Page 13 of 150 FirstFirst ... 311121314152363113 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2009/10

[QUOTE=Innishvilla;1206180]
    Quote Originally Posted by DCross06 View Post

you must have missed it in the earlier discussions, both clubs were offered premier division football by AUL to help make numbers following loss of Villa and Ballypheane... Greenmount Rangers should also be there despite finishing runners-up in AUL 1.
    was away for a few days, I was just wondering cause we finished in the relegation zone last year and there were rumours that we wouldnt be relegated because of the teams dropping out. How do they decide which teams to ask? Surely they should ave had a playoff or something in the interest of fairness.
    Who's takin the cones??????

41 Posts

Norrie news

We were in the same position as yourselves a good few seasons back Dcross,we finished 2nd from bottom but 2 sides folded pre season the next season an we though we had a case to be left in the Prem,we even appealed it to the MFA,but we lost out.If I remember the way it was worded it went

"The Aul reserve the right to strenghten the various leagues as they see fit,which only applies to replacing teams who have folded.Teams that get relegated fair an square must abide by the usual rule."

All the teams who have been approached to come up will have either looked at it as a great oppertuinity or maybe not asin Kingscorner.Blackstone have taken advantage of the oppertuinity,King hope it works out for ye an great news about the 3rd side.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Quote Originally Posted by Innishvilla View Post
    I know we've all had our words/issues with how the AUL does some things, but lets spare a thought for them. They are currently trying to get the leagues sorted and by my estimations the following clubs have not submitted their applications who were there last year:

Wilton
    Glenthorn
    Blarney St
    Ballypheane - I know
    Villa - both gone, but just making a point
    Knockavilla
    Village
    Greenmount
    Shandon
    UCC
    Lee Rangers
    Bohemiens
    Glenthorn B
    Casement Celtic - gone now I think based on posts on this site, but down as affiliated
    Albert Rovers
    Mallow United
    Central Rovers
    Churchvilla
    Passage
    Wilton B
    Afton Villa
    Richmond B
    UCC B
    Parkview Celtic (even though they're asking for teams who'd like to share their pitch on billy's webpage)
    Casement Celtic
    Kanturk B

By my rough count that is 26 teams either not entering or haven't sent in their forms, how exactly are the AUL supposed to sort that mess out??? Also I may have missed or accidentally added one or two the wrong way, it's early in the morning.
    I do see Leeside have a third team this year & Carrigtowhill have added a second team as well fair play to both...
    The 2nd Casement team are gone but we will have a team in AUL 2 for the coming season

71 Posts
    Wilton - admin delay?
    Greenmount - dunno
    Blarney St - things very quiet on this site - is the pfizer move off?
    Knockavilla - admin delay?
    Village - admin delay?
    Glenthorn - quiet on the Hill?

Village & Glenthorn played so admin delays. Wilton in the tournmament with us, so admin. Only room for 2 from 3.

DC, That question crossed our minds too about the non relegation, but, I thought the answer would be as littleman said, no-one folded in Prem A, so no rules changed in that division.

You would think you would be happy for us oul friends(foes) at Blackstone!!!

Whats this I here about a splinter club from Dillons?

I dont want to contact Blarney Street directly. Anyone know anything? Are they playing friendlies?

41 Posts

Norrie news

They were due to play Castleview but like the rest of us the weather put that one to bed.Hav'nt heard much else.Vincey an Danny are at the helm for the season an they have plenty of experience between them so the Street will be fine.Lets just take it for granted the delay is due to admin too.

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    Wilton - admin delay?
    Greenmount - dunno
    Blarney St - things very quiet on this site - is the pfizer move off?
    Knockavilla - admin delay?
    Village - admin delay?
    Glenthorn - quiet on the Hill?

Village & Glenthorn played so admin delays. Wilton in the tournmament with us, so admin. Only room for 2 from 3.
    I think Innishvilla are due to play Knockavilla in a pre-season friendly so I guess admin delay. Greenmount will be in Prem A not Premier.

But by my maths (never the best) it looks like 11 teams in Prem A
    1 Ballincollig
    2 Ballyvolane
    3 Blackstone R.
    4 Castleview
    5 Greenwood
    6 Kanturk
    7 Leeds
    8 Leeside (B)
    9 Macroom
    10 Pearse Celtic
    and waiting on 11 Greenmount...

