Page 69 of 150 FirstFirst ... 1959676869707179119 ... LastLast
Results 1,361 to 1,380 of 2998

Thread: Cork AUL 2009/10

Quote Originally Posted by olachico View Post
    well the ghost - i have been managing teams for about 6/7 years now and i for one NEVER want to play Sunday morning matches again so I wouldnt blame players for not wanting to either!! Its junior soccer the ghost - fellas have lives - staying in almost every Saturday night isnt practical and even catches out the most dedicated of players on occasions
    Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    Oh i love the sunday morning matches i must say. I hate Saturday afternoon games, saying that ive never played with a team in the AUL who have saturday afternoon games os i dont know what thats like. We did it for youths in Rams and i never liked it. nothing better than a fresh sunday morning game at home, love it.
    It goes both ways - I'd be with Bella for the Sunday mornings, I preferred the whole get up early good brekkie and get down to game early.

I remember one season we asked for Saturday home games and I found it much more of a pain to the general weekend having to give up pretty much the whole day Saturday (can't do anything before game, too late to do anything after - and with me still crippled on the Sunday, the only benefit was Saturday nights out... The other down sides I found was we had a few players had trouble getting to games as they worked on saturdays and lastly we were a fairly committed bunch, Sunday morning games we on average would have been a team in better "condition" than most of our opponents, however that was evened out on Saturday afternoons.

Sunday's - involved giving up the heavy sessions on Saturday night, but normally home (and fed) by 1pm after game and then herself is happy we can go somewhere before my joints stiffen up and I'm crippled on Monday!!!

Definitely the reason we didn't continue with the afternoon games was the work commitments of players
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Quote Originally Posted by Innishvilla View Post
    It goes both ways - I'd be with Bella for the Sunday mornings, I preferred the whole get up early good brekkie and get down to game early.

I remember one season we asked for Saturday home games and I found it much more of a pain to the general weekend having to give up pretty much the whole day Saturday (can't do anything before game, too late to do anything after - and with me still crippled on the Sunday, the only benefit was Saturday nights out... The other down sides I found was we had a few players had trouble getting to games as they worked on saturdays and lastly we were a fairly committed bunch, Sunday morning games we on average would have been a team in better "condition" than most of our opponents, however that was evened out on Saturday afternoons.

Sunday's - involved giving up the heavy sessions on Saturday night, but normally home (and fed) by 1pm after game and then herself is happy we can go somewhere before my joints stiffen up and I'm crippled on Monday!!!

Definitely the reason we didn't continue with the afternoon games was the work commitments of players
    I do agree with you about having an advantage in having a team in better condition on the Sunday morning than opponents - when managing hibs i think we beat a lot of teams on a Sunday morning as I had the same players every week whereas other teams couldnt guarantee this - And as i said its just my opinion I dont expect people to agree with me but i just prefer matches on a Saturday afternoon , even a Sunday afternoon - Sunday mornings i just hate!! And if a team can only beat another team because their opponents are mouldy on a Sunday morning well .......
    Last edited by olachico; 08/01/2010 at 8:24 AM.

21 Posts

Foot.ie!

I hate sunday morning games.
    I have never been involved with a team that plays home games on a sunday morning and I never would.
    It would mean giving up at least half of the sat nites during the year and for me this is too much.
    Also, with having to breakfast 2.5 hours before ko you end up getting up around 8am. On a sunday this is crazy
    I do it for the few away games but I'm not prepared to do it for over 50% of the season.

I have seen Hala play a little, seems like a good player to me.

As for the dif between Prem and Div 1 teams. The difference is not as great as some people think. And there is practically no diff between Premier and Premier A teams imho.

No games this weekend I'd say! -5 degs in the city this morning. The pitches will be rock hard and won't get a chance to thaw out. Next week maybe...

All games off

Makes sense - no way the pitches would have thawed!! Summer soccer anyone??

Games Off

Just got this by e-mail.

Due to the adverse weather conditions forecasted for the weekend, the Committee have decided to cancel all games for Saturday and Sunday.
    The exceptions FOR THE MOMENT are College Corinthians V Shandon Celtic and Postal Celtic V St. John Boscos.
    Be Champions

Quote Originally Posted by pass&move View Post
    Just got this by e-mail.

Due to the adverse weather conditions forecasted for the weekend, the Committee have decided to cancel all games for Saturday and Sunday.
    The exceptions FOR THE MOMENT are College Corinthians V Shandon Celtic and Postal Celtic V St. John Boscos.
    A quiet weekend on the sporting front around Cork and the rest of the country. To make matters worse there will probably be little sports related viewing on the T.V. either, judging by the conditions prevailing in the U.K. at the moment. http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/front_page/8443978.stm
    "Garlic bread - it’s the future, I’ve tasted it."
    Brian Potter - Phoenix Nights

And if a team can only beat another team because their opponents are mouldy on a Sunday morning well .......
    It was just one of the points I was making for why I preferred Sunday games not the only reason.
    I accept some guys prefer Saturday afternoon games - I was more a get up early fresh for a game guy (maybe it is the farming background - no lie ins there...). Again the biggest thing I had against Saturday afternoons was the clashes with work commitments...
    George Hamilton...

