Page 37 of 150 FirstFirst ... 2735363738394787137 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2009/10

Quote Originally Posted by Yoda01 View Post
    welcome again guvnor, ya i'd say playing ballyvolane last week was a big step up for your lads from 1a to be fair, i'm sure they will get used to the premier a soon enough though. hope your good friend blue and red didn't give ya too much of a slagging about the result.
    Na Yoda,i'll keep that kind of stuff until May!!
    Long season there lad and we still have to go to Leeds Park which is never easy.

Predictions??

FAI Umbro Junior Cup 1st Round

College Corns v Glenthorn Cel
    Midleton v Leeds
    Donoughmore Ath v Kinsale
    Grattan Utd v Mayfield Utd
    Carrigaline Utd v Greenwood
    Casement Cel v Carrigaline Utd
    Leeside v Droumree Dynamoes
    Wilton Utd v Kilreen Cel
    Postal Cel v Macroom

FAI Umbro Junior Cup 2nd Round

Ballincollig v Glenvale
    Blackstone Rovers v Grangevale

Murphy’s Irish Stout Premier League
    Coachford v Park Utd

Murphy’s Irish Stout Premier A League
    Kanturk v Ballyvolane
    Pearse Cel v Castleview

Murphy’s Irish Stout League 1
    St John Boscos v Leeside

Murphy’s Irish Stout League 1 A
    Ballyvolane v Buttevant
    Park Utd v Glen Cel
    Rylane Cel v Dillon’s Cross Ath
    Bohemians’ v Fairview Fairfield

Murphy’s Irish Stout League 2
    Lakewood Ath v Blackpool Cel
    Ard-na-Laoi v City Wanderers
    Kinsale v Wilton Utd

Murphy’s Irish Stout League 2B
    Springfield “B” v Churchvilla

Murphy’s Irish Stout League 3A
    Watergrasshill Utd v Grattan Utd
    Ballinhassig v Macroom

ALOT OF FIXTURES THERE BECAUSE OF THE CUP GAMES BUT HAVE A PUNT!!

We didn't enter the FAI beacause of the possible costs of fines, suspensions and registration fees. Its not like we were going to win it!!!!
    Give it to feet......

Quote Originally Posted by blue-and-red View Post
    Na Yoda,i'll keep that kind of stuff until May!!
    Long season there lad and we still have to go to Leeds Park which is never easy.
    ha ha thats true enough b & R, true enough. never easy in a local derby alright but surely a better picth will suit ye this year as he seem to have more ball players now?

FAI Umbro Junior Cup 1st Round
    College Corns v Glenthorn Cel Away
    Midleton v Leeds away
    Donoughmore Ath v Kinsale away
    Grattan Utd v Mayfield Utd home
    Carrigaline Utd v Greenwood away
    Casement Cel v Carrigaline Utd away
    Leeside v Droumree Dynamoes home
    Wilton Utd v Kilreen Cel home
    Postal Cel v Macroom away

FAI Umbro Junior Cup 2nd Round

Ballincollig v Glenvale away
    Blackstone Rovers v Grangevale home - close one though

Murphy’s Irish Stout Premier League
    Coachford v Park Utd draw - after meeting so recently

Murphy’s Irish Stout Premier A League
    Kanturk v Ballyvolane draw
    Pearse Cel v Castleview draw

Murphy’s Irish Stout League 1
    St John Boscos v Leeside away

Murphy’s Irish Stout League 1 A
    Ballyvolane v Buttevantdraw
    Park Utd v Glen Cel away
    Rylane Cel v Dillon’s Cross Ath home
    Bohemians’ v Fairview home

Murphy’s Irish Stout League 2
    Lakewood Ath v Blackpool Cel away
    Ard-na-Laoi v City Wanderers didn't this game happen last week??? oops no same as park coachford, fixture reverse. I'll go away win
    Kinsale v Wilton Utd draw

Murphy’s Irish Stout League 2B
    Springfield “B” v Churchvilla home

Murphy’s Irish Stout League 3A
    Watergrasshill Utd v Grattan Utd away
    Ballinhassig v Macroom draw

Sorry have to add in:
    Munster Lucozade Sport Junior Cup Preliminary Round:

Innishvilla v Greenmount Rangers Home
    Coachford “B” v Blarney St Ath Away
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Ya shetland,we're expecting our biggest test so far this season,We know all about Kanturk and how good they can be.We've been up against 'em goin' back a few years.Pearse gave them a good rattle last week by all accounts before losing 4-2

Our squad are training hard and looking forward to it.
    I'll be missing myself due to other family commitments but im sure i'll be getting minute by minute reports from our Club Groundsman Mick Lynam who also goes to all the games.

