Thread: Cork AUL 2009/10

Cork AUL 2 - 0 Limerick

Team :
    Hurley ( Kinsale)
    Babbs( Blarney St), John Betts(Blarney St), Sullivan(Castleview), Bradfield (Kinsale)
    Robbie Walsh(Knockavilla), Dellea(Leeside), Ger Harrington(Kinsale), O' Neill(Wilton),
    Holland(Kinsale), Johnny Barrett( ? )

This was a master stroke if Cork fixed this time and venue. Im really not sure how it came about. Limerick (as far as I could see had no subs), 3/4 lads on the line who didn't open their mouth all night. A Bitter cold night in Mayfield on Astro turf. 20 Cork players knowing exactly what they required. Win by Two and we're there. And thats exactly what happened

Goals:
    Ritchie scored the 1st goal from a free kick , Keeper should have done better. 1-0 at half time.
    This lad Barrett (guys you can give us the details,) Small guy but lightening speed, he gave it everything last night, closed there players down all night and in fairness if this was his debut, he'll be happy this morning. He took the shot that came off one of the defenders wrongfooting their keeper and making the score 2-0.

Overall when the result goes your way you have to give them the credit.
    We dont give Hurley quite the praise he deserves on this site , But fair play to him, His kick-outs off this surface were excellent, He came for a couple of balls and opted to punch which was the right decision,Clean Sheet, So thumbs up on his performance last night. ( Shilts you can pass on the word)

Then again there is a fine line between winning and losing. How Limerick didn't score at least one last night is Amazing. But those are the joys. So best of luck to all involved in the next round.

Was Derek Mac injured or what ??

Quote Originally Posted by junglegym View Post
    Team :
    Hurley ( Kinsale)
    Babbs( Blarney St), John Betts(Blarney St), Sullivan(Castleview), Bradfield (Kinsale)
    Robbie Walsh(Knockavilla), Dellea(Leeside), Ger Harrington(Kinsale), O' Neill(Wilton),
    Holland(Kinsale), Johnny Barrett( ? )

This was a master stroke if Cork fixed this time and venue. Im really not sure how it came about. Limerick (as far as I could see had no subs), 3/4 lads on the line who didn't open their mouth all night. A Bitter cold night in Mayfield on Astro turf. 20 Cork players knowing exactly what they required. Win by Two and we're there. And thats exactly what happened

Goals:
    Ritchie scored the 1st goal from a free kick , Keeper should have done better. 1-0 at half time.
    This lad Barrett (guys you can give us the details,) Small guy but lightening speed, he gave it everything last night, closed there players down all night and in fairness if this was his debut, he'll be happy this morning. He took the shot that came off one of the defenders wrongfooting their keeper and making the score 2-0.

Overall when the result goes your way you have to give them the credit.
    We dont give Hurley quite the praise he deserves on this site , But fair play to him, His kick-outs off this surface were excellent, He came for a couple of balls and opted to punch which was the right decision,Clean Sheet, So thumbs up on his performance last night. ( Shilts you can pass on the word)

Then again there is a fine line between winning and losing. How Limerick didn't score at least one last night is Amazing. But those are the joys. So best of luck to all involved in the next round.

Was Derek Mac injured or what ??
    Johnny Barrett is playing with Leeside. Has scored a lot of goals this season already for them.
    Think they signed him from Midleton seniors

was at the game also last night. fair play to aul on getting the result they needed.

