Results 2,021 to 2,040 of 2998

Thread: Cork AUL 2009/10

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Tis a strange one alright not having Condon the Aul panel.Wether he would start or not would be up for debate an down to what side of the fence your on.But I'd defo hav him on the squad at the very least.But i'd say Bella an Ram would no doubt be justified in wanting a bit of recognition for theirs as well.Interestin point though for debate.Pookie(great name) I have seen a fair few times this season an he for the most part was very very good.So good in fact I think it would be a very good decision to have him an Babbs filling the full back roles.But thats only my thoughts.
    Ya I said it about Pookie at the start of the year.

At this stage however it would be unfair for some other player to lose his place on the squad to faciliate pookie, Condon or anybody else.

The thing with Leeside is, if their manager leaves next year will all the new players he brought in, leave with him. Thats the thing when teams bring in lots of players from outside your locality, you could be strong one year, left in the lurch the next year.

For example when, I mean if Littleman leaves next season most of the Grattan players will remain as they are local lads, same with Kinsale. However Leeside could struggle...

41 Posts
    Thats a very good point Pacman.It was something that was on my mind all season about Leeside.I know Boo an I know hes Leeside through an through, an Rebel an Bluey too Id say from how much loyalty they can show in their posts.But I dose beg the question is it a good thing to have so many first team players not from the clubs locality.I know the same is said of Avondale in the Msl.I think its understandable that questions will be raised.We have brought in a lot of new players but their all northside based.They are locals who made the step up a division or 2 or the move from one Prem club to another but we were careful to make sure they were players who would or could develope a bond for the club an how we expect them to play.I think its an interesting experienc what they have done,but I wouldnt expect it to last.But its up to them how they their run their club.I just know this year they have a good side.An it will take a better side to beat them.

Ps Pac,you made a great point,an it will be interesting to see how its taken.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Leeside 'could' struggle pacman??? The only way is up for Leeside as our form suggests. Our managers there for a long time yet and he has a reputation for building great sides, doing a gud job, and signing great players as evidenced thus far this season. Supposedly a number of signings secured already for next season and if we finish on a succesful note who knows who else cud be attracted to the club. All clubs go through ups and downs and at present we are on the crest of a wave so whether every new player was to leave or not next season is something that would be encountered down the road. We have also had 3 youths teams in 3 years so the players are there just need to develop further, All 3 Leeside teams are doing very well in their respective league and cup competitions so we cant complain............ I would like to thank all on Northside for their concern............boo With regards to the AUL team half of Leeside and Grattans teams could make it,some player selections are truly baffling. How condon, pookie,joe lyons,alec nodwell,coleman coady arent in the squad ahead of some is crazy!!!!!!!! Finally, i dont take the point that a players inclusion would be unfair on timing isue. If a players good enough and going to improve a teams chances of winning a national competition then that player shud be included irrespective of TIME. Some players dont catch the eye until mid season anyway and even judging from last years final panel selection one or two players had NO game time before semi final stage yet were called in based solely on reputation and word of mouth. Thus ends my speech........... I hope the way in which i "took" this "great point" satisfies my good FRIEND..........

41 Posts
    First an foremost Boo ur no friend of mine,I just said I know who you are an I know your loyal to your club.

That said ye have had a great season to date and can still have a a great finish.But I am very honest in how I look at things;an especially players because if you think your better than whats out there it can bite ya where it hurts.I think Leeside have some excellent players.But not that you will listen to me but you can get cought up in your own hype a bit.We have all said Leeside are a very good side.In your 4/4/2 shape ye have a lot of very good players.We all readily admit that.But dont go over board.Win something first then claim the high ground. Kinsale are on top a have titles an experience,an we are not taking anything for granted,its called havin a healthy respect for your opponients,an it not a sign of weakness just a sign that your using ur head.

You may have a new manager but a Msl club offers him more coffers than ye an hes out an we all know it.We play in a junior league an if you think Senior lg teams wont come knockin you mad.And lasty saying that their are signings lined up,who ya kiddin.We all talk trash an say we have this that an the other.We are takin Torres on loan for a month an Becks is mullin over a move to Cork.Kaka said God told him to move to Knocka,,,,,,,,possible signings for the Gratts nest season.Kaka to Knocka hahahaha.Tis a funny ol game all the same.