Fingers crossed for a 4th win here.
    probably yere first real test v kanturk.pity you had to miss it.i thought mike lynam was assistant manager of that team.its terrible to miss the big matches. kanturk a bit far away for me,,no doubt you will have the result on here fairly quickly.met steve hackett who works with one of yere first teamers and he said yee were really fit and that former player david hickey was doing a great job. best of luck saturday.

Quote Originally Posted by shetland View Post
    probably yere first real test v kanturk.pity you had to miss it.i thought mike lynam was assistant manager of that team.its terrible to miss the big matches. kanturk a bit far away for me,,no doubt you will have the result on here fairly quickly.met steve hackett who works with one of yere first teamers and he said yee were really fit and that former player david hickey was doing a great job. best of luck saturday.
    Mick Lynam? assistant manager?
    I suppose he does give a dig out in fairness to him,hes a great run around to have at the club and does good job.
    Dave Hickey is helping out with the training as his back has packed up.Glad to have him on board too.

Quote Originally Posted by Parkboy View Post
    Ya thats true Timmypav.We wont be playing on the main pitch on Saturday,instead we will be playing on our second pitch.Its not a bad pitch.It will be only our 5th or 6th game on it.
    Take a look at the main pitch at the bottom on Saturday Timmy - it looks even better than the cross.Really dont know why the club wont let us use it.
    Anyway best of luck Saturday and if the first game is anything to go by,this one will be another cracker.
    Yeah, hopefully it will be. I see Liam Murphy is reffing the game. We had him already this season and he did well. Looking forward to it.

Quote Originally Posted by shetland View Post
    ya i heard that dave hickey is running training out there and running it well aswell by all accounts, fair play to him. kanturk is also to far away for me but i'm sure the ballyvolane lads will keep us informed here. what does that fella lynam do? he was managing at the game versus pearse that i saw!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Yoda01 View Post
    ya i heard that dave hickey is running training out there and running it well aswell by all accounts, fair play to him. kanturk is also to far away for me but i'm sure the ballyvolane lads will keep us informed here. what does that fella lynam do? he was managing at the game versus pearse that i saw!!!
    Yes Yoda01 Dave Hickey is doing good job assisting the coach at the moment.

What club(s) are you with Yoda?????
    You seem to be well up to speed on Ballyvolane!
    That means you'll also be aware of the strength in the team at the moment so fingers crossed another result tomorrow against Kanturk.

Few fringe players with the squad too but the jury is still out on them commitment wise.

I fancy Glenvale in the Munster junior lads against B'collig

That means you'll also be aware of the strength in the team at the moment so fingers crossed another result tomorrow against Kanturk.

Few fringe players with the squad too but the jury is still out on them commitment wise.

Agree with you here Blue & Red, Glenvale will turn some heads this season I'd say.. We had 2 great games against them last season and they were very committed and strong. They missed out on promotion in a play off against Kilreen but I'll be backing them to win AUL 2 this year. I believe they signed a few good players in the off season too.

We are up against Blackstone on Sun, hoping for a good performance, they beat us 2-0 last season in AOH so we know we are up against it.. the FAI Jnr Cup is a strange one, I think alot of team selections can be surprising, with fringe players often getting a start, makes you wonder how many Cork teams actually believe they could possibly win it... On that note, when was the last time a Cork team did win it???

We are drawn against your B team in MJC, not sure if that will be next week, will know tomorrow I suppose

Doug89
    'If we play as one, we can beat any eleven'

Wink cheers blue and red

thanks for the vote of confidence blue and red.... going back to a previous post of yours... "GAA was a bad choice", you should try drinking milk on a hot day!!!!!

melerick must be delighted to have him on board to assist him.
    i don't have a club b & r, i'm retired am too old to play i'm afraid.
    i was born and bread in the ballyvolane area but am living in carrigaline now but i still keep an eye on all teams northside and go to a game every weekend if i can. i'm sure those fringe players will be cut loose and the squad will settle down in another few weeks. let us know how ye get on against kanturk!

