Results 1,081 to 1,100 of 2998

Thread: Cork AUL 2009/10

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by blue-and-red View Post
    I agree with that Littleman,i was also there.
    Ballyv started poor and sat in their own half.Dillons know well how to play that hill though in fairness to 'em

They can push the ball around nicely,Draw was probably fair alright.
    Good to see old stalwart keith Keane mixin' it up for us in the middle again after comin' out of retirement.

Dillons keeper made great save alright,They'll do well this year.

Good to see Billy Lyons alarm clock still goin' off on a Sun mornin'!!!!!
    He just cant stay away!!!!
    Lads unfortunately I don't agree we ye, we set out our team to defend the hill first half with an extra man in defence, this was obviously gonna lead to them pumping balls in at us and besides the opening 15 to 20 mins where fellas were getting used to the windy conditions and gave away a goal and a few half chances of which our keeper was not called into action for the most part we coped quite well. We equalised in the first half and had a header cleared off the line from a corner, the Dillons keeper also made a good save when from a corner the ball broke on the six yard line and our player caught a nice shot.The second half we changed it and we put 2 up front and we had the bulk of the possession and created at least 6 goalscoring chances and ashould have had a penalty on top of that, the Dillons keeper made 3 great saves in that half and deserves to be congratulated for that.Dillons missed from a free header which they should have scored but besides that they never really tested our keeper in that half, until we switched off at the end and let them in to equalise and I can tell ya now that there was only one team happy with that result.

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nando View Post
    Alrite Lads how we keeping. Im new to this.
    Welcome Nando which club are you with?

Quote Originally Posted by the owl View Post
    sorry, correction, its glenvale wer playin this weekend.
    Either way they're both going well...Glenvale have won 6 from 6 in league and progressed in all cups (I don't think they've lost yet this season)...

Welcome Nando & Gaz - what club do ye call home???
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by green+black View Post
    Hi lads,
    Mayfield 3 Hibernians A 2 after extra time today. Game was played on our all weather as their pitch wasnt playable. We made tough work of it. Went one down to a penalty and straight red for last man so played about an hour with ten men. We were 2-1 up but conceded in the last minute. Scored from a corner in extra time.
    Big one for us with Bohemians next week, we're looking forward to it!
    G&B, Tough one at the weekend hopefully ye might do the division a favour and take 3pts off them.What was the name of your striker no.9 who played against us, Horse needs his name for his team of the season?

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    Why are Kinsale & Blarney Street listed as Clubs on the MSL website?

Dont the better refs need less yellows to control a game?

Good win for us at the weekend - and as Barry said, they were good goals. Losing our player of the season so far to the land of Oz - the oul recession bites again. Two, three or even more fantastic Blackstone players on the other side of the world, and not much hope of work appearing here for them either.

Hillington look like they are having a tough time, club wise and team wise. I have friends involved with them, so it saddens me to see it. I hope they keep going and come out the other side of this rough patch.

Do we know of many other clubs struggling club wise?

Good point made that a lot more games than expected beat the rain. The Fairfield didnt, which suprised me. Always thought the Faira could take a bit of weather.
    Horse, team of the season, we played Dillons Cross and their keeper should be added to the list. I'm sure DCross can help out with the name.

Quote Originally Posted by marty View Post
    DIV 1A:

Passage 3-1 Park
    Made the trip to Passage last Saturday with a squad of 16 (4 missing).
    Despite all the rain last week the pitch held up very well.
    Went 1 down after 25 mins.The ball crossed the sideline and their fella who was doing the line said the ball had gone but the ref took no notice of him and let play go on from which they scored from.Ours heads dropped after this but we did grab an equaliser from a set piece 10 mins later.
    Passage brought on two lads at the break and they changed the game.Went 2-1 down 5 mins after the break and despite throwing everything at them they caught us on the break and made it 3-1 with 10 to go.
    We are on our travels again next Sunday when we travel to Rylane.This is our 7th league game of the season and our 6th away from home.

Thanks Radiostar im with the cobh wanderers junior team. Theres more interest in this one than the msl forum.

41 Posts
    Radio, I gave an impartial view on the game from the view point of someone with no connections what so ever to either club,you have just given the total opposite of the word impartial,ye could have won it but ye were lucky not to loose it,a draw was the fairest result because neither side defended or attacked to the best of their ability.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

should be a good game sun morning. how are ye getting on this year. hopefully the weather will be alright. wer'e not doing too bad.

Quote Originally Posted by Parkboy View Post
    Made the trip to Passage last Saturday with a squad of 16 (4 missing).
    Despite all the rain last week the pitch held up very well.
    Went 1 down after 25 mins.The ball crossed the sideline and their fella who was doing the line said the ball had gone but the ref took no notice of him and let play go on from which they scored from.Ours heads dropped after this but we did grab an equaliser from a set piece 10 mins later.
    Passage brought on two lads at the break and they changed the game.Went 2-1 down 5 mins after the break and despite throwing everything at them they caught us on the break and made it 3-1 with 10 to go.
    We are on our travels again next Sunday when we travel to Rylane.This is our 7th league game of the season and our 6th away from home.
    Hey Parkboy, Was at the game the weekend, ye looked solid at the back and were able to play ball a lot of teams will find it hard to get a result down in mitchelstown this year, pitch looked well too considering all the rain! The ref should have listened to the line as they genuinely said it was out and fair play to the park players they accepted that it was the refs decision not the lines!!
    Passage looked a good ball playing team, strong at the back and through the middle, Rylane will be tough for ye away!

