Page 115 of 150 FirstFirst ... 1565105113114115116117125 ... LastLast
Results 2,281 to 2,300 of 2998

Thread: Cork AUL 2009/10

Quote Originally Posted by super_mario View Post
    We lost 1-0 to a good dillons cross side yesterday in our semi-final, conceded early from a very soft goal on our behalf and its was chasing the game from a very early stage for us, someting we didnt want to do. Dillons cross played the better for the first 15-20 mins and after that we totally controlled this game.We really should have scored after 25 mins with a free header coming back off the inside of the post.

The second half we totally outplayed dillons but we just couldnt score, we had numerous free kicks and corners but the dillons defense were good at defending the set pieces and cleared ball after ball, thought we deserved to win the game or at least a crack at extra time but that wasnt the case and i like to wish them well in the final,

From another point of view i think dillons cross line was a disgrace and everytime we called a foul or anything on our side we were told shut our mouths that we were f***ing this and we were F***ing that and the second half was played with just the one ball (our ball) dillons cross had there footballs hid behind the water bottles with a towel over them, our keeper had stones thrown at him and to be honest it was a joke..
    First of all, those youngfellas who threw stones at your keeper are nothing to do with us, they probably just live in the area, theres not much we could do about that and we cleared them off as soon as they started
    Secondly yere line were just as bad as ours I was called a few things I wouldnt repeat here and ye never got out of the referees ear the whole game, calling for everything and trying to get fellas booked and sent off, but it was just in the heat of the game and with what was at stake.
    Finally I thought it was an even game, not much in it, I didnt think ye created much in the final third, ye had plenty possession in the middle and a few free kicks, but besides the header off the post I think JJ only had to make one save, so I dont know how you think ye should have won the game, we had a good few more chances to make it two but couldnt finish them, and we had about 7 corners, so in the end I think we just about deserved it.
    On the issue of hiding balls I cant comment cause I didnt notice it while I was playing but I dont remember any long stoppages or time-wasting in the match besides when yere keeper got treatment. Anyway I thought ye were a good team who were very gracious in defeat and played some decent football, chance for revenge tomorrow night.
    Who's takin the cones??????

41 Posts
    I watched the game Mario /Dcross.Enjoyed it to,good to see a good crowd at a junior game.I popped up to watch a bit of the Mayfield/Avondale game an their were more wathin ye than them.With regards to your game it was 50/50 in terms of effort an commitment.

Dcross ye have some very good players an looked comfortable in defence,quick to break an I thought the lad up front really put in a hard shift.Mario ye tryed in fairness but Dillons just seemed to want it a bit more an seemed to just be a bit better in their use of the ball.Mario ye did in fairness put them underpressure in the 2nd half especially towards the end but as Iv said they defended well an JJ for me is one of the best 2 or 3 keepers in the Aul.We had him on the Aul side last season for a friendly an in my opinion he should have been selected this season.But thats another story.I suppose Mario bein honest ye had plenty of ball in the Dillons final 3rd but the ball in or shot just wasnt good enough on the day despite a galant effort on yer behalf.

I did laugh at the lads throwin stones but its junior football an these things happen.On the matchballs,tis just frustratin I know but if the shoe was on the other foot,,,,,,,,,,,,we'v all been there.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Not sure i can agree with there keeper being great cos to be honest i tho he was quite poor, dropped a few in the first half and was very slow off his line, in saying that everyone has bad days and maybe it was just one of those days for him,

Regarding the young fellas throwing stones they were on yer line and ye are responsible for it, if it happened in the fairfield tomorrow night it would be dealt with straight away by us.

Ye didnt create much either and yer goal was a mistake by our centre half, other than that our keeper didnt have to make any other saves only a very tame shot at the end that was straight at him.

But its all history now and the simple fact is that ye won we lost and its back to the league for us and a huge few days on the league front, have 3 games in 5 days so to take 9 points from these games would really set us on our way to winning the league. We have to get the cup loss out of our system cos the reality is the league is what everyone wants.

first of all,shetland if a man is carried off a field after a tackle how in your right mind can you say its a dive.....come on man!!!
    And if leeds pk is right in saying a member of your club was sent off over the weekend for desent once again .....come on man!!!!!!!!
    Owl i had not seen the league so i could end up eating humble pie bout the league,ye are back in it.
    kanturk have really bottled it for a team who looked dead certs,what has happened there donaldinho?
    Have ye still to play eachother?
    Mr Mario i have been watching aul matches for ten years or more now and i have to say for bohs to give out about any line is comical.
    Best of luck to dillions cross in the final its always god to see a local team in the cross

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by super_mario View Post
    Not sure i can agree with there keeper being great cos to be honest i tho he was quite poor, dropped a few in the first half and was very slow off his line, in saying that everyone has bad days and maybe it was just one of those days for him,

Regarding the young fellas throwing stones they were on yer line and ye are responsible for it, if it happened in the fairfield tomorrow night it would be dealt with straight away by us.

Ye didnt create much either and yer goal was a mistake by our centre half, other than that our keeper didnt have to make any other saves only a very tame shot at the end that was straight at him.

But its all history now and the simple fact is that ye won we lost and its back to the league for us and a huge few days on the league front, have 3 games in 5 days so to take 9 points from these games would really set us on our way to winning the league. We have to get the cup loss out of our system cos the reality is the league is what everyone wants.
    Well done to D cross yesterday fair play im gutted still though 3 years on the trot now semi final loses......but onwards and upwards league is the main priority now as you said mario 3 big games we ll be looking to avenge that loss yesterday and playing in the fairfield will probably help us a bit more dillons pitch did nt help yesterday at all
    WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10

Well done to Dillons yesterday a big win for them and I look forward to playin ye in the final,as for the game nice to see neither team had much to say about the ref Franco is a nice guy and by the reports stayed out of it and let the game go which is how a cup semi should be.As for Bohs next 3 games are huge starting tomorrow,the mid week games definatly the hardest for ye I think ye will be too strong for Rathcoole and if ye can muster up 6 points from the other two games then it will tell a lot about ye--but expect nothing easy!!
    Marty

Quote Originally Posted by goal-achio View Post
    first of all,shetland if a man is carried off a field after a tackle how in your right mind can you say its a dive.....come on man!!!
    And if leeds pk is right in saying a member of your club was sent off over the weekend for desent once again .....come on man!!!!!!!!
    Owl i had not seen the league so i could end up eating humble pie bout the league,ye are back in it.
    kanturk have really bottled it for a team who looked dead certs,what has happened there donaldinho?
    Have ye still to play eachother?
    Mr Mario i have been watching aul matches for ten years or more now and i have to say for bohs to give out about any line is comical.
    Best of luck to dillions cross in the final its always god to see a local team in the cross
    goalichio read the previous threads i never said the player dived ,it was a bad tackle but not a two footed one.and as reguards the ballyvolane player being sent off for dissent,,totally inaccurate .from what ive read on this forum today i am being mistaken for a ballyvolane member. totally wrong.last club iwas involved with villa gone two years ago.mr leeds park and co have me mistaken for some one in ballyvolane. i go to different matches every week.,mostly premier and premier a.both looking very interesting,.my tipps for honors are a tight battle between leeside and grattan,with grattan to win out,and i think macroom to win prem A with either kanturk or ballyvilane to get the second spot.think i will let the bitching to others on this forum in future,. its gone to a point now that you cant express an oppinion.my game for this week is blarneystreet and leeside in ao h.

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LeedsPk View Post
    Did young John Corcoran get sent off at the weekend?? and for what???? heard he got sent then i heard the ref asked him to be taken off, if so for what?? disent?? Pot Kettle Black. Those poor youth players will be burnt out from playin so many games for ye- if they lose that league then we all know why
    LeedsPk

Whatever issues you have with shetland has nothing to do with Ballyvolane AFC. How our club is run and how it is decided whether youth players are used again is not your concern. If our youths don't win the league(which they will) it will not be because of an 18 year old playing a couple of extra games. To suggest our youths are a one man team is an insult to the rest of those players and their management who have done so well all season.

