Page 103 of 150 FirstFirst ... 35393101102103104105113 ... LastLast
Results 2,041 to 2,060 of 2998

Thread: Cork AUL 2009/10

That may be boo, but i dont think anyone would fancy Leeside either in the form they are in. Should be an interesting few weeks.

Quote Originally Posted by padjoe View Post
    I accept there are some bad referees out there but he could have genuinely had a bad game, its not fair to post his name unless he is here to defend himself. at the end of the day it was all about how you read the rules. so many grey areas. last weekend, while playing, a penalty was given against me (i'm a goalkeeper), which i honestly got the ball first but took the player in the process, in the same scenario if i'd the whistle i'd prob have blown for a penalty against me as well because there is just so much to process. when i refereed first in 03 at 18 i used always make a mess of refereeing underage games in springfield, i can say it now cause it was so long ago. i was once chased out of springfield by a manager ( not a springfield official) on a crutches i'd such an appalling game. now i'm a much more solid referee, i believe. i've no problems refereeing springfield or any other club, i still have the occasional off game but that usually comes after refereeing three games in a row in one day or refereeing four over the weekend, the concentration tends to slip.
    in friendlies or underage games i focus on something specific every game but how'd you referee when the manager is telling his players that the referee is being extra strict on offsides this week. when is a referee never strict on offside. last weekend i blew for 25-30 foul throws. players just kept raising leg on release and i'm the pr1ck for doing so.

well padjoe, you talk about so many grey areas. if you go back and read my original post, the ball being 2 feet past the goal line is not very grey. you must remember that these refs are being paid and if i was ****ing up like that in my job i don't think i'd be there for too long. now i do have some admaration for ref's because it's a though job and i wouldn't do it because every decision is the wrong one by at least half the crowd but on both these occionss i was an impartial bystander so i think my views are untarnished by a bias connection to either party.

Quote Originally Posted by Legohead View Post
    well padjoe, you talk about so many grey areas. if you go back and read my original post, the ball being 2 feet past the goal line is not very grey. you must remember that these refs are being paid and if i was ****ing up like that in my job i don't think i'd be there for too long. now i do have some admaration for ref's because it's a though job and i wouldn't do it because every decision is the wrong one by at least half the crowd but on both these occionss i was an impartial bystander so i think my views are untarnished by a bias connection to either party.
    Legohead, unfortunately for the referee his rules state that you can't call something you didn't see. If he didn't see the ball cross the line, for whatever reason (I don't know I wasn't there) he can't just award a goal on the reaction of the defenders/attackers... I know we've all had bad experiences with referees but a lot (not all) of the reactions are blaming referees and asking how we can complain about them - very few volunteering to do courses and take it up. Every year there is a call for new referees in the league - they tried getting a push that each club would try to get one member as a referee - there is a real shortage hence as Padjoe said 3/4 games a weekend.

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    On the Village thing, the official must be protected but hard for me to comment on something I dont know much about. Not related to this incident, it just makes me think again about refs having a pathway to complain/comment about teams, but the opposite pathway is, in reality, not worth it.
    Again I wasn't at the game and I don't know the full circumstances but I must agree - Officials must be protected.
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Quote Originally Posted by Legohead View Post
    Missing a goal thats two feet inside can't be defended alright but if he didnt see it, he didn't see it.
    I hate to go back to it but the ireland/france game is the best example of it. Every one saw the handball except for the referee and the linesman. Their line of sight were both obstructed. Logic will tell you that because of the reaction of the irish players that something happened and no doubt the referee was on the headset asking the linesman if he saw anything, he asked Gallas if he handled the ball cause he thought that was where a possible offence occurred.
    It looked so obvious to the rest of us, but Hanson didnt see it and the linesman didnt see it so no offence was committed.
    i was only refereeing a friendly last week. i've been out with a thigh strain and i've been playing a bit more with my club so i won't be returning till sat week.
    Last edited by padjoe; 11/03/2010 at 10:30 AM.

what do you guys make of this panel for there next friendly.
    Derek Delea Leeside, Johnny Barret Leeside, Brian McCarthy Leeside,
    Brendan Hurley Kinsale, Derek McCarthy Kinsale, Daniel Syrlls Kinsale, Mick Bradfield Kinsale, Ger Harrington Kinsale,
    Eric Shinkwin Grattan, Brian Sullivan Grattan, John Kelleher Grattan,
    Sean Moynihan Douglas Hall,
    John Sull Castleview,
    Anthony Peelo Blarney St, John Betts Blarney St, Laurence Betts Blarney St,
    Shane O Neill Wilton,
    Keith Whyte Knockavilla, Rob Walsh Knockavilla, Peter Krzanowski Knockavilla,
    John Dennehy Kanturk.

