Results 1,021 to 1,040 of 2998

Thread: Cork AUL 2009/10

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    we beat glanworth 2 nil. Bad game in general. A wins a win. Surely thats not rockmounts 1st team we drew lads is it??
    its their premier junior side - not their senior side bella

71 Posts

W/E Sun 25th October

Prem:
    Alberto Pulimeno - Wilton - Goalkeeper (2)
    Ian Fitzgibbon - Park Utd - Goalkeper
    Alex Nodwell - Leeside - Right Back
    BArry Goggin - Leeside - Left Back
    Paul Lynch - Grattan - Centre Half
    Johnny Mc Carthy - Grattan - Centre Half
    Jeremy O Donovan - Kinsale - Centre Half
    Brian O Sullivan - Leeside - Centre Half
    Ciaran Lucey - Coachford - Centre Half
    Red Boots - Grattan - Left Wing Back
    Colman Cody - Leeside - Centre Mid
    Stephen Hackett - Village Utd - Midfield
    Trevor Hallisey - Grattan - Left Wing
    Howie Coakley - Village Utd - Striker
    Rob Walsh - Knockavilla - Striker
    Ricky Gettings - Leeside - Striker

Prem A:
    Mr Tynan - Greenmount Rangers - Right Full
    Michael Bullman - Blackstone Rovers - Centre Midfield (2)
    Anon (Number 8) - Macroom - Right Wing
    Ivan Skillington - Blackstone Rovers - Striker

AUL 1:
    Gary Ahern - Grangevale - Goalkeeper

AUL 1A:
    Tall fella - Mayfield - Centre Forward (G&B - can you help?)

AUL 2:
    Joe Ryan - Casement - Right Back
    Victor Mylod - Glenvale - Midfield
    Brian Lawless - Blackpool - Striker
    Anto Mehigan - Hibs - Striker

AUL 2A:
    Steven Denehan - Springfield A - Left Back

with the aoh cup first round. our b team are playin boscos at home on sat and then the a team are down to play both grangevale and glen celtic. obviously the c team is to play one of them and the a team playing other. we will know on thurs who is to play who, leaving aul alone until then.
    Doug where is yere home pitch, never been out there

71 Posts

Bits & Pieces

On the Village/Leeside game, if the AUL asked Village to move it, then I would presume it becomes Leeside's home game.

Parkboy, I think our managers disapointment is plain to see from his posts. It was our first game of the 7 played that we felt we shouldnt have gotten something from. The players I spoke too said, while we were responsible for our own downfall for the most part, Park looked a good side. Best of luck for the rest of it.

On the Cup draws, it would be nice to see them. Is there a preliminary round in the AOH or are there byes to Round 2? IS Round 2 last 32 or last 64?

Some comments on the league tables, which I have looked at properly for the first time this week (no offence meant):

In the Prem, its kinda hard to rule anyone out without seeing who they played. Did we all write Glenthorn off too early? The silence is deafening from the Street. Same suspects at the top.

Prem A: Some suprise results for 2 of the top 3. Looks like it may be 2 from them, but very early. Everyone else - who knows? Pearse are motoring, I believe, after a stickyish start.

Div 1 - 8 still running for 1 spot. 6 dreading the 2 trapdoor spots. Fun and games to come.

Div 1A - Are Bohs gone already? 1 spot may end a lot of league seasons early. My friends at Fairview in a spot of bother, with a few others nervous.

Div 2 - Glenvale and Hibs looking hot - with Glenvale especially turning heads. Lakewood look in bother, with Inish looking for suprise title run!! I thought this Casement side were meant to be loaded with stars?

Div 2A - 4 unbeaten sides - Crescent may rue the draws. 3 sides without a win looking to get points on the board.

Div 2B - Looks like a winner from the East. Riordan and his Leeview crew after a sticky start. Did ye sort your manager quandry?

Div 3 - Half a division still with high hopes here.

Div 3A - Hard for the Urban Bees to catch our country cousins here id say.

The Fines thing is still wrecking my head. Refs now dont have the luxury of spending an apprentiship in schoolboys as per refs of old, especially those who show some promise. Therefore they will make innocent mistakes, and, probably more than more experienced officials. Who pays for these mistakes? The unemployed player. I just cant see the sense in it.