Now I think about it I'd say there are a lot of 1st division clubs not sorry to see the back of Clashduv Park!!!
    Last edited by Innishvilla; 06/08/2009 at 8:05 AM.
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

A lot of activity in Mitchelstown at the moment.Had a cracking 7-a-side astroturf tournament over the weekend as part of the Music Festival.
    Really came back to earth on Tuesday evening as we had our first physical training of the new season.
    An hour and a half of soccer training with no football in sight.
    Our A team have a few pre-season friendlies lined up over the next 2 weeks,while the B team have 3 friendles in the next 9 days.
    2 lads from the B's have moved to the A's this year,while 8 new faces showed up for the B's on Tuesday night.
    All training has been done in our new 2nd pitch while some unbelievable work has been done to our main and schoolboys pitches.Really probably one of the best grounds in the AUL at the moment..Havent seen Grattans yet though.

Quote Originally Posted by Southsider View Post
    The 2nd Casement team are gone but we will have a team in AUL 2 for the coming season
    Ok thanks for that, I had misread your earlier post I thought your Senior squad from last year were going to play MSL Junior but they are playing AUL 2 this season.

Brings me back to the question I posed earlier regarding teams with an MSL Senior Side and an AUL Junior side why not MSL Junior? Again not just aimed at you southsider just wondering why it is?
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Quote Originally Posted by Parkboy View Post
    All training has been done in our new 2nd pitch while some unbelievable work has been done to our main and schoolboys pitches.Really probably one of the best grounds in the AUL at the moment..Havent seen Grattans yet though.
    We're always on about poor pitches in our league so for a change I have to compliment ye Parkboy, Its a fantastic set up in Mitchelstown.
    There now and Kinsale are top class, Mind you , We have continued to improve things in The Glebe this year so there will be no excuses for poor results this season.

Cool news

Lads i see we are generating a bit of discussion on weather we Blarney st are playin this year, the answer is yes. Pfizers is confirmed too and playin a friendly tonight down there. On the manager front a few have been interested and we are taking our time to make sure we make the right appointment, names and so will not be dicussed on the forum which im sure ye all understand. danny q is takin training for the last 2 weeks and we are moving along nicely first game tonight so the lads are lookin forward to it. thank you all
    "Build it and they will come"

71 Posts

Bits and Pieces

Glad to hear it Cas - hope the new manager works out. Danny Q wont see ye wrong anyway.

Leeside B gone to first division again, so add Greenmount to the 9 on Barrys latest list and we will have 10. Add Wilton, Village & Knockavilla to Prem and thats 10.

Won again tonight. 3 strikers scored, so thats never bad.
    Good enough start but a few injuries in the two games.

Off to Grattan on Monday, I think they want me to cut the ribbon. Do I have to bring my own scissors, littleman?

41 Posts

norrie news

Horse,remember its Knocka,sharp things will get ya aressted.ha ha

24 Posts

AUL Time for Change

Hello! I'm new to the thread, I have played and managed in the Aul all my footballing career, every 2nd year we have the same issues with restructuring the league due to drop outs etc., Its about time the AUL limit the number of teams, this will have 2 reactions 1. Less teams will fold and 2. Less new teams will form, they are both linked and are both a major reason we see restructuring so often. The current league structure is poor and needs a complete overhaul, the 1st, 2nd and 3rd divisions are ok but premier A is a joke, 10 teams each season it loses 5 with another 5 coming in. Premier A is currently the hardest division to get promoted into, again this is wrong. I would suggest that each divisiion should have 12 teams with only (1) premier division, and (2) 1st,2nd and 3rd divisions and if needed due to current numbers and to allow new teams join a single 4th division. Its time we got serious about the league structure and its definetly time we put a structure in that will last. We all know there is only a certain pool of players available so its time to limit the clubs and give all the good existing clubs a chance to survive. I would hope someone who is involved in the AUL is on this thread and takes some of these views onboard.

41 Posts

norrie news

welcome on board Radio,,your points are all fair but in fairness to the Aul,its us an our clubs that keep makin thier job hard every year. Our clubs fold,our clubs break the rules,our clubs whinge cause we cant abide by the rules,simple as they are. As hard as it is to admit iv yet as a player,manager or commitee member come across a rule on or off the pitch that i didnt deem unfair,its say my inability as a player,managger or commitee member to keep within the rules has made me gripe at the Aul'if im bein totally honest. The Aul could have any format they want for the divisions but if we cant keep oir clubs afloat,whos really to blame,,,,,,

In reality what can we do,base the divisions on what,finances,facilities,registrations.

The AUL has good an bad points,but even at its worst its the only league in Cork that will allow a club to start,hopefully flourish an develope.