Goal- achico, i hope you do eat humble pie !!! And yes we still have to play Kanturk at home. Do ye still to play them ?
    I have been reading the posts between Shetland and the Leeds lads and i have to say its getting a way too personal. To be fair to Shetland, no matter who he is, was only expressing his opinion on what he saw, one incident, nothing else. For a few of the Leeds lads to come back with comments about, the line, our youth players, why one of Ballyvolane players was sent off, and insinuating that we have players sent off on a regular basis for dissent is in my view totally dissrespectful to say the least. To anybody else reading this forum, outside the AUL, Ballyvolane FC name is being shown here in a very bad light.
    I enjoy this forum because it gives us players a chance to express our views without becoming personal, but after reading some of the petty comments made recently, in particular towards my club, one by someone of who i know quite well, i wonder is really worth logging on anymore ???
    I have played Leeds on numerous occasions and although there is a rivalary there i think it is a healthy one and not once, win or loose have i ever posted something personal about Leeds or any club for that matter. No need for it.

41 Posts

Cool

Iv been playin an watchin this league for a long long time an I know lads can get carried away with all the **** an wind an think because they are due so,ethin cause they are havin a great season.But a great season dosent guarrentee a winning season.

We are 2 points ahead of Kinsale.Leeside are nearly 20 points behind us yet Leeside are favs to challange.A joke total a joke.Trust me us Gratts are lookin at Kinsale an Kinsale only as the team we have to beat to win the league.I think Leeside are havin a crackin season,an
    Are a class side,but so are Kinsale,an Wilton,an all the other sides who will need to get a result to stay safe:Im lucky I have a sense of humor.

Dont think I ever mentioned that youth team being a one man team, i know 3 of the youth lads played over the last 2 weeks and feel its a bit unfair to be relying on them when its a critical part of their season, going for the league and a cup semi wednesday nite against cork city- just my own opinion and i apologise if it offended. We all know shetland is involved with your club and i have nothing against him but he started this with a ridiculous post about one of our players nearly gettin his leg broken so in all fairness im goin to defend my team mate/club, and then he was accused by another member of ur club on this of taking a dive so maybe the whole taking things personal was started by ye.

Iv nothing but respect for what ye have achieved as a club, good set up and some good people involved and i honestly hope ye get promoted this year but just keep the 'cheap shot' comments to a minimum

didnt think beating ye would still b bitter 2 weeks after beating ye, haha!! good luck 2moro as well, an awful pitch to have to deal with especially wit the rain that is falling.

41 Posts
    Owl do ya know whats lost an I mean totally lost on a lot of posters on this thread............They seem to think its a sign of weakness to say a compeditor is playin well an doin well.Another club is doin better than ours,how dare they.Now Im not sayin either side is wrong or right but its just turnin into a slaggin match between Leeds an Ballyvolane an theirs no need for it.

Remember,all yer open whinging an fighting will only fan the flames of the sides who are chasin ye

[QUOTE=shetland;1340421].and as reguards the ballyvolane player being sent off for dissent,,totally inaccurate .from what ive read on this forum today i am being mistaken for a ballyvolane member.

Funny how after saying you are not involved with ballyvolane and in a previous thread you said u were at our game and didnt know anything bout the ballyvolane game- you still get defensive about the volane sending off not being for disent and my comment being totally inacurate. Guilty as charged

Ur right littleman and im not getting involved in this argument anymore- even tho it is loads of fun

Littleman, my sentiments excactly. Too old now for playschool arguments.

Quote Originally Posted by goal-achio View Post
    Were you at the match goal-achio???

Another thing the AUL should be ashamed of themselves to make us play 4 games in 7 days is just not on like and not just us to make any team play that many games is a disgrace, if one player picks up a knock how on earth is 1 day enough time for him to recover, like our keeper got a nasty gash on his shin on sunday chunk of skin taken out of it and it swelled up after the game and, i dont think he will be able to play tuesday night ( huge loss if he cant ).

With our squad being tested to the limit and 1 long term injury and a few niggly injuries i hope everyone came through sunday and will be fully fit.
    Last edited by super_mario; 30/03/2010 at 12:31 AM.

41 Posts

norrie news

Fair point Mario.

Just on a side note,the refs in our last few games seem to be gettin very cranky about lads wearin cycle shorts,especially if they are a different colour to the shorts.But if the 2 sides as has happened only recently have the same coloured socks and shorts then thats fine.What the hell is that all about.

