Page 144 of 150 FirstFirst ... 4494134142143144145146 ... LastLast
Results 2,861 to 2,880 of 2998

Thread: Cork AUL 2009/10

Bella/Mainmanram not having a pop here but a serious question, and i know you'd take getting screwed and getting the rub of the green as part of every season thats how it goes but would ye say ye deserved to win the league after ye admitted Millstreet were robbed and ye were handed the point ye needed to win a league??? personally i dont know could i celebrate a great season that ye had with a finish like that!!

71 Posts
    Ghost, it isnt Springers fault as everyone has said. It isnt down to one game either. Long spin home for the poor Millstreet lads. Ref should have played another min or two to avoid the hassle. Well done Springers

Holden, All the lads raving about your set-up. Well done. Congrats on winning it and congrats to Ballyvolane. You cant imagine most conversations upto recently were who were going to be runners up to Kanturk! They must be sick.

I will be the first to review the season, and I wil do it without passing it by our manager!!

Well, we received an unexpected promotion to Premier A, so our season was going to be harder from the beginning. New Managers and 4 or 5 new faces led to a slow start. Overall, we are happy to avoid relegation, but, if we were to be harsh on ourselves, we left a lot of points behind us over the year. We suffered most at the withdrawal of Ballincollig.
    We exited the MJC, FAI & Mossie with a whimper so we must be disapointed with that.

The AOH quarter finals was a big achievement for the second season running, but we could have reached the semis - strange to think a 4-1 defeat is seen as one that got away!

Overall we achieved our goal and are over the moon with that. We have great reason for optimism we feel, so its onwards and upwards for 2010/2011.

20 Posts
    anyone know whats leading the golden boot???

20 Posts
    coachford 0 leeside 2

sorry for not posting since saturday, was waiting for the dust to settle!!! totally agree with pacman post. daylight robbery it was last sat in o'neill park. 1st goal we scored in first half disallowed for what nobody knows i think only the man in the middle on the day. grattan awarded peno then early in second half for a challenge that was around 4-5 yards outside the box. justice for the pen when well saved by keeper. then to top it all off, scored a perfect goal with 10 to go but was ruled out for offside which was impossible as the grattan defender was the one who finished the ball into the net which was on the line. Think myself the ref lost run of the game from v early on, gave out bookings which should not of been and made alot of wrong things. wont mention name of ref but all anyone has to do is look at report on echo tonight. game itself for the rest was a battle and leeside did have the better chances throughout the game. grattan kepper made some v good saves and was also impressed with the centre half, dont know name but he was no.2 on the day. anyway rant over. must say was first time up to o'neill park since last year and the dressing room area was very impressive. Coachford 0-2 Leeside tonight. couldn make it 2night as i was looking after our u12 team. from talking 2 the lads. Another decision went against us 2night in the first half, had a penalty which keeper got hand to and pushed it into the side of net, ball went through hole in the net. everyone celebrating and ref said that it was saved and out for a corner. Brilliant!!! anyway got the goals in last 15 min that where needed both from derek delea and another clean sheet. Sets up a fantastic last game of the season v Kinsale. Everyone in club now looking forward to the Cross on friday night

41 Posts
    Holden I'd say its a safe bet it would be someone from the Premier A whos leading the golden boot,not that it seems to matter to anyone anyhow over the last few years.The thing seems to have lost its prestige.Gouldie our main striker has 10 in the league.But Im presuming Scully has more than that.Its been pretty tight in the Prem this season with only a few hammerings doled out.

We played 18 league games an had 10 clean sheets in those 18 games.There were very few games in the Prem where strikers got hatricks,if any .Slim pickins as they say,but teams have been getting stronger especially in defence for the most part.I couldnt tell ya who has scored what for Leeside.Tis more of a team effort from the Leeside lads than any one main scorer.

Well done Bella an Main Man.Great season.To Glenvale too.A bit of silverware for Yelverton.

I was told all about the goal that never was tonight down in Coachford.Interesting decision by the ref,but know doubt we will read all about it shortly from the Leeside contingent.Leeside an Kinsale,I'll make sure to be at that if the Leeside folk will allow me........................................

Bluey,if I thought for one split second anything I had to say on any aspect of our game would be met with an open mind and honesty from certain Leeside posters I'd post,but it wont an I couldnt be bothered.

Iv learned a harsh lesson this season an my punishment for not holding our lead an our heads is having to watch ye an Kinsale play russian roulette for the title.We'v been 1st for most of the season,2nd for a spell an ended up 3rd an had one hand on the tilte an dropped it,with the finishing line in sight.We let slip a league title,someone now has a chance to win one,sqeaky bum time..........may the best team win.
    Last edited by littleman; 18/05/2010 at 5:26 AM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Quote Originally Posted by the ghost View Post
    Bella/Mainmanram not having a pop here but a serious question, and i know you'd take getting screwed and getting the rub of the green as part of every season thats how it goes but would ye say ye deserved to win the league after ye admitted Millstreet were robbed and ye were handed the point ye needed to win a league??? personally i dont know could i celebrate a great season that ye had with a finish like that!!
    Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    Ghost, it isnt Springers fault as everyone has said. It isnt down to one game either. Long spin home for the poor Millstreet lads. Ref should have played another min or two to avoid the hassle. Well done Springers.
    Ghost - Milstreet were robbed due to the amount of extra time the ref played but the ref felt this was justified due to the time wasting carried out by Milstreet throughout the game.Again I am not going to get dragged into a debate here about the time.
    Am I happy celebrating a league we won by nothing giving up till the very very end? You better believe I am. As Horse said its not about the one game- we won the league by only losing 1 game all season and scoring over 60 goals along the way. We won the league by going the whole season at home dropping only 2 points. We won the league by saying to ourselves "we are never beat". And yes sometimes to do that you need a little help on the way.
    And another thing- no one handed us the league. In the time added on we still had to go and get a goal.
    Eddie is the new Alex Ferguson
    Forget what YOU want and think about the CLUB before there is none.

Coachford 0-2 Leeside

Very dissapointing again last night, Did everything we could to keep Leeside out but when you have players like Derek Delea to come off the bench at half time you know your in trouble.
    On the goal that never was , what can I say maybe its time to fix the net .
    After that I really did think it could be our night but again those are the joys.
    Best of luck to both Kinsale and Leeside in the deciding game.

Back to our own agenda, Beat Wilton Thurs. week to stay in the league anything else is just not worth thinking about at the moment.
    To escape criticism ~
    do nothing, say nothing, be nothing.

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Holden I'd say its a safe bet it would be someone from the Premier A whos leading the golden boot,not that it seems to matter to anyone anyhow over the last few years.The thing seems to have lost its prestige.Gouldie our main striker has 10 in the league.But Im presuming Scully has more than that.Its been pretty tight in the Prem this season with only a few hammerings doled out.

We played 18 league games an had 10 clean sheets in those 18 games.There were very few games in the Prem where strikers got hatricks,if any .Slim pickins as they say,but teams have been getting stronger especially in defence for the most part.I couldnt tell ya who has scored what for Leeside.Tis more of a team effort from the Leeside lads than any one main scorer.

Well done Bella an Main Man.Great season.To Glenvale too.A bit of silverware for Yelverton.

I was told all about the goal that never was tonight down in Coachford.Interesting decision by the ref,but know doubt we will read all about it shortly from the Leeside contingent.Leeside an Kinsale,I'll make sure to be at that if the Leeside folk will allow me........................................

Bluey,if I thought for one split second anything I had to say on any aspect of our game would be met with an open mind and honesty from certain Leeside posters I'd post,but it wont an I couldnt be bothered.

Iv learned a harsh lesson this season an my punishment for not holding our lead an our heads is having to watch ye an Kinsale play russian roulette for the title.We'v been 1st for most of the season,2nd for a spell an ended up 3rd an had one hand on the tilte an dropped it,with the finishing line in sight.We let slip a league title,someone now has a chance to win one,sqeaky bum time..........may the best team win.
    no prob littleman didnt no it has lost its value over the last few years im only playing aul football since last year.just asking coz i think i could ave a shout in it....