If they want to charge for cards given for dissent, then no problem. Innocent errors, mistimed tackles without malice - what good is it doing? I am honestly asking anyone on this site if they can provide me with clarity as to what they thinking of the Junior Council is. I hope I am wrong, and missing the point of it, but I just dont get it.

Quote Originally Posted by bluey View Post
    In doug's absence (sure he'll be online soon) Grangevale's pitch is out the Kinsale road... Head past the airport, a few miles out there is a left sweep in the road, place called five mile bridge, after passing this junction take the next right, the pitch is roughly a mile up this road on the left...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

24 Posts
    Alright DCross!We are playing ye Sunday morning, how is the pitch playing?

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    On the Village/Leeside game, if the AUL asked Village to move it, then I would presume it becomes Leeside's home game.

Parkboy, I think our managers disapointment is plain to see from his posts. It was our first game of the 7 played that we felt we shouldnt have gotten something from. The players I spoke too said, while we were responsible for our own downfall for the most part, Park looked a good side. Best of luck for the rest of it.

On the Cup draws, it would be nice to see them. Is there a preliminary round in the AOH or are there byes to Round 2? IS Round 2 last 32 or last 64?

Some comments on the league tables, which I have looked at properly for the first time this week (no offence meant):

In the Prem, its kinda hard to rule anyone out without seeing who they played. Did we all write Glenthorn off too early? The silence is deafening from the Street. Same suspects at the top.

Prem A: Some suprise results for 2 of the top 3. Looks like it may be 2 from them, but very early. Everyone else - who knows? Pearse are motoring, I believe, after a stickyish start.

Div 1 - 8 still running for 1 spot. 6 dreading the 2 trapdoor spots. Fun and games to come.

Div 1A - Are Bohs gone already? 1 spot may end a lot of league seasons early. My friends at Fairview in a spot of bother, with a few others nervous.

Div 2 - Glenvale and Hibs looking hot - with Glenvale especially turning heads. Lakewood look in bother, with Inish looking for suprise title run!! I thought this Casement side were meant to be loaded with stars?

Div 2A - 4 unbeaten sides - Crescent may rue the draws. 3 sides without a win looking to get points on the board.

Div 2B - Looks like a winner from the East. Riordan and his Leeview crew after a sticky start. Did ye sort your manager quandry?

Div 3 - Half a division still with high hopes here.

Div 3A - Hard for the Urban Bees to catch our country cousins here id say.

The Fines thing is still wrecking my head. Refs now dont have the luxury of spending an apprentiship in schoolboys as per refs of old, especially those who show some promise. Therefore they will make innocent mistakes, and, probably more than more experienced officials. Who pays for these mistakes? The unemployed player. I just cant see the sense in it.

If they want to charge for cards given for dissent, then no problem. Innocent errors, mistimed tackles without malice - what good is it doing? I am honestly asking anyone on this site if they can provide me with clarity as to what they thinking of the Junior Council is. I hope I am wrong, and missing the point of it, but I just dont get it.
    Id be thinking the same as yourself that if the AUL asked for it to be moved then it should be Leesides home match if Village were the ones asking then thats Leesides away match.
    Dont think there ever was a preliminary round for AOH so there might be a few byes.
    Your dead right about Blarney Street the silence is deafening. Where is Cassiles gone too ???
    Glenvale are a cert for Division 2 iv seen them play and there a very good footballing side. 2 top quailty players in Victor Mylod(Ex-Marys Seniors) and Eric Fleming(Ex-Maymount and Grattan) both still about 25 years young. I expect a good run in the AOH aswell from them.
    Casement are NOT packed with stars. In pre-season The team your thinking of had to move up Seniors because Minty couldnt get a team together. Were playing well Senior. Unbeaten in the league from 5 games played. If we were still there it would be us turning heads
    Somtimes i cant blame the refs,its the leagues that are giving them the games when there not up to it. Some of them are being thrown in at the deep end and it can be hard for them aswell. Money being paid is very good and the leagues are crying out for more refs so you will get bad refs who just need a few bob.And then you have the fellas who dont wanna retire becuase reffing is paying for there extra sun holidays they take twice a year. When i retire from playing(Hopefully not for another couple years) i know what im going to be doing with my Saturdays and Sundays and it wont be walking the dogs.I know some refs are not giving the AUL there yellow cards for mis-timed tackles and errors on ther behalf which is good to know but this is a tiny group of 3 that i know of.

