Kinsale: Jeremy o donovan(think that name) (Centre Back)
Leeside: Brian O Sullivan (Centre Back)
Knockavilla: Rob Walsh (Striker)
Leeside: Richard Gettings (Striker)
Wilton: Keeper ( foreign lad, unreal how he is not on aul panel, best keeper in league )
Leeside: Coleman Cody (Centre Midfield)
Gettings looked back to form in the game I saw him play an for me he would at the very least have more experience to bring to such a big game.Of the other Leeside lads,maybe the lad from Midelton is worth a shout alright as a holding midfielder.Though I will say the small lad up front for Leeside would not be a bad replacement for Paul O'Mahony,goin on what I saw against Dromee he got 2 super goals.
Johnny Barrett ex midleton and maymount is lad up front u talking about littleman, fantastic player. would also be worth a shout for panel
Southsider,in fairness,Martin Cronin not Oscar Traynor Material??????
But 7 Kinsale players are!!!!! Stop now boy,i guarantee Cronin is as good if not better than whats being considered.His speed alone would put him in the frame not mind his skill and goalscoring.
I appreciate that you are just giving your opinion which is fair enough but its madness to say he's not oscar traynor material.
junglegym I nearly forgot ya.No great underhanded reason for the game being off Sunday.Leeside an Wilton only have one lad each on the Aul team an they have taken advantage of the free weekend that they are entitled to as a result of havin said players on the squad.A game down in your place is never easy an we'd just not take the chance that we would have to go there with anything less than a full strenght squad an we cant afford to take the chance of riskin points when we can avoid it.If it was the other way around Im sure you'd want your team to be as strong as possible playin us.Like you have said your only a result away from sortin yourselves out an if we were shorthanded because of any injurys picked up on Friday nite,I wouldnt want us to be the turnin point of your season.
Last edited by littleman; 08/10/2009 at 8:11 AM.
Their's only one Dinny Pop's.
Blue an red,we all agree ye could an should have had at the very least a few lads invited down to the trials but but not everybody may think your named players are deserving of a call because they kept Varian quite or even did the double over Grattan.If all was as good as it sounds then ye would have been challanging at the other end of the table,so there must be downside to said players games.If anything the Leeside lads have the axe to grind,they did all the damage before Derek returned,yet hes the only player selected.Park have been one of the top 4 sides for the last few years,again no one picked,Lucey from Coachford is better than your center half or the Castleview lad,but again didnt even get a look.I could go on all day about players who were over looked but it wouldnt change whos been picked.Best thing to do Blue an red is keep doin well like ye are an hope he sees ye are tryin hard to improve.Buy the way last season ye beat us twice an Shinks an Sully were made to look quite ordinary,but yet with the Oscar side they looked the best center halfs in the country,go figure.At least there back to normal this season with us.
i dont agree with this set up.
its obvious they need to balance the leagues but think 2 should be promoted from 1st and 2nd divisons still.
You can relegate 3 teams still to make it all the more interesting
Just think if the league is decided by christmas players and management from other clubs might lose interest.
For example There was a great tussle between ourselves, Kilreen and Glenvale the last few games last season for the last promotion spot as grangevale had it all wrapped up.
None of this in Divisions 1,1A,2,2A and 2b this season.
What will Barry Peelo have to write about in the last few games!!
Give it to feet......
Lads for all the giving out about the AUL we have to take a little of the pain once in a while - the leagues at the moment are a disaster and something needs to be done right away - while i accept your point mkbucks that it might make things a bit uninteresting at the business end of the league it has to be done at some point
I would like the league stucture in the future to be the following.
Premier
/
Premier A
/ \
1 1A
/ \
2 2A
/ \
3 3A
though even this wouldnt be perfect - the problem is the bottle neck when 2 divisions condense into 1
I take your point Littleman,but you're taking mine wrong.
I just said i disagreed with Southsider saying that Cronin was NOT Oscar Traynor material,nothing More.
I firmly believe he is Oscar Traynor material the same as the Park Boys,Leeside lads,and Lucey as you just described above.
i said nothing about Mark o Mahony keeping Varian quiet,thats not enough to be considered good enough.In my opinion mark needs another season at least to really find his feet.(Has the potential though)
And finally,i also never mentioned doing the double over Grattan as a reason for us to be considered more.Dont know where that came from.