Thanks Boo, fair points all round. The 'could struggle' phrase was relative i.e. struggle to repeat the form ye are showing this year
    I was speaking about the hypothetical situation whereby ye're manager were to leave at the end of the season. You are closer to it than us so i'll take your word he is in it for the long term, although I suspect noone knows for sure.

All three Leeside teams are doing very well as you stated however I'm not sure how relevant your second and third teams are to the point i'm making. For example how many second or third team players are good enough to play in a title winning premier team? I'm sure there are a few that could comfortably play in the premier league but to be good enough to be on a title winning team, I am not so sure. However having three teams competitively playing in their particular leagues is extremely healthy for the club and shows the huge player base down on the Island.

I guess before last week you guys were in the running for everything and I am sure that is the aspiration of the club to do that consistantly every year, i just think long term that is easier to sustain with a core group of loyal locals than players who potentially will or will not be there depnding on who is in charge.

This goes for all clubs not just Leeside.

I agree with your points on the oscar team. If you're good enough you should be brought in. I just said it was unfair on the lads who are left go to make room for them.
    Last edited by pacman; 09/03/2010 at 10:02 PM.

Littleman just to clear things up because you could open up a big can of worms with your comments, there is no COFFERS being offered down below in leeside. The manager there at present never asked for any money, he came down to leeside as he seen it as a top club in cork and seen the potential there to win alot of trophies over a number of years!

41 Posts
    On the Oscar thing if we did well we can comment,if we excelled we can also comment.We did neither we won somerhing no other group could do for the last 43 yr.If man choose all the honkers in the league,then he got it right an thats all that counts.History says the Cork Aul won it last year.

Withregards to the players you mentioned your being biased towards your own.What about Springfield,Ballyvolane,Bohs or Kinsale.Hawes,Forde,Collins and even Jeremy.All playin out of their skin,but arent selected.Of the current squad Barrett is for me worth a place on the 11,Delea too.Pookie maybe.Of the rest Id have my doubts, there are better players in each position. For each player you have mentioned I would say someone can give ya a better option elswhere in the Aul.

No bother pacman. A healthy debate is always welcome I just wish OTHERS could follow the same line. Our B team are very strong,will push douglas hall all the way hopefully in 1A and theres a few players registered with 2nd team who have had plenty of premier experience in the past, and 2 or 3 excellent youths players are regular starters with them from our youths league winning team last year. As for the manager we can only take him on his word and he has said he wants to commit to us. With the thing about it being unfair on the guys who were there from the start on the AUL team of course ppl would be upset, but such is football...... Best players need to play for the benefit of the league as a whole, we cant be worried about ego's unfortunately. Laslty, historically Leeside has had a large contingent of players from outside Little Island. In fact past teams have had more players from Glanmire/Glounthaune than Little Island. At present the squad is half Glouthanue Parish (Little Island/Glounthaune), 2 midleton, 2 mayfield, 3 youghal i reckon. Thats 7 outsiders from approx 20. A sizeable chunk granted but the club existed without all these NEW players for the last 30 years so i think we cud manage....

For the record Littleman the has already had 3 Senior offers we know of this season and has REJECTED them all. Few points ill take you up on an "Fear bheag". (1)Leeside DOES NOT pay our current manager, FACT. I'm on the committe, i know, so for you to suggest that if "an Msl club offers him more coffers than ye an hes out an we all know it" is a bit out of order........ Then again if they offered him a euro a week they mite just clinch him as we pay him NOTHING. (2) No1 i going overboard down here. We've won nothing, as far as we are concerned Springfield at the weekend is all we have in our sights at present,ONE game at a TIME. We all know that to win 5 or 6 straight league victories in the premier, which we need to close the gap is a big ask,the games between the top sides will of course be crucial and anyway in the premier is capable of beating each other, as was witnessed down in coachford last week by both Leeside and Grattan players who watched expectantly. (3) as for having "a healthy respect for our opponent" we have done nothing but convey those sentiments this season.Every game we play we treat all opponents the same,something our NEW manager has instilled in the team. Admittedly some LEESIDE teams of old were guilty of demeaning opponents in the last few seasons, NOT THIS ONE. my last post was fair, statement of opinion,some facts, yet you felt compelled to jump down my throat........Whose showing a lack of respect now ???????