would have to agree with jungle about keeper did all the right things last night. there has 2 be questions asked about the back line, yes i know they got a clean sheet but only reason they did was because limerick couldn finish any of there numerous clean cut chances throughout the entire game. peelo was prob best out of the back four last night. 2 centre halfs where not very impressive at all, must of being 10+ set pieces put into the area and not 1 single ball was cleared by the head of either. the chances limerick missed where serious. why was shinkwin not playing last night, better player than both centre halfs playing last night. if fella sullivan was top class why is he not playing with their senior team and betts is centre half of team who are leaking goals left right and centre and bottom of table. there has 2 be way better centre halfs in leagues than those, sullivan from grattan, shinkwin,sullivan brothers leeside, paul condon leeside, even jeremy from kinsale just a few names. maybe astro didnt suit them last night but another performance from back line like that in next round, they could be in trouble!! johnny barrett is a fantastic player and showed it last night worked non stop and is very dangerous in front of goal,great signing fror leeside this year.would be my pick for man of match last night. midfield had a very good first half espically derek delea who also looked dangerous going forward, was creating alot of chances.
    from what i heard derek mc carthy had some party last night and couldnt make it!!
    does this manager have something against grattan players should be 1 or 2 of them playing on team really.
    at end of day i suppose they got what they went looking for, so well done to team.

''would be interested to know what peoples oppinions are with these allweather pitches. ball seems to bounce every where.''

Lads, seems to be alot of debate about these all weather surfaces. A few Limerick lads saying that despite their poor showing last night, the surface didn't help.

We train on Douglas Hall's all weather pitch 2 times a week and, personally, I think these pitches are a great job.... the bounce is minimised as much as possible with the rubber and although it is obviously quicker than grass, this new surface is as close as you're going to get to 'the real thing'. Douglas Hall have built up a 10 point gap at the top of AUL1 as no home games called off and also playing 'away' fixtures at home now too (they are playing well too though!!) - fair play to the Hall though, it was a big ask to get this off the ground in the 1st place & many club members did trojan work to get the job done.

What I think is that alot of fellas get found out on these surfaces, poor 1st touch, poor passing and lack of fitness will certainly be punished.... nowhere to hide anymore! We have only played actually one game on this surface, and that was a challenge, but the one criticism I would have is that if your midfield players are important to you, the game can easily pass them by as lots of long ball/passes seem to develop, probably due to the sheer size of the pitches.....

All the best,
    Doug

PS Anyone know what the forecast is for the next few days??
    'If we play as one, we can beat any eleven'

im back lads to give two cents worth of it!!!!!!!!!!!
    i totally agree with everything bluey said,was there also.
    the back line is terrible, sullivan is STUFFED. i dont know how they didnt concede 4 or 5.
    any of top teams in premier would beat aul team. we would hockey them with derek and johnny in our team.
    if he doesn change things or build bridges with players ie. grattan they will be gone in next round.
    goodbye for now
    LOVE BOO

lads come off it.that was the worst cork a u l side in history.if thats the best this league has to offer we are in dire trouble.limerick had barely a team. to have to travel mid week was a disgrace.they were like a team that never played together.definately no repeat of last year.

71 Posts

Jedward

Boo, You may be developing a cult following!!!

The AUL needed to win by 2 goals and they did, so well done to them.

Its good healthy debate on team selection. I was suprised to see no Grattan or Derek in the team so they can only improve if they come back. Fair play to them and home draw will do nicely.

Will we get games? Supposed to be dry from here on in.

Lads I was surprised to see the lad O'Sullivan captaining the team - he is a decent enough centre half and all he can be asked to do is play to the best of his abilities but I would have to agree that the Grattan lads would be better!! Seems a bit weird but if they keep winning who cares - we werent happy with last years selection either and look what happened there :-)

21 Posts

Congrats to the Cork AUL team who won, by the required 2 goal margin, last wed night.
    Niall O'Regan should be congratulated for getting the team, minus a few of last years 'stars', to the quarter finals.
    This win should shut up some of the begrudgers.
    Best of luck for the rest of the campaign Niall.

Quote Originally Posted by Shilts View Post

Congrats to the Cork AUL team who won, by the required 2 goal margin, last wed night.
    Agreed well done to the team for getting back to knockout stages...
    I'd like to wish Niall and all the squad the best of luck in the next rounds. Looking back at last year, almost every game could have gone either way so it shows how you need a bit of luck in the OT.

You really aren't trying to make friends in the Limerick section though are you shilts!!!

