Page 95 of 150 FirstFirst ... 45859394959697105145 ... LastLast
Results 1,881 to 1,900 of 2998

Thread: Cork AUL 2009/10

Quote Originally Posted by Legohead View Post
    I have witnessed this first hand a couple of times (at different clubs) and It just struck a cord with me this year when I seen 3 or 4 players from 1 particular club on the squad and one of the best centre halves in the AUL from that same club not being asked.
    I apologize if my first post was a bit blunt but it was something I was thinking about for awhile now.

Any replies/comments good or bad welcome.
    First of all welcome Legohead & you've nothing to apologize for, but don't beat around the bush, name the club & players.
    Be Champions

Welcome Lego.
    i have to agree with pass and move. name both club and player if you really think this player is worth a look for the AUL squad.
    We have had numerous debates on the selection process and i think everyone is of the same opinion that they feel their club have a player(s) that should be given an opportunity to stake a claim for a position on the squad.

Best of luck to all the Cork sides this weekend.

Alright lads, any info on the springfield team that are into the last 16 of the fai, we are down to play them sunday afternoon in county cup?
    Mario ye are back to league action again, park be tough one for ye?

Ya back to league for us and its a tough enough game to come back to in fairness, the suspended players are back tho so we are very confident of the 3 points.

Fairfield tomorrow at half 2 if anyone wants to come watch us in action haha

41 Posts
    Welcome Legohead,dont worry about being blunt,we have thick skins on here.

I will appriciate your frustration at how the Oscar side is picked,We probably all have had a pop at some stage.Me included but in reality he has selected the 2 center halfs who won the Oscar last year,against all comers.Wether he plays them together or not is what we have to wait for.

I also agree at times there was a fine line between victory an defeat,not your point but another posters excellent,an honest post too, but the end justifys the means an I watched the Oscar final an I thought the Cork Aul defence on the day were superb,against the best what were the supposed best attacking players in Irish junior football,the Dubs.
    Last edited by littleman; 26/02/2010 at 8:19 PM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

41 Posts
    I just wanted to add something.We may all or could actually select a side that we all think is good enough,but selection is down to the manager or the people he trusts an the most importantly what formation they play. I have esperienced managers who abide by the norm,4/4/2.

Its steady,effective an safe,an nothin wrong with it if it works.

3/5/2,,,,,,,,,,,,,ya can only do it if ya have the players who understand what it takes to play it,if ya have it will destroy sides week in week out,if ya dont have an 11 who read from the same script,will lose.

If in a perfect world ya have 11 players who,know what to do,attacking or defending,an have confidence so high,defeat is unthinkable, 3/4/3.................maybe next year we'll give it a go,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    I just wanted to add something.We may all or could actually select a side that we all think is good enough,but selection is down to the manager or the people he trusts an the most importantly what formation they play. I have esperienced managers who abide by the norm,4/4/2.

Its steady,effective an safe,an nothin wrong with it if it works.

3/5/2,,,,,,,,,,,,,ya can only do it if ya have the players who understand what it takes to play it,if ya have it will destroy sides week in week out,if ya dont have an 11 who read from the same script,will lose.

If in a perfect world ya have 11 players who,know what to do,attacking or defending,an have confidence so high,defeat is unthinkable, 3/4/3.................maybe next year we'll give it a go,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    Why dont we? If you were the OT Manager what would be your starting 11, it would be interesting to see the difference of opinions, and whether names pop up who are not currently involved.
    Who's takin the cones??????

Looking forward to the game tomorrow against Pearse - 7 games left for us in the league! Every gamein our league at the moment is a potential 6 pointer so it makes it very interesting!!

41 Posts
    Dillons X,,,,,,,I 'l have a little go at naming an 11,but i want it made perfectly clear this is just us havin a bit of fun an its only based on the players I think are or have been selected for thhe game.

Id go with 3/5/2

Hurley Kinsale

Babbs Blarney St
    Shinkwin Grattan
    O'Sullican Grattan

Delea Leeside RM
    Betts Blarney St CM
    Harry Goulding Grattan CM
    Joe Lyons Leeside CM
    Barrett Leeside LM

Macarthy Kinsale F
    Figo Grattan F.

Again this is only based on what I understand have been selected for the squad for the game,my own personal selections for the Oscar squad,there may be some changes others would go with but with the squad thats been selected thats the best I can make of it.

Hurley is an excellent keeper,great shot stopper an excellent distrabution.

