Page 45 of 150 FirstFirst ... 3543444546475595145 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2009/10

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    i was at that game too bigfella couldnt get over how poor kinsale were and seemed slow at the back too. I dont know 9/10s of the cork squad so wont comment on individuals who are there but theres a few not there that id think would have strolled on
    the two lads on the wing and the two up front left them for dead everytime,im just amazed that the same backline make up so much of the squad,even the lads they brought on couldn't handle them!!!there left back was the only lad who looked comfortable,he was well able to play ball.but obviously this has gone unreckonised by the current management through no fault of their own,after the team done so well last year you would think there would have been more interest in the aul setup earlier on to prepare but i suppose thats the AUL for ya,leave everything to the last minute and see what happens!!

Laugh away! Read the post properly before letting the red mist set in and seeing what u like! I said the team should be made of premier players.. wilton are a premier team, just because i did not mention them isn't a reason to go daft!

Bally won the mossie and well done to them. It was already pointed out that their league form was poor and they were lucky not to be relegated... i'd pick premier players in successful teams ahead of them any day. Not saying that they aren't up to the standard, I just feel that premier players are playing at a higher level on a regular basis. The likes of WILTON, Leeside, Kinsale, Grattan and who ever else!

Ola - there are players from outside the premier league on it and well done. All i'm saying is that if i were manager... my squad would be made up of mostly premier league players, for the above reason, simple as that. This myth business doesn't make sense? It's an opinion!

Time constraints are probably a factor in the squad selection, but you're on about somebody having too much influence...he's the manager?! I said he'd probably rely on his prior knowledge...which he probably has?

In regard to shetland's personal attack, fair enough it's your opinion. You appear up to date on his start to the season. But his reaction in turners cross was meant in good fun, he took the boos with a pinch of salt and celebrated scoring in an aoh final! To say it was a disgrace is a blinkered and ridiculous assessment.

The Wilton game at the end of the season wasn't our best. Fair enough. We were down to 9 men and still could have won. Thems the breaks. I'm not defending the AUL managers selection - i'm trying to provide a reasoning for it. What I am defending is comments on Kinsale's performance and Kinsale players. As i already said, my selection would be different.

Quote Originally Posted by blue-and-red View Post
    Southsider,in fairness,Martin Cronin not Oscar Traynor Material??????
    But 7 Kinsale players are!!!!! Stop now boy,i guarantee Cronin is as good if not better than whats being considered.His speed alone would put him in the frame not mind his skill and goalscoring.
    I appreciate that you are just giving your opinion which is fair enough but its madness to say he's not oscar traynor material.
    Its my opinon blue and red iv seen him a few times last season and the way i see him is that he's easily read and a full back with some pace should keep him quiet. pace alone is not enough for a player to get a look in the Oscar trainer panel. Everyone to their own i suppose.........

41 Posts

norrie news

Well well well,I had a feeling that it was only a matter of time before the preverbal hit the fan.

Shetland though what you an Olachaio said may have some creedience to it, a small bit of thought before you bit might be worth it in the lon run.

Bog is from a club which has bascially been 1st,2nd or 3rd at junior level in this league for the last 8 or so years.Been out of Cork year on year in the Fai an Mjc an have by any standar 2 Aohs on the trot.(as do Leeside)

He is in the position to say Prem players are a safer bet when pickin Aul sides cause hes played in it long enough.Ballyvolane won the Mossie an have had a good start to the season,that dose mean their players are worth a look,but it dose not mean they deserve to be picked

.Wilton won the Prem last year with a mix of experience an youth,the experience has retired for the most part,an the youth has gone to Glasheen along with the ex youth managers from last season an thats why they have only one player on it an considering who isnt on it in that positin my personal opinion is their lucky to have one at that..

Kinsale an a organised Wilton side were the best part of the premier last season,the rest of us were poor.This season however is a total different ball game,Leeside iv seen an was well impressed,Kinsale as always will be strong,an ourselves seem to have got back to somewhat normality so for me Wilton though an excellent footballin side an well run will find it a totally different prospect this season.

Tyner,Tyner,Tyner,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,cant mock his haircut cause mines the same,kind of but hes the Aul's Robbie Savage.I personally would have selected several other players but hes on it an thems the joys.Hes fit,hes physical,a bit mental but in a package it works,especially so for Kinsale.

