and the outcome was that the correct decision was finally given.

As for them being Gods...really?? I also think that if they were approached in a proper manner then explanations might be given (depending on who is asking of course) Screaming and raoring isn't the way to do things. Some people involved in local football would really want to have a good look at themselves, there behaviour is disgraceful!!
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 07/04/2010 at 11:08 AM.

This debate about Ref’s could go on and on. The sad fact of the matter is the overall standard of ref’s throughout junior football is of a very low standard. Every team in the Tsdl has been wronged in some way this season some more so than others.
    Quietman its hard for management staff and supporters not to start “screaming and roaring” These are the same people who are giving up 2 and 3 nights a week and in some cases their only day off at the weekend so they are entitled to have a go at some of the crazy decisions that are made by the ref’s. These Ref’s are human and it would be foolish of you to think that every ref doesn’t have his favourite teams this may be for many different reasons Relatives in clubs, where they live, who they are friends with, what pub they have a few drinks in, all these factors come in to play They shouldn’t but you would be foolish to think they don’t.

Quote Originally Posted by Tipp Top View Post
    This debate about Ref’s could go on and on. The sad fact of the matter is the overall standard of ref’s throughout junior football is of a very low standard. Every team in the Tsdl has been wronged in some way this season some more so than others.
    Quietman its hard for management staff and supporters not to start “screaming and roaring” These are the same people who are giving up 2 and 3 nights a week and in some cases their only day off at the weekend so they are entitled to have a go at some of the crazy decisions that are made by the ref’s. These Ref’s are human and it would be foolish of you to think that every ref doesn’t have his favourite teams this may be for many different reasons Relatives in clubs, where they live, who they are friends with, what pub they have a few drinks in, all these factors come in to play They shouldn’t but you would be foolish to think they don’t.
    Good post Tipp Top, I agree they will all make mistakes, we see this even at the highest level in the Premiership and Champions League, but at local level these guys and gals also give up there time for a small few bob to referee a game, not to be abused and ridiculed!! It' this behaviour that has referee numbers so low nationwide. And if guys have affiliations with Clubs, wether it be relatives or socially then they shouldn't be allowed referee those Clubs, but thats a matter for the Clubs to take up with the League!!

I don’t feel that the clubs should even have to take this up with the league. The league committee are not fools either they know well what ref’s are affiliated with clubs throughout the Tsdl. They should have the cop on and the knowledge to stop this from happening. The ref’s do give up their time no question about that but as you said they are getting paid and paid well to be fair. Unlike most of the management and players who are involved for the love of their club and of the game. I feel that the day you are paying for something you are entitled to be treated in a fair manner. The clubs are the one’s paying the refs for their services and for that simple fact alone all the clubs deserve better than what they are getting at the moment.

Quote Originally Posted by Tipp Top View Post
    I don’t feel that the clubs should even have to take this up with the league. The league committee are not fools either they know well what ref’s are affiliated with clubs throughout the Tsdl. They should have the cop on and the knowledge to stop this from happening. The ref’s do give up their time no question about that but as you said they are getting paid and paid well to be fair. Unlike most of the management and players who are involved for the love of their club and of the game. I feel that the day you are paying for something you are entitled to be treated in a fair manner. The clubs are the one’s paying the refs for their services and for that simple fact alone all the clubs deserve better than what they are getting at the moment.
    Well paid?? seriously?? For example a ref has to drive 20 miles to a game, thats a journey of 40 miles and he gets €44 for the match. And he also gives up his day off. Hardly well paid!! I would also believe that anyone who referees also has a huge love of the game. Why esle would anyone be mad enough to do it??? And as for Clubs being entitled to be treated fairly........ Clubs in our league need to remember that they are Junior Clubs are will therefore be reffed by Junior Referees, not pros, not Howard Webb!! Any referee showing potential will be moved up to a higher level...........

Page 52 of 80 FirstFirst ... 242505152535462 ... LastLast