Page 83 of 150 FirstFirst ... 3373818283848593133 ... LastLast
Results 1,641 to 1,660 of 2998

Thread: Cork AUL 2009/10

41 Posts
    Would there be any chance that City couldnt field a side because of the strike threat against yer man Coughlans involvement with the club.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

71 Posts

Im copying it this time before I move to the next screen!

Inish, December was 2W1D as well. If November is only being dished out now, maybe it hasnt been called yet.

A lot has changed really since the WGHill game. We have new managers and our 16 now has about 10 from that time. We have changed managers for varying reasons in each of the last 2 summers and it is no coincidence that the first two months of each season has been slow. I have to be careful here in case Oli gets a big head....but, whatever happens from this point on, I hope that the two lads in place hang around for a bit, as we have a young side which can only improve.

Owl, so If Im coming up past Blackman, its straight on? I think we had agreed with Deccie when the game was set last time that ye would wear all red for the home game. Mention it to him at training anyway, but I will go down the official route as well.

Match of the Week - I'll mind the tickets!!!

Our most talented player in our 10/11 years - Dave O Connor...........an absolute genius. He was away in Oz the year we won the double, arrived back in April - came on with 20 to go in the league play-off - hit the post for the winner....10 days later came on at 0-0 with 25 to go in the cup final, changed the game completely, scored the winner on 89 and won Man of the Match!! A week later, he headed off back to Oz where he is since. He often says he misses the ball here badly, would love to come home....but a victim of the collapse of the construction game.

It is often said Roy Keane was not the most talented player to come out of Cork......it takes more than skill! How many fellas do we all know who "should have made it!"

Best player I have seen in AUL over last 2 years - Derek Delea id say.

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    Inish, December was 2W1D as well. If November is only being dished out now, maybe it hasnt been called yet.

A lot has changed really since the WGHill game. We have new managers and our 16 now has about 10 from that time. We have changed managers for varying reasons in each of the last 2 summers and it is no coincidence that the first two months of each season has been slow. I have to be careful here in case Oli gets a big head....but, whatever happens from this point on, I hope that the two lads in place hang around for a bit, as we have a young side which can only improve.

Owl, so If Im coming up past Blackman, its straight on? I think we had agreed with Deccie when the game was set last time that ye would wear all red for the home game. Mention it to him at training anyway, but I will go down the official route as well.

Match of the Week - I'll mind the tickets!!!

Our most talented player in our 10/11 years - Dave O Connor...........an absolute genius. He was away in Oz the year we won the double, arrived back in April - came on with 20 to go in the league play-off - hit the post for the winner....10 days later came on at 0-0 with 25 to go in the cup final, changed the game completely, scored the winner on 89 and won Man of the Match!! A week later, he headed off back to Oz where he is since. He often says he misses the ball here badly, would love to come home....but a victim of the collapse of the construction game.

It is often said Roy Keane was not the most talented player to come out of Cork......it takes more than skill! How many fellas do we all know who "should have made it!"

Best player I have seen in AUL over last 2 years - Derek Delea id say.
    play-off went to penalties Horse ;-) Your memory is fading it seems ;-)
    Last edited by olachico; 04/02/2010 at 3:12 PM.

41 Posts

Foot.ie!

Another quiet weekend in store lads.Can't see much of a fixture list goin ahead with this weather.Boo I hope ye have a back up plan encase yer place is goosed.An all weather might be a good bet just to cover yerselves.
    Last edited by littleman; 05/02/2010 at 6:45 PM.

Phew - was getting withdrawal symptoms - Monday and no Foot.ie how would we have coped!!!

1st up champs/chumps.

I suppose it is a bit obvious to give Leeside and Cabinteely both prizes!!! Great result for leeside on to face freebooters but even Billy Lyons called Cabinteeley "poor".

I think Kanturk and Leeside "C" would have run them close for the champs title both with good wins - Leeside "C" are on a bit of a roll now.

Bella, looking forward to welcoming you down for Saxone cup clash next weekend. 2 form teams in Division 2 at the moment - ye've a great run going in the cups and unbeaten in the league and Innishvilla after another win at weekend have gone top in AUL 2 (Glenvale with games in hand) but that makes 8 wins on the trot for Innishvilla so both sides should be looking forward to the game!!!
    Last edited by Innishvilla; 08/02/2010 at 12:29 PM.
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

41 Posts
    Champs,,,,,,have to be Leeside,smashing result.

Chumps,,,,,,,Bohs or Village,,,,,,the wheels seem to have come off for Bohs an the more I hear about Village the more worried I get,aka last year.
    Last edited by littleman; 08/02/2010 at 2:01 PM.

