Page 82 of 150 FirstFirst ... 3272808182838492132 ... LastLast
Results 1,621 to 1,640 of 2998

Thread: Cork AUL 2009/10

24 Posts
    Lads, this champs and chumps is gonna turn nasty!

In defence of my buddy the guvnor Leeds lost to a side who are doing very well this year!
    My own view on the champs would be Waterloo for getting a great result away to a higher ranked opposition, and the chumps unfortunately Donoughmore who conceded 6 at home considering they are top of the league and have only conceded 7 goals from 9 league matches this season.

On a brighter note we just scraped pass John Boscos at the weekend to progress to 3rd round of AOH, just wish we could start winning a few league games now!

71 Posts

Stuff

I had a big long post written and lost it all...................

Here goes again - a shortened version.

Inish - I meant TOTM for December. We have 2W1D for Jan so will write in anyway.

You are right about Ballincollig too - I would have thought that Village was always known as as good supporters of sport. I thought for years that they had their own place.

Hopefully, they will be back soon.

On the points thing, as Oli said, we have no qualms about our defeat. We should have been 6 up before they scored with 10 mins to go. We did expect all other teams to get 6 from the unfortunate Ballincollig, but you never know. Players missing, GAA etc, so I agree with wiping all records.

Leeds, welcome and doesnt the last fortnight sum up football in general!! Champs, then Chumps!!

Owl, Looking forward to my rookie visit to Ballyvolane Pk. Can you give me directions from Stirrup?

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post

Inish - I meant TOTM for December. We have 2W1D for Jan so will write in anyway.
    Ahh December... How did it go for ye? I know ye're on a good run of form. I saw ye play last year against Watergrasshill (checking them out prior to County Cup final). Ye looked very strong that day have ye strengthened since then?
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Had a look at the AUL rule book.
    I suggest deleting the results relating to the team that withdraws.

Looking at the wording of that rule, I wonder are rules 24 (e) and 24 (f) enforced by the league?

24. Failing to complete Season –
    24(a) Any club with more than one team in a grade, wishing to withdraw a team from the league during the season in point’s competition, must withdraw their lowest grade team.
    24(b) This team shall be automatically relegated and points for un-played matches will be credited to other clubs as they accrue.
    24(c) Any team, which does not complete its full programme of league fixtures, will, upon reapplying for membership for the next season, pay to the League a bond of €250 for Junior teams. This bond will be returned on completion of the teams full league fixture programme for that season.
    24(d) Any team withdrawing from the league, or a team removed from the league by the management committee shall be automatically relegated and points for un-played matches will be credited to other clubs as they accrue.
    24(e) Any player who has assisted a club in the League, and which has resigned from membership of the League or has been suspended or otherwise removed, must receive permission from the management committee before he can register with another club.
    24(f) The players of any club that withdraw or have been removed after the 31st January cannot register with any club for the remainder of the season.
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 03/02/2010 at 1:26 PM.
    "Garlic bread - it’s the future, I’ve tasted it."
    Brian Potter - Phoenix Nights

Quote Originally Posted by olachico View Post
    Oscar try here http://www.isrscork.com/fixhome.htm should find what you are looking for - I assume you want to watch waterloo??
    ya olachico cheers for that

Horse, coming from the ballyv side, turn right (the road up the side of the petrol station) and carry out that road, and past the GAA pitch on the right. our place is about 200 yards beyond that on the left......Stade de Ballyvolane, parking could be tight as it is match of the week and SKY SPORTS usually take up alot of spaces with all their gear !!
    We both wear red, dnt we ???

Quote Originally Posted by LeedsPk View Post
    That was the original plan but it didnt work out that way. out of the current team only dean buckley would have been playing prem a with the 1st team if they had not folded, keith would have as well but he only played 1 game this season ( against ballicollig so sort of doesnt count now) so i wouldnt really count him. All the rest were the 'b' team and had a 1st div fixture against mayfield changed to a prem a game against greenmount 3days before the season kicked off. Staying in the division in my eyes would be a good season and we can build on that then - hopefully that clears up the confusion

Both u and i know Conny Madden is the best player in the aul
    Yea, Connie a player of immense quality but its just a shame about his injuries...............

Blackstone are all Blue - the owl !!

41 Posts

Wink

Iv read all the comments posted over the last week or so an paid special attention to the ones who posted about havin player who deserved a Aul call up an even more so towards those who claim to have the so called 'best player in the league' statement.

Theirs a massive difference between having a player whos had a good season so far an a player who is recognised as being one of the best players over the last 4 or 5 seasons.

I'll give 3 examples.

Derek Macarthy,without doubt one of the best strikers to play in the Aul,I would say of his generation.Has proved himself at senior,junior an internationl grade.Pure class.

Derek Delea,again one of the best attacking players to play in the Aul in the last ten years,again proven at senior level an a major factor in the Oscar success last season.

John 'Figo' Kelleher.I have played Msl an Aul an even dabbled with the league of Ireland set up but all told Iv never seen a player with so much genuine talent.Hes buy far the best attacking player the Aul has had at their disposal in yonks.