Shame you cant remember who you played with Col!!

Quote Originally Posted by Doug89 View Post
    Agree with you here Blue & Red, Glenvale will turn some heads this season I'd say.. We had 2 great games against them last season and they were very committed and strong. They missed out on promotion in a play off against Kilreen but I'll be backing them to win AUL 2 this year. I believe they signed a few good players in the off season too.

We are up against Blackstone on Sun, hoping for a good performance, they beat us 2-0 last season in AOH so we know we are up against it.. the FAI Jnr Cup is a strange one, I think alot of team selections can be surprising, with fringe players often getting a start, makes you wonder how many Cork teams actually believe they could possibly win it... On that note, when was the last time a Cork team did win it???

We are drawn against your B team in MJC, not sure if that will be next week, will know tomorrow I suppose

Doug89
    best o luck in that one Doug,blackstone have a good side this year by all accounts.No idea who last Cork team was boy.
    Our b team had a rough start but have pulled it together a bit.
    Should be a good game,i'll go to see that one alright if we're not playing at same time.

41 Posts

Norrie News

Firstly,the fixture next week,Killumney V the Gratts in the Mjc,that wont go ahead as we have a free weekend booked.

The last Cork side to win the Fai were Rockville in the late 30s or early 40s, now sadly gone. Castleview lost in the final in 61/62 and Everton lost in 65/66.We have had a few sides reach the last 16 over the last 20 years but only 2 or 3 reached the quaters.

Theres roughly 680 sides enter an its the biggest single knockout competion of its kind in Europe.I belive every Cork side would love to win it.That I do belive 100%,but honestly speaking I dont belive any Cork side expects to win it.And that my friends is and always will be our biggest downfall.

We reached the quater final 3 seasons ago and were 6 mins away from the semis(it took 9 wins to reach the semis), but the confidence gained from being in the previous years latter stages would have got us through that last 6 mins but we didnt have it an went out in extra time.We had Castlebar dead an buried 2 seasons ago an couldnt finish them off an went out on penos in the last 16,again or confidence wasnt strong enough.And last season with all due respect Red and the Ballyvolane lads ye knocked us out in the 1st rd.

The confidence our junior sides lack all stems form the fact that we as clubs arnt used to reaching the latter stages of the Fai junior.An when we do ,when faced by some of the top junior clubs(who are every bit as good if not better than our intermediate clubs) we just seem to be beaten before we reach the end line.

Yet all is not lost,the Oscar Traynor side lived the dream against a Dublin side jam packed with international junior players,littered with Fai cup winners just for good measure,but those 16 players proved that if you can just have enough self belife in the lad in front of ya,behind ya or on either side of ya,you can achive anythin,oh ya an a tiny bit of luck too.

Every competition starts somewhere,for us its tomorrow at 3 in O'Neill Park.We arnt looking to win the Fai junior cup tomorrow,just one game.Thats all we are focused on,just one game.
    Last edited by littleman; 26/09/2009 at 12:13 AM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Every competition starts somewhere,for us its tomorrow at 3 in O'Neill Park.We arnt looking to win the Fai junior cup tomorrow,just one game.Thats all we are focused on,just one game.[/QUOTE]

fair point little man! take every game as it comes, if you go out before any game thinking you have it won, then im afraid you are in for one big fall. best of luck tommorow to all!!

Hibernians reached the last 8 of the FAI cup in 1992 - eventually being knocked out by Hibernians from Galway in extra time in Shanbally!

In FAI Junior Cup finals Douglas FC lost to Fairview in the 60's while Temple lost to Cherry Orchard in the 80's
    Last edited by Long Throw; 26/09/2009 at 6:33 AM.

41 Posts

norrie news

You can add Maymount and Grattan to the list of clubs who reached the last 8,but even with Olachaio an Long throws info is a very poor show from the oldest league in the country
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    You can add Maymount and Grattan to the list of clubs who reached the last 8,but even with Olachaio an Long throws info is a very poor show from the oldest league in the country
    Can be attributed to many factors really littlemam - a bit of luck sometimes can be the difference - i remember that quarter final Hibs played in and they just couldnt score - on another day they could have had five