No he was nt on time we figured he got lost so rang the Aul who passed on his number and we had to direct him.....kicked off just after 7 but he done only ok looked very young and was nt firm enough with his decisions seemed a bit intimated by players but overall would gave him 6/10 for his performance........
WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10
Cheers Junglegym, hopefully we`ll do the business now, everything seems to be going right for us at the moment, so hopefully the wheels dont come off! Should be a cracking game alright, we played two crackers against them last year!!
”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
George Hamilton...
http://www.innishvilla.com
Great result for ye.To be honest scaffa,its in yer own hands now..Saturday's game should be a cracker.We're after taking 7 points from our last 3 game and had a great win over Milstreet in the county cup last Sunday so the team is after taking a lot of confidence from the last few weeks.
Cheers Innish, i didn`t think they counted atall, definately dont want it to go to penalties though for either team....its a horrible way to get knocked out!
Ballyvolane 2 Greenwood 2
A game we could have won but the first 15 mins told its own story. 2 Down in under 15 minutes and deservedly so !! Greenwood flrw out of the blocks and hit before we even decided to wake up. To be fair we fought back and got one before half time through Colm Forde which i think turn the game in our favour. Second half we played all the ball but just couldnt break them down, only for us to score in the last 5 minutes to equalise. For me it was 2 points dropped because once again we had the chances. There was issues with the ref but thats another days story. Sticky side Greenwood but i felt they resorted to long ball constantly. But thats just my opinion.
Huge game sunday against Kanturk. Cant come fast enough for us. and im sure kanturk aswell.
well just reading the corkaul blog and AUL 2A title race is very tight at the min.... all 3 teams still in it. out of the 3 you would have to say that the all round best team would be springfield A, they are decent footballing side and compliment this well with solid over all fitness..
millstreet have come on well this year in comparison to other years, when they were not as strong a side as im sure they would admit. Seen them play a few times this year and they are a strong physical outfit and very fit i thought. not the most footballing of sides but they have a few handy individuals on the team
Waterloo are the final team, good strong and fit side too. not the greatest of sides in terms of footballing abilities as the long ball seems to be their forte thorughout any of their games i have seen. the long ball game is aided well tho for them as they have some quick and atheltic players in midfield and upfront..
will be an interesting race, i tip springfield solely on what i have seen on all 3 teams. waterloo/millstreet to battle for second place...
aside from that the rest of the league is settled i suppose, cresent draws cost them a higher placed position mind you i do not think they are of same calibre as the top 3 teams in the league. hillington are surely down along with glanworth i think?
does anyone know if it is still 2 going up from aul 2 and how many going down?
Looking forward to our game v Kinsale tomorrow, pitch in great nick, could very well be a case of winner takes all but a draw would suite us more than the seasiders
Be Champions
Ballyvolane 2 Greenwood 2
A game we could have won but the first 15 mins told its own story. 2 Down in under 15 minutes and deservedly so !! Greenwood flrw out of the blocks and hit before we even decided to wake up. To be fair we fought back and got one before half time through Colm Forde which i think turn the game in our favour. Second half we played all the ball but just couldnt break them down, only for us to score in the last 5 minutes to equalise. For me it was 2 points dropped because once again we had the chances. There was issues with the ref but thats another days story. Sticky side Greenwood but i felt they resorted to long ball constantly. But thats just my opinion.
Huge game sunday against Kanturk. Cant come fast enough for us. and im sure kanturk aswell.[/QUOTE]
What about the ref (in the 95th minute) awarding greenwood what he thought was a free in, only to change his mind and give a free out when he saw the incident happened inside the box.
Rock, i honestly thought he was giving a free in and have no idea why we were givin the free unless he thought both players were pulling at each other. It also begs the question why we were not awarded a penalty in the second half when a Greenwood player practically caught the ball ??
So i suppose there were claims on both sides, but none given.
I'm involved with Greenwood and could not believe how the ref changed his decision. From his position near midfield , the ref blew his whistle and pointed in the direction of the Ballyvolane goal. We were screaming penalty and shouted to our player to stay down where he was as the ref was now walking towards him. Once the ref came up to our player, whose was at least 4/5 feet inside the penalty area close to the end line, the ref then indicated a free out!!