I have played the last 6 years with our B squad, an the previous 12 with our 1st team,iv even played with the Oscar Traynor side on 2 occasions,mid 90,s as it happens as a 1st div player so i feel I have enough experience an seen enough of the junior game in Cork to make the following statement,based on experience.

As long as the Aul team is choosen on players only from the Premier,an only the Premier you will always have players who will want to get to the Premier to get onto it an especially Prem players who will want to prove they are the best in the league buy gettin on it.The players in the prem at the minute may not be the best in the Aul by some accounts,but they have the best attitudes when it comes to wanting to play at a higher standard,otherwise they wouldnt be in the Premier,would they,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,I would have any Prem player,in any position in ahead of anything else,simply because to stay in the Prem for so long they are doin it week in week out,hence wether we or even I agree with it,,,Tyner or the other players in question.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Howya Bog - if i were the manager I'd pick the best players that were available regardless of who they play for or what division - oh and I didnt go daft either by the way!!

As someone who has been involved in the lower divisions of the AUL I know there are players there who are MORE than capable of playing Premier but for whatever reason have decided not to - Maybe LOYALTY comes into it in some cases

You know LOYALTY where a player might want to stick at a club because he has played there all his life etc . Like you Littleman - werent you loyal to Grattan? Does that therefore mean you shouldnt have played on the AUL panel as a first division player???

Didnt Derek McCarthy go to Avondale and come back to Kinsale? He was playing at the highest level in Cork outside league of ireland and dropped back down to the AUL - Not because of a lack of ability but because Kinsale are HIS club - Doesnt make him any less of a player in my eyes

Those of ye who have been in the Premier a long while have a very blinkered outlook if you ask me!! But hey thats just my opinion - Dont go daft when ye are responding!!
    Last edited by olachico; 09/10/2009 at 8:24 PM.

And PS littleman i didnt have to think first - I'm as entitled to my opinion as anyone else - I'm not asking people to agree with it!!

71 Posts

The reason we have a forum

Nothing to beat a good oul barney - if we were all complients to each other, then it would be boring. You all make your own points well, whether I agree with them or not.

On the AUL Panel - whatever we think, one thing we agree on, we want them to retain the trophy.

On our player in the AUL Panel last year, I dont know Mr O Regan so he may have been at one of our games, but I dont think so. If he was at the Macroom game, then he would have seen our centre half unbothered by the selected centre forward. We were undone by their wingers. That means he listened to someone else's opinion. Id love to know who!

On Mr Tyner, he played ok in the AOH cup final, and, to be fair, you must be an ok player to stay in the Kinsale team. Bog is right, he took the wind-up well in the penos, stuck it away, and played to the crowd. On the other hand, I do think his disciplinary record will go against him at Oscar Tarynor level. He should have been sent after half an hour against us last year, because the line had wound him up. When you are focused on the line or on getting revenge on the other player or whatever, you arent focused on the game. The higher the level, the less there is between the teams. Any opposition worth their salt will begin to wind him up from the beginning. I hope he can handle it.

On the Prem only discussion, I dont think it makes sense. Were we not discussing the fact that second division Casment looked like having an MSL side at the beginning of the season? Are they not worth a look as an example? Olly's comment on loyalty is important too. If you arent going pro, then you always have the choice of playing where you enjoy it most - with your mates. Doesnt the comment from Park also bring up the point of players new to our shores playing with the people they know? There are many good players down the leagues at least worth a look.
    Your comment on playing the top teams week in week out - without insulting anybody, the top three seem a bit ahead of the rest, maybe then another level of three or four sides, and the bottom half of Prem is the same as top of Prem A. That means playing only 4 big league games a year, not week in week out.

On the league structure, I agree with Ollys set-up and I would change it just a little bit. 3 down from Prem A, with 2 first division winners going up, and the two runners up playing home and away for the third spot. 2 up 2 down everywhere else. You need 2 promotion spots, or two chances as I mentioned above, in each division. Last year I saw a first division where the leaders won their first five, another side won 1 and drew one of their first five. Gone from the league promotion race in early September even though they were only 5 points off second?

