Page 143 of 150 FirstFirst ... 4393133141142143144145 ... LastLast
Results 2,841 to 2,860 of 2998

Thread: Cork AUL 2009/10

Went up to watch the Grattan V Leeside game this afternoon.

I have to say in fairness to Leeside they were absolutely robbed by the ref.
    Whilst the game itslef was even enough, probably shaded by Leeside, they were at the wrong end of three woeful decisions.

First Leeside were disallowed a perfectly good goal, scored from a corner where the ref gave a decision for pushing. You usually know when its a good goal when noone on the other side even looks for a free.
    Secondly was one of the worst penalty decisions I have ever seen awared to Grattan which they missed. Even the Grattan player fouled didnt seem to know why the ref blew his whistle.
    Thirdly with about ten to go, Leeside had a third goal disallowed for offside which was nowhere near offisde. Again not a single Grattan player or anyone on their line even looked for offside.

I'm sure every team has at least one game where they can claim they were well and truely robbed, unfortunately for Leeside today was their day.

As for Grattan, I think they are only a couple of players short of having a really strong side. Thought their defence did very well today, and they were solid in midfield. They are probably short a couple of attacking players.

Looks like we'll be in for a great finish to the premier league this year.

Ballyvolane 1 Kanturk 1 (aet), Ballyv won 7-6 on pens.

Absolutely thrilled to be up. Prob the biggest day of the clubs history. Wild celebrations tonight which due to my surgery i wont be able to attend.....DAMMIT !!!!!!!.
    Seriously though its a horrible way to decide the match, win or lose. Alot of credit due to kanturk who have had a great season
    and as we all know a pen shoot out is a lottery for both sides. Comiserations to Don and the lads.
    Well done to our lads after a long and very tough league, i think we got our just rewards. Special mention to our manager Derek Mellerick who after about 35 years of being involved with the club finally has the club where he has always wanted it, in the top tier, Premier, who was helped out in no small part by M. Lynam and G. O Riordan. Great for all involved in Ballyvolane Football Club.
    Thanks to the lads in here for your kind words,

congrats to main man and springfield,didnt get down to see it as i had a game myself but i hear ye got a very very late equaliser,97 min i was told.also heard there was a bit of trouble at the end with the ref hope it wasnt anything to serious.

28 Posts
    Lads were do i start,its a sick sick way to lose,but there has to be winners and losers and congrats to ballyvolane!!
    Must admit it was one of the best games ive played in,in a long time and after 110mins,the draw was the fairest result at the end!
    The last 4 seasons,3 in premier a and 1 in premier,weve finished 2nd in the 3 seasons of premier a,it just very dissapointing not to be playing premier!!
    Best of luck next season owl,il be fairly confident yel stay up,just really gutted were not goin up,hasnt really sunk in yet!!

would just like to say hard luck to millstreet 20 seconds away from the double conceding at goal 7 minutes in to stopage time they can feel very hard done by.

Sounds like a weekend of bad refereeing all round so. As pacman said earlier about our game, some decisions were baffling. Yet the same ref gets premier, premier A games most weeks.........

Springfield FC 1-1 Milstreeet FC

OK Boys in my drunken state may I just offer my condolences to Milstreet. An awful way to lose a league title and there will be no criticism towards the Milstreet players from MMR about your performance. A superb effort from a very good team. The result was on the severe side of harsh but i did think our second half deserved a result and we finally got some sort of luck from a long season.
    However, no matter what goes on in football no referee deserves to be spit on which I think is the lowest form of abuse and the most cowardly way to represent your frustration.
    But at the same time i am not going to sit here and criticize when I can't even understand the hurt of ye guys. It was a crazy game and your goalkeeper, wherever he came from, pulled off one of the best saves I have seen at this level.
    It was a bad performance from us guys but we did give all we had and ye guys were over playing from the time ye scored. But again nothing we wouldn't have tried.
    It was what football is all about and what makes it great.
    I would like to wish the Milstreet guys all the best for next season and ye have been an excellent team but I hope ye are not involved in a game again where the Garda have to be called to protect the refereee
    Forget what YOU want and think about the CLUB before there is none.

jesus christ! that sounds amazing! well done springfield...looks like well do it all over again nxt year millstreet, amazingly close season

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    Next year Millstreet wil be looking for protection from the guards against bad refereeing ha
    I think they reported a day light robbery Bella
    Forget what YOU want and think about the CLUB before there is none.