A.U.L. 2A result

Inter City Celtic 4 Killowen 1

We were unbeaten in our last 6 league games (2 wins & 4 draws) but never looked like extending that run yesterday morning. Inter City at Popham's field are a tough proposition at the best of times but when you switch off for 55 minutes then you get what you deserve. Inter took the lead after 19 minutes with a well taken goal by their centre forward. We got back on level terms 6 minutes later courtesy of a 25 yard volley into the top corner. Rather than try and build on that goal, we completely switched off. Inter dominated for the remainder of the 1st half, they hit the crossbar and had one cleared off the line. A converted penalty after 55 minutes made it 2-1, goals 3 and 4 arrived in the last 20 minutes to seal the win for them. No complaints as we were not at the races.
    "Garlic bread - it’s the future, I’ve tasted it."
    Brian Potter - Phoenix Nights

Champs and Chumps

Champs- Leeside "A" for their win in the F.A.I. Junior cup.

Chumps- Killowen - Sorry lads but ye never got going yesterday morning- capable of a lot better than that performance.
    "Garlic bread - it’s the future, I’ve tasted it."
    Brian Potter - Phoenix Nights

21 Posts
    Maybe not champs but certainly a big shout out to 3rd Div Macroom 'B' who pushed Premier leaders Kinsale hard in the AOH.
    3-2 at the end.

Game of the week next week has to be Leeside v Grattan in the Prem. Leeside are in super form (congrats on the win at the weekend lads) and Grattan have turned a corner in the last few weeks with some good form themselves.

Looking at the table, you would have to say that Grattan can't afford to lose next sunday if they regard themselves as serious contenders (which they certainly are!).
    A draw isn't such a bad result for either team so I'll go for that.
    1-1 is my prediction, for what that's worth.
    Last edited by Shilts; 08/02/2010 at 1:52 PM.

24 Posts

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post

Chumps,,,,,,,Bohs or Village,,,,,,the wheels seem to have come off for Bohs an the more I hear about Village the more worried I get,aka last year.
    Littleman I think your trying to rise poor Mario!!!

24 Posts
    We have been drawn against Blarney St in the AOH cup, don't expect much from game but can anyone give us some tips on them!

Jerry Geany (Honurary Life member, St Marys) passed away on Friday Night.
    He won the AOH Cup as a player and a manager and will be greatly missed.
    Removal Monday 8th North Gate Bridge 7pm.
    Funeral Tues Afternoon from North Cathedral.
    Give it to feet......

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post

Losing 1-0 in the AOH cup hardly justifys us being chumps littleman now does it???

Considering inter city lost 4-1, Rathcoole lost 5-0, Castleview went out of cup to a 2nd division team, Grangevale lost 3-0, Hillington lost 3-0..

Give me a break littleman, lucky this champs chumps thing only started
    recently because id say grattan would be top of the chumps table if it was going from start of the season
    Last edited by super_mario; 08/02/2010 at 4:41 PM. Reason: add on

Watched a bit of the bohs v passage game this weekend in the aoh cup to see how good bohs are being touted around, it seemed that bohs team lost the plot a little with the ref had 3 sent off and few bookings?? costly day out for the team both with fines and players suspensions if they get some?
    also coachford had a good win the weekend should start climbing up the table if they get a run of good results!

Ya gaz we had 3 sent off which is never good especially when your only 1-0 down and pushing for goal, but in fairness only for our keeper would have been beat out the gate, saved four 1 on 1s didn drop a single ball all day and made a superb save from a penalty, cork aul team could do a lot worse than have a look at him to be fair would get a game with most teams and saturday he was once again superb

They are the only ones who have actually earned the right to be called the best.[/QUOTE]
    What about Trevor Dunlea littleman,he played the first 3 games in the group stage but left for Avondale then ,he played alot more minutes than quiet a few on that squad. More then likely id say you just forget to mention Trev........

Innish ye are on a great run in fairness,surely up for team of the month.It looks between yerselves and glenvale i reckon for the league,we drew with glenvale 3-3 last week so teams are capable of taking points off them yet.As for ourselves the league is realistically out of reach,we dropped to many stupid points in games we should be winning.We are in the quarters of the saxone and still in the city challenge so hopefully we might follow up our corinthians cup success last year with another cup glory.Finally the champs this week have to be Leeside and the chumps..........Leeds again i reckon???

heard from a few blackstone lads that the refereeing of graham duffy was absolutely diabolical in the match of the week cracker v ballyvolane.i believe he also did the passage bohs game.any comments.

Worst referee i have ever came across in any standard of football, words cant describe how bad this fella is and thats not sour grapes because passage deserved there win against us but when we beat richmond 4-1 3 weeks ago he also reffed that game and was an absolute disgrace then aswell, something has to be done to stop certain refs ruining what it really is a GAME OF FOOTBALL,

Quote Originally Posted by shetland View Post
    heard from a few blackstone lads that the refereeing of graham duffy was absolutely diabolical in the match of the week cracker v ballyvolane.i believe he also did the passage bohs game.any comments.
    You wont be hearing anything from me about the referee or any other referee !! But yes the game was a cracker! We led twice and got pegged back twice!! Any news on the player who was injured owl????