Results 2,401 to 2,420 of 2998

Thread: Cork AUL 2009/10

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Onefootednopace View Post
    I don't know lads, same tactics helped them get out of AUL 2A last year.
    No point in clubs taking risks anymore. Cork is a small place when it comes to junior soccer especially with eagle eyed club officials who are also good with a camera.
    To be fair lads, who is more wrong, the guy with the camera (except Mainmanrams admirer) or the illegal players. Whether known or not, as in the Glens case, its still illegal. I have no problem hanging out any team on this site if I know they have illegal players, and I expect nothing else from any of ye. A voice is our club said recently that "Its 11 v 11 - i dont go in for that stuff". I dont agree.

Lilltemans comment about illegalities everywhere maybe true (brave comment by the way), so tough if you are caught. I am 1000% against it. I will plead the fifth Amendment(dunno what it means, but it works on the US tv shows) if asked are we guilty in recent seasons!

Thanks for the clarifcation Mario - a lot of work for ye in the 8 games ahead seeing the tables today - Norries cant win our one I dont think - Norries to win everywhere else!!

41 Posts
    Oli just get it out of ya.I have been at enough Aul meetings an heard ya point oit the same thing year in year out,an I agreed with ya each time
    I am well aware that it wrecks your Head when teams play illeagal players,but Oli,wether with anyone of your old clubs it may have been done,an you may well have been iriate it was done under you nose,it was done over the years.Every club has done it.End of.Its totally wrong an I have no sympathy for any club caught doing so.If Donoughmore caught a club an the club in question claimed they thought the player was signed then that clubs team manager an secretary should be held responceable for the club
    Being put in such a shameful postion,just because they didnt make sure the paper work was done,,,,,,,,,,,,and not to throw it back on Donoughmore for putting in an objection.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

28 Posts
    Bohs 2-1 Glen Celtic ......Just back from a very messy game at the fairfield where we beat the Glen, pitch was very mucky and conditions were bad and very hard to play ball.On the basis of it i think we deserved it missed two 1 on 1s and gave away a stupid goal but controlled the 2 nd half and deserved the penalty to win us the game. Glen going down to 10 men didnt help there cause in fairness but thought he deserved to go very late in the 2 challenges ........playing again up in the Glen thurs night and will be expecting another tough game up there
    WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10

Quote Originally Posted by scaffa7 View Post
    Bohs 2-1 Glen Celtic ......Just back from a very messy game at the fairfield where we beat the Glen, pitch was very mucky and conditions were bad and very hard to play ball.On the basis of it i think we deserved it missed two 1 on 1s and gave away a stupid goal but controlled the 2 nd half and deserved the penalty to win us the game. Glen going down to 10 men didnt help there cause in fairness but thought he deserved to go very late in the 2 challenges ........playing again up in the Glen thurs night and will be expecting another tough game up there
    Scaffa, well done on the result. Ye did have more chances on the night. If we had kept our 11 on the pitch we would probably have held out for the draw. He had to go but there was no malice in it. You could see that ye wanted it more and when you are chasing the top prize you always seem to get fellas that will dig deep to grind out a result...................... And by the way, i thought the ref had a fine game also.

Quote Originally Posted by DCross06 View Post
    Just remember that some refs have a look at this site, so if you wanna have a pop off a referee, do it yourself, I'm just distancing myself from these comments. Over the season they usually balance themselves out, as youd probably agree that in the 2 games against ye, we had one each.
    DCross, when i write on this site i just try to get a point across. Jesus u would not get much support from neighbours here. The same ref had a very good game tonight and i have no problem complimenting refs as well when they deserve it.