I simply said those mentioned player would be in my squad(my opinion). Being fair i didnt disrespect any other clubs. i simply said half of grattans team and half of ours "could", reread the text, the place where i said COULD, could make the team...... or at least fancy their chances. Footballs about opinions as is obvious from past posts. Not so long ago you posted YOUR AUL 11 on this site,you mentioned joe lyons in your 11, NOW uve ommitted him. See, footballs about opinions. You've obviously changed yours already..........

41 Posts
    Boo you have to stop takin things so serioulsly.I said Joe as in my 11 based on what I was led to belive was the squad,is Lawerence Betts in it,is Keith Shaw or Dave Sullivan,Colm Forde,Jason Forde just to name a few other midfielders,we all now admit knowone knows whos on the squad.Hence me havin a rethink.

Being loyal to your club is fantastic,I admire that.But it seems you just take the bits you dont like anturn them into anti Leeside things.And thats not the case at all...

boo not to coin a phrase but I didnt say boo about ur club .I said leeside are a very good team with very good players,you didnt take me up on that.I did say if the manager was offer bobs he may go,its a fair comment,theirs nothin wrong with gettin a few bob for a lot of hard work is their in this day an age,you took exception to that.As for winnin 5 or 6 games to catch up,us an Kinsale are the least of ur worries.There are 7 other sides in the league,an the champs Wilton are still around.Boo relax boy,nobody has it in for ye.Tis just the idea here is someone asks a question an we give a few answers.Pac brought up a great point an I responded an you go on the defensive.Whos right depends on what tour lookin for.Good luck for the rest of the season an goodniteThink happy thoughts an chill.
    Last edited by littleman; 09/03/2010 at 11:39 PM.

Nice to know you agree with me littleman, i already said any1 in that league is capable of beating any1. Even lower league teams are capable of beating premier teams...... About the money some people dont need financing they are happy to do it for the enjoyment of the game...... P.S. Grattan must be flush if your at the helm......

41 Posts
    .zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz,nite boo:

I have been praying for this thread to get exciting again and thankfully it is getting gripping going into the business end of the season.

I have been involved with Leeside for over 20 years and I can totally understand the passion being showed by Booboys, id say he holds Leeside as close to his heart as you with Grattan, Littleman : ) . Agree with all of the posts over recent days from all posters. Every club has major years of ups and downs and I have been involved with plenty of them myself over the years so to see the current teams doing so well is heartwarming stuff. I think any person who has played for Leeside or has been involved with the club in some form gets infected with the passion that everyone at this club holds, not saying that other clubs dont have the same passion, im just going by what I have seen first hand for so many years.

At least for now we have 3 senior teams doing very well in the respective leagues and cups and fingers crossed we will have some silverware for the cabinet come May but if we dont at least we will have put everything into it. Everyone at the club know that it could all be over next week if you lose a league game or a cup game so you just have to take every game as it comes.
    [SIZE=3][FONT=Times New Roman] [/FONT][/SIZE]

Now girls put the handbags away please and kiss and make up haha

41 Posts
    Top marks Kingscorner,I will admit i think its great to see a club field 3 junior sides an having them all do well is a fantastic achivement.I cant fault a bit of passion as ya call it,especially for ones club.I suppose with such a small amout of time an so many games left to try to win something tis bound to get a bit raw at times.

Update on the Park V Village comedy show.
    Village player suspended for 2 years. A bit harsh but was never going to be anything else. i think the ref should get the same if i'm honest he was absolutely dire. i saw him in action as a linesman as well, in a tight out of cork cup game and as expected he was getting a bit of stick, as was the linesman was on the other side. The way they both dealt with the same situation was chalk and cheese, the other lad was calm and understanding and again our Park v Village ref was a disgrace, continually stopping play to have a cry to the ref about what somebody on the line said.
    I suppose this all goes back to the consistency argument but for now this ref is best avoided. i would post his name but it has slipped my mind even tough he comes form the same area as me.