Quote Originally Posted by Radiostar View Post
    G&B, Tough one at the weekend hopefully ye might do the division a favour and take 3pts off them.What was the name of your striker no.9 who played against us, Horse needs his name for his team of the season?
    Lookin forward to the weekend, we're missing two big players but we'll give it a go! Our striker is Pa O'Connell, played with the MSL juniors before us

From corkaul.com

Wednesday, November 04, 2009

IMPORTANT NOTICE:
    The Management Committee have made the following decision regarding free weekends.
    Please note that due to the enormous backlog of fixtures, free weekends from here on will not be granted for the foreseeable future.

Thats a bit harsh isn't it ?

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Radio, I gave an impartial view on the game from the view point of someone with no connections what so ever to either club,you have just given the total opposite of the word impartial,ye could have won it but ye were lucky not to loose it,a draw was the fairest result because neither side defended or attacked to the best of their ability.
    I just didn't agree with your view litteman!

Quote Originally Posted by junglegym View Post
    From corkaul.com

Wednesday, November 04, 2009

IMPORTANT NOTICE:
    The Management Committee have made the following decision regarding free weekends.
    Please note that due to the enormous backlog of fixtures, free weekends from here on will not be granted for the foreseeable future.

Thats a bit harsh isn't it ?
    I was thinking the same... Are things really that backed up???

Well I've just thought about it and lets not forget the referee's strike lost us the early midweek games, the all-ireland weekend lost a good few games too. Just looked back at Innishvilla season 2 years ago by 1st weekend in Nov we had played 10 matches, last weekend was their 7th game so it looks like season is about 3 games behind roughly...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Quote Originally Posted by Gaz123 View Post
    Hey Parkboy, Was at the game the weekend, ye looked solid at the back and were able to play ball a lot of teams will find it hard to get a result down in mitchelstown this year, pitch looked well too considering all the rain! The ref should have listened to the line as they genuinely said it was out and fair play to the park players they accepted that it was the refs decision not the lines!!
    Passage looked a good ball playing team, strong at the back and through the middle, Rylane will be tough for ye away!
    Yeah Gaz the 2 centre halfs signed for us at the start of the season.They are both good players but we still have conceded 14 goals in 6 league games which is a major concern.There is a good squad of players there and everyone is well capable of playing ball but its seems we have to go a goal or two behind before we start playing.
    Passage are a fine team,seem to have added a few players since last year.

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Parkboy View Post
    Yeah Gaz the 2 centre halfs signed for us at the start of the season.They are both good players but we still have conceded 14 goals in 6 league games which is a major concern.There is a good squad of players there and everyone is well capable of playing ball but its seems we have to go a goal or two behind before we start playing.
    Passage are a fine team,seem to have added a few players since last year.
    Parkboy, I watched the second half of that match and I thought that ye had more of the ball but Passage were well organised and gave little away at the back, on the other hand I thought your centre backs were very strong in the air and very physical but were reckless in trying to win the ball at times, they went to ground to easy which was probably the reason ye conceded the 2 second half goals.

Red face

Quote Originally Posted by Radiostar View Post
    Parkboy, I watched the second half of that match and I thought that ye had more of the ball but Passage were well organised and gave little away at the back, on the other hand I thought your centre backs were very strong in the air and very physical but were reckless in trying to win the ball at times, they went to ground to easy which was probably the reason ye conceded the 2 second half goals.
    The second half goals seemed to come from the park team pushing for a goal and maybe getting caught with a few at the back which were put in the position of last ditch defending, but as i said earlier it will be a tough place to go get points! Passage were Without two starters too the weekend, one injured and other had a wedding i think?

Drinagh Rangers this weekend in the Fai Junior Cup, Anyone Have any idea what they are like?

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    Rockmount are home, sunday morning i think. Should be an interesting one
    alrte bell, how are ye fixed this year. ye are doing well in your league. should be a good game sun.

On the subject of Passage V Park does anyone of ye actually believe ye can mount a challenge to Bohs in league 1A??

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    I think I'd have to agree with you, they were lucky not to be 2 or 3 down at half time, instead it was a draw with a wonder-strike out of the blue. They came at us alright in the second half and in the end a draw was probably fair, we werent happy with it but its better than nothing, and I dont think that was a penalty, our defender won the ball, the ref was no more than five yards away from it in fairness, that same player seemed to have a problem stayin on his feet all game. But I suppose everyone is entitled to there opinions, By the way our keeper is JJ Lynch, he got a call up for the Oscar Traynor last season but got injured after one training session, definately one of the best around imo. Wilton in the fai this week, what are they like this year?
    Who's takin the cones??????