Just looking at the fixtures there and its now going to be 6 games in 11 days for us, that is an absolute joke, there should be no team ever expected to play that many games, so we are just hoping nobody tonight picks up a knock cos if you do it will almost definately mean your out and will miss the next game, would love to know if there is anything we could do about it.

Makes you wonder if getting run in the cups is really worth it, like take grattan for example they were knocked out of cups early and now in hindsight thats what prob will win them the league, now i know littleman ye prob would like to be in one or 2 cups still but id say ye would take the league over all the cups combined, and i really hope ye win the league aswell, nice to see local teams doing well. really frustrating we put in alot of effort all year to be where we are and the AUL goes and does that to us, but being honest they are capable of anything and it doesnt suprise me one bit.

41 Posts
    Tis tough goin Mario but if your good enough ya will do it.When your winning games cant come quick enough an when your loosin ya hope the next game never reaches ya.

Its not that I dont have an sympathy for ye or the rest with games in hand but its the way it is an thats that.I know what Im talking about here because we have been there an done that.The 1st season we won the Prem we reached the quaters of the Fai and the last 16 of the Mjc,the semis of the Aoh and Mossie an were left to play 13 league games in 4 weeks.And we had games called off for our lads playin with the Irish team and the Aul side.

The 2nd year we won the prem we reached the last 16 of the Fai,the quaters of the Mjc,the semis of the Aoh an again were left with the 13 games to play an in fact we ended up playin Kanturk on Saturday an Ballyvolane the very next day to complete or fixture list in time for our lads to go on their hols.

On both occassions we didnt play our 6 th league games till March.

We won the league both times so all the hard work was worth it,an Mario if ye get promoted it will be too.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Fair point Mario.

Just on a side note,the refs in our last few games seem to be gettin very cranky about lads wearin cycle shorts,especially if they are a different colour to the shorts.But if the 2 sides as has happened only recently have the same coloured socks and shorts then thats fine.What the hell is that all about.
    Having struggled with injury for the last couple of seasons i have come across this a couple of times littleman and i have to agree with you its an absolute fckin joke. They don't mind some teams having fellas wearing multicolored socks and shorts but if you dare wear cycle shorts which actually protect a player then you get grief. With Springers we wear green shorts and trying to get a pair of green cycle shorts is nigh on impossible.
    Forget what YOU want and think about the CLUB before there is none.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    POST #1
    We are 2 points ahead of Kinsale.Leeside are nearly 20 points behind us yet Leeside are favs to challange.A joke total a joke.Trust me us Gratts are lookin at Kinsale an Kinsale only as the team we have to beat to win the league.I think Leeside are havin a crackin season,an
    Are a class side,but so are Kinsale,an Wilton,an all the other sides who will need to get a result to stay safe:Im lucky I have a sense of humor.

POST #2
    Tis tough goin Mario but if your good enough ya will do it.When your winning games cant come quick enough an when your loosin ya hope the next game never reaches ya.

The 1st season we won the Prem we reached the quaters of the Fai and the last 16 of the Mjc,the semis of the Aoh and Mossie an were left to play 13 league games in 4 weeks.And we had games called off for our lads playin with the Irish team and the Aul side.

The 2nd year we won the prem we reached the last 16 of the Fai,the quaters of the Mjc,the semis of the Aoh an again were left with the 13 games to play an in fact we ended up playin Kanturk on Saturday an Ballyvolane the very next day to complete or fixture list in time for our lads to go on their hols.

On both occassions we didnt play our 6 th league games till March.

We won the league both times so all the hard work was worth it.

Is there 2 little men on this forum? Or is the 1 Little Man, either playing mind games or gone mad.
    In the 1st post you dismiss Leeside for having too many games to go and in the 2nd you say how great the gratts were when they won leagues when they had 13 or so games to play (2 more than leeside have now).

Granted you made a point about the quaility of the Prem league at the moment but those choice of words tends to draw people to the conculsion that ye didn't have much of a challange in the end of those years, which i doubt was the case.

I remember kinsale winning many leagues with a simular back log of fixtures. I just think you shouldn't write any possible contenders off until the fat lady sings.
    Unless your playing mind games before you Big match with Kinsale. Well the cover is blown now anyway.