Babbs,Shinks an Brian have played as a back 3 with Nufarm,through Grattan an beyond for Babbs an theres not a better back 3 anywhere.

Delea an Barret on the wings give great individual attacking options,terrific speed an delivery,yet they are very good defensively.

Harry,Betts an Joe have the ability to dominate a midfield,physcially first an football 2nd,an if ya physcially stop a side from playing then you break the back of the beast an your flair players can reap the rewards.

Macarthy is the best center forward in Irish junior football for me,an Irish Alan Shearer is how id best describe him,one chance is all he ever need to score an theres no on better at it,an Figo for me si the best attacking player I have ever had to pleasure to either play alongside or manage.He has everything,an he would creat so many chances for Macarthy an bring the wingers into play so well,plus hes the best dead ball player in the league under pressure.

Anyone else has a selection it would be interesting to hear there picks an the thinking behind it.

Premier result

Coachford 0 - 1 Grattan Utd (Shaw 75min)
    Be Champions

Premier A
    Pearce Celtic 2-0 Blackstone

Pearce deserving winners, making the league table all the more interesting.

AOH Cup: Kinsale 1 - Douglas Hall 2

Wasn't at the game but must congratulate our local rivals on a fine win away from home. Have watched the Hall a few times this season and have to admit this result doesn't surprise me too much, the Hall are so dangerous going forward they are a threat to any defense, fair play to them.
    'If we play as one, we can beat any eleven'

Quote Originally Posted by TheRock View Post
    Premier A
    Pearce Celtic 2-0 Blackstone

Pearce deserving winners, making the league table all the more interesting.
    Have to agree TheRock - Pearse were more hungry i felt! We didnt turn up and i felt perhaps some of our players used the pitch as an excuse for poor performances!! I know the keeper for Pearse from Hibs before! He made a big difference to Pearse - knowing you have a solid keeper behind you can make all the difference and give a team confidence!! Pearse were direct and up for the game - makes things interesting again in the Premier A!!

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by olachico View Post
    Have to agree TheRock - Pearse were more hungry i felt! We didnt turn up and i felt perhaps some of our players used the pitch as an excuse for poor performances!! I know the keeper for Pearse from Hibs before! He made a big difference to Pearse - knowing you have a solid keeper behind you can make all the difference and give a team confidence!! Pearse were direct and up for the game - makes things interesting again in the Premier A!!
    I no what your saying olachio!we had them last week,keeper was very good,strong presence!!They had a very good centre midfieler!no6?Must admit,not makin excuses,but the pitch is shocking,but then again its the same for the 2 teams.good win for ye littleman,another clean sheet.and well done on douglas,very good win!!

AUL 2A result- Killowen 2 Waterloo 4

Local derby today at Killowen, 2 sides who are familiar with each other over the years and we had brothers on opposing sides. Glad to report the game was played in the right spirit leaving the referee with an easy afternoon. Once again we contributed to our own downfall with the concession of 2 sloppy goals early in the 1st half. It was always going to be a struggle but credit to the Killowen lads for a much improved performance in the second half. We played some lovely football in the 2nd half although at times our final ball wasn't great against a well organised Waterloo defence. The goals flowed in the last quarter of an hour, we got it back to 2-1 after 75 minutes but they scored straight from the kick off to make it 3-1. Their fullback made it 4-1 with a rocket from 30 yards before we finished off the scoring in the 83rd minute.
    "Garlic bread - it’s the future, I’ve tasted it."
    Brian Potter - Phoenix Nights

Bohemians (2) vs (0) Park Utd

Delighted i must say with these 3 points always a bit of pressure when you have games in hand and getting the points is a must.

Thought we controlled the game today and were comfortable enough, no disrespect to park tho they never gave up in fairness and fought for every ball till the last min fair play, Was an enjoyable game of ball in perfect conditions i must say..

Quote Originally Posted by DCross06 View Post
    Why dont we? If you were the OT Manager what would be your starting 11, it would be interesting to see the difference of opinions, and whether names pop up who are not currently involved.
    Think that is an excellent idea in fairness, will be very interesting to see what names come up

Ya, there no.6 is Gary O'Shea. Keeper is a big lad alright, fierce kick from his hands too.

Grangevale 1 - Leeside B 2

Disappointing considering we had a mountain of possession, their keeper had a stormer in fairness to him. Leeside ended up with 9, us with 10, not a dirty game though, alot of yellows for verbals , time wasting etc.
    'If we play as one, we can beat any eleven'