Mario, Scaffa and all at Boh's , condolences on your recent bereavements from Killowen A.F.C.
    "Garlic bread - it’s the future, I’ve tasted it."
    Brian Potter - Phoenix Nights

Congratulations to Springfield on winning A.U.L. 2A, hard luck to Millstreet on coming so close. What an end to the season in 2A, drama right down to the last kick of a ball.
    "Garlic bread - it’s the future, I’ve tasted it."
    Brian Potter - Phoenix Nights

Kanturk 1-1 Ballyvolane AET Ballyvolane won on pens.

Arite lads,just want to say well done to all our lads who,over the season,deserved something for their efforts.
    We never do things the easy way and proved it again on Saturday but the job is done now thank god.
    Hard luck to Kanturk who made it a scrap to the bitter end in fairness.
    Colm Forde got our equaliser and Paul o Keeffe the winning spot kick.

Delighted for our Manager Derek Mellerick who deserves it as much as any of the players.He's Ballyvolane to the core and is grey haired purely because of us!!!!!!!.Also congrats to Mick Lynam his assistant and a controversial linesman !!
    Quick mention also for the likes of John o Driscoll(Abroad),James "Shaz" o Shea (Injured),Davey Keogh(Injured),lawrence Buckley(Injured), Dave Hickey,Gavin Moylan and Paddy Cunningham who all played their part in this season.

Heres hoping Glenthorn stay up now.Be nice to have the derby.

Sorry for boring ye,thats it from me.Enjoy the hols lads. CMON the 'laaaaaaaan

Hey all, Can i just say first that congratulations are due to Ballyvolane on going up and best of luck in the Premier next Season.

Also can i draw some attention to the Corkery Cup which is going to be held in Leeds Park on the 12th and 13th of June. Its a 7 a side world cup style tournament which we ran with great success last year. Its played on grass, big goals and we will have the best refs from the AUL and MSL. Its a great way to sign off a long season or to bring all the lads from the pub who usually play on different teams to have a run out together. All support would be greatly appreciated! For any more details there is a poster up on CorkAul.com.

Thanks again and see you all at the start of next season!!

20 Posts
    up to you weather u want to respond.to be honest wasnt looking on the line but thats not accepted and if it was brought to our managers attention im sure he would ave been asked to leave...pitch was in very good condition...

was at this game MMR,agree about the spitting incident but in the name of all that is right in this world how in gods name was there tat much extra time added on.....it was a disgrace and to blow the whistle after the springfield goal,how did the referee expect to get any reaction bar the one he got.Nothing against springers ye had a great season congrats on winning the league but as a nuetral driving down to cobh to see a title decider i was disgusted with the way it ended.My condolences to millstreet,they should have called the cops but congrats again to springfield

Wink

congrats to ballyvolane,shetland and the rest great way to finish the season.

just in realation to the millstreet springfield game firstly well done to springfield on going up, secondly the spiting incident should not be seen any where near a soccer field millstreet could find themselfs in a bit of trouble. but on the main talking point the ref as the fer he is in a position of authority and with this comes y he cost responsibilty for his actions, and as a result of his actions he cost millstreet the title i dont think anyone can argue that because if he played the right amount of time springfield would not have scored. this is not trying to take away from springfield this is just highlighting the big problems teams have with refs in the aul. in my view they have to much influnce in the out comes of games as seen above. a good ref should barely be noticed but for the large part this not the case there is too many of them on power trips. there was an aul offical at the game yesterday he should go back to refs assocition and demand an explation over the refs actoins as his actions determined the outcome of a whole league

I feel after all the commitment put in during a long season, fella's giving up there saturday nights and training twice a week for a whole year, that its an absolute disgrace that your season is decided the way the millstreet lads season was decided on sunday. Im not just saying it cause I have a buddy playing with Millstreet. but congrads to springfield, its unfair on them cause they done nothing wrong, well besides bragging on this a few months back that they were 6/7 goals better than Millstreet. We'll all learn to keep our traps shut here in future, which brings me to my next point:

Congrads to the Ballyvolane lads for there promotion. It was well deserved, going to miss our arguments though, hopefully we'll be back arguing next year, thats me hoping we get promoted not wishing ye to get relegated. haha!!!

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by timmypav View Post
    Hey Radio, looks like ye are looking for Dillons Cross doing ye a favour now and getting some kind of result against Buttevant. If not, it looks like another play off bud.......................Congrats to your A team on getting in to the Premier.
    Timmy,
    I always said Dillons Cross were my favourite team!!! I just hope they have a go against Buttevant even though the result wont make much differnce to them.

I also would like to congratulate our first team too, a great achievement, it even brought tears to Derek Mellericks eyes, he deserves this for the effort he puts into running our club.

but bella millstreet can say they got what they didnt deserve .