We also did the double over a couple of other teams,beat Park and Wilton also.
With all due respect Littleman,beating Grattan twice,as delighted as we were,was not the highlight of our season or a reason to think we're world beaters.i played every minute of both games so i know what i'm talking about!!!
So,like i said my whole point is that Martin Cronin IS Oscar Traynor material in my book,never mentioned any other Ballyvolane man.
this team isnt half as good or talented as last seasons a.u.l. squad.watch this space.
sorry blue an red,theres a few of ye Bally lads on so my apoligies if i crossed wires,an ur rite beaten us twice last season wasnt a big scalp as we wernt great,whos kidn who like
Time to make a call on the game tomorrow an I may as well get behind um,Kerry Aul 1 Cork Aul 2 (Cans and Walsh).
Lots of talk about the AUL manager and who he should and should not have picked! Its great having all these different opinions though. Everyone fighting their own clubs corner. On the Keeper, i think the Wilton Keeper is a smashing player. But for me Brendan Hurley is top class. Great shot stopper and his distribution is pin point - definate starter.
Tyner isn't a left full back so ye can all calm down a small bit. He may have played there on occasion with Kinsale but he has mostly been used as a centre back and played very well. A polarising character, love him or hate him he's very good. Micky Brad is our left back and i think he will be for the aul tonight as well. Best left back by a country mile in the league. That's presuming it's 4-4-2.
Glad to see Derek McCarthy get the captains armband this year. Hopefully get off to a winning start tonight. I'm going to follow little man and say a 2-1 win for Cork. Scully and Delea.
Just getting back to some of the comments about certain fellas not being asked down and it being disrespectful! I think ye're all having a laugh. The manager has had two weeks and three training sessions to get a squad together. He's obviously going to lean on the knowledge he has already. All this tripe about being disrespectful and not looking at the lower leagues should be held off a while. He's had little time to get a squad together so lets just see how it pans out over the next month or so before we go mad. I personally feel that the AUL team should be made up of mostly premier players. While there maybe good players in the lower divisions, not doubting some of their ability and that they are up to the standard, premier players are playing higher quality opposition week in week out. Premier teams in the past have made it to the latter stages of national competitions, these are the players who are best equipped to play for the Cork Aul. The likes of Kinsale, Grattan etc should form the core of this squad. Fair enough leeside can feel hard done by with only one player but give it time.
These are only my opinions. Shoot them down, talk them up![]()
Couldnt help laughing at this - Wilton won the league last year and have one player????
Ballyvolane won the mossie linnane and have no players on the panel
And Kinsale won the AOH (just about in an awful match) and have 7??
There is a first division goalkeeper on the panel ( a good one I might add) and 3 players playing premier A plus 2 knockavilla players who were playing outside the Premier last year so to say its not worth looking at other players is a myth
Now i dont think the manager is to blame as his appointment was late but for me it seems like someone has too much influence!!
And yes I do think it is disrespectful not to bring a fella who was in last years winning panel and who is now playing Premier A to a training session - or hey even a phonecall to say he wasnt being called up - but what do I know????
Last edited by olachico; 09/10/2009 at 2:37 PM.
bog warrior what plannet are you on.hurley wouldnt hold the wilton keepers coat.hurley suspect to the high ball.wilton keeper a huge presence. tyner .4 games played this season .3 bookings and a sending off.and for that sending off he should have got a heafty suspension. o reagan the manager from bandon area,picks x bandon players ,kinsale players whom he trained in pre season, and knockavilla payers whom he managed. weheather tyner is a full back or a center back ,he is a liability.a o h final only player to be booed by crowd and his reaction was a disgrace.more interested in his hair style and blue boots.
Lads i watched wilton v kinsale in the last game of the season and the kinsale defence was run ragged by the wilton attackers an yet still they manage to nearly line out the backline for the aul squad,was someone watching a different game than me!!?,in regards to your man tyner i've never heard a fella to bitch so much on a field,in fairness to the wilton lads they just laughed at him which seemed to make him worse,to be honest id be suprised if he gets a run maybe they just have him there to wreck the kerry lads heads
I think every club should have the chance to send at least 4 players from most divisions to some sort of trial way before it kicks off and then at least it would give every lad a chance who thinks he's good enough and then tnere wont be anymore complaining of lads not getting a fair go,way to late now but could be something to look in the future!!