Page 41 of 80 FirstFirst ... 31394041424351 ... LastLast

Thread: Tipp South & District League 2009/10

Quote Originally Posted by ronburgundy View Post
    yes i agree that celtic were robbed of a goal. even the peake players on the pitch admitted it went in. the sending off after that incident for dissent only rubbed salt into the wounds. it was never a 4-1 match. In saying this, the celtic player who threw the ball into the face of a villa player for the first sending off was very foolish and really did his team no favours. you cant really argue with the other sending of either. as for the players missing i think villa were without a couple also.
    I am sick of Celtic moaning about referees. Every time they lose, it’s the refs fault. They were having a go at Town a few weeks ago, claiming that Town should have a number of players sent off. Yet they get 3 sent off and it’s the refs fault. You can’t throw a ball into a players face and expect nothing else but a red. I have nothing against them and I think it’s great for the league and for Clonmel that there is another strong team to shake things up. But please stop moaning, you have been doing it for years and it is getting tiresome. I saw Clonmel Town knocked out in the FAI by Old Bridge a few years ago. Town were winning 1-0 and they had an effort go three feet over the line but there were no linesmen and the goal wasn’t given. **** happens.
    Muiris Walsh pointed out last night on the radio that Celtic played Michaels, Peake twice and Town twice and taken only 5pts from 15. As Muiris said these are the games that you win and lose titles. I fancy Peake myself to win it now.
    Thought Town were poor last Sunday, still they got through I suppose!
    Last edited by complexman; 09/02/2010 at 7:58 AM. Reason: left out somethig

With 2 good FAI games in prospect on Sunday 21st wouldn't it make sense to have the Celtic v Michael's game @ 12 with the 'Town game at 2. I'm sure all local followers would like to see both these games irrespective of their allegiances (if any) and the winners of the TSDL 'derby' would be interested in seeing possible future opposition in action. What are the chances??

Quote Originally Posted by complexman View Post
    I am sick of Celtic moaning about referees. Every time they lose, it’s the refs fault. They were having a go at Town a few weeks ago, claiming that Town should have a number of players sent off. Yet they get 3 sent off and it’s the refs fault. You can’t throw a ball into a players face and expect nothing else but a red. I have nothing against them and I think it’s great for the league and for Clonmel that there is another strong team to shake things up. But please stop moaning, you have been doing it for years and it is getting tiresome. I saw Clonmel Town knocked out in the FAI by Old Bridge a few years ago. Town were winning 1-0 and they had an effort go three feet over the line but there were no linesmen and the goal wasn’t given. **** happens.
    Show me one post with a Celtic man complaining

"and darren burns should have gone for eye gouging. It's bad when town resort to that. Town showed today what a dirty team they really are. This tie needed a top referee, not one who quakes in his boots when surrounded by town players. They have been getting away with this for too long. We want unbiased refereeing "

The Celtic webpage is having a go at the ref again. It states that two of your players were sent off harshly. I just think the club or who ever updates the web and does your notes should show a bit of dignity

Quote Originally Posted by Galla View Post
    With 2 good FAI games in prospect on Sunday 21st wouldn't it make sense to have the Celtic v Michael's game @ 12 with the 'Town game at 2. I'm sure all local followers would like to see both these games irrespective of their allegiances (if any) and the winners of the TSDL 'derby' would be interested in seeing possible future opposition in action. What are the chances??
    On the radio on Monday night the games were down at the times you have said above. Celtic v Saints at noon, Town v Ballymun at 2.

31 Posts

Celtic moaners?????????/

"and darren burns should have gone for eye gouging. It's bad when town resort to that. Town showed today what a dirty team they really are. This tie needed a top referee, not one who quakes in his boots when surrounded by town players. They have been getting away with this for too long. We want unbiased refereeing "

The Celtic webpage is having a go at the ref again. It states that two of your players were sent off harshly. I just think the club or who ever updates the web and does your notes should show a bit of dignity
    I think accusing Celtic of constantly moaning is a bit rich coming from a Clonmel Town fan. This is a team that contains Tony Scully arguably the biggest moaner on a football pitch and before that Charlie McGeever who basically bullied referees. Its a fact that after Sunday's game the League secretary received a phone call from an individual who has no connections with Clonmel Celtic complaining about the standard of refereeing. Is it any co-incidence that Jim McKell has been relegated to referee a Division 3 game this weekend. It is also a fact that one of the officials at the Town Celtic game has since said that there were some major errors made in that game (majority of which favoured Town). It is also a fact that these 2 results have effectively ended Celtic's league chances. I think they Celtic have every reason to have a good moan.

The Celtic webpage is having a go at the ref again. It states that two of your players were sent off harshly. I just think the club or who ever updates the web and does your notes should show a bit of dignity[/QUOTE]

Whoever updates that website obviously wasn't at the game.....this is whats on the site:
    "Would it be asking too much for referees to meet every so often, maybe they do but the evidence isn’t there, to discuss refereeing issues with a view to introducing an element of consistency in their officiating. It is really demoralizing for the club that 2 big league games recently, that could have effectively end our title hopes, had one major thing in common, i.e. very poor refereeing. Could referees please get together and define ‘violent conduct’ and what punishment it merits? A player was dismissed last Sunday for petulantly throwing the ball at another player, while in another game a player who violently kicked another player as he lay on the ground goes unpunished. Also could they also agree how they should punish a player who verbally abuses them. A red card may be warranted but if so can they please issue the card in every instance. I have witnessed 1) referee’s ignoring abuse, 2) referee’s giving it back, 3) a referee having a quite word , 4) the issue of a yellow card and now 5) the issue of a red card. Whatever they decide is it too much to ask for a bit of consistency. Finally a good referee is not one that always rigidly applies the letter of the law. A good referee is one who uses his discretion and most of all COMMON SENSE in applying the letter of the law, something that was sadly lacking at the Peake Villa v Clonmel Celtic game last Sunday. "

Now I WAS at the game, and as a neutral, Celtics discipline is shocking. If you throw a ball at another player, then all you can expect is red and anyone with even the slightest knowledge of the Laws knows this.
    Also if you scream aggressively at the ref that he's a Wa?k£r, and everyone in the ground hears it, your gonna see red.