24 Posts

Cup Draws

Does anyone know why the Cup draws for the AOH and the divisional cups are not posted on AUL website!Its very frustrating as we haven't had a fixture published in either competition yet and don't know if we got a bye or what!

I understand Horse,i heard ye were a good side even before last weekends game and like i was saying we could have gone there and the result could have been a lot different but thats football for ya.
    Thanks for the good wishes and hopefully we will meet again soon in another cup.

Quote Originally Posted by DCross06 View Post
    I felt we left it after us really, when we were 2-0 up we hit the cross-bar, that probably would have killed off the game, then after ye gettin it back to 2-2 and we got the third with only a few minutes left, we should have been able to hang on. Ye scored from 3 set pieces which is bad from our side, ye didnt really create anything from play. The conditions were very bad, long grass and a swirling wind on our pitch isnt the best combination, the referee must have thought it was a basketball match, he blew for a free for nearly every tackle that went in. I cant really complain about the result, if we cant defend corners we dont deserve to win. That tall baldy fella playin centre-half had a good game, he has good pace and was able to read the game well.
    Agree 100% with that but although we werent happy with our performance the team spirit shown was brilliant.
    We worked a lot on set pieces mid season so it was good to see us score 3.
    The ref was terrible.Havent come across a ref as bad in a long time.
    That centre half is Mike Barrett.Its his first season with us and he is player of the season so far.
    See ye in Mitchelstown for the return game.

Quote Originally Posted by Parkboy View Post
    I understand Horse,i heard ye were a good side even before last weekends game and like i was saying we could have gone there and the result could have been a lot different but thats football for ya.
    Thanks for the good wishes and hopefully we will meet again soon in another cup.
    That was my point Park - we were awful on the day - if we had given ye a tough game and were still on the end of a 5 nil defeat i wouldnt be saying anything - I'm not taking away from the fact that ye beat us - just saying we didnt make it hard for ye!!

Quote Originally Posted by Parkboy View Post
    Agree 100% with that but although we werent happy with our performance the team spirit shown was brilliant.
    We worked a lot on set pieces mid season so it was good to see us score 3.
    The ref was terrible.Havent come across a ref as bad in a long time.
    That centre half is Mike Barrett.Its his first season with us and he is player of the season so far.
    See ye in Mitchelstown for the return game.
    Looking forward to it, were booking a bus for that game and making a day of it cause of the craic we had down there the last time when we played yere first team in the A.O.H, any danger of the first team calling him up?
    Who's takin the cones??????

Quote Originally Posted by Radiostar View Post
    Alright DCross!We are playing ye Sunday morning, how is the pitch playing?
    Not too bad, the grass could do with another cut alright, hopefully it wont be as windy as last week. How ye fixed?
    Who's takin the cones??????

41 Posts

Wink norrie news

Park , Dcross's place was cut today,Villages too.

We were pulled by the ref over the weekend cause he said we were only allowed 5 subs,we said the FIFA rules state anywhere between 3 to 7 subs can be togged off for competitions played under their rules.Not that it mattered much in releation to the game itself but from a squad point of view its great to tog all seven off,keeps fellas interested anyhow,anyone experience any thing along these lines so far.

Horse I had a conversation with a senior member of the junior council while I was in Dublin a couple of months back an asked him why the 5 euro yellows were introduced.He said as part of a Fifa directive all the different national set ups had to be seen to stamp out dissent/intimidation towards the ref.It was felt that punishing the players pockets was the best way to do it cause they didnt want clubs getting caught for the fines,which as it turns out a lot of clubs are gettin caught for any way.It was an idea that may of had the best intentions,but terrible timing.

A better way(an this is only an idea) may be 5 yellows merits a one game suspension,and for every 2 more another game ect ect.Players would soon shut up an watch their tackles wouldnt they.

