EU20 at 40/1, Im with ye all the way boys, Great Result.
Congrats to Leeside,delighted to see another Cork side in the draw for the last 16.Unlucky to Wilton but Ballynanty are a very good side an 1 nil shows Wilton gave it their all.
Their's only one Dinny Pop's.
EU20 at 40/1, Im with ye all the way boys, Great Result.
To escape criticism ~
do nothing, say nothing, be nothing.
Well done to all. Keep the flag flying high!
On the Springers game, does all the blame lie with the club? Should Sligo League or FAI stepped in? Another embarrasmant for us lovers of the the beautiful game though.
Lads i just want to say a get well message to my buddy Dave Yelverton of Glenvale who im told broke his leg today in a game.
Get well soon Davey.
Soory Blue an Red if my match report seemed a bit one sided.It was a difficult game to play because the pitch is so small. Throw ball is as good as a corner or a free due to the pitch being so narrow.Theres no point in hittin it long cause a 40 yard pass just puts it into the keepers hands so ya just have to keep it on the deck an keep focused.Glenthorn as iv said are a decent side,an a big side too an as I pointed out any throw balls due to the pitch being narrow had to be defended like frees.
We got a peno an the ref was right up with the play an judged it to be a body check rather than a sholder to sholder challange.Honeslty I thought they should have had a peno for Shinks leading with the arm in an areial challange but the ref didnt give it.Loftys handeling was superb bar one moment in the first half when he got his timing from a corner wrong but it sailed wide anyhow.The Glenthorn keeper kept the scoreline to what it was
As he 3 one on one saves from Steven Goulding an Gerry Kelleher.What we had to defend we did,an as I said it wasnt pretty to watch at times but we have kept 6 clean sheets in our 9 league games this season(a far cry from our cup form ).So defending is an area where we are quite adept.Its a tiny pitch an chances will always be there for both sides an Saturday was no different.Hope this gives ya a better insight to the game Blue.
Their's only one Dinny Pop's.
well done to leeside!great win!!on the pearse game,no excuses,they totally deserved there win.went up 1 nil,pearse scored just before halt time.into second half,we had man sent off 5minutes in!they went on to score!infairness this league is so tight,any team can beat anyone!3 way playoff last year for promotion,it will b same dis year for 1st and 2nd!!were not playing this weekend,which is a shame,need to get back into it after a loss!!
Where do i start?? Firstly i would lie to wish David Yelverton the best of luck on a speedy recovery from a horrible injury triple fracture to the shin from what i hear, injuries lie that really bring home the fact that at the end of the day its just a game of ball, Best of luck fella from all at Bohemians
On the game it was a closely fought match as we expected and 10mins in we lost our left back who mis judged a sliding tackle and being last man was sent off. After 25mins we were rightly awarded a penalty which was put away brilliantly, being a man down it was always going to be a tough test but i thought we controlled the rest of the 1st half restricting glenvale to 1 or 2 long range efforts which never really troubled our keeper
The 2nd half they started the better and had lots of the ball without ever really threatening our goal and it got worse for us because in about a 5-10min spell we lost 3 players to injuries, the lads who came in did very well and we showed alot of character and really dug in to hold onto our lead, with about 20mins to go they were awarded a penalty and i have to say it was the right decision from the ref and they to converted brilliantly
extra time was very cagey and they had a 1 on 1 and we had one cleared off the line so it really could have gone any way in extra time.
To the penalty shoot-out our 10 players took a penalty each we missed two but our hero has to be our keeper who saved 3 penalties and scored one, So its into the quarter final of this cup for us and we look forward to the draw
Blarney St 0 Coachford 0
firstly best wishes to davey Yelverton from all at blarney St..wish you a speedy recovery bud..
