Page 14 of 150 FirstFirst ... 412131415162464114 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2009/10

Welcome on board radio - just to add my two cents worth - we are a junior league are we not? Lets not compare ourselves to the MSL as we arent going to be making a fair comparison!! Senior clubs are just that - SENIOR - their junior section is nothing to write home about! Just looking at the clubs who over the years have dropped out - many B and C teams for various clubs! What in Gods name can the AUL do about that?? Also as far as i can make out none of the teams who have dropped out are under 5 years old

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    jesus horrible league for us this year what a joke of journeys. Our b team dont have it too bad though.
    After seeing the tables now Bella are ye still worth a flutter ? I was thinking of putting a couple of cents on ye this year.
    After looking at the league format I still find it hard to believe that the A and B team of Springfield are playing in the same division. . It's just weird to see but those are the joys.
    Then again it might set up a mouth watering Saxone Cup Final.

41 Posts

norrie news

well ladies the Aul has seemed to have/grown a right pair an in good time.A lot of straight forward calls an a good few weird ones.At least the Prem is sorted,but in sayin that honestly its a bit rocky ,those that have will have the upper hand but thats only my thoughts. Theres a lot of talk at the minute but those who expect to challange are with regards to actual squad strenght,well bein very quiet.Pre seaon is what it is an oppertuinity to try things out in the knowledge that it dosent cost you anything.We are all lookin,some are happy,some arnt.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

71 Posts
    As far as I can make out, Ballyphehane, Villa, Lee Rangers, Glenthorn B, Alberts, Richmond B, Kanturk B gone & Leeside C in.

Good points by Radio - there were rumours of another team joining so I dont know what happened, maybe the AUL were tougher on the entry requirements.

As Olly said, Bally & Villa were older than 5 yrs, but Olly, they were another example of a club doing the run of one set of players (maybe 10 years), well Bally were.....when were Villa formed?

I dont mind the Bs and Cs coming and going. If a club has 30 players to keep happy, why not give them a team? However, the entry requirements should be the same as any other club - facilities etc.

Lee Rangers & Alberts were probably the saddest of all. Lee Rangers were around for 40 something years, while Alberts name came up recently as Cork LOI teams were in the news. A long way to fall, a great pity.

Ollys other point re MSL juniors is a good one. Munster and FAI results show that those teams would flirt somewhere in first division or maybe Prem A for the top ones.

There may be an agreement in place between MSL & AUL, if there wasnt do you think they would have asked Crosshaven to move senior anyway?

On the 3 who didnt go to MSL, maybe Kinsale's great facilities improvement werent concrete enough - I havent had the pleasure of seeing Parks....but their location should have been an advantage ie MUNSTER senior league. I cant imagine why Leeside wouldnt be accepted - again it would spreading its wings for the MSL with no-one else in Little Island.

Quote Originally Posted by Innishvilla View Post
    Ok thanks for that, I had misread your earlier post I thought your Senior squad from last year were going to play MSL Junior but they are playing AUL 2 this season.

Brings me back to the question I posed earlier regarding teams with an MSL Senior Side and an AUL Junior side why not MSL Junior? Again not just aimed at you southsider just wondering why it is?
    Cant answer that for you Inish. By right our Juniors should be playing Munster Junior and there might even be a rule put in place that ones juniors should play MSL junior instead of AUL but there just aint

Quote Originally Posted by junglegym View Post
    After seeing the tables now Bella are ye still worth a flutter ? I was thinking of putting a couple of cents on ye this year.
    After looking at the league format I still find it hard to believe that the A and B team of Springfield are playing in the same division. . It's just weird to see but those are the joys.
    Then again it might set up a mouth watering Saxone Cup Final.
    yeah were very confident, we have a savage squad this year in comparison to last year and last years squad would have still been confident!! B team will be very weak though.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Horse i think Villa were years old as well !! Maybe you could give a more accurate timeline littleman but I think at least 25 years old if not more!

The Bs and Cs are actually what really causes the problems!! When the A team in a club starts to struggle its always the B team which has to go and often they are playing division 1 or 2 which then distorts the league tables for the next season!

And I have been to Park and was highly impressed by the facilities! better than some existing MSL clubs by far but maybe the MSL decided they were too far away???? -the only thing i can see is that the Msl should drop the M - are there any other teams in their league outside of Cork??? Perhaps in the past but not now - they cant call themselves the CSL for fear of being confused with the schoolboys league!! Really i cant see a reason for not letting Park in!!

Quote Originally Posted by olachico View Post
    Horse i think Villa were years old as well !! Maybe you could give a more accurate timeline littleman but I think at least 25 years old if not more!

The Bs and Cs are actually what really causes the problems!! When the A team in a club starts to struggle its always the B team which has to go and often they are playing division 1 or 2 which then distorts the league tables for the next season!

And I have been to Park and was highly impressed by the facilities! better than some existing MSL clubs by far but maybe the MSL decided they were too far away???? -the only thing i can see is that the Msl should drop the M - are there any other teams in their league outside of Cork??? Perhaps in the past but not now - they cant call themselves the CSL for fear of being confused with the schoolboys league!! Really i cant see a reason for not letting Park in!!
    Villa were 26 or 27 years old when they folded.

Have Park expressed an interest in going to MSL?
    I'd imagine some teams would rather play premier AUL than go to the MSL second division

71 Posts

Two rants - personal opinions.

RANT NUMBER 1:
    I have held a suspicion that some of the FAI council are distanced from reality. They have the time to dedicate to midweek meetings etc in Dublin, which gives the impression they do not have money worries. Our rep seems to have his head screwed on, but my opinion of the majority seems to have been given credence, when I learn the fines for yellow cards are now for U17s. Where are the kids gonna get the money?

Get the players themselves to pay:
    Most of these kids are in Leaving Cert year and wont have part time jobs. Do part time jobs exist? Dunnes Tescos are laying off.

Get the parents to pay: Unemployment rising each day.

Get the clubs to pay: Screw the clubs in times when sponsors are harder to find. Thats really going to help football development.

Dont get booked:
    1) Its a contact sport, a genuine attempted tackle could be half a second late.
    2) Refs are inconsistent. No appeal if ref gets it wrong? Tell him he got it wrong and you get another yellow!!!

I think the FAI are trying to cut back the yellows in the same way as the government and the plastic bags, tax them and they will stop. Yellows are part of the game. We have a choice with the bags.

They are going to make the game for those who can afford it - that cant be right.Just driving the kids to the sports where the clubs can afford to pay more for the players. Whats next? A fiver for an Under 9 who takes a foul throw?

RANT No. 2:
    I hope this rant is unnecessary and too early. If the refs ask for an increase, I wonder would clubs go "on strike" and not play. It would bring unwanted attention to looking for an increase in a time where most places are cutting wages. If we have a majority, the AUL would have to back us - as they remind us, they work for us. I also feel behaviour toward referees has improved over the last number of years - does anyone else agree with this observation?

What are your opinions?

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    Wilton - admin delay?
    Greenmount - dunno
    Blarney St - things very quiet on this site - is the pfizer move off?
    Knockavilla - admin delay?
    Village - admin delay?
    Glenthorn - quiet on the Hill?

Village & Glenthorn played so admin delays. Wilton in the tournmament with us, so admin. Only room for 2 from 3.

DC, That question crossed our minds too about the non relegation, but, I thought the answer would be as littleman said, no-one folded in Prem A, so no rules changed in that division.

You would think you would be happy for us oul friends(foes) at Blackstone!!!

Whats this I here about a splinter club from Dillons?

I dont want to contact Blarney Street directly. Anyone know anything? Are they playing friendlies?
    It was suggested but turns out it was a lot of hot air, a few lads said they wanted to join but couldnt commit to training, theyre handy players who've been around a while and were gonna just play at the weekend and if they wanted, train with the first team. It was never gonna work. Were struggling to find enough players to keep one team going now. Most we had at a match or training so far is 15 and thats with 3 new fellas.
    Who's takin the cones??????