Quote Originally Posted by Innishvilla View Post
    It was just one of the points I was making for why I preferred Sunday games not the only reason.
    I accept some guys prefer Saturday afternoon games - I was more a get up early fresh for a game guy (maybe it is the farming background - no lie ins there...). Again the biggest thing I had against Saturday afternoons was the clashes with work commitments...
    Innish i was only winding you up !! I accept your point regarding matches its a personal thing and we all have different opinions - the comment at the end was tongue in cheek

Cheers no worries...
    George Hamilton...

Sunday games for me lads. Friday night is a much better nightout !!!!!!!!

I believe there is a slight step up from 1st to prem. I think any 1st div side on their day can beat a prem side in a one off game. The real test is trying to do it every week. i have no doubt that there are a few 1st div sides at the moment that could hold there own in prem A but saying that its the 2nd season in my opinion that it gets tougher. Thats speaking from experience. Last year we just about stayed up after beating Castleview in our last game. Winning the Moss Linane was great but our priority was maintaining our prem status.
    As for what ghost said, for a guy who by his own admission hasnt played i think it was unfair on the 1st division leagues.

To be fair to ghost i think he was taken up slightly wrong - there are plenty players in the first division who have the skill to play premier and above but lack the drive to make the necessary commitment - as someone who has been down the divisions i've seen quite a few players and thought what in gods name is he doing here

Lots of conflicting opinions on the Sat/Sun issue... For me its Saturdays hands down... get up late(assuming you dont work sat),have a good breakfast and be fresh for the game...if you get a good result then its always nice heading back to the pub on a high and listening to all the scores coming in from the english leagues and having a good slagging with the lads... As a manager i used to get very annoyed seeing fellas strolling in Sunday morning with a big **** head on top of them avoiding me so i wouldnt smell the drink of them and then trying to compete with a guy who was in bed early and is fresh...only one winner there im afraid...
    I have to say i think there is a difference between premier league and the 1st Division... Not huge but there is one all the same..When we won the 1st Division 3 years ago we won it a canter by 25 points and we still more or less have the same team and it did take us almost have a season to adjust to the step up when we went premier... before anyone gets insulted tho there is always the exception...the team who are ahead of the league they are in.... point in case would be Bohs this year...As mario already pointed out a lot of their players would get a game with most teams in the prem... They have taken the scalp of a lot of teams above them this year and fair play to them...the trick is doing it week in week out... look at leeds last week in the F.A cup... Great result against United but would they do every week... Knockavilla and Village came up last year and are still trying to adjust to premier...there is no doubt they are good enough to be up there but just havent hit the ground yet...
    I have to agree with Olachio i have learned now never believe a fella has signed for you or left you until you see him out on the pitch in the gear...
    And yes Owl losing the AOH last year was a bitter pill to swallow.... huge dissapointment.. but we just didnt do enough on the night.... thats a semi final and a final of the aoh lost in 4 years so i have to keep the faith and hope that one day it will happen... and thanks for the welcome back too never thought id get a welcome from Ballyvolane....... just had a look at the league tables earlier ye are sitting nicely at the moment arent ye...Have ye played kanturk yet... Castleview well up there too

Quote Originally Posted by streetscene View Post
    Lots of conflicting opinions on the Sat/Sun issue... For me its Saturdays hands down... get up late(assuming you dont work sat),have a good breakfast and be fresh for the game...if you get a good result then its always nice heading back to the pub on a high and listening to all the scores coming in from the english leagues and having a good slagging with the lads... As a manager i used to get very annoyed seeing fellas strolling in Sunday morning with a big **** head on top of them avoiding me so i wouldnt smell the drink of them and then trying to compete with a guy who was in bed early and is fresh...only one winner there im afraid...
    Welcome back streetscene - you put that exactly how i wanted to say it

play on sundays(a lot of the lads work saturdays) and much prefer saturday games like streetscene says you can look forward to the night out and there is allways a good vibe in the dressing after the game decideing where you will meet up for a few that night. also you have two nice lyin's over the weekend and you have sunday to yourself

From my own playing days, Saturday afternoon's suited me better but sadly it made no difference to my performance...just refer to my username on here.
    For the last 2/3 seasons we have played our home games on a Saturday afternoon and it has suited both players and management. Management can name a squad of 16 on a Thursday or Friday evening safe in the knowledge that all will report fit and healthy on match day. Results have been slightly better since the move to Saturday afternoons. Sunday morning games don't usually pose a problem although we have had issues in the past with no-shows, poor timekeeping and players suffering from the effects of the night before. As Olachico stated in a previous posting, it's junior football and players have a life, so by us playing on a Saturday afternoon allows the players to enjoy their game and then head off for a few pints together after the match. Win lose or draw, the squad get together in the local after the game and the banter begins... who missed that open goal? ...did you see my flick over their full backs head? We may be operating in the lower reaches of the A.U.L. and may not pose a threat to the Leeside’s, Grattan's or Kinsales of this world for a long time yet. However, we will always be competitive and endeavour to play the game in the right spirit and ensure that anyone who dons the Killowen jersey will enjoy their time with us.
    [SIZE=2][/SIZE]As regards the discussion on standards between Premier/ Premier A and the rest of the divisions. A.U.L. 1A was the highest level I played at and that was back in the mid 90’s. Take it from me, standards on and off the pitch have improved big time since then. In my humble opinion the difference between the clubs operating at the top levels of the A.U.L. and those just below is not as big as it seems judging by recent results in cup competitions. But as previous posters have stated, doing it against the top teams over a prolonged period of time is the acid test. I feel there is a thin line between good teams and handy teams. Over the years I have watched the top sides in the A.U.L. playing against the likes of Maymount Celtic (R.I.P.) and Glenthorn Celtic as both clubs were based out in Killowen at one stage or another. What struck me during these games, aside from the obvious rise in standard, was that the top teams seemed to carry no “passengers” on the pitch. There were a few standout players who caught my eye but the remainder seemed to be of level ability and fitness. Maybe it’s easier for the successful clubs to attract the better players, but getting everyone to gel together is down to a good manager / coach. Within our own club we have a mixture of players, some who are extremely skilful but lack speed / fitness, others with outstanding levels of fitness but who are lacking in some skills. However there’s no doubting their commitment to the club and we are lucky to have them. In an ideal world, a panel of 16/18 players with a similar level of ability and fitness and all giving the same commitment would be any managers dream. There are countless players in the lower divisions of the A.U.L. who probably could play at a higher level, but have they the combination of ability, fitness and commitment to play at that higher level?
    Last edited by Onefootednopace; 08/01/2010 at 10:21 PM. Reason: Typo
    "Garlic bread - it’s the future, I’ve tasted it."
    Brian Potter - Phoenix Nights

41 Posts

norrie news

Onefootednopace,this is the one an only time I write your full name,tis excellent but too bleedin long so how about I call ya Brian Potter for short.

Your post was top class in fairness,a good honest assumption of how it looks from someone who seems to have enough cop to look at things an more improtantly speak about things hes experienced an be totally impartial.

.Playing with your buddies is totally understandable an also being loyal to your club.But by doing this it dosent entitle someone to say they have better players within their club even at a lower league.There has to be some reward for pushing yourself that little bit harder than the rest.

If a lad has enough about him to leave his club an join a better club then he should be commended for showing some courage,its hard to say you want to improve when your buddies want you to stay an especially so if they view you as one of the better players amoungst a very average group of players.

To do this you have to be different,your mentality has to be better than anyone elses an it has to stay at that level to make sure your consistant.An in that I personally for the most part think those within the Prem (not everyone or every club) have that mentality.

Yes Bohs beat Park in the Aoh an even Leeds beat Utd but if they had to play each other again honestly where would most peoples money go.Cup games are one offs,a higher ranked side against a lower ranked side lookin for a scalp.One side motivated to cause an upset an the other not motivated enough to do whats needed to see off a side they though they should have.Its happened a millon times an will continue to do so.But history will denote that Park are a Prem side an have been for some time an look likely to stay that way.Where as if Mario you will honestly have to win the league an then another 2 more to even reach the Prem.An do you have that in your club or current squad,if you do great but its a massive ask......I dont mean to sound condescending but thats ecactly why I rate the Prem players an clubs above so many others,they deserve somethin for reachin an staying at that level.

On the Saturday/Sunday thing.It really is up to each club.But in this day an age and especially with the family commitments lads have an the Guards an the job they have to do Saturday seems a better an fairer bet.

Finally you can have all the great names you want but they have to be effective dont they .Its getting the right mix an having the right attitude within the group.That will be the key factor to success.
    Last edited by littleman; 08/01/2010 at 10:39 PM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

littleman and brian potter are more or less thinkin the same as myself on standards. shock cup results and week in week out results that will win you a premier league they probably have the posting experience to explain it better than i.

The Ghost - will you ever write your messages properly or they will keep getting deleted I.E NO TEXT SPEAK

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post

Cans has gone back to Marys,so Id like oppertuinity to say best of luck and thanks for everything.
    Cans Cans Cans what can i say(Pardon the pun) only hes like clockwork. 5 months Grattan. Transfer window opens 5 months Marys. You can say littleman your thankful for having him when you did and theres no doubting he was one of the best right sided midfielders in the AUL and have had the pleasure running after him on countless occasions but your surely rightly annoyed with his carry on. I know him personnaly and have great time for Marky as a fella but if i was you littleman i would never touch him again and if you did after what hes done to ye then your just a sucker for punishment when you as gaffer and your committed players dont deserve any of it same goes for Malcolm Stokes and the Marys lads. Id rather a handy player with loyalty then a very good player with none who can leg it at the drop of a hat. Only my opinon would like to hear what littleman and anyone else thinks on this matter.........