So to answer the Celtic website:

1: Violent conduct = Red Card
    2: Foul abusive and insulting language = Red Card

A good team is one who holds it's discipline, even when up against it and down in numbers and one who doesn't whinge and moan about every decision that goes against them, always blaming others. Blame the childish player who threw the ball at another player and the guy who thinks its ok to abuse a referee!!
    Last edited by Quietman; 10/02/2010 at 9:31 AM. Reason: spelling :-(
    "There is no pressure at the top. The pressure's being second or third."

Just read the match report on the Celtic website, it says the player was sent off for dissent and that the third red card was for a second yellow for a handball resulting in a penatly.........Now ive gone through the first one above but if memory serves me correctly, the yellow for the handball was his first yellow, and yes it resulted in a penalty,but he was sent off for a bad tackle minutes from full time..................consistency please Celtic!! and try watch the game eh!!
    "There is no pressure at the top. The pressure's being second or third."

Muiris Walsh pointed out last night on the radio that Celtic played Michaels, Peake twice and Town twice and taken only 5pts from 15. As Muiris said these are the games that you win and lose titles. I fancy Peake myself to win it now.
    Thought Town were poor last Sunday, still they got through I suppose!
    Fair bad when Town lads are remenising about a game from 4-5yrs ago about a ball that was over the line.......??? I don't remeber that at all. Bridge won fair and square that day and there was no such incident.
    Complexman were you at the Town vs Bridge game in Munster last weekend?? Penalty for Town in last 15mins that was never a peno........nothing knew there when they were only 1-0 up and Bridge were threatening to score.

It did happen- just ask david basquile, at least he was honest enough to admit it- anyway as you say it was five years ago. Town fans have plenty to remenise about, Leagues, FAI junior cups, Munster Junior Cups etc.
    yes was at Bridge game Sunday. Town were poor, Old Bridge played well. That said Dwayne Burns missed tow sitters. had Ian Kavanagh scored ealry on, it may have been different game. In relation to the handball for the pen, I was down the other end and I didn't get a good view but it did look harsh.

I'd be happy to answer any q's anyone may have on the referreeing, obviously some are confused!!

lads just wondering if any of ye know anything about clonmel town youths, id imagine they are pretty strong. we play them this saturday in the last 16 of munster youths. it is probably the weakest team we have had in a few years but we will give it a go anyway.

Clonmel Town youths conceed too many goals to go far this year. Terrible at the back. Score a fair few too to be honest.

31 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Referee09 View Post
    I'd be happy to answer any q's anyone may have on the referreeing, obviously some are confused!!

When you say 'some are confused' is it referees you are referring to???I hope a lot of local referees get in contact with you as there appears to be major confusion amongst some of them regarding rules

Quote Originally Posted by Roberto View Post
    When you say 'some are confused' is it referees you are referring to???I hope a lot of local referees get in contact with you as there appears to be major confusion amongst some of them regarding rules
    Well obviously I wasn't referring to you..............as you know everything!!

Quote Originally Posted by Roberto View Post
    Hey Roberto, this argument will go on till the earth stops spinning.... i have had some discussions with Referee9 about these rules theres one major flaw with them is that none of the laws are distinct laws , they are opened to be interpretated by an official and there is where the flaw comes...that means there will always be inconsistences... thats not the referees fault that another referee interpretated the law differently... so one day its a yellow other is a red or no card... it happens because the powers who create the rules have made them to be guidelines and not distinct rules. It happens all the way from Junior to Senior .......

31 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BigfeetBigsocks View Post
    Hey Roberto, this argument will go on till the earth stops spinning.... i have had some discussions with Referee9 about these rules theres one major flaw with them is that none of the laws are distinct laws , they are opened to be interpretated by an official and there is where the flaw comes...that means there will always be inconsistences... thats not the referees fault that another referee interpretated the law differently... so one day its a yellow other is a red or no card... it happens because the powers who create the rules have made them to be guidelines and not distinct rules. It happens all the way from Junior to Senior .......
    Well fair play to you Bigfeet. The most sensible post on this topic and a good one to draw a line under the matter, I suggest?

That has nothing to do with last Sunday

Quote Originally Posted by celticlads View Post
    lads just wondering if any of ye know anything about clonmel town youths, id imagine they are pretty strong. we play them this saturday in the last 16 of munster youths. it is probably the weakest team we have had in a few years but we will give it a go anyway.
    Town have 3 quality Youth players. Adrian Cleere centre half, Michael Ivors centre field and Evan McGuire plays mostly on the right and is very pacey. What the rest lack in ability they make up in determination and effort. Most youth teams concede a considerable amount of goals thats the nature of Youth Football. They can be got at no doubt but you will have to be top of your game!

delighted to see common sense prevail and the 2 big fai games on at different times sunday week,most neutrals will go and see both and other clubs will organise morning kick offs to have a look at ballymun

Page 41 of 80 FirstFirst ... 31394041424351 ... LastLast