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by timmypav View Post
    Scaffa, well done on the result. Ye did have more chances on the night. If we had kept our 11 on the pitch we would probably have held out for the draw. He had to go but there was no malice in it. You could see that ye wanted it more and when you are chasing the top prize you always seem to get fellas that will dig deep to grind out a result...................... And by the way, i thought the ref had a fine game also.
    Thanks tim have to agree wit ya ye might have held on for the draw and yes the ref did have an ok night a few dodgy decisions with a few off sides but other than that he done well......looking forward to another tough game on thursday night against ye!!
    WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10

Both scaffas and timmy assessment of proceedings tonight is spot on, pitch was very very bad, should not have been played if you ask me but if the ref was happy with it then it was all systems go, Glen took the lead from a very soft goal from a free kick, was a low free that our keeper should have done better from and made the save, (we'll give him the benefit of the doubt and blame the weather haha). That was the glens only shot on target in the first half, and in the second apart from a few corners we dominated the 2nd half big time, Thay had a few frees aswell that were straight into keepers hands and never really troubled us, the man sent off didn help them either on a pitch that was very tiring and heavy i must say, regarding the ref i thought he did OK, few bad offside calls, he never looks across the whole line only at whats in front of him

Looking forward to playing ye again timmy on thursday, hope the pitch is better than ours was tonight

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Oli just get it out of ya.I have been at enough Aul meetings an heard ya point oit the same thing year in year out,an I agreed with ya each time
    I am well aware that it wrecks your Head when teams play illeagal players,but Oli,wether with anyone of your old clubs it may have been done,an you may well have been iriate it was done under you nose,it was done over the years.Every club has done it.End of.Its totally wrong an I have no sympathy for any club caught doing so.If Donoughmore caught a club an the club in question claimed they thought the player was signed then that clubs team manager an secretary should be held responceable for the club
    Being put in such a shameful postion,just because they didnt make sure the paper work was done,,,,,,,,,,,,and not to throw it back on Donoughmore for putting in an objection.
    Littleman you are right it does annoy me!! And i also know what you are referring to when you say at previous clubs it may have happened!! You made me look like a L*nger that time and to be honest it was deserved - i also agree with you that it does happen and will always happen but i believe some situations are inexcusable - for example - a 3rd division team , struggling in their league and also struggling financially - 10 players and they drag in someones friend - they lose but field a team and dont incur a fine - yes its wrong but i can understand it .

A team in the shout for trophies playing players from a premier team or even a senior team when they have eligible players available - things like that make my blood boil and i have seen it happen!

My attititude is if you get caught its unfortunate but tough!!

wrote a long message last week but it didnt post so i'll try again this week.

Started back refereeing a couple weeks back after injury. Hands up i made a horrific mistake during a game but thankfully it didnt effect the outcome of the game. I awarded a free in and blew for an offside while watching the line on the 18 yard box and for reasons beyond me never spotted the defender on the post.
    i admitted my error and apologised to the manager at the break.
    Aside from that i've not had any major disasters. Had to deal with scumbags behind a goal torturing the goalkeeper and away manager. Dealt with it efficiently.
    This week, i'm worried because since i've returned from injury i've only had lower division games which means standard hasn't been brilliant, no offence to any one playing lower league and i play it myself, but this weekend i've two massive potentially league deciding games in their respective premier divisions.
    I'm worried that because i've been at lower level, i wont be able to get up to the speed of the standard fast enough. They are obviously huge games for the four teams involved and i dont want to be a deciding factor and please dont judge my standard by above mistake cause its been my only calamity of the season so far.
    As i've said before everything at weekends come downs to concentration and level, if i was to go from premier division to lower division or higher age group or lower its better but to go from lower to higher can be a big ask.
    Took me a game or two after injury to get back up to pace with calling offsides etc.
    No issues with managers so far.

41 Posts
    Oli tis like this.The time it happened I didnt mean to rub it in i just thought the right word in the right ear would solve the problem.Pullin a fast one when ur stuck is one thing,but being blatent is another.Any club at any level who dose it an thinks its worth it deserves everthing they get.

Its never right,never an the most unforgiveable is when you deny a team a point,or more that they may need to win a league.

DONOUGHMORE are bang on in what they did,,,,,,,,,,,,win a league or cup by being the best,,,,,,,not by cheating.................''its idicitive of they way we are that we try to paint the ones who protest in the worst colour,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, an not the ones who blackin our sport'',,,,,,,Seph Blatter on cheatin,its wrong wrong wrong an those who try to vilify it are the worst.

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    cheers olachio, i was agreeing with you pass and move
    Sorry, picked you up wrong.
    Be Champions

Quote Originally Posted by padjoe View Post
    wrote a long message last week but it didnt post so i'll try again this week.