Quote Originally Posted by pacman View Post
    Villa were 26 or 27 years old when they folded.

Have Park expressed an interest in going to MSL?
    I'd imagine some teams would rather play premier AUL than go to the MSL second division
    It was suggested earlier by littleman that Park , Kinsale and leeside were blown out when they tried to join the MSL - i was just pointing out that it couldnt have been because Parks facilities were substandard - i have no idea if they were interested or not to be honest!

RANT NUMBER 1:
    I have held a suspicion that some of the FAI council are distanced from reality. They have the time to dedicate to midweek meetings etc in Dublin, which gives the impression they do not have money worries. Our rep seems to have his head screwed on, but my opinion of the majority seems to have been given credence, when I learn the fines for yellow cards are now for U17s. Where are the kids gonna get the money?

Get the players themselves to pay:
    Most of these kids are in Leaving Cert year and wont have part time jobs. Do part time jobs exist? Dunnes Tescos are laying off.

Get the parents to pay: Unemployment rising each day.

Get the clubs to pay: Screw the clubs in times when sponsors are harder to find. Thats really going to help football development.

Dont get booked:
    1) Its a contact sport, a genuine attempted tackle could be half a second late.
    2) Refs are inconsistent. No appeal if ref gets it wrong? Tell him he got it wrong and you get another yellow!!!

I think the FAI are trying to cut back the yellows in the same way as the government and the plastic bags, tax them and they will stop. Yellows are part of the game. We have a choice with the bags.

They are going to make the game for those who can afford it - that cant be right.Just driving the kids to the sports where the clubs can afford to pay more for the players. Whats next? A fiver for an Under 9 who takes a foul throw?

RANT No. 2:
    I hope this rant is unnecessary and too early. If the refs ask for an increase, I wonder would clubs go "on strike" and not play. It would bring unwanted attention to looking for an increase in a time where most places are cutting wages. If we have a majority, the AUL would have to back us - as they remind us, they work for us. I also feel behaviour toward referees has improved over the last number of years - does anyone else agree with this observation?

What are your opinions?
    The fines for the yellow cards is a joke alright and for the samller clubs its very hard to get the money off a player when he is booked, what you find is that the clubs end up paying most of them instead of the player.

I remember paying 50 euro for membership/insurance at the start of the year, then paying 10 euro a week for tickets becuase I didnt like asking people to buy them, and then paying fines for yellow cards on top of it. It actually turned fellas off even playing especially when they can go out and play the nightowls league hassle free during the week.

In fact I remember last season or the season before two particular players who were trying to join a new club could not get their transfer signed by their current clubs secretary as they owed money in fines. The players attitude was that they incurred those fines whilst doing their best for the club so the club should honour the fines. These two players didnt play for 6 weeks over this.

Surely suspensions should be enough of a detterant for players when incurring yellow cards instead of money.

As for the increase in referees fee's that could get nasty if the clubs went on strike. What if the refs go on stike if the fee's remain the same. Noone wins in this scenario.
    Are the fee's going up this year? If so by how much? I personally think they should not be increased but the AUL certainly do not have the clubs in mind, especially the samller clubs.

RANT NUMBER 1:

RANT No. 2:

What are your opinions?
    All the MSL teams were informed that referee fees would be staying the same for the coming season so I'd imagine it will be the same for all AUL clubs.
    It's not the size of the dog in the fight, but the size of the fight in the dog.

Quote Originally Posted by Riordan View Post
    The sections for this coming season have just been put up on the corkaul.com. No doubt a lot of talking points as to who got sent where.

Murphy’s Stout AUL Premier League: Blarney St Ath, Coachford, Glenthorn Celtic, Grattan Utd, Kinsale, Knockavilla Celtic, Leeside, Park Utd, Village Utd, Wilton Utd.

