Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Chances of holding onto Stephen O Flynn

Chances of holding onto Stephen O Flynn

I see in todays star that Pat Dolan was full of praise for Stevo saying he is a great guy and coming back from two serious injuries was great to see. He also mentioned that his scoring so many goals in such little time will put him on many teams Christmas list. So what do ye think are the chances of us holding onto him for another season?

id say if the budget is going up he would have 2 be 1st on our list hopefully he will stay it would be a great christmas present for us if he stayed

fingers,toes and eyes crossed he stays
    great player with a fantastic attitude,i think its essential he stays,lets pull out all the stops

I don't know the specifics of him coming back to Limerick after his injury. If it was a case that Limerick said they'd give him a chance to get back into playing then maybe he might show Limerick some good faith by staying around another season and giving promotion a good lash.

Quote Originally Posted by True story View Post
    what age is he?

Offer made and being considered.

Have to think if say Fingal came along, offered a grand a week and premier football then he couldnt refuse.

Fingal would be one of the few clubs that will be offering that kind of money next season in either division.
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

Quote Originally Posted by LK37oldskool View Post
    Fingal would be one of the few clubs that will be offering that kind of money next season in either division.
    If not the only club. I think Sligo picking up players like Turner and Ndo is a sign already of how much more level the playing field will be next year.

Quote Originally Posted by Monkfish View Post
    to think if say Fingal came along, offered a grand a week and premier football then he couldnt refuse
    That would be understandable alright but i also think players signing for Fingal for that kind of money next season might be just getting themselves into trouble in the long run. If the last few seasons has thought the players anything its that a team like Fingal could easily turn into another Dublin City or for that matter Cork City, Drogheda, Shels or even Derry City. Suddenly one or two of Fingals backers or sponsors pulls out and wages are owed week after week with players having to hound the club for them, cause they certainly won't make the wages in gate receipts or merchandise sales.

what is Limericks wage budget?
    Ian Fosters Black & White army

The Home of football is oriel!

First up lads dolan wasnt praising him, he was trying to tout him to other clubs to take him from Limerick. You see dolan follows money, he followed DD and when the money ran out he went to wexford after limerick told him to swing his hook. He is a leech on clubs and hates limerick. Limerick have made stephan an offer but as mr fish says if clubs wasnt to offer him silly money then good luck to any player who is in receipt of it.

27 Posts

Wink

cripes gael,you will have us feeling sorry for you soon,that obvious dolan chip on your shoulder must be starting to get heavy.dolan and money,let me see,well he writes for the star,presenter on setanta,is an agent with at least 3 current internationals on his books etc.etc. and you believe he was a leech on limerick and wexford,both of whom were wallowing in millions which he extracted and then fled having bled both dry.whats really wrong gael has he never shook your hand,waved at your importance,acknowledged you in front of the junta,.....cant wait to read your tell all book.get over it.

Quote Originally Posted by da bishop View Post
    both of whom were wallowing in millions which he extracted and then fled having bled both dry..
    Wallace and Drew are not short of cash are they?

Tell us Des, hows Gary getting on? Any chance he'd come back to us? I know you said he never would but if you could just put in a good word we'd be very grateful.

I'd say there is little or no chance of him staying around, and its hard to blame him. It's a short career, and he needs to make the most of it while he can. Good luck to him in whatever he does next, cos he is a genuinely nice guy who has done well for the club, and the club has done well for him in return. It's just a shame we cant afford to pay him.

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    It's just a shame we cant afford to pay him.
    To be fair to the club, hes been made a fairly decent offer.

I don't know what that offer is, so I'm not going to comment either way.
    I'd be disappointed if he moved to another First Division club...If he does go, I'd imagine it will be to a premier side, or perhaps back to the UK.

27 Posts

Wink

Wallace and Drew are not short of cash are they?

Tell us Des, hows Gary getting on? Any chance he'd come back to us? I know you said he never would but if you could just put in a good word we'd be very grateful.
    well he might actually especially if he is offered what s.o flynn has been offered.i,m shocked we can afford that sort of money on one player,no wonder scully signed his deal.anyways if gary gets the same money i put in loads of good words mr fishy.

420 Posts
    Why would he get the same when he is nowhere near as good?

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Why would he get the same when he is nowhere near as good?
    He's still decent but has lost a bit of pace. That said an injury free pre season under Scully would sort him out.

Wallace would be crazy to let him go though. Or broke.

cripes gael,
    did u just say cripes?

you will have us feeling sorry for you soon,that obvious dolan chip on your shoulder must be starting to get heavy.dolan and money,let me see,well he writes for the star,presenter on setanta,is an agent with at least 3 current internationals on his books etc.etc. and you believe he was a leech on limerick and wexford,both of whom were wallowing in millions which he extracted and then fled having bled both dry.whats really wrong gael has he never shook your hand,waved at your importance,acknowledged you in front of the junta,.....cant wait to read your tell all book.get over it.
    get over what? he came, he took money, which few have done from Limeick FC and left. no gripe, fact. ill be keeping my arse firmly to the wall in fear of u riding me sideways next time i voice an opinion/view

He's still decent but has lost a bit of pace. That said an injury free pre season under Scully would sort him out.

Wallace would be crazy to let him go though. Or broke.
    Gary has been injured in fairness, takes a while to get proper pace back. I would have him back in a falsh. Sure anyone playing with Long ball Wexford would look a bit off the pace!
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

420 Posts
    Fully fit Gar still not as good as Steve so shouldnt be payed as much nothing against Gar hope to see him back.

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast