Page 66 of 150 FirstFirst ... 1656646566676876116 ... LastLast
Results 1,301 to 1,320 of 2998

Thread: Cork AUL 2009/10

On the village goal if they realised how wrong they had been in playing on and that numerous Grattan players had gone to there players aid whilst they had scored. why didnt they just let grattan go up the under end and score didnt somthing like this happen a few years ago in the lower leagues in england?would this not have been the sporting thing to do? most likely the lad who scored the goal was oblivous to what was going on around him at the time mind on just one thing the ball.

41 Posts

norrie news

look im not lookin for a witch hunt,just theres somethings we just cant ignore.An some of the recent posts are very true in their own right.

But I was there an saw it true an proper,the whistle didnt blow an the ball wasnt put out,the Village player called the refs attention to the injury,As well as 20 other people,an only then was the ball put into the net,if it was put out id have been signing the praises from the rafters about him an his club,but its done now .

Somethin like this never goes away,it will always stink.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    look im not lookin for a witch hunt,just theres somethings we just cant ignore.An some of the recent posts are very true in their own right.

But I was there an saw it true an proper,the whistle didnt blow an the ball wasnt put out,the Village player called the refs attention to the injury,As well as 20 other people,an only then was the ball put into the net,if it was put out id have been signing the praises from the rafters about him an his club,but its done now .

Somethin like this never goes away,it will always stink.
    That's true Wee guy, First and foremost please wish your keeper the very best. I hope he recovers.

On the goal. Remember when Paolo DiCanio caught the ball with the keeper down. He won awards and got really special (deserved) praise. But it also highlights how unusual it is for it to happen...

I can understand a guy tapping in the ball, don't think that I'd have done it but lets be honest a big match you're hyped up open goal ball at your feet, can't say I would even hear a shout from anyone.

But the ref could have shown a bit of common sense by just checking the keeper after - realizing the problem and just restarting the game with a drop ball or something like that...

At the end of the day player health and safety is paramount.
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Quote Originally Posted by fruice View Post
    On the village goal if they realised how wrong they had been in playing on and that numerous Grattan players had gone to there players aid whilst they had scored. why didnt they just let grattan go up the under end and score didnt somthing like this happen a few years ago in the lower leagues in england?would this not have been the sporting thing to do? most likely the lad who scored the goal was oblivous to what was going on around him at the time mind on just one thing the ball.
    Something like this happened in Serie A a few weeks ago between Ascoli and Reggina. Ascoli scored a sneaky one when Reggina were trying to kick it out and then they let them up the other end in return.

http://www.dangerhere.com/ascoli-do-...ffield-united/

Well in my opinion the refs these days are to slow and unfit to keep up with the game so more often than not they just hang around the middle of the field making bad decisions..

If the ref was up with the play maybe he would have seen smithys injury for himself and seen how bad the lad was then do the right thing and stop the game..

Maybe im wrong and he was right up with the game but somehow i dont think im wrong at all..

And hand on heart if i collided with someone with the force smithy was hit id know the keeper must be really hurt and with everyone ( spectators + player) shouting at the ref to stop the game id have knocked the ball wide or over or picked it up.. At the end of the weekend when the games are done and dusted players have to go back to work and to there families so players welfare should be the priority here
    Last edited by super_mario; 22/12/2009 at 9:28 AM.

21 Posts

Foot.ie!

First things first I'd like to offer my best wishes for a speedy recovery to the Grattan keeper. Its just sport and win or lose we expect to go home in one piece.
    Its incidents like this that make a laugh of the expression 'keepers get way too much protection these days'.
    The most serious injuries will always be to brave keepers who put their faces and bodies where others wouldn't put their size 9s.
    Look at the Cech and Given injuries in the recent past.

I think that it's very hard to comment on an incident that you didn't see. But player welfare should be top of everyone's list.
    As soon as the ref noticed that the player was in trouble with a head injury he should blow the whistle.
    Sometimes the ref will follow the ball after a challange that wasn't a foul and won't see that the player is badly hurt (especially if he doesn't scream to high heaven).
    As for the Village player, with adrenalin pumping its hard not to put it in the net.
    The onus must be on the ref to stop the game not the player...
    However, without seeing the incident live its impossible for me to say if there was any fault.
    Remember that the refs in our league are on their own with no help from linesmen/asst refs, so of course they will miss stuff.
    Its a tough way to lose a game but we all lose games where we think that we were treated unfairly. Look at France v Ireland ffs!
    That's football.
    The player's welfare and recovery is what's more important now

Quote Originally Posted by the owl View Post
    Sorry Boo but i cant agree with the reasoning your givin for Lotty scoring. What happens if Village lose next week, will they fold then ???...we are talkin about a serious head injury to a player who now prob faces losing financially workwise. Yes there was no whistle from the ref and the player was entitled to score but, according to you was to save the club disregarding the welfare of a fellow player.
    Owl I think you misread Boo's post, Lotty didn't play any part in the match. It was their center forward Cambridge that scored the goal.

