Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: www.faishop.com

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Was in the shop yesterday for the first time.........wanted to buy a LOi jersey before I head back to the Uk so opted for a St Pats one (xl of course)

The shop has a decent selection of LOI shirts.
    Of course across the bridge at Elverys they were selling Galway Utd jerseys for 25 euros, but I think I made a better purchase!!

I have no probs with an England jersey on sale, whats the big deal?!

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ringo View Post
    That what happens when the girl running the website is from Venezuela !!!. some people have too much time on their hands. You invest a load of money in something & people nit pick. Anyone know who the guy complaing was. He kept refering to himself as we!
    His name was Alan and he sounded like the self-appointed spokesman for all Irish supporters: Alan Hunter. Just a guess
    Always look on the bright side of life

3,491 Posts
    I don't think this will turn any fan into an English football fan Or a Sweden fan for that matter.
    Again, it's not the point. The point is that we (and particularly the FAI) should be trying to get away from the mindset whereby football automatically means English football. There's jerseys on sale, so automatically you assume English jerseys are on sale, and you're right. Go Premiership!

Not saying I agree or disagree with it, but that's the point being made.

544 Posts
    I don't care where the 'girl running the website' is from, it's a disgrace. England jersey and some Premiership jersies can be bought on the FAI website, what a joke.
    totally agree. the official FAI shop should sell Irish football clothing etc only. have a link ok to another site that sells non Irish items if you want but dont sell it under the banner of official FAI shop

2,081 Posts
    Not saying I agree or disagree with it, but that's the point being made.
    If I saw an Irish jersey in an FA store in England I'd probably see it as a good thing, so I wouldn't really look at it differently the other way round. Same applies to the club jerseys, they just happen to have the same supplier so I wouldn't get too caught up on it, but that's just me.
    Last edited by DeLorean; 28/08/2009 at 11:39 AM.

I've spent five years trying to get this off the ground. we've invested a lot of money in both the webstore & the shop, in a time when nobody is investing in business's. Were starting to produce Giftware which is providing a new revenue stream to the FAI. I notice Alan hasn't been in the shop or bought anything online either , but conciders himself an expert on how the retail operation should be run. Maybe Alan should set up his own FAI shop? No sports retailer would touch this idea over the last 15-20 years. What support does Alan & his liverpool friends give LOI soccer?

57 Posts
    I didn't hear the programme.

Was it the guy who uses the name Alan Hunter when pretending to care about Irish football? If so RTE are yet again being very naughty here. They are and have been made repeatedly aware of who this person is and that he has no connection with anything to do with Irish football. Yet they still call him up when they want to put something controversial out.

Quote Originally Posted by DeLorean View Post
    If I saw an Irish jersey in an FA store in England I'd probably see it as a good thing, so I'm wouldn't really look at it differently the other way round. Same applies to the club jerseys, they just happen to have the same supplier so I wouldn't get too caught up on it, but that's just me.
    If you saw a Irish jersey in an English FA store you would be on some medication.

His name was Alan and he sounded like the self-appointed spokesman for all Irish supporters: Alan Hunter. Just a guess
    http://www.zoominfo.com/people/Hunter_Alan_-496904.aspx

President, Irish Football Supporters Association

Alan Hunter, general secretary of the Irish Football Supporters' Association

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Newryrep View Post
    If you saw a Irish jersey in an English FA store you would be on some medication.
    True but that's not really the point. I just don't see it as a big deal. Once the shop stocks the Irish products that people want I couldn't care less what else they stock. I don't look at it as trying to promote anything, just trying to making a few extra bucks, which they probably won't.

57 Posts
    http://www.zoominfo.com/people/Hunter_Alan_-496904.aspx

President, Irish Football Supporters Association

Alan Hunter, general secretary of the Irish Football Supporters' Association

That is the guy who calls himself Alan Hunter when RTE want a negative soundbite regarding Irish football.

I have never met any other member of the association. I've never seen any events organised by the association. I've never seen an address or contact number for this association.

Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    That is the guy who calls himself Alan Hunter when RTE want a negative soundbite regarding Irish football.

I have never met any other member of the association. I've never seen any events organised by the association. I've never seen an address or contact number for this association.
    I dont think that is the Alan

I'm not sure who came across as the bigger arse on liveline - the bloke who was complaining (whether Hunter or not), or Courtenay trying to big up his support for the LoI... Both came across terribly.

Edit: Actually it was whoever was presenting who was the biggest arse, trying to turn it into an are/aren't celtic irish debate!
    Last edited by Macy; 28/08/2009 at 2:15 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    I'm not sure who came across as the bigger arse on liveline - the bloke who was complaining (whether Hunter or not), or Courtenay trying to big up his support for the LoI... Both came across terribly.

Edit: Actually it was whoever was presenting who was the biggest arse, trying to turn it into an are/aren't celtic irish debate!
    It was obviously a very slow news day! having said that traffic to the webstore was up 600% yesterday!!

30 Posts
    No one seems to have a problem with Olympic Lyon or Sweden 07
    I did, back in June ...

http://foot.ie/forums/showpost.php?p...44&postcount=2
    Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post
    Under the "Ireland Soccer Jerseys" link you can buy Swedens and Olympic Lyon shirts?

60 Posts
    Ringo, think you should be happy. Free advertising. Lots of people probably didn't realise the facility existed.
    Always look on the bright side of life

A very positive response from everyone i talked to today. On a different note!!!

Meet The stars of Bohemian Football Club

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

3 players for the signing and photo session

Captain Owen Heary (6 League Winners medals)

Goal Keeper Brian Murphy (Voted best Keeper in Ireland last season)

Striker Jason Byrne (2 Ireland caps and top striker last year)

The appearance will be Saturday 5th September between 1pm and 2.30pm

The League trophy and FAI Cup trophy will be in store for the occasion.

http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#/e...5737842&ref=nf

30 Posts
    Would be funny to have the England, Sweden and Lyon shirts hanging in the
    background of the pics taken of the Bohs lads

But apart from that I was only in that shop once and was able to get a
    (Ireland) sweatshirt/zip top that I'd been after for a while buy was unable to
    source anywhere before so it got the thumbs upn from me

Ringo,

I personally don't think the shop should sell any merchandise promoting any club / association outside of the FAIs jurisdiction. You would not see Liverpools shop selling Everton or Utd merchandise.

The shop is advertised I believe as the FAI store and therefore should not be promoting clubs etc outside of the FAI remit, however if the shop is XYZ's sports shop with an FAI section that would be diffrerent, i know it may seem petty but i doubt if you will see Munster jerseys for sale in the Leinster shop in Donnybrook!
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    Ringo,

I personally don't think the shop should sell any merchandise promoting any club / association outside of the FAIs jurisdiction. You would not see Liverpools shop selling Everton or Utd merchandise.

The shop is advertised I believe as the FAI store and therefore should not be promoting clubs etc outside of the FAI remit, however if the shop is XYZ's sports shop with an FAI section that would be diffrerent, i know it may seem petty but i doubt if you will see Munster jerseys for sale in the Leinster shop in Donnybrook!
    Well maybe when the sales increase & its paying for itself, we an have luxury of turning down product. There’s a reason we haven't had a store before, it’s not profitable. The Store has always been called the FAI/UMBRO store. The Non Irish product is away from the Ireland product & has its own header cards

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast