Page 100 of 150 FirstFirst ... 50909899100101102110 ... LastLast
Results 1,981 to 2,000 of 2998

Thread: Cork AUL 2009/10

You might be able to pick and choose when you can put in a youths team in the north side. You wouldn't get away with it in country towns in my opinion. With no other team for miles around this club is their only option. If the team isn't run, regardless of how good or bad they are you can lose kids forever to GAA or rugby or Sailing or Golf or whatever else!! Seriously! This is what you're up against. u18 you could skip alright because at 17 or 18 players could train and play with juniors, but with any younger age group you would lose the players.

Winning is great but only a small fraction of the clubs involved actually get to experience it. So why are the rest of the parents/coaches/players still coming back every week? Because it's enjoyable!! Definitely not all about winning in my opinion, underage anyway, and i'm one of the 99% willing to admit it!

Thanks to everyone for the good luck messages- it really is nice to see everyone getting behind the other Cork teams and i can only repeat the good luck messages towards Leeside for the weekend- hope ye get through.

We know how difficult its going to be going to Pike- but Eddie and Paul have there homework done and if anything we will be organised and hard to beat and we will try to do ourselves and the Cork AUL proud.

Who knows- as per bella's "crazy" prediction- maybe they will have a poor day and we play to our potential and just nick one. It would be nice to carry out a steal and run in Limerick

41 Posts
    Mainmanram,if its any significance the last time the Limerick lads wrote off the chances of a Cork side in the last 16 of the Fai,we knocked um out so ye have nothin to fear bud.Just dont be fooled by all the hype,they will have just the same 11 players as ye startin an ye are a match for anyone on yer day.

Bog,if we were a club who were isolated in a town an didnt have anyother clubs sharing the neighbourhood so to speak then Id go along ur way of thinkin.But we arnt.Ye are the only side down yer direction an its easy then to be quoting the community an whats right:We have to fight bascially tooth an nail with half a dozen Msl senior club an 30 junior clubs for adult players in a space all compressed into Gurran/Konocka/Farranree/Blackpool an Parklands.

I have a nephew who played 15s an 16s with ye 6 seasons ago an he an his mates from Riverstick an Belgooly all wanted to stay together an play minor but there wasnt a minor team in Kinsale so they all ended up playin Gaa,an have done since.Your own club has over the last few years had
    Numerous players from Bandon,Leeside currently have the majority of their 1st team player from outside of the Leeside community area.So forgive me for saying that the focus on promoting underage players to develope through the ranks may be slightly lost on ye.This was the first year I can remember where players we brought in from oitside our club en mass,I wish we had of had young players to bring through but we dont so we do what we have to to make sure we have the best we can,an I make no apoligies for it.

With so many bigger clubs havin way better set ups to entice the underage player ya have to use what ever means to get ahead.An thats exactly what we do.It may not sit well lads with some but neither dose it sit well with me when a senior club poachs players by tellin them they cam do better with a senior club because of the facilities they have,when all the back round work was done by the club hes with.Its ruthless out there lads wehter junior or underage.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

best of luck to both Springfield and Leeside!!!! do us proud!!

AOH cup semis

I think the AUL need to look at them selfs here, they state due to the backlog of fixtures that no club can request a free weekend yet for 4 teams they have just added an extra game.
    Be Champions

41 Posts
    Coachford 3 Kinsale 2,i think i may just owe ya a pint Junglejym.

Glenthorn 1 Blarney st 0

Premier League Result

Coachford 3-2 Kinsale :

We led 2 nil after 15mins, 2 all at halftime and scored the winner in the 50th min.
    Cleared one off the line in the 93rd.

After playing extremely well last week and getting no reward, We got the rub of the green today and held out for a valuable 3pts.
    This is the 1st time we took 3pts off Kinsale in a very long time.
    Delighted would be an understatement.
    I'll hold you to that pint Littleman
    To escape criticism ~
    do nothing, say nothing, be nothing.

28 Posts
    Kanturk 4 Castleview 4
    Il keep it short,down 3nil after 20mins from 3 set pieces,got 2 back before the half,conceaded straight away after half time,showed good character to score 2 before the end!i dont no if its a point gained or 2 points dropped!!!john dennehy got 1,tom fitz with 2 and matty riordan with a cracker!!theres so many draws in this league!!its goin b tight at the end

was at glenthorn game and comeing away heard that ballyvolane b beat douglas hall in michaels cup.some result.radio star any comments.

the two legged semi final is a joke to be honest. it favors the strong sides.you could catch any team in a once off but it would be tough over two legs.

