Thread: Travelling to Albania

Travelling to Albania

lads got an Albanian team in The Europa Cup and wondering if anyone has any travel details of any Internationals we played there, I know its while back but are you better to got to Croatia or Montanegro...etc..

Any help appreciated

3,489 Posts
    There's a thread in the travel forum already. Myself and ORA were in Montenegro and have posted in it, so probably easier to keep it all together?

Quote Originally Posted by akearins View Post
    lads got an Albanian team in The Europa Cup and wondering if anyone has any travel details of any Internationals we played there, I know its while back but are you better to got to Croatia or Montanegro...etc..

Any help appreciated

Best Bet may be Stanstead Tirana with www.germanwings.com not the easiest web site to use, but if you go into special offers you should get return for under €300

Malev are very dear, lufthansa even more expensive.

If you are not pressed for time, how about flying to Stanstead and on to Bari with either Ryan air or easyjet and then get a ferry over to Bar, and your nearly there.

Montenegro was a bitch to get to, we flew with jat airlines, you can try them from Frankfurt to Tirana via belgrade, aer lingus have a very early and late flight to/from frankfurt which might link in well for you.

One thing is for sure once you get there you'll have a ball and find it impossible to spend money!
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    Best Bet may be Stanstead Tirana with www.germanwings.com not the easiest web site to use, but if you go into special offers you should get return for under €300!
    Carefull if you got follow on flights 3 flights with Germanwings to Sofia and back and not one of them was on time. (subsequentlly missed a connection)

57 Posts
    Aer Lingus direct to Dubrovnik and drive/bus down must be an option.

Bit of a hike but nice countryside, friendly people and cheap.

Albania is an awkward place to get to, went on a day trip in 1993 for the Irish game and had 2 daytrips cancelled on me in 2003 and ended up missing thr game .

Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    Aer Lingus direct to Dubrovnik and drive/bus down must be an option.

Bit of a hike but nice countryside, friendly people and cheap.

Albania is an awkward place to get to, went on a day trip in 1993 for the Irish game and had 2 daytrips cancelled on me in 2003 and ended up missing thr game .

I believe the people that tried Dubrovnik to Montenegro had a horrendous trip, and if im correct, Tirana is even further south.
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

I believe the people that tried Dubrovnik to Montenegro had a horrendous trip, and if im correct, Tirana is even further south.
    Was a great trip but due to the match there was a stop at the border for 3 hours. There is a public bus you can get and when I got this back there was no problem whatsoever. They expected trouble when we arrived into Pod so they organised a police convoy from the border to the game. As a result we had to wate for 747 bus etc.
    In Trap we trust

57 Posts
    The Trebenje/Niksic/Podgorica route was fine - no problems. Border delays on the other direct route into Montenegro.

Not sure what the Montenegro/Albanian border crossing is like though. Shkoder seems close to Podgorica.

If we end up in Tirana I'd go via Dubrovnik like a shot. Shkoder seems easier and closer.

Rent a car in Dubrovnik - share the driving but make sure it allows you b ring the car to albania.

Enjoy your European adventure. I wish Limerick were going there.

229 Posts
    3 of us flew in to Italy (Brindisi) with Ryanair and got the overnight ferry to Durres (sp?). Jumped in a taxi then to Tirana for the game which was cheap as chips. You could easily fly in to Bari or Pescara if its cheaper. Bit of craic alright, though not many fans did it that way for the Ireland game. Only met one other. Most seemed to get the charters.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

192 Posts
    I flew Austrian Air into Tirana from Vienna a few years back but that is probably in the Lufthansa price bracket.

Try www.skyscanner.net : there seems to be a crowd called belleair who fly from Bergamo to Tirana (and Ryanair fly into Bergamo).
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot