Page 148 of 150 FirstFirst ... 4898138146147148149150 LastLast
Results 2,941 to 2,960 of 2998

Thread: Cork AUL 2009/10

Congratulations to Kinsale on winning the premier and also a huge Congrats to Killumney who after an amazing 26 league games just about got there.
    To escape criticism ~
    do nothing, say nothing, be nothing.

21 Posts

Foot.ie! Kinsale - Cork AUL Champions Again!!!!!

We just pipped Leeside to the title in dramatic fashion when Derek McCarthy (Cork AUL's version of Fernando Torres) did the biz again to get the winner in the 85th min by my watch.

Everybody feels sorry for Leeside who also lost out in the AOH on pens the week before. That's football - their day will come if they keep their heads up and continue doing the right things. It was so close on the night and throughout the season that the smallest thing like an offside given/not given in another match might have been the winning/losing of the league.

I think great credit is due to us. People talk about Kinsale having the experience but there were only 3 starters on friday with Prem league medals.
    If anything there was a hunger from the lads who hadn't one..to get one.

Kinsale have been THE top team in the AUL for a number of years.
    5 Prem league titles in 8 years is some achievment.
    Throw in two 2nd places and a fourth place in the other three years (Muck!).
    Add on two AOH Cup wins and a Mossie Linnane (+ 3 Mossie R-ups - more Muck!)
    Derek McCarthy has three Golden Boot trophies at home on the mantlepiece.
    Kinsale also did the AUL proud when they qualified for the Munster SENIOR Cup semi - final a few years back. (the other 3 teams were all LOI teams - That's further than the Rockmounts, Avondales etc that year).

Nearly 20 Kinsale players have played for the Cork AUL during this period and there was five in the squad that won the Oscar Traynor Cup in 2009.
    Derek McCarthy and Derek Varian have won international caps at Junior and Amateur level.

I think people who say that other teams are the bee's knees often discount us for some reason.
    Maybe it's because we're not from the city and people haven't seen a lot of us over the years.

But one thing is clear... when the trophies are being given out we will never be very far away.
    For players with ability, and ambition to become winners...
    you should be considering Kinsale as an option to further your career.

Also, as the yanks say "Winners are Grinners" - it's not all about taking part.
    The real fun is in being successful
    Last edited by Shilts; 31/05/2010 at 3:38 PM.

20 Posts
    couldnt agree more shilts congrats again...and congrats to kilumney on the league title win...prem a is going to be very hard next season..

"Winning isn't everything. Wanting to win is."

71 Posts

Boo or is it Poo?

The rumour mill says it was Boo who was caught short?

Congrats to all - fantatsic season of close finishes and so many play offs.

Its a long way back for those who didnt suceed, but no better motivation to stick together and go one step further.

Lads, I know there are many more viewers than posters on this site, but lets be brave. I want to propose some sort of co-operation between refs and teams at the AGM. Something where we can offer CONSTRUCTIVE comment on a refs game, which will help the ref become better, and therefore improve the games for us all. Makes life easier for them in the long run. FIFA putting 5 officials for games next season (no substitution for video replay, in my opinion, but thats for another day) shows refs need help and our limited number of assessors cant be everywhere.

Two examples that spring to mind are:

1) The official who speaks down to the players and disrespects them as he is booking or talking to them - if he knew how much it annoys players and actually earns him more disrespect than respect, maybe it would help him.

2) The official who tries to control a game that starts a hundred miles an hour by booking first tackle - in fact the opposite happened and he was trapped into throwing cards about like confetti. In a similar situation in another game, another official dealt with it by making it clear he wasnt taking any crap without flashing a card - if the official was aware of his other options surely it would make life easier for him?

Of course the other way would have to work too, where refs could offer advise to teams by telling them that screaming and shouting or appealing every little thing doesnt help them.

Any ideas - what do you think?

Congratulations to the clubs represented on here who captured league titles and cups during the season. And for those of us that finished empty handed...learn from our mistakes and come back stronger, fitter and wiser for next season.
    Enjoy the summer break.
    "Garlic bread - it’s the future, I’ve tasted it."
    Brian Potter - Phoenix Nights

And Now The End Is Near!!

