Page 85 of 150 FirstFirst ... 3575838485868795135 ... LastLast
Results 1,681 to 1,700 of 2998

Thread: Cork AUL 2009/10

Littleman you said when a team plays well the ref never gets mentioned, well we had the same ref in question 3 weeks ago and we won 4-1 and could have had 3 or 4 more but to be honest he was just as bad then, it is just very frustrating when you are looking forward to a game of ball and the ref ruins the whole game with a performance like that,

We play in the fairfield and on the morning of our game was a few puddles here and there and 2 big ones in the middle of the park, we had fellas go down to our pitch at 8:30 in the morning and clear the puddles and throw a few buckets of sand about and get the pitch ready which they did a great job on cos the pitch was perfect, and for the team to put that much effort into playing the game then surely we can ask the same from the ref in return, maybe i was a bit still annoyed yesterday and might have ranted on for longer than i should have but i stand by my comments about his performance, and yes we had 3 sent off and 2 were right any other ref would have sent them off aswell im not trying to make excuses here lads because as i have said earlier passage deserved to beat us, and he was just as bad for both teams,

And i just found out earlier there was a referee's inspector at our game, i would absolutely love to hear what he had to say about the refs performance, in no way shape or form could he be impressed with his performance.
    Last edited by super_mario; 09/02/2010 at 12:03 PM. Reason: add on

Quote Originally Posted by super_mario View Post
    And i just found out earlier there was a referee's inspector at our game, i would absolutely love to hear what he had to say about the refs performance, in no way shape or form could he be impressed with his performance.
    I've seen it said a lot of times that what we would consider a good performance by a referee could receive a bad report from a referee's inspector and vice versa. Mainly due to the fact that that the inspector is looking for strict implementation of the laws of the game while teams are looking for a bit more laws in the "context" of the game.
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

41 Posts
    mario your missing the point here man,if ya want to come on an say the ref display wasnt good enough or he was bang out of order the you are entitled to it.But by mentioning the actual ref by name makes it personal.

They have there meetings every week an you would be a fool to think that their is'nt some little click amoungst them that are only too well aware of this site an indeed who most of us are. An thats why a few of us avoid (a) naming a ref an (b) slating him a bit OTT

A few of your recent posts have mentioned that your centerhalfs were caught out or ye havnt scored as many as ye should.Maybe it might be a good thing to tell the players ye think ye need them to raise their game because overall the displays ,attacking an defensively wise are not good enough.I watch ye train week in week out an ye always have the bones of 20 odd players.So their should be no excuse to change things around if ye feel the displays are not up to scratch by some players.If ur serious about winning the league an capping off a good season then ye need to get a bit more ruthless .Have a look at the times before xmas an see whats gone wrong or whats changed from then to now.Might be someting simple is all thats needs putin right.

Tis only a bit off advice Mario an ya dont have to take it.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Never in any of my posts did i mention the refs name.

And of course i take your advice your manager of a premier team and a bloody good one at that so you obviously know your fooyball fella

24 Posts
    Streetscene we will take any tips your willing to give, you surely have no worries about us! So be a sport and tell all!!

i understand what ye all are saying but if you refer to a specfic game its not that hard to work out who the ref was. but i do agree they should be accountable for there actions if they are poor on a constant basis they are after all geting a quite considerable fee. here is just two classic moments refing decisions 1) this is a quote "its not a penalty it was only a clash of legs"
    2) playing grattan a good couple of years ago the grattan forward goes around our kepper one of our players rushs back on the line the grattan forward shoots our player touches the ball on to the bar as plain as day with his hand the ref points for a corner. you cant beat it

Quote Originally Posted by streetscene View Post
    Huge win for us down in mitchelstown on sat and one that moves us into 4th in the table... park will probably feel aggrieved not to have taken a point as they had a lot of possesion but never really ceated much... we scored early and really defended well after that which was really pleasing... very hard place to go down to and come away with the points so we were delighted...only dissapointment was the pitch down there... they played the game on there 2nd pitch which has a huge hill on it and is very hard to play football on so it makes the result all the more pleasing for us....
    im not going to get involved in this champs and chumps thing cant help feeling it will lead to some serious fall out soon...its all very well until your team gets murdered here as some pople just cant take criticism of there own team..fair play to mario for taking it on the chin i hope everyone else will when there turn comes.. and well done again to leeside great result...
    as regards the refs my own opinion is its not going to help anyones cause slating anyone here as there is a lot more people read this forum than there is post and that includes refs so you wont do your team any favours... regardless of them being good or bad we cant play without them so best just to get on with it...i think the aul could come up with some system where the each ref gets graded by all the teams in his section at the end of season and if there was a name cropping up a lot then they could deal with it in some form....
    Shetland im sure at this stage now ye dont need many tips on us....
    streetscene i wasnt the person who enquired about yee at all.think that was radiostar.last time i saw yee play was aoh cup final last year.

41 Posts

Red face norrie news

My apoligies Mario but I thought it was you who made reference to the particular man in the middle.

In a perfect world the Aul an refs accessors would form some kind of sub commitee along with a cross section of Aul managers an an review how refs are going across the divisions during the season,,,,,,,,but clubs an teams should also be open to positive or negitive feedback from the same commitee,,,wether a club or team is warned on a more frequent basis if their disicipline is droping ect,,,it has to go both ways cause the men in the middle are only half the problem.