Just a reminder on our team of the season thing - judge it only on a single game at a time, one from your side and one from theirs, or two from each.

Post the result from Kerry as soon as ye have it please.

41 Posts

norrie news

Kerry 2 Cork 1.

Bad result is one thing,inept management is quite another,,,,,,,,Reagan,Halloran an Quim have proved yourselves well an truly on a level far apart from anyone else.

Forgive me for being harsh but to play Macarthy up front an play,,,,,,,,,,,ShaneO'Neill (a winger at best) with him,,;,,,,,,,,,,,,to play Shinks at center half an play Sullivan from Castleview with him, ,,,,an drop from the team the captain of the winnin side last year Brian O'Sullivan,,,,,,,,an add to that one of the most highly regarded players in Cork,junior an senior Cans,also never even got a run,,,,,,,,,,,,,Littleman now is bitin his lip with all the power he has,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,did the Aul get confused with Brigini badges,boy scout badges,maybe even AA badges,,,,cause a Fifa badge,dose that explaon why you would not play some of the best players the Aul has produced in years instead of people who played well last Saturday:

What a complete an utter total joke,start to finish,well done the Aul Commitee for amkin us all look like muppets again.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Kerry 2 Cork 1.

Bad result is one thing,inept management is quite another,,,,,,,,Reagan,Halloran an Quim have proved yourselves well an truly on a level far apart from anyone else.

Forgive me for being harsh but to play Macarthy up front an play,,,,,,,,,,,ShaneO'Neill (a winger at best) with him,,;,,,,,,,,,,,,to play Shinks at center half an play Sullivan from Castleview with him, ,,,,an drop from the team the captain of the winnin side last year Brian O'Sullivan,,,,,,,,an add to that one of the most highly regarded players in Cork,junior an senior Cans,also never even got a run,,,,,,,,,,,,,Littleman now is bitin his lip with all the power he has,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,did the Aul get confused with Brigini badges,boy scout badges,maybe even AA badges,,,,cause a Fifa badge,dose that explaon why you would not play some of the best players the Aul has produced in years instead of people who played well last Saturday:

What a complete an utter total joke,start to finish,well done the Aul Commitee for amkin us all look like muppets again.
    Its hard to blame O'Halloran here though, Cork City were playing away to Bray at the same time so I'd imagine he had little or nothing to do with selecting the team - I saw O'Regan in action last year with Knockavilla and I know he has the qualifications but he still comes across as a bit of a bluffer. I dont know did he ever play to a high standard himself, I sometimes think you can have all the qualifications in the world but a bit of cop on & real hands on knowledge of the game is also very important. I agree with you though this result does reflect badly on the league.
    It's not the size of the dog in the fight, but the size of the fight in the dog.

41 Posts

norrie news

Questions,,,,,,,,,,

Reagan,,,,,,can all the badges in the world make up for an utter,inept lack of knowledge or last years teams strong points or this years talent.

Halloran,,,,,,,,,,,,was it just the name he brought to the management,,,,,,,,cause with City playin tonite his loyalties lay else where

Quim,,,,,,,,,,,,,,as a keeper,hot headed,as a coach hot headed,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,if he nominated 7 players from a underachivin team ,well whats happened there,if it wasnt him,who the hell thought Kinsale had 7 players in the Prem better than the rest,,,,,,,,,,dont worry ul get a chance to answer me face to face this season,an Bog

41 Posts

norrie news

Olachiao,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,if we had the basis of our strongest squad thats great,if the manager has totally disregarded any information he got or if the old manager had a chat an pointed him in the right direction,an he choose to ignore it;,then fair duse to him,,,,,,,,,,,,,,but if or any side drops their best center half an best midfield playe whos wrong Olachaio,
    Last edited by littleman; 09/10/2009 at 10:45 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Questions,,,,,,,,,,

Reagan,,,,,,can all the badges in the world make up for an utter,inept lack of knowledge or last years teams strong points or this years talent.
    Couldn't agree with that more, the team last year was an outstanding success - to make the radical changes & to play people out of position smells of very poor organisation.
    It's not the size of the dog in the fight, but the size of the fight in the dog.

as i said in previous post. watch this space.whas i right? the panel picked was a joke and the result proves this.why break up last years winning centre halves.