As we come to the end of a very long and eventful season and we all head off for a well deserved summer of well......................more football (I Love the World Cup) I would just like to wish every one a long and enjoyable break.
    Its been a real good year on the foot (except for the impostors ) and I have to say I have really enjoyed the banter on here all year. I really think there is a good bunch of lads on here who are really just interested in the football and don't have any other agendas apart from a good discussion about football. It gets out of hand sometimes but lets face it we won't be footballers if it didn't
    Well done to all the winners and hard luck to all the losers.
    From Springfields point of view i think it will be a very interesting summer. Alot was learned this year and we will have to see if the O' Rourkes will stick around. If they do I expect some interesting signings for next year and with at least 3 guys returning from trips in Aus I think it coukd be another good year next year.
    As for the referee issues. I don't think it will ever go away until players learn to respect referees Yes I know "What do you mean us respect the referee?" Well I will ask you this- Would you be a referee for all the money in the world if you had to listen to you? If so, then I commend you my friend and you have obviously never challenged a referee. If not then spare a thought for these guys who give up their time (paid I understand) to make sure that the game we love to play goes ahead every week.
    I love the ref who gives ya a talk before the game starts and tells you how its going to go down. And if was to have any recommendation it would be that a ref goes to both teams before the start of every game and says-
    "Lads- all I am is human (and in most cases old humans) and I cannot be in every place at one time. I do not have eyes in the back of head and I can't see through brick walls. Without lines men I am going to get offside decisions wrong so my advice is to play to whistle just in case. I don't have a swear jar but I do have yellow and red cards and they can be more expensive than a swear jar so try to keep the language to a minimum and ye'll keep yere hard earned money in your pocket and not the AUL's. And remember football is a crazy game"
    Then everyone is on the same wavelength and there is the benefit of a relationship with a ref before the game starts but everyone knows where the line is.

Just my humble opinion. Enjoy the weather guys
    Forget what YOU want and think about the CLUB before there is none.

Everything in football comes down to consistency. If a referee calls one thing then he must do like wise for the remainder of the game. When it comes to booking players and you try to speak to the player on the same level but the other player is pleading innocence despite a complete explanation, it is particularly frustrating when the player talks down to a referee or dismisses the explanation.
    Last night, i refereed a derby game with the rain bucketing down and i warned both sets of players before the game that the conditions were right to be diving in. Of course a few tackles went in but i showed leniency because of the conditions. i went into the game presuming i'd be flashing the cards left right and centre but i didn't book any player.
    it amazes me the amount of management, players, supporter who don't understand active and inactive for offsides and if anything it completes undermines the role of the referee cause players, management assume they are right but in reality they don't know what they are giving out about.
    In one instance in a final of the cork cup on the sunday i'd an elderly man waving a stick and shouting at me "referee, ya ******** ya" because i blew for offside due to inactive/active but it was the right call to make.
    Refereeing in the cork cup at the weekend and my third last game on the sunday i struggled to keep up with the game because i was tired and worn down from the weekend. i spoke to both managers after game and apologised for any sluggishness but thankfully no decision effected results too badly.
    Thankfully i recovered for the last two games which were of a high standard.
    Another area is goalkeepers, how much protection do you give? Again last night twice the home goalkeeper came to field a high ball but failed to do so and as soon as he touched off a striker the manager was screaming for a free out. At one stage i'd my whistle to my mouth cause i was watching a striker who was inactive and i was waiting for him to come active at the edge of the six yard box, the management thought i was hesitating to blow for a free out for a foul on the keeper. Ultimately the striker didn't become active and the ball went for a corner. i blew for the corner and held up play to explain to the manager my decision and he was quick to apologise.
    its all give and take.

finally on a lighter note, the proposal to have two officials behind either box from next year reminds me of this apres match where they feel there should be " referees/umpires" behind the goal. four years ahead of everyone else!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BDC5D...eature=related
    two minutes in...
    Last edited by padjoe; 01/06/2010 at 8:53 PM.

Padjoe & Mainman,
    I have to agree on your point regarding the referee's. We've all had run ins but it has to start with the players & sideline showing respect. How many times can people remember a player being called over by the referee - player gets there and first thing he does is bend down to fix his socks/straighten shinguard etc i.e. pretty much showing disdain to the authority... Then complains that the ref was not showing respect/talking to the players - why should he when he's shown such disrespect?

There is a happy medium, I know neither side is perfect, but I'd agree with main man, when a referee takes a minute to talk to a team before a game along the lines of what is above, it does seem to get teams onto his wavelength and I've found it can help the game run well.

This season I was on the Innishvilla sideline for a few games and I must offer the manager of the Juniors credit - he really makes a point of not shouting at/giving out to the referee and tries to encourage the rest of the sideline to do the same - We spoke about it and he had 2 reasons.
    1 - How could he ask/tell his players to respect/not get into rows with the referee if he was doing it himself.
    2 - It makes it easier to chat/discuss with the referee a question/decision at a later stage - half time or a break in play, i.e. a conversation rather than a shouting match - as padjoe says above a lot of times if a referee gets an opportunity to just explain a decision it can clear a lot of things up - at the end of the day the referee should (and does) know the rules (and interpretation of them) better than most others

One other issue/question I would have is that the rules laid out by FIFA for referees is very much aimed at the professional game - i.e. the ref has linesmen & 4th official - should they look at another code for amateur referees...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Quote Originally Posted by Innishvilla View Post
    Padjoe & Mainman,

One other issue/question I would have is that the rules laid out by FIFA for referees is very much aimed at the professional game - i.e. the ref has linesmen & 4th official - should they look at another code for amateur referees...