Also just saw Dublin AUL won 10:1 against Wicklow in their most recent game, one guy came on with 30 minutes to go and scored 6
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

41 Posts
    3 things id like to say,an say honestly.

1 : Fair dues Boo,we may have our differences but you put across a good post.

2 : Congrats to the managers an players for a great result Wednesday night.

3 : Your right Shilts,they did do well without some of the stars from last years team,that team WON the Oscar Traynor an to a man they were stars,a level above everthing else in the Aul an fellas should remember that,but a fair few of that squad were forgotten about fairly quickly,so now all we can do is hope that lady luck shines on us again.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

can anybody tell me if the directions on the isrs website for knockavilla are accurate?? want to do a spying mission.

"can anybody tell me if the directions on the isrs website for knockavilla are accurate??"

100% about a mile or so west of Crossbarry as you head for Shering Plough where the road begins to widen there is a turn to the right up a steep hill and straight through at the pud about 1/2 mile or so. I think there is a signpost for Upton Nursing Home at the turn?????

cheers jwal, much appreciated

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    Springfield 1 Donoughmore 2
    Are you sure bella? On Billys blog it says Donoughmore were beaten by Rathcoole in the league. We bounced back from our trashing by Rathcoole last week to beat Buttevant 4-1 away. Good win.

41 Posts
    The Aoh game next week between us an Village is on up in our place,an not Silverheights an printed on Billys blog.

Village 0-4 Kinsale

Great result for Kinsale, really thought Village would put it up to them in Mayfield.
    Anybody see it? Littleman you're up that direction arent you?

71 Posts

Blackstone Rovers 5 v 0 Ballincollig

Good league win for us - played well for the 3rd game running.

Pitch is heavy but playable.

Funny how football is - played well against the same team a few weeks back, couldnt score and lost 1-0.

Hardly Mossie Linnane on Stephens Day?

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    Hardly Mossie Linnane on Stephens Day?
    FAI Junior Cup i think

41 Posts

Thumbs up norrie news

Pac,Id love to know exactly where your heart lies.Power is returned to the Street(what a head line ) an you surface all of a sudden,makes ya think dont it,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Yes I watched the Kinsale game,in good company too.Its only a stones throw away from my place so its an easy place for me to go.I expected Village to give it a go,but when I arrived I was told they had 12,bad sign.I saw Kinsale havin a huddle an that was enough for me,then it was a matter of how ,many.Kinsale took the lead after 3 or 4 mins id say,but it just woke Village up an in fairness the did raise their game,but still 1 nil at half time to Kinsale.

It was 50/50 to be honest for the first 15 to 20 of the 2nd half , but Harrington got a shot in from the right hand side of the Village 18 yrd box(playin up) an with a slight defelction it sailed into the top left hand corner.2/0.Jeremy scored from a corner an that was enough for me an the lads an we went for a pint.Didnt see number 4.Kinsale got a good 3 points,its a terrible place to play,possibly the worst in our league.

I watched Kinsale B against Dillons Sunday mornin(im not a Kinsale freak but I watch Dillons a fair bit cause their local an the oppertuinity or chance of Kinsales A an B side playin a game in Silverheights twice in one weekend ya take what ya get) an it was a cracker,3/3 full time an 5/3 to Dillons in OT.Center half for Dillons has some right peg an JJ was brilliant.Kinsale B battled but ya have to give Dillons creditmthey may play on a poor pitch but they do try to play ball.

Leeside were hammerin Mayfield while Kinsale did the buisness against Village.Leeside for me have been the most impressive of the prem sides this season.Watched them 4 times an in fairness they played well an never scrope through,toss up between them an Kinsale for the whos most likely to reach the winners post.The Rise hase been very quiet so I cant comment,with regards to Stephens Day,Ill have an answer tomorrow night.
    .Lets not have any knee jerk reactions an say the Gratts too,we were terrible last season an only the 2 sides foldin saved us from the drop.Whos kiddin who lads.
    Last edited by littleman; 14/12/2009 at 7:36 AM.