71 Posts

Ex Boo Fan

Every time the subject of refs come up, people come up with good suggestions that both sides of administrators need to hear. Will they ever hear it? I dunno.

I thought the linesman had a clear view in the French game - maybe the post blocked his view. Thats a different problem all together - why wont they use Technology?

FIFA said the technology isnt good enough? It can pick a try with 7 or 8 people on top of the ball, but it isnt good enough for soccer. They are embarassing themselves, and us followers of the game.

On the AUL panel, I wonder if he has seen us. If he has and doesnt deem our players good enough, hey its opinion as someone said in an earlier post, and best of luck to them. It would be nice to know if he has seen us.

Boo - your posts have become too mainstream.........you used to be cool!! Padjoe is my new favourite!

The early season lovlieness always disapeers as things heat up!!!!!!!

41 Posts
    On the ref/abandonded game I heard last nite that its gone down the prosicution route with the Garda so id say the less said on this site about it the better.

On the Aul panel I couldnt care less whos on it.Or whos not on it because there seems no rhyme or reason to it.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    Alot of kinsale players on it isnt there??

Springers Leeside the weekend should be a cracker. Leeside will be really hard to beat, eddie wont want to lose to his old team, should have a nice bit of bite to it. Looking forward to watching leeside play havent seen them in a while, although if leeside are a attacking free flowing team, i guarantee they wont be allowed do it the weekend. Should be good.

Our 2nd team a game away from the qtrs of the county cup ha, should be a tough one sunday though, millstreet are playing well. We've mayfield next wednesday, were going to get thumped i say

**Just notcied no Gettings, thats a bit ridiculous isn't it. Also i am telling ye again now for a fact, Springfields centre back Timmy O'Shea is ten times the centre half of one or two defenders on that team, not naming names. Its ridiculous the way hes not on it.

Thats your opinion lad in my opinion we have a centre half who is as good as anyone in the AUL our keeper would get a game with most teams in the AUL our striker has been scoring ultra consistently for years, in my opinion Hala has one of the best left legs around and is a savage player and should be on it from grattan, and maybe littleman feels they shud have a bigger representation on it and to be honest id agree with him, springfield feel they have better players than whats on it as do Blackstone, as do every team in the AUL.

I bet we all could name 2-3 or 4 players from our respective team that should be on it and we could name 2-3 or 4 players from the squad that should not be on it but it all comes down to the managers selections and we have no choice but to respect it and wish the fellas on it the best of luck. The thing is everyone cant be on it so we just have to get on with it and suport them because afterall the are representing each and everyone of us so GOOD LUCK LADS
    Last edited by super_mario; 11/03/2010 at 1:20 PM.

i agree with yer posts lads.some very valid points but as i said i wasn't directly involved so found it more funny than anything else. Little man i'd say your pulling the p*** maybe to cover for a drinking pal?

41 Posts
    legohead .........if theirs something you'd like me to answer then just ask.No big secrets on my side so just ask.

On the Aul thing as Iv said iv no interest.
    Best of luck to um.

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    Alot of kinsale players on it isnt there??

Springers Leeside the weekend should be a cracker. Leeside will be really hard to beat, eddie wont want to lose to his old team, should have a nice bit of bite to it. Looking forward to watching leeside play havent seen them in a while, although if leeside are a attacking free flowing team, i guarantee they wont be allowed do it the weekend. Should be good.

Our 2nd team a game away from the qtrs of the county cup ha, should be a tough one sunday though, millstreet are playing well. We've mayfield next wednesday, were going to get thumped i say

**Just notcied no Gettings, thats a bit ridiculous isn't it. Also i am telling ye again now for a fact, Springfields centre back Timmy O'Shea is ten times the centre half of one or two defenders on that team, not naming names. Its ridiculous the way hes not on it.

You just said you havent seen Leeside play in awhile so how do you know Gettings not bein on the Squad is ''Ridiculous'' Bellavisatman

Cool

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    legohead .........if theirs something you'd like me to answer then just ask.No big secrets on my side so just ask.

On the Aul thing as Iv said iv no interest.
    Best of luck to um.

just kidding Little Man i just saw ye both in the same watering hole in mayfield a few times, all be it not together.