I just can't believe the powers that be are considering more officials when the amateur level is crying out for help. The inactive/active for me is the biggest problem. Not my biggest problem but for the grassroots game all round.
    But what do you bring in and how do you reform it? In Australia, they at least try to send one linesman and one referee at every junior game and where they can't send a referee due to chronic shortages they have players trained up to officiate.
    Just be grateful its not GAA because they don't even know what their rules are at the moment.

Hey guys,I just want to congratulate Kinsale on winning the league,there a great club thats well organised and have lots of good people doing a lot of hard work behind the scenes.If they beat ourselves and Leeside in our own backyards,they deserve it.I was at the match last Friday night and to be honest, I thought it was quite scrappy but I thought Kinsale overall just about shaded it,they seem to have wanted it more.
    I could'nt help but notice that booboys has been fairly quiet over the last few weeks,it's a pity for Leeside he had'nt kept quite all season instead of coming on here talking rubbish saying he's going to win this/that etc... and turning the whole of the AUL against himself and his club.It's very hard to win anything in any league in the AUL, so by insulting everyone else,all he ended up doing was giving opposeing clubs more 'ammo' to beat them.Well,I for one believe he got what he deserved,as the old saying goes,'if you talk the talk,you better walk the walk'...I'd like to hear what the Leeside lads here on the forum have to say about him??..I can guarantee this,if he was playing with us,he would have been thrown out of the club by now!!

Biggest weekend of the clubs history coming up.First up is our A team in the Mossie Linnane Final against Leeside at 12.Unfortunately for all our supporters they will have to wait a couple of more hours until our B Team play Killumney in the County Cup Final.Dont ask me why there is such a gap in times but thats the AUL for ya.
    Been a great year for the club so far.Our U11,U12 and U15 teams have all brought back league titles so hopefully this time next week we will have 2 more trophies in the cabinet.
    Both teams will go in as underdogs next Monday but who knows on the day.Leeside have seen there season come down to this for Silverware but we know what needs to be done.
    Killumney have won out what looked like a very hard league to win but looking at the AOH final whoever wants it most will win.
    Here's hoping for two cups in Mitchelstown Monday night

Quote Originally Posted by Toebomb 11 View Post
    Hey guys,I just want to congratulate Kinsale on winning the league,there a great club thats well organised and have lots of good people doing a lot of hard work behind the scenes.If they beat ourselves and Leeside in our own backyards,they deserve it.I was at the match last Friday night and to be honest, I thought it was quite scrappy but I thought Kinsale overall just about shaded it,they seem to have wanted it more.
    I could'nt help but notice that booboys has been fairly quiet over the last few weeks,it's a pity for Leeside he had'nt kept quite all season instead of coming on here talking rubbish saying he's going to win this/that etc... and turning the whole of the AUL against himself and his club.It's very hard to win anything in any league in the AUL, so by insulting everyone else,all he ended up doing was giving opposeing clubs more 'ammo' to beat them.Well,I for one believe he got what he deserved,as the old saying goes,'if you talk the talk,you better walk the walk'...I'd like to hear what the Leeside lads here on the forum have to say about him??..I can guarantee this,if he was playing with us,he would have been thrown out of the club by now!!
    In fairness to Boo I think it was fairly obvious he was just trying to wind people up and have a bit of a laugh. I dont think he took it that serious and i dont we should either.

Quote Originally Posted by pacman View Post
    In fairness to Boo I think it was fairly obvious he was just trying to wind people up and have a bit of a laugh. I dont think he took it that serious and i dont we should either.
    Maybe so, but it was totally out with the tone of this discussion forum - hence not very welcome. If you look back posters did react enough that there were warnings of the topic being closed...

I wouldn't say that from it I became anti Leeside though, I'd still like the club to end the season with something so all the best to them in the Mossie final
    George Hamilton...

71 Posts

Stuff

On the Refs discussion, I understand what you are saying about respect must be given......but given respect is never as good as earned respect. The point Im making about the ref with the disrespectful attitude to the players is not the fact that he does it - its the fact that he did it to us in October and it was on this forum again in March. Why? No mechanism for passing constructive criticism to the society. I have seen him in games when he hasnt done it, and he is a good ref.

The overall point is that, at the moment, its an us V them scenario, and it shouldnt be. Maybe a club delegation need to go to the refs meeting and hear their side of it? I believe that if we work together we can make life easier for them.....and therefore cheaper for us.