Ya bella ur right in saying yer a good team no doubt!! But just as a neutral its a pity theres a shadow over ye winning the league because of the man in the middle as everyone will admit was a joke. And to be fair to millstreet if ye can admit it was all a farce they deserved to win the league having to get 3 points away to springfeild and been robbed!

but Bella/MMR springers can only play until the whistle blows to be fair to ye and ye won by hook or by crook as a manager once said to us!! do both teams go up??

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MainManRam View Post
    Ghost - Milstreet were robbed due to the amount of extra time the ref played but the ref felt this was justified due to the time wasting carried out by Milstreet throughout the game.Again I am not going to get dragged into a debate here about the time.
    Am I happy celebrating a league we won by nothing giving up till the very very end? You better believe I am. As Horse said its not about the one game- we won the league by only losing 1 game all season and scoring over 60 goals along the way. We won the league by going the whole season at home dropping only 2 points. We won the league by saying to ourselves "we are never beat". And yes sometimes to do that you need a little help on the way.
    And another thing- no one handed us the league. In the time added on we still had to go and get a goal.
    Eddie is the new Alex Ferguson
    MMR I completely agree with you. Well done

Firstly condolences to all at Bohs. Desperate thing to happen.

Littleman I owe u a drink! Holding leeside to a draw has set up a fantastic finale to a bloody long season! Heard there were a few dodgy decisions by the ref but they've gone against us all and we'll certainly take it.

I'll also think you'll find Kinsale were top of the league for the majority of the season littleman! We were only knocked off when beaten by Glenthorn at the end of March/early April. Still, it's whoevers top at the end that counts. Leeside serious favourites i suppose but we've nothing to lose. Hopefully a big crowd down to watch it. Any idea when it will be on lads?

The Golden boot has been devalued by the AUL themselves by making up the rules as they went along last year. I have very little interest in it since that. I'd say Delea is up there surely..

Finally best of luck to both teams in the AOH final on friday night. Great occasion and enjoy it.

Hey Guys,long time viewer,first time poster,I play with Gratten.Firstly,I'd like to congratulate all teams who won their domestic cups/leagues,fair play to ye.I do'nt know much about football outside the Premier(except for Springers who beat us in the FAI!!) so most of my posts will be about prem/prem A...I'd like to congratulate both Leeside and Kinsale on having such great seasons to date,looking forward to the season finale blow in Little Island...after playing both of them recently,I reckon Kinsale just might have that little bit more experience,as they have won the league on numerous occasions in recent years...In saying that,Leeside have been on a hell of a run.Approx 2 mths ago,I thought there was no way they could catch us(kinsale and ourselves) with the amount of games they had to play(I'm open to correction,but I think we were 21 points ahead of them at 1 stage)...but they did,and to be honest about it,they should have beaten us last weekend,they were robbed!!..on a Gratten note,I was bitterly disappointed in which our league campaign came to an end,we were so close but we blew it!!..I thought we got ahead of ourselves a bit and we started to believe in our own hype!(we thought we had it won down the Anglers on many a night!)...I hope we hang on to a few of our 'stars' for next yr because if the word on the street is true,a few of them maybe looking at pastures new!!...hopefully,we'll keep everyone and maybe get 1 or 2 in...on a lighter note,looking forward to the 'view game at the wnd,should be a cracking northside derby!!

when is the kinsale/leeside game down to be played?

bog/padjoe from what im hearing it will be either sat/sun week the 29th/30th may.

20 Posts
    welcome toebomb playing with macroom myself so will be coming up against you next year...looking forward to the test...

Can Scaffa or Mario confirm the 1A title decider for this wknd,think I read its down for Sat??
    Marty

Firstly thanks to everyone who posted well wishes to our club, they were very greatly appreciated..

Well done to springers and very unlucky to Millstreet, sounded like a belter of a game down in cobh..

Also Well done to Ballyvolane on reaching the promised land of AUL football

Marty our game has been put back again to Tuesday night in the Fairfield...

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by marty View Post
    Can Scaffa or Mario confirm the 1A title decider for this wknd,think I read its down for Sat??
    Hi lads match switched to next Tuesday night 6.45.....And thanks to all the people who posted reguarding the death
    WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10