Murphy’s Stout AUL Premier A: Ballincollig, Ballyvolane, Blackstone Rovers, Castleview, Greenmount Rangers, Greenwood. Kanturk, Leeds, Macroom, Pearse Celtic.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 1: Ballintotis, Carrigtwohill Utd, Douglas Hall, Dunbar Celtic, Grangevale, Killumney Utd, Kilreen Celtic, Leeside, Postal Celtic, Richmond, Shandon Celtic, St John Boscos, UCC, Watergrasshill Utd.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 1A: Ballyvolane, Bohemians, Buttevant, Dillon’s Cross Ath, Donoughmore Ath, Fairview, Glen Celtic, Leeds, Mayfield Utd, Park Utd, Passage, Rathcoole Rovers, Rylane Celtic.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 2: Ard-na-Laoi, Blackpool Celtic, Casement Celtic, City Wanderers, Glenvale, Hibernians, Innishvilla, Kinsale, Lakewood Ath, Wilton Utd.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 2A: Castle Celtic Coachford, Crescent Ath, Glanworth Utd, Hillington, Inter City Cel, Killowen, Millstreet Celtic, Springfield “A”, Waterloo.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 2B: Carrigaline Utd, Cathedral Cel, Central Rovers, Churchvilla, Corkbeg, Knocknaheeny Celtic, Knockraha, Leeview Ath, Springfield “B”.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 3: Afton Villa, Carrigtwohill Utd, De Courcy Albion, Dunbar Celtic, Greenwood, Hibernians, Leeside, Parkview Celtic, St John Boscos, UCC, Brooklodge.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 3A: Ballinhassig, CFC Banteer, Grattan Utd, Los Zarcos, Macroom, Rathcoole Rovers, Strand Utd, Watergrasshill Utd.

Fair play they managed to get the leagues sorted... I wonder how the promotion to and relegation from Premier A will now work?

At first glance Div 1 looks a seriously tough division... Last years St Michael's Cup winners (Carrig) last years County Cup winners (as Innishvilla know all too well Watergrasshill), a Leeside team offered Prem A football, Richmond, Postal and Douglas Hall were all in the mix in the last few weeks of the season for promotion last year, add in promoted Grangevale and relegated Dunbar. It could be a cracking division... With it looking likely that 3 will go down... Now don't get me wrong, I'd say that 1A will be a tough one but it's just I know/have come up against more of the teams in 1.

For Innishvilla this year there are no surprises, Division 2 pretty much picks itself with the only anomaly being the trip to Midleton for the City Wanderers game, but it has been that way for a few years now. The rest is all nice local rivalry... Great to see Ard-na-Laoi back in AUL 2 after a hiatus in 2A and division 3, back in the day when I was running and leaping about the pitch Ard were one of the first teams I came up against...
    Last edited by Innishvilla; 10/08/2009 at 3:31 PM.
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

71 Posts
    City Wanderers in CIT now.

Refs thing was a "rant" as I said - if MSL have no increase then it has to be the same for AUL.

Glad to see the refs fees are staying the same - i think we will also see an increase in the number of people taking up refereeing ( extra bit of money in the pocket) with hopefully some ex players taking it up - we can never have enough refs - they are a necessary evil

City Wanderers in CIT now.
    Thanks for that info. AUL 2 is a really tightly grouped division area wise then with the furthest trips down to us in Innishvilla and to the seaside to meet Kinsale...
    All the rest are grouped in the west side of the city and a few trips to Ballincollig and its surrounds for Lakewood and Ard-na-Laoi, and of course Glenvale in the regional Park...
    Oops not forgetting a short hop to Shanbally for Hibs.
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Quote Originally Posted by Riordan View Post
    The sections for this coming season have just been put up on the corkaul.com. No doubt a lot of talking points as to who got sent where.

Murphy’s Stout AUL Premier League: Blarney St Ath, Coachford, Glenthorn Celtic, Grattan Utd, Kinsale, Knockavilla Celtic, Leeside, Park Utd, Village Utd, Wilton Utd.