Quote Originally Posted by Legohead View Post
    Update on the Park V Village comedy show.
    Village player suspended for 2 years. A bit harsh but was never going to be anything else. i think the ref should get the same if i'm honest he was absolutely dire. i saw him in action as a linesman as well, in a tight out of cork cup game and as expected he was getting a bit of stick, as was the linesman was on the other side. The way they both dealt with the same situation was chalk and cheese, the other lad was calm and understanding and again our Park v Village ref was a disgrace, continually stopping play to have a cry to the ref about what somebody on the line said.
    I suppose this all goes back to the consistency argument but for now this ref is best avoided. i would post his name but it has slipped my mind even tough he comes form the same area as me.
    I accept there are some bad referees out there but he could have genuinely had a bad game, its not fair to post his name unless he is here to defend himself. at the end of the day it was all about how you read the rules. so many grey areas. last weekend, while playing, a penalty was given against me (i'm a goalkeeper), which i honestly got the ball first but took the player in the process, in the same scenario if i'd the whistle i'd prob have blown for a penalty against me as well because there is just so much to process. when i refereed first in 03 at 18 i used always make a mess of refereeing underage games in springfield, i can say it now cause it was so long ago. i was once chased out of springfield by a manager ( not a springfield official) on a crutches i'd such an appalling game. now i'm a much more solid referee, i believe. i've no problems refereeing springfield or any other club, i still have the occasional off game but that usually comes after refereeing three games in a row in one day or refereeing four over the weekend, the concentration tends to slip.
    in friendlies or underage games i focus on something specific every game but how'd you referee when the manager is telling his players that the referee is being extra strict on offsides this week. when is a referee never strict on offside. last weekend i blew for 25-30 foul throws. players just kept raising leg on release and i'm the pr1ck for doing so.
    Last edited by padjoe; 10/03/2010 at 8:09 PM.

AOH CUP........ourselves (Ballyv), leeside, Blarney St, and Springfield on one side of the draw........who do i hav to thank for that !!!!!!!!!

very tough draw owl, the winner of Leeside vs Springfield wont relish going to ballyvolane, then another possible away draw at blarney street.......... Alot of the "big guns" already out though so anyones capable of having a fair crack.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by padjoe View Post
    I accept there are some bad referees out there but he could have genuinely had a bad game, its not fair to post his name unless he is here to defend himself. at the end of the day it was all about how you read the rules. so many grey areas. last weekend, while playing, a penalty was given against me (i'm a goalkeeper), which i honestly got the ball first but took the player in the process, in the same scenario if i'd the whistle i'd prob have blown for a penalty against me as well because there is just so much to process. when i refereed first in 03 at 18 i used always make a mess of refereeing underage games in springfield, i can say it now cause it was so long ago. i was once chased out of springfield by a manager ( not a springfield official) on a crutches i'd such an appalling game. now i'm a much more solid referee, i believe. i've no problems refereeing springfield or any other club, i still have the occasional off game but that usually comes after refereeing three games in a row in one day or refereeing four over the weekend, the concentration tends to slip.
    in friendlies or underage games i focus on something specific every game but how'd you referee when the manager is telling his players that the referee is being extra strict on offsides this week. when is a referee never strict on offside. last weekend i blew for 25-30 foul throws. players just kept raising leg on release and i'm the pr1ck for doing so.
    Padjoe, I was gonna ask how your weekend went. Your mails are exactly what I believe is needed to help officials and teams. The possibility of concentration slipping, though obvious now, isnt really a factor I personally would have taken into account. There should be some way that your message about the throws get back to those teams.

On the Village thing, the official must be protected but hard for me to comment on something I dont know much about. Not related to this incident, it just makes me think again about refs having a pathway to complain/comment about teams, but the opposite pathway is, in reality, not worth it.