Apart from those who have already been capped, do you think there are any players in our league with the potential and ability to make the step up and be a junior international?
was anyone at st michaels game on sunday , was paul breen luckly to say on the pitch
does anyone else think thats kind of stupid having games on the day after stevens day.the whole of ireland goes out that night.i dont think its going to stop many players from going out.and from talking to the cashel town lads there all gonna go out and id say it will be for most of the teams.i think a mid week game would suit everyone.seen as its the festive season 90 percent of the people will be off.i think its something the tsdl should look at.
paul breen was not lucky to stay on the pitch.eveyone knows he's fully committed to everything he does,including tackles.it wasnt as bad as people are making out to be.
it was a very tough game for us and cahir showed alot of heart but our experience shone threw.i feel this micheals team is one of the best in a long time and with chalky helping along the younger lads the future is looking bright.i think we need to strenthen up a few places.but we're nearly there
Careful mentioning the Chalky word here, theres a few people with daggers out for him on this site. At one stage i thought he was after killing Santa with all the abuse he was getting but it turns out all he did was talk to Tommy Lewis and play for Saints! "down with that sort of thing, Careful now"
If Breeno was sent off the Cahir No.10 would have had to go also so its swings and roundabouts! I believe he was in an accident last night but came out of it unharmed thank God.
ya id agree wit cashel man.....tsdl should bring that into consideration....
That's hardly a great attitude now CM is it. I know that players would be disappointed with the leagues decision, and I wouldn't agree with it myself, but those are the rules of the league, and you have to play the hand you're dealt. Would it be so hard do you think for players to go a bit easier on the sauce on Stephens night, and then go out and have a good evening for themselves after the game on Sunday ?
Might even be a good opportunity for the club to pick up a very valuable 3 points and ensure Premier football next season. Do you think that would be worth one night taking it easy ?
id agree with you but i dont play myself and i know if i did play i wouldnt be happy.alot of family members come home that you might not have seen in a long time.and maybe they have only a few days at home.thats just one scenario.there are plenty more.i just think its a bad time to have it thats all.i think a mid week game would suit alot more people..
as for the cashel players i dont think alot of them care anymore after the way they were left behind and made to pick up the pieces themselves.they would like to be in the permier next year and i have no doubt that they will but this season has been an anti-climax if you ask me.and its gone stale.something needs to be done to get the club back to where it should be..a new manager? someone from outside the club who doesnt know anyone and who doesnt have his favourites.
players left behind to pick up the pieces? the players...and you being one of them got rid of the manager who won back to back promotions and clearly have no dedication as taking it easy for one night over xmas is too much to ask,if as a club you want to be a saint michaels,clonmel town or peake villa the players must make sacrifices,all the talk when cashel came up was what they were going to do in the premier,you have been on the receiving end of some hammerings and internal squabbles has been the response,why not get your heads down and together as a unit put it right,starting by having a few quiet drinks together stephens night and then make up for it with a bang when 3 points are in the bag the next day
games the day after st stephens day is the most ridiculous thing i have ever heard. are people really trying so tell me that there are not enough weekends in the season to get games played. all this talk about dedication is rubbish. its an amateur league and christmas is a time when people switch off and relax and have a few drinks. its hardly a lack of interest if teams look for the the after stephens day off its one of the main socialising nights of the year.
lads thank god we have no games in the north on the 27th. It is crazy and i know teams will struggle for teams on that date. There has to be common sense brought into this and just have no games. Dedication to your football comes after your family and for one weekend in the year, family has to be put first. Plus another point is the safety issue of lads turning up a bit worse for wear, i know this can happen any weekend but probably a few more than usually will be like this which would put alot of players and officials at risk!!what ye think??Isnt it easy for the men who put out the fixtures to be out celebrating as they do not have to go play or look after teams?????
agreed completely about the amount of weekends available and there should be no need for fixures on the 27th,however if there are games then just because its junior football you do not need to have a junior attitude,players who are working flat out to win an fai,munster,league or tipp cup will not sacrifice that by getting hammered that night,there are loads of nights out over xmas,but please do not take me up wrong,there is no need for fixtures the 27th
This is my point its got nothing to do with any type of attitude its the fact that its a time of year when people should be allowed to enjoy themselves and recharge. its the attitude of the league that is all wrong. its a family and friends time of year that is what should take priority over anything else. all it does is devalue the league competition itself from all aspects. you cannot run an amateur competition on a professional basis. if this is what the league wants to do then all clubs should get floodlights and mid week games should be played regardless of anyones work committments. Its arragonce on behalf of the peolpe who run the league and a complete lack of common sense.
agreed....its rediculous
[MOD EDIT: No, it's rIdiculous. And if you don't knock the txt spk on the head, you're basically going to get 0 posts published.]
We are giving out about The League, but the league committee only has 5 members when it should have 9. Of the 5 only 1 man made the decision to play on 27th and he is a tee total. It is easy to slag off Lewis but when he steps down the League will have no one to fill his boots. He may be set in his ways but when he and Richard Power took over the league it was in a right state. May be him being so unforgiving in his reading of the rules leaves some clubs feeling hard done by, I bet there are not to many out there willing to take on the work load needed to keep a league running smoothly. I have had many run-ins with him over the years but at the end of the day who else is willing to stand up and do the job. Oh and by the way playing on the 27th will be a headache all clubs could have done with out, if he had to have an extra day I would have gone for Thursday 28th.
Surely playing the games on st stephens day would have made alot more sense and then everyone could go out that night and enjoy a few drinks. Im sure the refs would be in favour of this as its as bad for them to be running around as the players. I do believe that any player who takes his football seriously will go out stephens night and just drink minerals and will be in perfect shape to play a game the next day.
Clonmel Celtic at home to the winners of Malahide utd and Lisadell Utd in the last 64 of the FAI. Thats the only fixture I heard of. Anyone else hear anything?
peake villa away to st brendans in kerry