Littleman you were all talk about the AUL panel last week regarding who could be on it and you were spot on with Laurence Betts coming into the squad!! Are you secretly involved in the selection team?? ha ha Your spot on Super Mario every clubman with passion for there team will have there blinkers on and be adiment they should so many players in with a shout it maybe true but if they had a few mixed challange games midweek and give guys a chance in a decent game full of talented players to shine if there good enought?? wat you guys think??

To be honest, as much as i wish the AUL team all the best my interest is only in Ballyvolane F.C. and our next game against our near rivals. We seem to forget that our AUL side won it last year with a similar bunch of players so if its not broken, why try fix it !!!!!. Do i think that we have players that could potentially push for a place on the panal..Yes...am i bothered that we dont...No. We have enough games as it is to catch up on and our priority right now is the league and nothing else.

71 Posts
    Owl/Super Mario - our friend from the weekend of cards is favourite to do the AOH Cup final is a rumour I am hearing.

Is there two John O Sullivans in Castleview or is the same guy playing for Seniors & Juniors?

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by the owl View Post
    To be honest, as much as i wish the AUL team all the best my interest is only in Ballyvolane F.C. and our next game against our near rivals. We seem to forget that our AUL side won it last year with a similar bunch of players so if its not broken, why try fix it !!!!!. Do i think that we have players that could potentially push for a place on the panal..Yes...am i bothered that we dont...No. We have enough games as it is to catch up on and our priority right now is the league and nothing else.
    Would have to agree wit ya there owl id look out for the results and find out who made the team but after that could nt give a toss cause the aul has over looked players in our team (Bohs) for as long as i can remember and i know for a fact should have walked on to it
    So basically as long as wer winning and doin well in the cups ...........that ll do for me

41 Posts
    Ya Ghost,Dillons X asked a few weeks ago if anyone wanted to have a go at naming an 11 of what was though to be on the squad.I stress what was thought to be on the squad ,before Boo wakes from his slumber an freaks.

Who or why players are choosen is not worth the hassel of hazarding a guess.Best of luck to um.

I'll stay well clear of pickin the side cause it draws to much grief but I did notice a few things last year . Mario Id say nearly every team in the entire Aul would have at the very least a player in their own squad that they would say is good enough to be in the Aul squad.Its always like that and always will be.What I learned from last year was that the trick is getting players A who are playing well with their clubs B can adapt quickly to the step up in the standard of the opposition they are about to face and C be able to go from ''go on out there now an do what ya do best'' to listening to a manager tell you what he expects defending,attacking and off the ball from ya .

As Iv said I have seen what I considered good players look like startled rabbits when told what they were expexted to do during a game.Not all so called great players can handle going from being a great player on their own team to one of 18 or 20 great players on an Aul squad.Even last year I saw a few players especially in the warm up games an even 1 or 2 in the actual games themselves that the blood seemed to drain from their face as soon as the ball came their way when playing on a team where every other player with them or against them was of a high standard.

So in saying that their are better players out their,Ill take that no prob.But having the right stuff to adapt so quickly to a change in standards is the hardest thing for me.Ya have to have lads that you know have the right attitude and respect for the position they are in and want to win at all costs.Last year I felt the majority of the squad first and foremost belived in each other an that they could win,even when they were loosing at times.You would have to ask if the squad this year have these qualities.

Horse.I know they have Pa O'Sullivan an the boy on the Aul Sullivan.Im not qiute sure how the rules about playing for your 1st an 2nd side work in regards to Msl an Aul.Ya would have to ask the Aul Sec Id say.
    Last edited by littleman; 11/03/2010 at 9:24 PM.

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    Owl/Super Mario - our friend from the weekend of cards is favourite to do the AOH Cup final is a rumour I am hearing.

Is there two John O Sullivans in Castleview or is the same guy playing for Seniors & Juniors?
    What i have been told horse its the same john o sullivan!They had 2 playing against us saturday and play with the seniors,as far as i know!!

Ye all set for saturday horse,should be cracking game,the pitch is looking well,should suit both teams!!i say ye settel for any pitch now dats not in clashduv road!!

41 Posts
    Whoops,hes not available.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by donaldihno View Post
    What i have been told horse its the same john o sullivan!They had 2 playing against us saturday and play with the seniors,as far as i know!!

Ye all set for saturday horse,should be cracking game,the pitch is looking well,should suit both teams!!i say ye settel for any pitch now dats not in clashduv road!!
    So then has he transferred to Seniors, then he cant play in AUL anymore or Oscar squad?

We are looking forward to Saturday too - should be a good one. Clashduv two weeks running, I noticed it more the second time from both sides that control is sometimes impossible around the centre of the park.