Thread: Rovers to get €60M from a Joker

he's a business man in it for the money, rovers get something he gets something, long gone are the days of ruling the club with your heart, football is big business and should be treated that way, an invester is an invester, money is money once it comes from legal circumstances.
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Originally posted by max power
    anytime any dublin club get any good or bad news a lot of cork fans turn up and go on and no about the dublin teams and how cork is the model of the future, that is what i'm saying
    ...and in this case you're completely wrong. the worst any city fan has written in response to this story is that they'd be worried that Rovers would be taken for a ride, because the focus seems to be on the development land rather than the club.

most have welcomed any move that'll help rovers get themselves together in Tallaght, as it'll help strengthen the league.

but why bother reading anyone's posts when that time could be spent writing a knee-jerk reaction

Originally posted by sadloserkid
    Why not? I know I do. And I judge Cork on Colm so make of that what you will!

I used to judge Limerick on Sadloserkid but having met 4 or 5 in the play-offs Ive changed me mind hi !
    Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach

As a Rovers fan, I'm used to false hopes and false dawns -- all the way back to the "Giles-ey" era that was going to propel us into the European elite.

I wish it were otherwise but this whole story seems a bit of a joke. 60 million euro!? An academy funded by Bundesliga clubs running courses on "substance abuse" (sic)!? Brendan O'Carroll!???? Park and ride from the Luas!?

The Luas thing is the clincher that the whole story is bogus!

I can't believe the amount of money being talked about here. I'd be very suspicious of it, there's been a lot of false dawns before. I hope rovers do get the ground sorted out, because it will be good for the league, but I dunno how much faith to put in this one to be honest

Originally posted by dortie
    I used to judge Limerick on Sadloserkid but having met 4 or 5 in the play-offs Ive changed me mind hi !
    Well you couldn't really have expected them all to be such fine, expressive and otherwise well-rounded people as me now could ya???

Good bunch of lads stayed the night in Derry with Brandywell Pride ...cant remember their names....fair play to them.
    Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach

This song from Rathcoole Bohs sums up that joker's 60 million offer

Fictitious Lies
    By Rathcoole Bohs

Sing to the tune of Suspicious Minds by Elvis Presley (the King)

Our ground is some crap
    We can't get built
    Because we owe out too much money
    Why can't you play
    We'll pay you one day
    But you can't believe a word we say?

We can't go on together
    With fictitious lies
    And we can't build our field
    On fictitious lies

A consortium I know
    Drops by to say you-know
    We'll build a hotel up in the skies
    Here you go again
    ****ing had, you've been
    You can't see if their plans are real
    Your crying

We can't go on together
    With fictitious lies
    On fictitious lies

[Bridge: the slow bit]
    Oh let our club survive
    Sell us to Mother Brown's boys
    Let's not let Boots go to Bohs
    When money, you know
    We never gave to him
    Ooh, yeah, yaeh, yeah

Our ground is some crap
    We can't get built
    Because we owe out too much money
    Why can't you play
    We'll pay you one day
    But you can't believe a word we say?

We can't go on together
    With fictitious lies
    On fictitious lies

We're caught in a trap
    I can't walk out
    [REPEAT TO FADE]

Que some fat Rovers fans in hooped jump-suits aiming karate kicks at busses.

Thankyouverymuch...

Over The Tannoy at Tolka
    "Ladies and Gentlemen, Rovers have left the building"

Why not? I know I do. And I judge Cork on Colm so make of that what you will!
    Why thank you, I'm ever so flattered!
    I judge Limerick on your good self aswell SLK!

btw SOCcfc, why would anyone judge Longford on Macy, sure isn't he a Pats fan?
    Champions!

112 Posts
    I might be wrong, off-topic but wasnt Brendan O'Carroll yapping once about launching an airline, dont think that one ever got off the groud....

Sorry, but he sounds a bit of a chancer to me, bit of free publicity there or something, i know his intentions are good but as id wait and see if anything happens...
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

This sounds too fishy to me. 60m euro is like a english figure to invest in a club.That sort of money should go to the eircom league than pay to pay a hotel to be built on rovers grounds. I know that rovers will move to their new ground and all and i would be delighted for them but think of the better picture. Can a hotel make that much money-think of chelsea fc and the disaster of the chelsea village project that went into huge losses on that venture.

I really hope it works for the SRFC but i am a bit sceptical.

Originally posted by PAURO 7

Sorry, but he sounds a bit of a chancer to me, bit of free publicity there or something, i know his intentions are good but as id wait and see if anything happens... [/B]
    yeah brendan is going to get the whole thing rolling with a gigantic fundraising gig out doors in the phoenix park.brendan said "we are very optimistic of about 100 k people plus at this fabulous gig featuring myself "."so thats about 3 million euro on the gate plus programmes and refreshments".,

he never said where on when we can snap up tickets for this unmissable performance.
    Crumlin UTD

This isn't the first time he's tried something like this apparently.
    from The Sunday Times
    Brendan O’Carroll, below, must be improving. Nearly 15 years with a reputation as one of the country’s leading funnymen and he’s finally made us laugh with his €60m proposal to save Shamrock Rovers. The ‘entertainer’ is not only going to finish Rovers’ stadium but is, magically, going to make himself and his mystery backers a tidy profit in the process.

A lot of Rovers fans are, understandably, elated with the news but a cursory glance at O’Carroll’s history of attempted purchases of Irish clubs suggests the proposal should, at the very least, be taken with extreme caution. In the early 1990s, O’Carroll met the directors of Kilkenny City and, on top of offending them with, ahem, the suggestive quality of his jokes he put a £1m offer on the table. Their negative answer included several retorts, one of the more printable being: ‘Over my dead body’. In 1997 he was approached by a director of Home Farm with a view to investing in the club. They looked at his proposal which involved a hotel, retail outlets and, sure why not, a helicopter pad and ran a mile. ‘It was a very ambitious plan,’ said one director. ‘Too far-fetched. It wasn’t the right direction for us.’ There were other flirtations too and now the story moves on to Rovers. O’Carroll once said: ‘My ma made me believe I could fly. “Just take off any time you want, Brendan — you can fly, man. All you've got to do is flap your arms”.’ Oh good, a dreamer and a visionary. Just what the Eircom League needs.
    http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article...976219,00.html