41 Posts
    Look lads ill make this easy.Ye all have mouths,,,,,,,,,,,,use them.Tell your club secretary that ye want your club to tell the Aul at the next delegate meeting that we all,an i mean all want the Aoh left alone.Its a straight winner takes all one off game.If we were left in it id do the very same as im doin now an I mean that 100%.So use yer mouths lads an bang the drum,if we dont make noise about this we are the real mugs an we all know it.

Great result, and well done to ballyvolane b today. The 2 1st divisions are fairly strong as this game showed. Go and win the cup now.

Great result Ballyvolane against douglas hall fair play to ye had a big interest in this game as we now play the WINNERS in the Quarters.

Great result for my friend Radio today. They have been having a tough time of late but seemed to have turned things around in the last 2 weeks. A good Douglas side which proved that last week in Kinsale. Well done to our Ballyv lads.
    Good result today Don !!!!!!.............for the rest of the league
    I agree littleman, as we are still in it, these decisions should be made at the begining of the season and not when we hit the latter stages.

AUL 2A result

Killowen 3 Crescent Athletic 3.
    Better late than never for Killowen as an injury time goal salvaged a point and stopped a run of recent defeats. A frantic start and end to the game as both sides scored in the opening and closing minutes of the game. We are happy with the point considering our recent form and we were also missing 3 regulars from our line up. We fell a goal behind after 2 minutes but were level 3 minutes later with a header from our first corner of the afternoon. We settled down and should have added a goal or two as we threatened them from set pieces all day. We finally took the lead on the stroke of half time from a direct free kick. Crescent came back strongly and made it 2-2, 10 minutes into the 2nd half. They also hit the bar midway through the half. Both sides could sense the next goal was crucial and the game seemed to swing Crescent's way. They were awarded two penalties (badly time tackles in the area- no complaints) in the last 15 minutes, our 'keeper saved the first one and was unlucky not to save the second one. But our lads refused to lie down, kept battling to the end and forced a corner deep in stoppage time. Once again the delivery into the box was spot on and our centre half looped a header over the keeper for the equaliser.
    "Garlic bread - it’s the future, I’ve tasted it."
    Brian Potter - Phoenix Nights

Corinthians Cup 1st round result :

Coachford B 1 -2 Greenwood B :
    To escape criticism ~
    do nothing, say nothing, be nothing.

28 Posts
    Leeds 3 Macroom 3
    Another draw in premier A!!3 matchs played during weekend 3 draws!!leeds were up 3-1!wat u make of it leeds pk??

Quote Originally Posted by donaldihno View Post
    Leeds 3 Macroom 3
    Another draw in premier A!!3 matchs played during weekend 3 draws!!leeds were up 3-1!wat u make of it leeds pk??
    We were a bit unlucky, especially when the pen for the last goal wit 5 mins to go was punched by a macroom player not one of ours, sayin that we got a debatable goal in the 1st half. We misssed an awful chance at 3-2 which would have wrapped it up. Ye are givin us all a chance by dropping points but nobody seems to get any bit of a run together to gain ground. Ye will stumble over the line if the league keeps goin the way it is- a good start is the key to winning any league. Gary Nolan and two from Johnny Cooney today for us

Also well done to Ballyvolane yesterday - great result for ther 'b' side and done the dbl over douglas hall cause ther youth team won ther q-final against douglas hall before the junior game. I believe they have Cork City ( or whatever they call themselves now) in the semi at ballyvolane pk- leave the grass grow for that one

think kanturk are dropping a lot of points but so are the rest.they seem to start every season very well but struggle a bit after christmas.is this a gaa problem.i still fancy them to win out with ballyvolane and macroom to battle it out for the remaining promotion spot.

24 Posts
    Ya we were delighted with the win over Douglas Hall yesterday, in fairness to our lads we have had a terrible season and they showed that they are capable of competing with the best 1st Division sides over the last 2 weeks, hopefully we can keep it going. Mario ye should be concentrating fully on the league and forget about the St.Michaels Cup(Leave that for someone else)