Started back refereeing a couple weeks back after injury. Hands up i made a horrific mistake during a game but thankfully it didnt effect the outcome of the game. I awarded a free in and blew for an offside while watching the line on the 18 yard box and for reasons beyond me never spotted the defender on the post.
    i admitted my error and apologised to the manager at the break.
    Aside from that i've not had any major disasters. Had to deal with scumbags behind a goal torturing the goalkeeper and away manager. Dealt with it efficiently.
    This week, i'm worried because since i've returned from injury i've only had lower division games which means standard hasn't been brilliant, no offence to any one playing lower league and i play it myself, but this weekend i've two massive potentially league deciding games in their respective premier divisions.
    I'm worried that because i've been at lower level, i wont be able to get up to the speed of the standard fast enough. They are obviously huge games for the four teams involved and i dont want to be a deciding factor and please dont judge my standard by above mistake cause its been my only calamity of the season so far.
    As i've said before everything at weekends come downs to concentration and level, if i was to go from premier division to lower division or higher age group or lower its better but to go from lower to higher can be a big ask.
    Took me a game or two after injury to get back up to pace with calling offsides etc.
    No issues with managers so far.
    With an attitude like that PADJOE I have no doubt you'll be fine. We are all human and make mistakes but it’s the strongest of us that can admit said mistakes.
    I think you should give a speech at a ref's meeting and try tell some of the power junkies in there that when you make a mistake just admit it and players and managers will be a lot more understanding and respectful.
    I can not understand when a ref is clearly wrong he puts his chest out and condescendingly insists he is right.
    This kind of behavior only makes it harder on the ref for the rest of the game because he can not be respected or trusted.

padjoe if every ref was as easy to deal with as you i think the aul might go broke. from my point of view alot of yellow cards come from refs you fail to make blantent decisions and everyone else can see them and then which is there right they book a player for mouthing which in the end only fuels the fire and then things get out of hand. but fairplay to you, you owned up to your mistake which most likely calmed downed a very aggrived manager and team. well done

Best of luck to Cork AUL Friday night.
    Be Champions

Lads, if anyone knows of a link with up-to-date contact numbers for referees can you let me know please

Cheers,
    Doug
    'If we play as one, we can beat any eleven'

Best wishes to the Cork A.U.L. Oscar Traynor team on Friday night from Killowen A.F.C.
    Rebels Abú.
    "Garlic bread - it’s the future, I’ve tasted it."
    Brian Potter - Phoenix Nights

71 Posts

Pressure

Gents, all under savage pressure now cos Padjoe is put us to shame with the good posts!!

Keep it up Padjoe - brave post.

On a serious note, Lego makes a great point. Its not just about the incident that is wrong that can cause upset, its that the trust is gone.

Im not sure Id like it at the time if the ref admitted he was wrong......depending on the time/score etc, but I know I would respect him more for it going forward from that point.

The question remains.......how do the refs know that this is what we want - there is no forum for us to tell them. (Bog, like the AUL Panel, maybe if I wish hard enough it might come true)

Does anyone know anuything about the Tipp crowd? Are they playing Friday night for the GAA?

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    Im not sure Id like it at the time if the ref admitted he was wrong......depending on the time/score etc, but I know I would respect him more for it going forward from that point.
    Jesus lads some people are never happy, first giving out about refs and decisions and ref's attitudes, then people saying there not sure if they want the ref apologising for his mistakes, it doesnt matter if you want it or not horse if the ref feels he made a bad call and apologises for it you can only hold your hand out and respect the man for doing so, whether you want his apology or not. Simple As

41 Posts
    Mario all Horse said was that if they had lost the game as a result of said mistake he might not appriciate the ref holdin his hands up an admitin he got it wrong,directly after the final whistle.The atmosphere would be a bit raw so to speak an especially if their was a lot riding on the result.

Good to see everyone getting along while iv been away !!!. Delighted to see our 1st division side getting a few good results and just at the right time too. With ourselves, the defeat to Macroom was a big blow, but with Kanturk drawing and Leeds dropping points to Blackstone, its still in the balance with a few teams still in with a shout. Is it 2 or 3 that go down this year from our league ?
    Littleman, i see yer run is still going strong. Itl be down to the wire there id say.