The Fines system has to go in this current economic climate - might have been a good idea back then but Ireland 2007 is a planet we will never see again and not remotely near Ireland 2010. Taking money from club coffers when less and less coming into club coffers - I cant see the sense of it. Has to be a better way.

On our friend Boo, I agree most of his stuff was jovial, even if one or two bits went a tad too far!

I dont think it made me dislike Leeside, though the arrogance didnt endear his club to many with comments like "development squad". I hope they win the Mossie (Park, ye can have the County!!) and I think they deserve Team of the Year.

Best of luck to all 3/4 teams this weekend in the end of season matches... Would be nice to see park take a title from one of the two games but I'd guess they'd have to be underdogs for both matches.
    Killumney have been very strong all season - Won AUL 1, got out of town in Munster Junior beating Grattan, Castleview and Macroom on route, Got to the last cork round of the FAI, beating us & Knockavilla on route... Won their semi final 8:0 over Carrigtwohill United over two legs (and beat us again in 1/4 finals) - I'll be honest I'd put it between them and Springers for team of the season - winning the County Cup would give it to them for me...
    Last edited by Innishvilla; 04/06/2010 at 9:43 AM. Reason: typo
    George Hamilton...

20 Posts

team of the year

Quote Originally Posted by Innishvilla View Post
    Best of luck to all 3/4 teams this weekend in the end of season matches... Would be nice to see park take a title from one of the two games but I'd guess they'd have to be underdogs for both matches.
    Killumney have been very strong all season - Won AUL 1, got out of town in Munster Junior beating Grattan, Castleview and Macroom on route, Got to the last cork round of the FAI, beating us & Knockavilla on route... Won their semi final 8:0 over Carrigtwohill United over two legs (and beat us again in 1/4 finals) - I'll be honest I'd put it between them and Springers for team of the season - winning the County Cup would give it to them for me...
    i dunno about that innish what about us(macroom)we won premier a semi final of the aoh,1/4 finals of the mossie linnane,last round of cork in the muster junior,our second team won their league team of the month for april,1/4 finals of the presadents cup pushed champions kinsale all the way in the 3rd round of the aoh cup losing 3-2,dont think any club has had both teams win their leagues this year correct me if im wrong i think we should be well up their....

"Winning isn't everything. Wanting to win is."

Quote Originally Posted by holden10 View Post
    i dunno about that innish what about us(macroom)we won premier a semi final of the aoh,1/4 finals of the mossie linnane,last round of cork in the muster junior,our second team won their league team of the month for april,1/4 finals of the presadents cup pushed champions kinsale all the way in the 3rd round of the aoh cup losing 3-2,dont think any club has had both teams win their leagues this year correct me if im wrong i think we should be well up their....
    Yes holden you can be right up there - but each of Macroom's two teams would have to be separate entries - a wonderful season for each team and for the club as a whole, may apologies on not putting ye on my two nominations.

But I would still stand behind Killumney if they take the County Cup - combined with league titles and out of cork for Munster - I would call that the equivalent of 3 wins/titles (roughly).
    Lets be honest about two weeks ago it looked like we'd just be handing it to Leeside...

(One other thing though on the 1/4 final of Presidents & 1/4 final of Mossie - am I right in thinking that a lot of times that is just winning one match)
    George Hamilton...

Won their semi final 8:0 over Carrigtwohill United over two legs (and beat us again in 1/4 finals) - I'll be honest I'd put it between them and Springers for team of the season - winning the County Cup would give it to them for me...[/QUOTE]

To be fair, carrig were woefully poor in the second leg of the semi final. turned up with the bare 11 and after one early effort which hit the bar. Killumney ran the show against a team who played with no heart and no pride. carrig keeper had a horror show as well. failed to come for second goal and was beaten long range from his own kick out. even the sixth goal in the second leg came froma defensive mix up. the game was blown up early too. the carrig team from first leg was barely recognisable to second leg. killumney are the best attacking side i've seen this year though

End of season

Well lads, i must say that it has been a good year for Junior football in Cork. As well as being involved with Glen Celtic i have managed to get around to a lot of games in the other sections. And i thought the standard of football was impressive.

We ended up 7th in a very close league and could have easily been caught in the relegation battle only that we won our last game. I expected Bohs to win it but i think all of the Cup runs they had did not help them at all and they needed something from their last game to clinch it.

Was very surprised to see Ballyvolane going down as they took 4 points from us and i thought that they were a fairly good team. If they keep that squad they should come straight back up.

And finally lads i am thinking about trying my hand at becoming a Referee next season (mad or what?) so if i do make the grade and meet any of ye in a game i hope ye all will take it easy on me. Cheers

27 Posts
    well done Timmypav and best of luck