Murphy’s Stout AUL Premier A: Ballincollig, Ballyvolane, Blackstone Rovers, Castleview, Greenmount Rangers, Greenwood. Kanturk, Leeds, Macroom, Pearse Celtic.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 1: Ballintotis, Carrigtwohill Utd, Douglas Hall, Dunbar Celtic, Grangevale, Killumney Utd, Kilreen Celtic, Leeside, Postal Celtic, Richmond, Shandon Celtic, St John Boscos, UCC, Watergrasshill Utd.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 1A: Ballyvolane, Bohemians, Buttevant, Dillon’s Cross Ath, Donoughmore Ath, Fairview, Glen Celtic, Leeds, Mayfield Utd, Park Utd, Passage, Rathcoole Rovers, Rylane Celtic.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 2: Ard-na-Laoi, Blackpool Celtic, Casement Celtic, City Wanderers, Glenvale, Hibernians, Innishvilla, Kinsale, Lakewood Ath, Wilton Utd.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 2A: Castle Celtic Coachford, Crescent Ath, Glanworth Utd, Hillington, Inter City Cel, Killowen, Millstreet Celtic, Springfield “A”, Waterloo.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 2B: Carrigaline Utd, Cathedral Cel, Central Rovers, Churchvilla, Corkbeg, Knocknaheeny Celtic, Knockraha, Leeview Ath, Springfield “B”.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 3: Afton Villa, Carrigtwohill Utd, De Courcy Albion, Dunbar Celtic, Greenwood, Hibernians, Leeside, Parkview Celtic, St John Boscos, UCC, Brooklodge.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 3A: Ballinhassig, CFC Banteer, Grattan Utd, Los Zarcos, Macroom, Rathcoole Rovers, Strand Utd, Watergrasshill Utd.
    how did blackstone get to the premier a? did something happen the team who won there league or something?

anyone have any early predictions for champions/relgation/promtion in the premier and a divisons?

would not fancy being in one of those first divisions lads, they both look like they will be really difficult to get out of, some good division 1 standard teams in them, especially if it's only 1 to go up from each!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Innishvilla View Post
    Fair play they managed to get the leagues sorted... I wonder how the promotion to and relegation from Premier A will now work?

At first glance Div 1 looks a seriously tough division... Last years St Michael's Cup winners (Carrig) last years County Cup winners (as Innishvilla know all too well Watergrasshill), a Leeside team offered Prem A football, Richmond, Postal and Douglas Hall were all in the mix in the last few weeks of the season for promotion last year, add in promoted Grangevale and relegated Dunbar. It could be a cracking division... With it looking likely that 3 will go down... Now don't get me wrong, I'd say that 1A will be a tough one but it's just I know/have come up against more of the teams in 1.

For Innishvilla this year there are no surprises, Division 2 pretty much picks itself with the only anomaly being the trip to Midleton for the City Wanderers game, but it has been that way for a few years now. The rest is all nice local rivalry... Great to see Ard-na-Laoi back in AUL 2 after a hiatus in 2A and division 3, back in the day when I was running and leaping about the pitch Ard were one of the first teams I came up against...
    We would have been better off in 2 rather than 2a like, it was a joke all the travelling we done last year, same thing now this year its a balls. Evening games are the hardest, few lads had to take a hour off work and stuff for the likes of the half 6 game in castle last year
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Yoda this is how Blackstone got to the premier A

Originally Posted by Horse24
    Last night we received a call asking if we would like to play Premier A next season. We decided to accept the offer. The board, managers & players are all very excited at the prospect.

I dont think the AUL intend to have a 12 team division, so some of those offered before us must have turned it down.

My mother summed it up best on the phone: " I heard ye are in the Premiership"...........................Bring it on!!

Greenwood won the section of the first division that Blackstone were in - Leeside B came second but didnt want to play Premier A - sorry for the font etc - comp is giving trouble