Simplyput junglegym if I was your manager I would have been very dissapointed only leaving with a point Saturday...thought ye played very well and were well up for it and created some nice chances..I sensed before the game even in the warm up that were very sluggish and I think this showed especially first...don't really remember us having many chances and the few half chances we had yer goalkeeper dealt with fairly easy...he wasn't bad either whoever he is!!!!ye definetley had the better chants and were guilty of some poor finishing..still I was happy with the point and I was delighted with the way we dug in especially second...when it's not your day you just have to gmhang in there so I was pleased with that...I think last year we would almost certainly lost that game...for too long I have seen us play teams off the park and come away with nothing so all in all I wasn't too dissapointed...if I'm being honest tho ye left us off the hook..
Watched the game between bohs and glenvale yesterday and enjoyed it.. Thought glenvale had some great chances in the second half to win it and a bit more composure in front of goal and they would have...obviously the sending off had a big part to play as it restricted bohs going forward..but the dug in well and the back four looked strong...was very impressed with bohs keeper...very good hands and vocal and was unlucky not to stop one or two penaltys...for me glenvale left it behind them tho...had enough chances just never happened in front of goal... Referee made one terrible error when blowing for offside when the player who was off side made no attempt to play the ball and the lad who played it to him had continued his run and was just about to pull the trigger...bad call...
Well done to all the teams flying the cork flag over the weekend..some great results...
Last edited by streetscene; 22/02/2010 at 6:35 PM.
Honest as ever street and prob right to be fair, but i tho we looked dangerous at times on the break and were very unlucky when they cleared 1 off the line with the keeper beat, good defending tho centre half read it well,
And you said our keeper was unlucky not to save 1 or 2 when he saved 3 haha i presume you meant 1 or 2 more because he was very unlucky for another 2 alright.
Super mario ye did look very dangerous on the break and ye had good pace all over the pitch.. But the sending off did give them the advantage and meant all ye could do was to play on the break...to yer credit a lot of teams would have shut up shop and defended but ye still went after the second goal....fair play...and ya I meant as well as the pens the keeper had saved...he was only fingertips from another one or two...some excellent penaltys by the way from both sides
I can only add to the best luck wishes for David Yelverton- really is the worst thing ever when a guy goes out to do something he loves and ends up in hospital and an injury like that. I wish him all the best and hope the recovery is quick
Forget what YOU want and think about the CLUB before there is none.
Also wishing David Yelverton all the best in his recovery.
Best of luck to the Cork sides playing next weekend - Springers it looks like ye've a tough one but sure you've nothing to loose against a top Limerick side.
Leeside - don't know much about Willow Park but they knocked out last years finalists St Peter's in the 1st round so it won't be easy but sure there should be no easy games at this stage of the competition - also this year they lost 1:0 to Ballymun in the quarter final of the Leinster Junior cup... which is no mean feat
Innishvilla had a good if hard fought win over local rivals De Courcy Alb last weekend. 2:0 down at half time got 2 quick goals to start the second half. took the lead 2:3 only to concede direct from a free kick from centre circle, winner came from a free kick from our top scorer this season Shane Fitzgerald - having a great season thus far, always an issue for Innishvilla, a 20 goals a season guy... Well he's got 13 so far from 15/16 games.
I couldn't call to watch the game so I'd appreciate the Albion point of view...
Last edited by Innishvilla; 23/02/2010 at 11:19 AM. Reason: more info on Willow Park...
”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
George Hamilton...
http://www.innishvilla.com
thanks to everyone for all the good wishes sent my way. i want to give a special mention to the paramedics and staff at the cuh and also to the committee and team mates of my club glenvale, without all the words of encouragement and offers of support i would be depressed, its good to know in hard times that you have the support of those around you. thank you all ye really cheered me up. anyways just back from seeing an orthopaedic consultant and the diagnosis is a triple fracture of my tibia (shinbone) in a full cast to my hip for 12 weeks, will be raring to go in pre-season.![]()
David Yelverton.
Sorry too hear about the injury Davy. Wishing you all the best in your recovery, from myself and all at Ballyvolane.
David,
All the best fella. Sorry to hear about your injury. Hopefully the lads can go on to win a trophy (or 2) in your honour.
From all at City Wanderers.
Give it to feet......
Best of luck Dave,from all at Blackpool