Shane O'Neill up front thats a strange one ! I think he is a good winger tho. Madness to drop Sully from the team as last years captain you think he would be undroppable. With a team selsection like that one has to think they done rather well to lose by a goal. Either O'Regan wants to stamp his own authority on this team and forget about Minty and last years successes or he has lost his marbles. Anyone got the starting team ??? P.S. He did play football. I can remember Niall playing on the Cork Youth Inter League team. Good player he was too.

Quote Originally Posted by Southsider View Post
    Shane O'Neill up front thats a strange one ! I think he is a good winger tho. Madness to drop Sully from the team as last years captain you think he would be undroppable. With a team selsection like that one has to think they done rather well to lose by a goal. Either O'Regan wants to stamp his own authority on this team and forget about Minty and last years successes or he has lost his marbles. Anyone got the starting team ??? P.S. He did play football. I can remember Niall playing on the Cork Youth Inter League team. Good player he was too.
    Yeah Steve Staunton was a good player too need i say anymore . All joking aside (and I wasnt at the match) maybe they might have lost anyway no matter who was in the squad/team - i just think there could be an easier way to do all this with regards the oscar traynor team
    Last edited by olachico; 09/10/2009 at 11:27 PM.

24 Posts
    Littleman, were you at the game, because whatever about the selection, how did the team actually play?

Quote Originally Posted by olachico View Post
    Yeah Steve Staunton was a good player too need i say anymore . All joking aside (and I wasnt at the match) maybe they might have lost anyway no matter who was in the squad/team - i just think there could be an easier way to do all this with regards the oscar traynor team
    Very true olachico,very true. I dont know anything about the Kerry lads but i get the feeling our lads would have lost anyway Because when you think of it,any team to lose the likes of Varian,Figo,Jason Keegan,Paul O'Mahony,Anthony Buckley and Trevor Dunlea from the team who played Kerry last year and if i remember correctly were very very lucky against them last season really had a mountain to climb not forgetten last years captain either from the above named. Lets hope with a bit of time between now and their next fixture the mistakes tonight will be mended somehow i dont think so

You make a fair point ola... higher league doesnt mean better quality player on an individual level. But i'd pick groups of players from the higher division clubs. Grattan centre backs for example... Kinsale strikers... etc.. Include then amongst these one or two gems from the lower leagues maybe.. its not as likely that you'll find two players at a lower league club at the same level as a premier. Thanks for the caps lock. No need to shout!

I take it the game was poor lads? Let us know the starting team and match info when u can. I'll bite my tongue before passing any comment.

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bogwarrior View Post
    You make a fair point ola... higher league doesnt mean better quality player on an individual level. But i'd pick groups of players from the higher division clubs. Grattan centre backs for example... Kinsale strikers... etc.. Include then amongst these one or two gems from the lower leagues maybe.. its not as likely that you'll find two players at a lower league club at the same level as a premier. Thanks for the caps lock. No need to shout!

I take it the game was poor lads? Let us know the starting team and match info when u can. I'll bite my tongue before passing any comment.
    Bog can you remember who played left back for Kinsale in the Mossie Linnane final, he was a blonde fella? Don't know his name, was he in the cork aul team selected?

Quote Originally Posted by bogwarrior View Post

I wasnt shouting - i was merely EMPHASISING my point - Wilton will be playing Glen Celtic in a few weeks in the cup - Shane "Shambo" Hurley is a player I know well - he is a player I believe could certainly play at a higher level - All I'm saying is there are players around that should be considered - like this John Cronin from Bohs who I am hearing great things about - must go watch them sometime

Lads I was enthusiastic about the AULs appointment when I heard it to be honest . And anyone I spoke to only had good things to say about Niall O Reagan I just think the squad looked all wrong from the outset

I dont see why the AUL cant take a more pro active role in this .
    Granted the appointment was late but surely SURELY SURELY some trial games could be set up whereby if a club has a player they think might be good enough for the AUL panel they can send them forward and see what happens .

So at least when the manager is appointed he could be told - X,Y,Z from Kinsale A,B,C from Grattan and you might want to look at D from Ballyvolane . T from Kanturk and F from Springfield . Not saying tell him who to pick but help him out