To be fair to the village players involved they didn't exactly have much time to decide what to do,I personally would be of the attitude 'score the goal ask questions later'.
    How many times have we all been shouted at to play to the whistle when learning to play the game as schoolboys?

I had a good view of the incident from behind the goal.

After the collision with Cambridge the keeper was lying next to the ball motionless,a village player played on and clipped the ball through to the lad
    Cambridge who was now standing 5 or 6 yards (offside) behind the keeper with only 1 defender getting back onto the line, he then used a Thierry Henry style handball control before putting the ball in the back of the net.

Speaking to a few of the Grattan players over the weekend they were annoyed with the ref rather than the Village players. If he was following the ball and didn't see the keeper lying there injured then he must see the offside and handball, or if he was looking at the keepers injury and missed the offside and handball then surely he must blow the whistle and stop the game for the head injury.

We all know being a ref is a tough job but this was easily the worst bit of officiating I've personally come across in all my years of playing and watching games.
    Hopefully the Grattan keeper recovers quickly and is back playing sooner rather than later, its only a game after all.

i think after a collision like grattans keepers one when a player is lying motionless jus plain common sense and surely instinct is to stop the game and make sure he is ok

Have read all the posts on this incident not gonna comment on what should have been done or should`nt or whose fault it was etc.... Was not at the game so i would just like to pass on my best wishes to the grattan lad that got hurt and hope he makes a speedy recovery!!

Croceboy, fair enough i named the wrong player, but irrespective of who scored i was saying that i didnt agree with booboys reasoning behind scoring. Surely all players welfare is priority. and not wether a club are going to fold or not ?

I'd like to take the opportunity to wish all on here a Merry Christmas. Best of luck to all in their games over the festive period.
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Wink Christmas Wishes

Just want to wish ye all a Happy Christmas and a Happy New Year.

It's been eventful to say the least, so hopefully more of the same in the New Year.

Be good and eat and drink loads of the festives.

King.

Happy christmas to everyone its been a good year i must say..

Good luck in all yer games over the christmas and dont drink to much haha

41 Posts

festive norrie news

Happy xmas lads from all the Gratts an heres to a liitle relaxin time for everyone

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    What have the posters here won as either player or manager?
    Played about 13 years
    Winner of Div 1
    Winner of Prem A
    Runner up of Prem
    Relegated Prem
    Final of St Michaels cup
    Final of AOH cup

Good few days out around the country too in FAI and Munster.

Not great but not bad either.

41 Posts

norrie news

Just to let everybody know,Mark Smith our keeper is hoping to be allowed home today.
    Last edited by littleman; 26/12/2009 at 12:20 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    What have the posters here won as either player or manager?

Im into my 6th season playing aul. 1st season joined in december we were bottom of prem a, got relegated, 2nd season we won 1b and won the county cup, 3rd season we stayed up in prem a finishin mid table, 4th season got relegated, things getting messy all season long most of the experienced players going to our 2nd team, 5th season i joined the lads in the second team last year and won div 3 quite easily nothing to be proud of, and Leaves me to this season, will take staying up, 1st team should stroll it 2nd team will be doing well to stay up. 6 yrs 4 managers, 2 leagues a cup and 2 relegations!!
    With Dillons Cross 4 years, nothing the first season, second season we won the second division play-off,(best game i've been involved in), to get promoted, third season we won the first division, got to the last 64 of the FAI Cup and last season we got relegated from Premier A after getting 6 points deducted. Hopefully this season will bring promotion and a trip to the Cross.
    Who's takin the cones??????

41 Posts

norrie news

anythin at all played this weekend.
    Last edited by littleman; 29/12/2009 at 12:59 AM.

41 Posts
    Hello all,I managed to get a hold of all the cup draws but its to long to post so anyone who wants ta know who they have an in what just ask.

Who do Blackstone have in the next round of the AOH please Littleman??