I know that their are a good few clubs encluding my own that have harboured thoughts of going Msl,purley born out of frustration i may add,but lets be realistic a
    ll the facilities in the world dont garrentee you'l be accepted.

Park,Leeside an KInsale have superb set ups,yet they were blown out,,,,,dont give much hope to the rest of us dose it.

If we are goin to knock the Aul let us at least admit we {as clubs}have played a big part in creating the chaos that is the Aul,an buy the same token if we are to deem ourselves worthy of a place in the Msl,let it be because we as footballing teams are worthy of it,dont measure it on your facilities,more on your players an teams improving.Have the best facilities,but ,,,,,at least have the players an teams to take advantage of what facilities you provide.

Currently their are plenty of sides inthe Msl that were only recently Aul sides,their facilities have improved,unquestionably,there football standards bar the odd flutter if again we are bein honsest havin amounted to much.better the devil ya know,,,,;,,,,,,,,,,,,

41 Posts

The Msl is full of ex AUl clubs that have improved their facilities,enough to gain entry to the MSL,,,,,,,,,,,

But its also full of ex AUL clubs that have done nothing at all to improve the standard of football played at those clubs.I name umpteen clubs that the only change in their clubs fortunes a difference in letters,,,,,,,,,,,,AUL to MSL. If my text gets worse afte this lads im sorry,im stuck in a flight terminal an im bored.

rtunes since changing codes is the difference in letters,,,,,,,,,AUL to Mmsml.
    Last edited by littleman; 07/08/2009 at 11:52 PM.

24 Posts
    Littleman, I dont disagree with what you say at all, and I was not having a go at the AUL, what I was saying is that changes need to be made to help the AUL structure their set up and by being a little more stringent on allowing new clubs join our league you will find that there will be a slowdown in the number of clubs that form play in the league for a 2 or 3 years and then fold again. When this happens you will find that players will suddenly start looking at existing clubs, which will inturn increase the chances of these clubs of surviving first and more importantly start to thrive. When this happens you will see clubs who now believe that they have a long term future start to improve their facilitys and pitches and therefore we will see a more competitve AUL.

2009/10 Leagues

The sections for this coming season have just been put up on the corkaul.com. No doubt a lot of talking points as to who got sent where.

Murphy’s Stout AUL Premier League: Blarney St Ath, Coachford, Glenthorn Celtic, Grattan Utd, Kinsale, Knockavilla Celtic, Leeside, Park Utd, Village Utd, Wilton Utd.

Murphy’s Stout AUL Premier A: Ballincollig, Ballyvolane, Blackstone Rovers, Castleview, Greenmount Rangers, Greenwood. Kanturk, Leeds, Macroom, Pearse Celtic.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 1: Ballintotis, Carrigtwohill Utd, Douglas Hall, Dunbar Celtic, Grangevale, Killumney Utd, Kilreen Celtic, Leeside, Postal Celtic, Richmond, Shandon Celtic, St John Boscos, UCC, Watergrasshill Utd.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 1A: Ballyvolane, Bohemians, Buttevant, Dillon’s Cross Ath, Donoughmore Ath, Fairview, Glen Celtic, Leeds, Mayfield Utd, Park Utd, Passage, Rathcoole Rovers, Rylane Celtic.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 2: Ard-na-Laoi, Blackpool Celtic, Casement Celtic, City Wanderers, Glenvale, Hibernians, Innishvilla, Kinsale, Lakewood Ath, Wilton Utd.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 2A: Castle Celtic Coachford, Crescent Ath, Glanworth Utd, Hillington, Inter City Cel, Killowen, Millstreet Celtic, Springfield “A”, Waterloo.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 2B: Carrigaline Utd, Cathedral Cel, Central Rovers, Churchvilla, Corkbeg, Knocknaheeny Celtic, Knockraha, Leeview Ath, Springfield “B”.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 3: Afton Villa, Carrigtwohill Utd, De Courcy Albion, Dunbar Celtic, Greenwood, Hibernians, Leeside, Parkview Celtic, St John Boscos, UCC, Brooklodge.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 3A: Ballinhassig, CFC Banteer, Grattan Utd, Los Zarcos, Macroom, Rathcoole Rovers, Strand Utd, Watergrasshill Utd.

41 Posts

norrie news

Sorry if I took your points the wrong way,Radio.In fairness on reading it again along with your new post its all postive reading,leaning towards improvment within the league to strenghten the league itself.Good stuff,keep it coming.

jesus horrible league for us this year what a joke of journeys. Our b team dont have it too bad though.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

24 Posts
    The first divisions both look really tough and with a lot of teams should be a great league in those 2 sections