Now if I heard someone say any one of these players,an a good few more besides ' are the best players in the Aul' then Id say fair enough theirs very good reasons to back those statements up.

But with all due respect to whats been mentioned by various posters as the best in the Aul,because they have had a good or great season to date an feel as if there players deserve it,get the consistancy,season on season an gain the right to deserve to acolade.

When experience an consistancy is used as a gauge to denote a player being the best,,,,,,,,,then its deserved.

A win here or their an a good display here or their means your heading the right way,an thats it.Some players are there already.

Reagan
    BabS
    Shinks
    Brian Sull
    Keegan
    Kelleher
    Delea
    Betts
    Varian
    O'Mahony
    Macarthy
    Keane
    O'Neill
    Cherry
    Bev
    Figo
    Brad

We all claim to be the best,they have actually all gone an proved they are the best.

They are the only ones who have actually earned the right to be called the best.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

I had a comment written there but decided against it - i think the AUL panel should be the best team and not the best individuals - whatever works best is the most important - I'm not going to say anymore about the AUL panel from now on - to be honest I havent been to an Oscar Traynor match in about 15 years. I'm more interested in my own team to be honest!!

41 Posts

norrie news

Thats fair enough Oli.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Anyone here at the Cork City v Cork A.U.L. game in Cobh last night? Can't see a result anywhere on this site.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post

John 'Figo' Kelleher.I have played Msl an Aul an even dabbled with the league of Ireland set up but all told Iv never seen a player with so much genuine talent.Hes buy far the best attacking player the Aul has had at their disposal in yonks.
    I've never had the honour of playing against Figo in a league/cup match but I did play in 5-a-side up in Churchfield once against him and I have to admit - he scored two of the most incredible goals I have ever seen. impossible to describe them but unreal goals skill wise.

AUL team wise - I would not like the job to be honest. As a competition the OT cup is tough - in all honesty last year the Cork AUL won the comp last year and were fully deserving winners but was there any game they played that the result might not have gone the other way? From my memory each game they played was tight - in the knockout stages it could have gone either way in each round. Again don't get me wrong I totally feel the team deserved the results they got but to remember one goal either way and it could have been a totally different story - exact same situation this year...
    George Hamilton...

Quote Originally Posted by Onefootednopace View Post
    Anyone here at the Cork City v Cork A.U.L. game in Cobh last night? Can't see a result anywhere on this site.
    Apologies...just logged on to Billy's site and saw the posting about the game being called off in Cobh.
    I guess I should have checked there first.

Quote Originally Posted by Onefootednopace View Post
    Looks like game was called off because the pitch was unplayable in Cobh (on Billy's website).

How was the pitch unplayable? weather has been pretty good recently - I know we had some rain yesterday and last night but enough to make a pitch unplayable???

Opps just saw you replied above One Foot - but the question still needs to be asked...
    George Hamilton...

Sorry chico, meant to say Blue.............

There was a schools game played there on Tuesday, Colaiste Mhuire of Cobh won the FAI Schools Munster Senior title beating Limerick C.B.S. 5-4 on pens after a 1-1 draw. Surely there could not have been that much damage to the pitch?

Cant imagine how the coleman park pitch was waterlogged?! Perhaps bella could shed some light on it. Is it more problems with Cork City and money - having to pay for the use of the pitch? What are the future friendlies for the AUL side? When are they playing tipp? Games for the newcomers would be vital you would think.

Quote Originally Posted by bogwarrior View Post
    Cant imagine how the coleman park pitch was waterlogged?! Perhaps bella could shed some light on it. Is it more problems with Cork City and money - having to pay for the use of the pitch? What are the future friendlies for the AUL side? When are they playing tipp? Games for the newcomers would be vital you would think.
    According to the details on Billy's site Cork A.U.L. are playing the T.S.D.L. between now and March 5th/6th.
    Quarter Final Draw

1) Defence Forces v Galway
    2) Wexford v Dublin AUL
    3) Roscommon/Sligo/Donegal v Clare
    4) TSDL v Cork AUL

Ties to be played on or before the 5th/6th of March 2010.

Semi-Final Draw
    1 v 2 4 v 3

Ties to be played weekend of the 27th/28th of March 2010.
    Last edited by Onefootednopace; 04/02/2010 at 11:29 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Iv read all the comments posted over the last week or so an paid special attention to the ones who posted about havin player who deserved a Aul call up an even more so towards those who claim to have the so called 'best player in the league' statement.

Theirs a massive difference between having a player whos had a good season so far an a player who is recognised as being one of the best players over the last 4 or 5 seasons.

I agree with u to some degree but u must also take into account having a couple of good seasons 2/3 years back doesnt mean ur at OT standard now. I know John and he is an excellent player but he has struggled with injuries and maybe not at the standard he was at and players coming thru are showing this season that they are good enough and are at that level and in my opinion should be picked for that alone and not what they have done in the past. Derek Mellerick was a very good player but he is not in the aul squad . Saying that i think if John gets back to the standard he was at he'd be the 1st name on the OT team sheet, no doubt.