He definitely indicted a free to us initially. If it was a free out he had awarded in the first place, why did he walk from midfield back almost to the end line when a free out would have been kicked long past himself in midfield. Strange decision and one of many for both sides that for me spoiled what was a good, clean game.
Well littleman i walked past yer pitch while ago and see it was in the process of being rolled, fair play to ye the pitch looks immaculate and thats the only way it should be for what could be the title deciding game..
On the game itself i would have to make ye slight favorites, providing everyone is fit and ready to go that is.. I hope ye do it aswell and beat Kinsale and leeside and take the league cos to be honest since Christmas ye have been flying and i think ye deserve it and plus i will always support northside teams, so on behalf of Bohs lads BEST OF LUCK
"I felt they resorted to long ball constantly. But thats just my opinion."
Appreciate this is just your opinion but with the pitch being very short , kicks outs and free kicks were able to land well into the opposing half. Why not kick it long ?. You didn't mention that we had 10 players for the last 20/25 mins which again meant we hit long balls to try and catch you on the break. This almost worked as we had 2 one on ones that we failed to score from. We started well and you guys came back strongly. A draw was probably a fair result, in my opinion.
Was a good game down in Coachford. They gave us a good game and pushed us all the way. Went in at half time at 0-0 again- alot to do with having to travel to Coachford from Cobh on a Thursday evening. Brennan scored from a free kick and Hawesy added a penalty. Had various other chances but failed to convert coupled with a few excellent saves from their keeper. A good game and credit to Coachford- don't think they will have any trouble staying up.
Congrats Conas- That is an excellent assessment of the league in fairness- but i would say that considering you have tipped us to win it. Since the Milstreet game when they beat us we have turned or season around and shown great character after going out of all the cups in the space of a few weeks. We needed alot of picking up and the 4-3 result down in Waterloo was a massive result. With all respect to Milstreet- because when they beat us we had alot out- Waterloo are the best team we have come up against in this league and they are going to push us all the way. It is going to be a tough run in but we have 6 home games and it is in our hands with both contenders to play at home. So we can have no excuses at the end.
Good luck to all involved- may the best team win
Last edited by MainManRam; 17/04/2010 at 9:46 AM. Reason: Ta ma gailge ufasach
Forget what YOU want and think about the CLUB before there is none.
Yes, that seems to be how hings are shaping up alright..... mind you, you would be surprised some other teams in that league are handy enough on their day (Castle Celtic/Killowen/Cresent spring to mind) but i suppose the main thing in this league is to achieve consistency in results and performances and that can be harder task than people think....
All the best to teams involved as you say though.
Coming towards the end of season our point against Ballyvolane on Thurs night meant Greenmount are relegated ?. We have 4 games left and even though we are third from bottom, it's been such a strange league that 4 wins (improbable) could see us promoted if results went our way !!!. Again, not very likely to happen, but it has been a hugely competitive league with all teams capable of beating each other and we have enjoyed our first season at Premier A level.
Looking forward to our remaining games against yourselves, Ballyvolane, Macroom and Pearse. (all at home - Pearse is away but we share the same pitch)
Saxone, i agree with your posts, it was a good clean game, even the sending off was for a silly act kicking the ball away. Besides that i suppose it was hard to play good football on such hard ground. I completely forgot ye had a man sent off when i wrote the post, apologies but i dont think the pitch is that short. What did you make of the handball ??
A few games left for us now, all huge. As you said yourself just becuse ye are third from bottom doesnt mean a thing in this league. 1 or 2 wins can jump a team a few places.
Truthfully , was on opposite side of a crowded penalty and couldn't see it , but the reaction of you guys as you all shouted together suggests you had a genuine call for a penalty. Don't like to knock refs as we can all make mistakes but a lot of his decisions baffled both teams. Anyway , back to the league and for us , we are happy that we will be playing premier A next year and will give the last 4 games a right lash!!!
Won't say good luck at the weekend as it might upset Kanturk but may the best team win.
Any news on how Gratten V Kinsale went?