Results 2,141 to 2,160 of 2998

Thread: Cork AUL 2009/10

Quote Originally Posted by thebooboys View Post
    In fairness now shetland i saw the full 98 minutes, yes 8 minutes overtime........ dunno where the man in the middle got that from........ Anyway, my comment about comfortable was in the context of 90 minutes. Even the ballyvolane lads wil admit that they didnt have any chances of note til late on and then they got the goal. Then it was a shaky last ten minutes granted. As for hitting the bar 3 times are you sure you arent confusing it with the other game you were at??????? Ballyvolane hit the bar, once, a cracker from way out, bounced on the line and scraped clear. Anyway, all said and done we got thro so delighted either way
    what about when keepers kick out came back off the bar and was unluky to be put away;did you miss that. as you said its yee are through and must be favorites to win it out now,.good luck.

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by scaffa7 View Post
    Ballyvolane 0-2 Bohs 1/4 finals St Michaels .........horrible pitch and horrible conditions up their, wind was very strong but we played well in the first half and got 2 handy goals against the wind.
    Infairness to the ballyvolane boys they made a game out of it in the 2nd half but our defense was well up for it and held out well and we now look forward to a semi final.
    So its onwards and upwards and its back to the league on saturday and top of the table clash against Donoughmore on saturday.
    Scaffa,

Ya I thought it was a srappy enough game, the wind definately didn't help, I thought ye had the better first half and us the second but we didn't do ourselves any favours with both goals other than that I don't remember either keeper being tested at all.
    Better news today that Donoughmore lost to our neighbours Glen Celtic, delighted with that personally. Hope anyone wins the league except that bunch! (No doubt the report from them will be that they were robbed as usual)

Ballyolane 1 Leeside 2

First half completely dominated by Leeside. Had the bulk of the possesion, played some very good football considering the conditions and were good value for their 2-0 half time lead. To be fair it could have been worse and i couldnt see it getting any better in the second half. Gettings and Leesides center half mopped up everything.
    The 2nd half more or less started the same, Leeside soaking up the Ballyvolanes few attemps at trying to break them down. It was only after about 75 minutes we eventally came to life a bit. J. Corcoran had a superb attempt rattle the underside of the cross bar and after we scored with about 6 mins left we had a great opportunity to level things but unbelievably our center forward headed off the cross bar from 3 yards after their keeper fumbled. So although we had very few chances i think our depleted side put up a good show in the 2nd half as i dont remember our keeper having to make a save. We had 2 youths playing today and both handled themselves very well against for me the best team in Cork at the moment.
    At half time i was thinking the worse, but at full time i have to say i was dissappointed that we didnt bring it to extra time.
    I agree Boo that ye had majority of possesion and outlplayed us for most parts, it cold have gone pear shapped for ye if we had equalised.
    The ref today i too felt was a bit OT with the yellow cards and spoke to both sets of players like we were kids.
    Well done to Leeside and i wish them all the best in the semi.

41 Posts
    Gratts 2 Village 1

A terrible game to be honest played in less than favourable conditions.Village were full of hard work an effort in the first 20 but just lacked any end product.It wasnt that we didnt play more so that Village made it very difficult for anything to be played.4/5/1 an like the Leeside game its very hard to get on top when a team is goin all out to stop ya scorin happy to conceed fouls at will, an bascially lookin for a point.Village in fairness battled all through the game,but when a team is on the run we are the luck tends to go your way an we got 3 points the hard way today.We had to just tough it out.

Though Village were full of hard work it counts for nothin if ya dont create an they didnt an we did. I dont care what anyone says but you cannot conceed 6 corners an 6 frees in your own half in the first 30 mins an then be surprised when ya go 1 down to a set peice,an especially against a side who are so strong in the air,we got 2 goals from set peices against Blarney St just Saturday so it wasnt as if Village didnt expect it.Ya have to do your homework on the opposition an try to find out where their strong or weak an theirs none of that in their game,an it shows.

Figo should have scored just before he finished neatly in the 6 yrd box with 35 gone. Gouldie got taken down in the 2nd half by the keeper for a peno,a bit harsh maybe but considering some of the man handlin he was falling victim too in their 18 yrd box during the game I think it was a bit of rough justice.

Village went route one time an time again an it paid off , Lotty scored an absaloutle belter,an I mean a belter with 3 mins left but we saw the game out. In the game in general you can look at it 2 ways
    ,either they put us on the back foot or we defended very very well an attacked at will.I suppose it depends on which side of the pitch you were on.

We are a very good defensive team,back to front everybody dose their job an the bench plays a massive part.At this stage of the proceedings its not how ya win its just winning is all that matters.

I can understand Village maybe feeling a bit hard done by but all the hard work in the world,means nothing if you dont create.An huffin an puffin against the best defensive side in the league wont get ya anywhere.All in all poor game but where the 3 points go is all that counts.

Games are won or lost in the 18 yrd box.We did it at both ends,defensively an attackin wise.We did both,not all the the time they way we would have liked but none the less done.All the hard graft in the world means nothin if ya dont do the basics in these areas.

Plus points were the character of the team.3 points job done.

Minus.we never really read the game well enough an made an already tough job a lot harder at times.
    Last edited by littleman; 18/03/2010 at 6:40 AM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Gratts 2 Village 1

Lotty scored an absaloutle belter,an I mean a belter with 3 mins left but we saw the game out. .
    Glad you mentioned that Little Man. i got the Match report from a village friend and he spoke about Lotty's goal in the same high regard.
    the 1st thing that came to my head was , if luis figo got that goal we'll be reading alot about on here today from your post.
    so fair play for mentioning it.I played with lotty for a number of years and to me is one of the best players i have ever played with. i don't mean to sound condisending about this but he is absoultly wasted at village as he would be one of the first names on any team sheet in the league.
    i think you might agree little man cause i know you have seen a good bit of him.

Appreciate the fair assessment OWL, as we all know they're few and far between on this thread.....Yes Shetland i forgot all about that kick out hitting the bar. Frankly,it says it all about the conditions up there with the wind etc when a goalie can hit the oppostion crossbar with a kick out. Disaster.

21 Posts

Thumbs down Home team changes!!!

We played Blarney Street yesterday morning out in CIT. A straightforward win to be honest. We were 3 nil up after 30 mins and they were down to 10 men at that stage. We saw the game out and were never in much trouble. That is not what I want to talk about.

Kickoff was set for 11.00. The game eventually kicked off 30 mins late. And very nearly wasn't played at all.
    Blarney Street turned up with an identical kit to ourselves (All blue) and brought no change kit.

If you read down to the end of every fixture list posted, the home team MUST bring a spare kit. Luckily, Blarney Street were able to borrow a white kit from CIT around 11.15 and still kicked off with identical blue socks to ourselves. (Anyone who thinks that this is ok please go back to a GAA forum as you know nothing about soccer).

If Kinsale had stood their ground - which I think that they were entitled to do if the game kicked off more than 15 minutes late, how would Grattan, Wilton or Leeside have felt with a walkover being granted to Kinsale at this stage of the season???

If you want to play in the premier then act like a premier team and get your act together.
    I personally think Blarney Street should be fined for their messing about.
    This type of carry on should not be tolerated in any division. Would this happen in the MSL?
    I'm just glad we won as this rant would have sounded like a severe dose of sour grapes if we had dropped points.

Excellent performance in the middle by Finbarr Murphy. In my opinion, the best ref we've had this season.

41 Posts
    Lego I think Lotty is a smashin player,just for me an I dont know if its either who hes playin with or where hes playin but he just seems to lack interest as a result.Some goal though,an ur right if Figo had got it I would be rantin about it.

Hello Shilts,I was told what happened up in the Anglers by one of the Street players an I have to admit I got a giggle out of it.Tis a strange one alright but I cant see anything coming of it,but the man in the middle must have been happy with things to let it go ahead.Personally speaking we have an assistant sec whos always spot on with the gear to avoid any such clash'es,it only takes a minute to check the secretarys book.
    Last edited by littleman; 18/03/2010 at 11:26 AM.

41 Posts
    Cheer up Bella theres always the weekend ta look forward too.

21 Posts
    They were haunted that they were able to get jerseys from CIT. Otherwise it would have been a walkover situation.
    If I heard that Grattan, Leeside or Wilton had got a walkover with 6 games to go I'd go mental.
    Blarney Street are a good bunch and yesterday might have been just a one off - but how come not having 2 sets of kit for a home game?
    And how come not knowing what colour Kinsale are? Its not like we change our kit every year like some teams do

41 Posts
    At a guess Shilts maybe they couldnt get the other strip cleaned an returned for Tuesday an only had the 2nd strip available.They wore their red strip against us Saturday.On the subject of walkovers I dont think any of us will be that lucky.I know there were a few rumors that clubs may have been struggling back ay xmas but every body seems to be grand now an judging by how much of a fight everyone is puttin up in the games we have played there wont be any easy wins for anyone for whats left of the season.Village had 4 or 5 subs yesterday against us.I'm just thankful we dont have to play them away up in Silverheights,their going to claim a big scalp up their.

Quote Originally Posted by Shilts View Post
    If you read down to the end of every fixture list posted, the home team MUST bring a spare kit. Luckily, Blarney Street were able to borrow a white kit from CIT around 11.15 and still kicked off with identical blue socks to ourselves. (Anyone who thinks that this is ok please go back to a GAA forum as you know nothing about soccer).
    Was it just the socks that clashed or did the shorts as well clash?

Quote Originally Posted by thebooboys View Post
    I know we often moan about refs etc but this guy was SHOCKING. Booked more guys for silly little things (mouthing) than anything else, he was the same when i watched douglas beat kinsale in AOH(at least 7 yellows that day for backchat), inconsistent and ignorant out
    I wrote a similar post about same ref months ago. The crazy thing about it is he seems to be getting all high profile games????????

Quote Originally Posted by Radiostar View Post
    Scaffa,

Better news today that Donoughmore lost to our neighbours Glen Celtic, delighted with that personally. Hope anyone wins the league except that bunch! (No doubt the report from them will be that they were robbed as usual)
    Well radio, I know what u mean as we drew 1-1 away with them earlier this season and could and should have been 5 up at half time. When i read report it claimed that we were were haunted to come away with a point. On yesterdays game we scored and hit the crossbar in the first half and also hit the post in the 2nd half. They questioned every decision and had a fair few bookings. Game was handled very well by Barry Buckley i must say.

Our last two away games, we had the same problem, Blarney St managed to find there blue gear and The Glen had to turn their shirts inside out. It shouldnt be happening, why dont the home team check the web-site or bring two kits. Two poor results this week, We drew 4-4 (One baffling descision after another until they got the equaliser in the last minute) with the Glen at the Weekend and lost 2-0 at home to Fairview yesterday. We need to get back to basics, we have a semi-final and a quarter-final coming up so hopefully this week was just a blip.
    Who's takin the cones??????

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BigfeetBigsocks View Post
    Was it just the socks that clashed or did the shorts as well clash?
    When the problem was noticed both teams had blue shirts, shorts and socks.
    But before kickoff (30 mins late) Blarney St had got hold of white tops and black shorts.
    They played the game with blue socks, exactly the same as Kinsale.

How long should a team wait for their opposition to be ready???
    The ref indicated that they are allowed 15 mins.
    What happens after that is anyones guess!!!
    Last edited by Shilts; 18/03/2010 at 1:46 PM.

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Shilts View Post
    When the problem was noticed both teams had blue shirts, shorts and socks.
    But before kickoff (30 mins late) Blarney St had got hold of white tops and black shorts.
    They played the game with blue socks, exactly the same as Kinsale.

How long should a team wait for their opposition to be ready???
    The ref indicated that they are allowed 15 mins.
    What happens after that is anyones guess!!!
    Same thing happened us against Blarney St too, only a few weeks ago and they didn't have a change kit again, probably because they are based on the Northside and playing out in CIT doesn't help in emergencies but I wouldn't be making such a big deal once they were able to sort it out. Same colour socks and shorts never bothered me before and blue would be a very common colour around the aul.

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by timmypav View Post
    Well radio, I know what u mean as we drew 1-1 away with them earlier this season and could and should have been 5 up at half time. When i read report it claimed that we were were haunted to come away with a point. On yesterdays game we scored and hit the crossbar in the first half and also hit the post in the 2nd half. They questioned every decision and had a fair few bookings. Game was handled very well by Barry Buckley i must say.
    Ya both reports against us were so inaccurate aswell! And I also read a report when they were beaten 6 - 1 that it was an injustice. I think in those situations its best left keeping quiet.
    That was a good win for ye yesterday Timmy. I don't know what your thoughts are on how the league is gonna finish up but athis stage I thinks its between Bohs and Rathcoole. Those were the two most impressive teams we have played.

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Radiostar View Post
    Ya both reports against us were so inaccurate aswell! And I also read a report when they were beaten 6 - 1 that it was an injustice. I think in those situations its best left keeping quiet.
    That was a good win for ye yesterday Timmy. I don't know what your thoughts are on how the league is gonna finish up but athis stage I thinks its between Bohs and Rathcoole. Those were the two most impressive teams we have played.
    Ya at the moment we have a few games in hand and looking at the league table Rathcoole will probably be our nearest challengers now that saying IF we win our games in hand.
    Delighted for the Glen yesterday that was a great win because Donoughmore are a sticky bunch and to you Radiostar ye will claim some big scalps up there if ye get back to the form that beat Douglas
    Last edited by scaffa7; 18/03/2010 at 4:40 PM.

41 Posts

Thumbs up norrie news

Tis all fine an well sayin that having the same coloured socks an shorts dont bother fellas till the ref gives a peno against ya cause he got mixed up with all the same coloured legs in the 6 yrd box amid a scramble.

Shilts was bang on,on what he said.All the prem sides should be trying to show an example of how match day should be run,on the pitch an off it.Kinsale would have been well within their rights to have walked away from the situation after 15 mins but thankfully they didnt an it was sorted.Theres a lot at stake for some sides at the minute an I could understand that things like that could upset a teams preperation.What if Kinsale conceeded a sloppy goal in the 1st 5 mins or indeed lost the game,that would have been another story altogether.