LeedsPk as far as I know as soon as we get your money you will be kicked for trying to fix the competition! thats according to Conny anyway!
Ha, dont know man, you might have to ask the legend himself, and your buddy. Connie love........
Let me guess though, bet ya had Man City ?
The Guvnor, up front ?......would have paid to see it.
i actually heard he was late from one the leeds seniors.
LeedsPk as far as I know as soon as we get your money you will be kicked for trying to fix the competition! thats according to Conny anyway!
Good news on that too Owl, Rugsy is out on day one!
[QUOTE=Doug89;1317874]Well lads, we were beaten 3-0 in Waterford on Sunday. As there's alot of talk about refs recently I must say that we had 2 linesmen on Sunday and what a difference it makes, the ref really had an easy job as the other 2 made most of the decisions for him!!! And, in fairness, they were rarely wrong....[/QUOTE]
Folks I know ye want to give the Referees discussion a break but I just have a query. As it's the norm to have 3 officials officiating at the latter stages of National and provincial cups. Is it possible to have linesman assisting the referee for say, an important A.U.L. league game (for example top of the table clash in any division) or the advanced stages of the A.O.H. cup?. To the best of my knowledge, I can't ever recall such a scenario except for cup finals or semi finals. I wonder has any club on here requested this from the A.U.L ? I know there would be extra expense involved but would it be worth it if it would help eliminate that dodgy offside call or incorrectly awarded throw in? It’s not a solution to poor refereeing as there will always be an element of human error, but the more help the referee gets the better. I know there seems to be a shortage of referees but I wonder would the A.U.L be willing to provide linesman if requested?
Last edited by Onefootednopace; 10/02/2010 at 10:06 AM. Reason: Add on
"Garlic bread - it’s the future, I’ve tasted it."
Brian Potter - Phoenix Nights
I'm sure that there were 3 officials for the league game between Wilton and Kinsale last May.
I must say that the assistant refs did a great job on the night![]()
I say it would be on the request of the home team, if ya ask for three officials and you don't mind paying for three officials i dont see why you cannot have three officials , there isn't a rule i know that says apart from top competitions all games must be done by one official. If you were to ask a referee i would say they would love to have three officials at all matches.
That's my point, it makes sense to have 3 match officials for an important game like that where there is a lot at stake.
I know there's the extra expense incurred, but at least it's an option for clubs to avail of if required.
As for the Wilton v Kinsale game last May, as that game was basically a title decider, were the referees assistants appointed specifically by the A.U.L. or was it by the home team?
Last edited by Onefootednopace; 10/02/2010 at 11:34 AM. Reason: Add on
Three officials are ideal and I think is the case for all premier games in Limerick but there are two issues.
1. Cost - would each club commit to paying an extra cost of what roughly 1.5 times more than they currently spend
2. Where the hell do they find the referee/assistants from as it is they are streched to the limit regarding referees at weekends with MSL, Cork AUL, Youths and Schoolboys all needing qualified referees
”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
George Hamilton...
http://www.innishvilla.com
Thanks for the replies, I just wanted to know if the A.U.L. would be in a position to provide additional match officials on a one off basis and if any club on here had done so in the past.
As for the cost, that could be prohibitive for most clubs. For Killowen home games, the Referee's fee is usually €42.00, €42.00 x 3 = €126.00 - I don't think our treasurer would be too happy trying to find the extra cash needed nor would the players if the matchday subscription increased significantly. Maybe it's an option if we got to a cup Q-final / Semi-final or were in a top of the table clash, but I don't think we would be requesting 3 officials for every home game. As Innisvilla pointed out, the various leagues around Cork are stretched to the limit as regards availability of referees so I suppose we should count ourselves lucky we have even one referee to take charge.
Super Mario I play in central defence with Passage
Re; Timmy Pav,Just checked the website and we are def down to play ye in AOH 3d rouund,I think we knocked ye out of one cup already not sure which one though.
Marty
Oh well in that case then well played saturday, ye deserved the win in fairness to ye, Ye are a very well organised team and in the last 10mins i tho i would jus collapse from tracking ye on yer many breaks, as i said in previous comments only for our keeper ye wud have destroyed us. Haha i heard after the game yer manager tried to sign him haha, all a bit of banter tho fairplay to ye...
Nice one Mario we have struggled for a keeper but seem to have it sorted now hes a class act all the same,Im sure ye will be back on track the wknd
Must be some other cup so Timmy I know we are in the St Micheals and county..maybe they made some kind of fxxk up
Marty
Has anyone got any info on BALLINTOTIS??? We are playing them at the weekend!!! Doug did ye play them yet??? Or did anyone else play them in the cup????
We haven't played them yet chico but watched them v Douglas Hall. The Hall beat them 4 or 5 nil. B/Totis gave up after 2nd Hall goal & went to pieces.... Didn't impress me at all.... 'The Rock' was up front for them that night but didn't do a whole pile, not a bad ball player though & his bro can play too but overall ye should be comfortable I'd say![]()
'If we play as one, we can beat any eleven'
Chico played ballintotis last year and if ye are playing them down there pitch it wont be as comfortable as doug suggests because there pitch is brutal and a bit narrow so they can be hard to break down, they are a strong, fit very physical side and diarmuid o sullivan is a good player very strong (obviously) and very fit, his brother (pauidi) got a hat-trick against us and if he is on his game he can be very difficult to keep under control, always a bad time to get them when the GAA season isnt on cos when it starts again there best players go play hurling and football,
Still would expect ye to win tho, but will be a very tough physical game id say......