But thats me living in a perfect world aint it,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

on the referees topic it is a tough one to call. if a referee inspector goes to a premier game and has seen the referee had a poor game and maybe not for the first time what does he do with him?? send him down the leagues?? it would be unfair to the lower teams who like Marios club put in alot of effort in training and match day who have to put up with a referee who to be fair isnt out to do any one but just isnt up to 1) speed of the game 2) sometimes the rules and 3) how to deal with people and 4) plain common sense . you'll know the best referees in the leagues have the before mentioned and have probably played football himself. one of the best referees in the league in my opinion has played junior for Ireland if im correct?? another referee who i think very poor never played football and is a GAA man. so is it the money?? lads u have to say it is a soft touch! IF u keep the game simple, keep up with the game and use your head. a referee who isnt trying to be the centre of attention shouting the likes of ''player over here now!!'' rather than a quick word of warning in the ear will have absolutely no complaints either side of the pitch and will leave the players decide the result. do they have to do courses every season? would like to know how hard (or should i say easy) is it to become a referee??

MARIO would have to agree with you regards the champs/chumps in reference to littlesmans team before christmas to few chump results to be fair but having said that looking at some of the players they have up in norrieland and as LITTLMAN says himself theyve turned the corner i think theyll have alot of champ results to pick up in the coming months and i think there a very good bet for the league!! STREETSCENE do u think it was tactical to play on the poorer pitch?? ive seen the street play and they play good football.

Well lads, we were beaten 3-0 in Waterford on Sunday. As there's alot of talk about refs recently I must say that we had 2 linesmen on Sunday and what a difference it makes, the ref really had an easy job as the other 2 made most of the decisions for him!!! And, in fairness, they were rarely wrong...
    Despite the fact we lost, we had a great day out! And a great session afterwards (can't imagine what it would have been like if we won!!) It was the clubs 1st time out of Cork in 11 years and we tried to make as big a deal of it as we could. We had 35 travelled on the coach, booked a meeting room in Ramada hotel for soup/sambos & a chat when we got to W/Ford. Got to the ground nice & early and prepared as best we could.
    Villa were a fine side and we were 2-0 down at the half. In fairness, we gave it a good go in 2nd half and had some great possession but couldn't break them down. They got a flukey 3rd with a minute or so to go which was dissappointing - the lads didn't deserve to lose 3-0 after the effort they put in and for never throwing in the towel. The lads really did us all proud & hopefully will learn from the experience.
    Villa looked after us well afterwards with grub etc. & we had a great craic on the bus on the way home.
    All in all, a great day regardless of the result & hopefully it won't be 11 years before we make it that far again.
    'If we play as one, we can beat any eleven'

littleman it was i who mentioned the refs name .and make no apologises for doing so.he is a disgrace and is ruining matches.games should not be about referees and they being the centre of attraction.

Beaten 4-1 by Kanturk.

Dominated the 1st half, went 1 up had a penalty miss as well in the half. penalty was for a a foul when our player was 1 on 1 wit the keeper, tackle from behind from the LAST defender trying to catch up- not even a booking???? the ref said 'i dont want to be sending people off at all'. Sayin that we shud have been out of sight. 2nd half was totally different- they had 4 chances took all 4, and we just kept hitting the bar. On another day we wud have been 2 up playin against 10 men but when ur luck is out ur luck is . not blaming the ref, he just made a mistake- im blaming johnny cooney for missing a penalty, haha!!!

As for Kanturk- not as good as the league suggests, if anybody saw the 1st half they'd think we were the team on top of the league, but its a game of 2 halves and even tho we matched them in the 2nd they took ther chances- all of them and we didnt.

the lad shambo played his 1st game for us and done well- looks like a good signing, at least he'll turn up

A wise man once said for a ref to have a good game he should go unnoticed, FACT!!!!

41 Posts

Exclamation norrie news

Quote Originally Posted by shetland View Post
    games should not be about referees and they being the centre of attraction.
    Thats a bit ironic Shetland considering you were the one who brought it to our attention.

Surely time to call an end to this Ref slating its ruining the forum and just like on the pitch it wont change anything moaning.

Another round of A.O.H cup games next wknd hopefully the pitches wont freeze over with the cold spell,Passage up against Glen Celtic for the third time this season but Im told their down a few players lately so heres hoping
    Marty

Marty?? Who do you play with??

Horse, i had a suspicion that it was one of ye.......so chico, you have been revealed !!!!!!.......il only tell a few !!haha.
    I agree lads lets put the ref talk to bed because we could be here for the rest of the year on about our experiences with refs, good or bad.
    Leedspk, did i hear a whisper about yer manager turning up at half time ??....did that affect ye ?
    Big game next week for us, Coachford away in the AOH.........any info on them, jungle ????

71 Posts

Review and move on

Ok lads - heres what was said on the refs thing and we try move on.

- Ref/Teams have some blame in most cases.

- Some sort of meeting involving the teams where discussion is held and "offenders" on both sides are discussed.

- No names mentioned on the site - not fair.

I just noticed you can who is on-line down the end of the page.....................is that there all the time?

Big league game at the weekend - Is it a "must win" Littleman?

Quote Originally Posted by the owl View Post
    Leedspk, did i hear a whisper about yer manager turning up at half time ??....did that affect ye ?
    haha, na thats just ye ballyvolane folk playin mind games, he opened the gates at 9.30 and put up the nets. we had to talk him out of starting himself uptop, haha!!!

will i still get paid when i win the Ballyvolane AFC last man standing even tho i play with leeds?? ha