The only real problem with this for me an I may be being critical but if the Fai are adding fines to help improve players attitude towards the ref,then should their also be a fine for refs who have bad attitudes towards players.It may sound a little far out but would it be the worst thing for even our very own league if the league asked for representitives from clubs to sit on a commitee along with the refs commitee itself to assess the fitness or grade of a ref.Tis just my thoughts on the situation.

Oy ya horse,as long as your creating chances thats the important thing.Defences can be sured up,midfields packed,but at the end of the day strikers have to score an take chances.Ye have made a big jump this season an it may take time to find your feet,ye have the players to play no prob so just go back to the basics an work it out..
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Quote Originally Posted by bluey View Post
    with the aoh cup first round. our b team are playin boscos at home on sat and then the a team are down to play both grangevale and glen celtic. obviously the c team is to play one of them and the a team playing other. we will know on thurs who is to play who, leaving aul alone until then.
    We are out in Five Mile Bridge. From the airport head towards Kinsale, pass the Five Mile Pub and continue towards Kinsale about 1/4 mile, at the crossroads (where the road widens), turn right up a country road and pitch is about 500 metres on the left hand side.

Hope this helps.
    'If we play as one, we can beat any eleven'

71 Posts

Fines

Littleman, I understand the need to remove dissent, but, a financial penalty is not the way to go in the middle of the worst recession since 1929 surely. Thats part of my grief - they guys who are making the rules arent guys in their mid 20's whose incomes have gone from close to a grand a week to 204 a week. Pay script and training and buy some tickets and your game of ball (maybe not even a full game) is costing you 15/20% of your wages!

Maybe I could live with a fine for dissent, but, not for a mis-timed tackle or referee error. The first is part of the sport - or do we become basketball? The second one - surely has to be some cover for that. I understand without refs we have no game........but, if the fines keep going.........we will have no players..then what game have we got?

6 games - 6 refs. 2 were good, 2 were ok, 2 were very poor..........the latter 2 being the supposed most experienced.....and one of the good ones was in a game we lost.

An example of a yellow card in a recent game, with a supposed experienced referee. One of our wingers laments a poor decision - our central midfielder shouts over "Shut up - even if he is wrong - shut up" - Booked for it!!! This ref also has the habit of letting the players walk away to call them back - demeaning the player, yet demanding respect.

FIFA rules are FIFA rules. Should be 18.

No Brian Sull or Shinkwin?

When is 2nd AUL game? Has the other group game taken place?

Help needed

Need to update records.
    Anyone can help re champions/runners up for Cork aul 07/08 & 08/09 .
    Cheers

Quote Originally Posted by historynut View Post
    Need to update records.
    Anyone can help re champions/runners up for Cork aul 07/08 & 08/09 .
    Cheers
    07/08 Winners Grattan United Runners up Kinsale FC (Not 100% on the runner up here)
    08/09 Winners Wilton United Runners up Kinsale FC

41 Posts

norrie news

07/08 Grattan Utd winners an Park runners up in the Cork Aul Premier.
    08/09 Wilton Winners and Kinsale Runners up in the Cork Aul Premier.

Hosre I agree 100% with everything ya say,but the people in charge dont.Like ya pointed out I dont think the people in charge are in touch with reality,but in sayin that what are the league doing to eleviate the issue.

With regards to refs,I havnt the slightest clue how ya sort that one out other than askin the players not to get frustrated,an thats near impossible.You would have thought considering the current position we are in at the minute they would be a bit more on "come over here player, followed by the calming chat" rather "than here,have that la an the next one your off".

There are very few refs now adays who will pull ya to one side an have a chat to calm ya down or to point out what ya did wrong,na now its "who do ya think your talkin ta"followed by the obligatry yellow.

Horse, Shinkwin and Keith Shaw were carrying knocks and we though it best not to risk them,Brian Sullivan was serving a one match ban.Toodlum had a family commitment.Hence though we were dissapointed we didnt get something from the game,theres still an awful long way to go so we arnt panicing.

The second Oscar game is the second week of December.
    Last edited by littleman; 29/10/2009 at 5:04 PM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DCross06 View Post
    Not too bad, the grass could do with another cut alright, hopefully it wont be as windy as last week. How ye fixed?
    Been a struggle so far this season, but looking forward to the game, should have most fellas available!
    Ye have had a reasonable start, its just a pity that Bohs have got such a head start on eveyone already.