Yes but they dont really pack in the football till a few weeks before championship comes around, and having played GAA they are encouraged to keep up the soccer at the start to help bring on there fitness
Last edited by super_mario; 10/02/2010 at 9:11 PM.
Waterford Utd 3 Cork Aul 0.
Their's only one Dinny Pop's.
Owl - I broke the ice bag.......a vital cog in the machine!!! Cant remember if you said how long he may be out.
Hey, losing a friendly isnt the worst thing in the world. The AUL were "out" of the competition on a few occassions last year - its no fun doing it the easy way!!
I heard the officials cost something like €400 for the Passage/Cork City game last weekend. Did well apparently!
I notice the rule in the Youths league is results are expunged if the team has played less than half of its league games. That has some appeal as a compromise.
In our case we had played them twice, won one and lost one.......not sure I would like to give them points back though,3 points are gold at the moment in our melting pot!
Cappaquin was where the game took place.Apparently Waterford train down that direction.Scoreline flattered Waterford from what I was told.
Horse,an interesting rule in the youths rule book also states that youth players are eligable to play with their junior sides in their club.But they have to be registered with the junior team in order to play.A possible bananna skin for some
With regards to the extra officials for me it depends on the game an whats at stake.We played Kinsale the first year we won the Premier an asked for linesmen for the game.The Aul duly obliged but obviously we had to cover the cost ourselves.
I must admit its great to see the senior league clubs with 3 officials but it isnt for every game,its just when theres ref available to allow for it.As iv said though its a great idea but with out meaning to sound disrespectful to Aul sides or even junior Msl sides , for the most part the script collectedon match day pays for the ref and or even the rental of the pitch.Senior clubs seem to have an easier time for the most part covering the cost of the extra expediture brought about by having extra officials.
Iv seen the larger junior sides in Limerick actually get match sponsors on a weekly basis to cover the outlay for games,an idea to work with isnt it lads.But honestly as long as we all need to rely on the script collected on match day to cover the cost I dont think it'll happen bar the odd occassion when a club asks for it.![]()
Was there any new players given a run littleman, or do you not know???
Sorry Mario but all I was told was the score .Havnt heard who started or what.Anyone else hear anything.
From Waterford Website...
Waterford United ran out 3-0 winners once again in their second pre-season match, against a Cork Oscar Traynor selection at Cappoquin tonight.
The Blues had the better of the first half, and were ahead after 12 minutes when triallist Timmy Purcell smashed home Vinny Sullivan’s cross at the back post. Sullivan and Liam Kearney also went close as United held the upper hand, with Chris Konopka given little to do at the other end.
Willie John Kiely and Paul Carey came on at half time, but it was Sullivan who extended the lead on 66 minutes with his second in two games, taking Paul McCarthy’s clever through ball on the turn and volleying over the Cork ‘keeper from the edge of the area.
Within six minutes Kiely made it 3-0 from the penalty spot. Liam Kearney slipped the Abbeyside hitman clear in the box, and after he was brought crashing to earth, Kiely dusted himself off to send the ‘keeper the wrong way.
Line-up: Chris Konopka (Josh Byrne 75); Alan Carey, Kevin Murray, John Kearney, Kevin Waters; Timmy Purcell (Willie John Kiely 45), Paul McCarthy, Gary Dunphy (Paul Carey 45), Liam Kearney (Gary Keane 75); Vinny Sullivan, David Grincell
The Waterford report makes it out to have been a stroll in the park,the league of Ireland must be brickin it at the thought of those blue an white devils being let loose for the comin season.
Was there many ins and outs?
We didnt lose any and picked up three. Two have played and did well, Pat Heaphy(Castleview) & John Cotter(Grattan) - scored on his debut. I havent met the third guy yet, but reports say he is training well.
Happy enough with our business.
We signed just the 1 player and lost none, we signed kenneth lee, a good player now i must say, bags of pace good brain and a neat enough finisher, good signing i must say
Any info on Coachford Prem side lads ?....littleman ?. Have them tomorrow in AOH.
Horse, that player id say will be out for a number of weeks, big loss. Besides him we have lost 1 other player to Leeds seniors. The joys of having a big squad. At least we have the cover for these players.
drink ban in operation again for next 48 hours, no problem as everyone is itching for game, actually cant wait, wish it was on now! Massive game for both teams, would give up my muster junior cup medal for a league and we feel its really going to happen this year. MAY THE BEST TEAM WIN LITTLEMAN!!!!!![]()
what did you think of game wed night littleman in rockmount park, war afterwards, suppose you heard about it all?
Heard about the game alright, was told it was a shocker and the cold just made it worse haha, Didnt now there was war afterwards tho wat happened??
Last edited by super_mario; 12/02/2010 at 5:38 PM.
Just like to go on record an say congrats to Derek Mcarthy on being selected again for the Irish junior panal,richly deserved .Also to Kinsale players an members as they must be well chuffed.
I will say as no doubt a lots of others will agree that I am genuinley disgusted the reward for the Cork Auls Oscar final win was one solitary player being called up.An over a half dozen of loosing Dublin Aul side were choosen.Please feel free to tear strips off me I you think im being too harsh with my comments on the matter all ye connected with the Fai an it grass roots commitee.
Boo Boo I as well as everybody else are well aware that Leeside are having a cracking season.As you are only to happy to tell us.U are also aware I have had the pleasure to have seen ye play on a few occassions this season.An I was genuinely impressed by some of what I saw.Ye have found god,given up the demon drink an repented for all yer sins,an it seems to have done the trick.Fair dues to ye.
We have a massive selection dilema ahead of the game Boo an I'd like ur opinion,will we wear all black, sky blue an navy or the new blue an white hoops with matching blue an white trimmed shorts.
Gok 1 is on at 11:30 today so Il watch that an have a good think about it then.Hope I dont dissapoint ya.
Finally Boo try to remember its called ''the beautiful game '' for a reason.Its not called kick an foul the norrie cause hes a bit more skillful than me game,not that Im referring to your particular style of play,im only talking in general terms
See ya tomorrow Boo,love an kisses from the Gratts.
Last edited by littleman; 13/02/2010 at 10:52 AM.
Coachford 1 Ballyvolane 2 (AET) AOH Cup.
Great win below in coachford. Tough match and felt we deserved it at the end. A young coachford side played well but i felt they relied too much on the long ball. Thought it was heading for pens before Colm Forde came up trumps with a great header from a corner kick with 3 or 4 minutes left on the clock. Lost our left full after 5 mins due to injury and his replacement i his first start had a great game.
Coachford had a very good player up front, i thnk they were callng him "chipper". Very quick and cool in possesion.
Hopefully this will restart our league campaign.
Pac,where have ya been,,,,,,,The Whitechurch folk had a nice comfy win over the Kilkully folk an there were plesentries exchanged afterwords,a typical Rockmount/Marys game.
Boo gets excited bascially everytime the Gratts or even ex Gratts are linked with some mischief.